Rent Guitar Hero: Metallica for PS3
view large frontback

Guitar Hero: Metallica

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Wii, Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.9

2050 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hard rocking fun!!!

posted by banjotune (NORMAN, OK) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

I like Guitar Hero and I love Metallica. The gameplay has improved it's previous titles and the music is awsome (no covers). The Metallica band members look incredible, they jam out just like the real guys. You can also customize your own avitar. I say 8 out of 10. 10 If you love Metallica.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

8 as a rental...as a buy? 5 probably

posted by boobage (ALBANY, NY) Oct 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

Metallifacts is great. Like the old VH1 Pop up video show. Band motion capture is amazing, it's like watching the guys perform...not quite, but it's got that Metallica feel. But as it's been said, once you play through the songs, and replay your favorites, that's pretty much it. There is no expandability. Would have been sweet if they released the S&M version of the songs, since they already had the symphony stage for No Leaf Clover.

Loved playing Metallica songs and others, but unless you're an absolute freak, there is no reason to buy this. It should have been an addition to a library. Imagine if they have had guys from the band as DLC characters for Wolrd Tour and just released a new Metallica pack every month. People would have been all over that and it would have been amazing. But charging $60 was more appealing to them.

As it stands, it's the same as GH Aerosmith...play through it, play a lil more since I love the band and a lot of the included songs, then return it. Too many good games coming out to make a commitment to this one.

It does a great job of capturing the bands energy, though. Gotta give them props for that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Some good music.

posted by Cheezeit (COLLEGE STATION, TX) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

I like the metallica music. After a go through, I reallized I actually knew more metallica music than I thought I did. I like some of the misc tracks. I'm not too into thrash/punk metal type things, so I really hated those.

My only complaint was my Rockband 2 drums didn't work with the game. Of course, it's a GH game and I don't have that drum kit.

Everywhere I read, it looked like they were supposed to work, but they didn't for me. I kept getting booted out of songs because the orange cymbal wasn't available. I ended up playing through one song some how without the orange cymbal, of course my score sucked, but was to be expected.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

an ok game

posted by aac405 (PROVO, UT) Sep 3, 2009

Member since May 2008

this game is alright story mode is pretty good, except for the create a rocker, and not being able to restart career mode without having to erase all data and scores, song list is alright, they made the game too easy though, all in all it was an ok game.. ill put it this way i played it for a day and decided to send it back, it gets a little boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This game has no BC with RB 2 stuffs!

posted by Phil1017 (HILLSIDE, NJ) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

i did test it if this game has BC with RB 2 guitar, drum and mic. SAD! this doesn't working with guitar and drum expect mic. i dont know why. then it sucks! it made me disappointted with this game because of no BC with RB2 stuffs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Metallica rules!

posted by badassgamr (MIDDLETOWN, OH) Jul 19, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

Rock Band equipment does not work with this game. I'm sure it would have been a blast to play. The only instrument to work was the mic. I tried drums and guitar with no success.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Metalamazing!

posted by Marcoror (CASPER, WY) Jul 18, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Guitar Hero Metallica is a great game even if you are not a huge fan of the band. I rented this game to see if my Rock Band 2 instruments would work on it. Let me say if you get it for PS3 or 360, IT DOES WORK NO MATTER WHAT ANYONE TELLS YOU. As I said before if you don't like Metallica too much its okay, I had not heard many of there songs but after I beat the game on drums I was hooked. It also has great graphics and a challenging set list if played on expert. Also it has amazing songs from 20+ guest bands. So I would recommend this game to anyone who likes Guitar Hero or Rock Band, likes Metallica or even not. For its great graphics , set list , guest acts and for being so great. A 10 out of 10 game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Guitar Hero Metallica, worst mix ever

posted by Lyceria (BEAVERTON, OR) Jul 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Being that this game is guitar hero, I didn't expect anything new, just a nice mix of metal songs with plenty of Metallica thrown in. Now perhaps I'm not the best person to judge Metallica songs, being that I listen to only a select few, but you would think that those select few songs would be scattered evenly throughout the sets, giving you something to look forward to while playing songs unknown to you.

Instead all the most popular songs are tossed in the first 2 - 3 sets and the rest, all the squiddliy deedily dee songs which classify FAR too much repetitiveness are everywhere else. So the enjoyment of the game quickly seems to wear off.

Graphics are standard and nothing much to talk about, and the music quality seems fine. I really didn't care for the extras, the vids weren't all that exciting, and the buyable content for your rocker was, well, I'll just say 'eh'.

Overall the game is weak because of it's poor mix. And the non metallica bands range from absolute garbage to mediocre at best with an occasional, "gee that's a good song" coming from out of the blue but those are few and far between. Okay, 4 exceptions, also in first 2 - 3 sets, Tuesdays gone, Turn the page, smokin in the boys room and stone cold crazy, those are awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Best for Hardcore Metallica Fans

posted by FizzyGurrl (DENVER, CO) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I am a huge fan of the Guitar Hero franchise and was so excited when they released Guitar Hero: Metallica. However, I am not a huge Metallica fan myself, but I figured that, like Guitar Hero: Aerosmith, there would be plenty of offerings from other bands in addition to the Metallica canon. I was wrong! Sure, there are a few non-Metallica songs, but even they were very metal-oriented (I know what you're thinking- metal songs on a Metallica-based video game? Duh) Yes, I agree that I should have known, but I still kind of expected it to be a bit more mainstream.

Also, they seem to have changed the gameplay for career mode since World Tour. When I clicked Career Mode, it instantly took me to a Metallica concert where I had to jump right in to the first song- there was no song list from which to choose my first selection. I wasn't really a fan of that, and I sincerely hope it was just something weird I did with my controller to get me to that screen instead of a proper song list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Love the band

posted by ElevenBrav (STAFFORD, VA) Jun 2, 2009

Member since Apr 2005

Great game if you love Metallica like I do. I wish I could have played it longer that I did. I unfortunately could not play it because my equipment broke again. Yes again. I am not hard on the equipment and don't play everyday, but I have been able to break both the guitar and drum kit twice.

Great game, just wish the GH hardware was as well built and sturdy as EA's.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Flippin awsome

posted by Frequency7 (GILLESPIE, IL) May 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This is a flippin awsome game 2nd best guitar hero game made so far world tour is the best i've played every one of them this is such a flippin awsome game i played it 4 25 hrs. stright.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It seemed ok.

posted by emptyeyes (VANCOUVER, WA) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Maybe I'm just bored of the music genre, but this didn't hold my interest. I think the main thing is after playing Rock Band, and Rock Band 2, I just can't stand the awkward and dizzy feel of Guitar Hero. I do feel that fans of Guitar Hero will like this game much more than I give it credit for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just another GH Game

posted by CrashBash (RIDGEWAY, VA) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

Well it is starting to appear if you played one Rockband or Guitar Hero game you played them all.

I didn't see anything new that was really mind blowing. I was actually disappointed with the final product especially knowing that Metaclica rarely lends it's endorsement on anything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Metallica Guitar Hero Ok; Weak Next to RockBand

posted by rlegojr (OWENS CROSS ROADS, AL) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Great selection of Metallica and additional songs to play. But I guess I have been spoiled by RockBand(1&2) as the fidelity guitar (notes) coming you at appears a bit cartoonish (huge stars) after playing with the smaller and more intricate RockBand bars. Also, I am not an audiophile, but the guitar crunch/distortion is not as prominent in hitting the notes (as RockBand) and in general the audio interaction level seems a bit weak. Of course, this is your only bet to get most of these songs right now as only a handful of Metallica songs are available in RockBand. Maybe Metallica will release an add-in pack for RockBand and then the problem will be solved.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

S&&ty Deal

posted by BloodPig (SWEETWATER, TX) Apr 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

This game is not good at all metallica sucks and there isn't really any other good songs so i give this game a 1 because it has metallica's macabre songs on it...........

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Sweeeeet!!

posted by andrade12 (BATTLE MOUNTAIN, NV) Apr 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

This game like all other guitar hero games is fun as h.e.l.l. I like it way better than the Aerosmith edition. Probably because Metallica is one of my all time fave. Recommend to all. Fans of Metallica or not!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game for Metalica

posted by ilnewsome (BEAVER FALLS, PA) Apr 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

I only like a few Metalica songs, and I really just got it for the featured songs.

I feel like the GH gameplay has only gotten better in this game! I wish they'd update WT to be like Metalica in terms of the Star system, the improved band play Fail/No Fail System, and the new note highway accessories on the side.

Overall, great game - But where's the Career online play? That's one of the biggest failures. Another is - They still haven't added online Vocal vs. Vocal. Lastly, in response to the other posts. There's something wrong with your PS3 if they sound is gone AND there aren't many people on because this is a relatively small release of the game. Ergo, not too many people will be on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse