Rent Guitar Hero: Metallica for PS3
view large frontback

Guitar Hero: Metallica

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS2, Wii
GF Rating
7.9

2050 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rocked my socks right off!

posted by Spideyman2 (EASTLAKE WEIR, FL) Apr 9, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was amazing. The Setlist was really great, They picked the best Metallica songs. Though other than Metallica, there wasnt much more great music on there. They did have a Alice in chains song and Queen but Everything else was ok. If your really good at Drums,or guitar, this game is so fun. Im pretty awesome at drums and guitar and i was having a blast! so all in all 10 outa 10, Amazing game, Great setlist and the Metallica fix everyone needs!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Works with Rock Band gear + it's METALLICA!

posted by Homina8or (HACKETTSTOWN, NJ) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I bought the complete Rock Band gear when it came out so I could play the drums. I was never into GH but I couldn't resist getting RB because I was more interested in playing drums since it is closer to the real thing playing the drums in RB/GHWT than it is playing the guitar in these games. I am glad that I am able to use my original RB drum kit with GHM but to really get the full experience of the game you need the GHWT drum kit because of the special high hat and cymbal which is not present on the original RB drum kit. I may consider getting GHWT wireless drum kit when it gets cheaper but for now, I'm going to rock out with the kit I have. GHM is a lot of fun if you're a Metallica fan. Knowing the songs really helps to play the game for me as I didn't miss that many of the notes (I don't know how play real drums) the first time around playing Unforgiven or For Whom the Bells Toll. In contrast, the first time I played Just What I Needed by the Cars in RB, I couldn't even finish the song.

Graphic-wise, they could improve the character drawings to really bring out a HD experience on the PS3 or 360 otherwise you could just play it on the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Guitar Hero: Metallica

posted by MrDan71 (LONG BEACH, CA) Apr 9, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This was an excellent attempt at giving real cred to the Guitar Hero franchise. The music was awesome as it IS Metallica!! The addition of the Expert + was pure genius, opening up for songs by Slipknot (I can dream can't I?) and other HEAVY bands. The presentation is less cartoonish than previous GH titles which was a welcome feel. Metallica didn't deserve to be cartoonish with giand arms and tiny heads. The game as a whole was well done. My MAIN problem with THIS game... its ANOTHER GH game to collect dust. When you are finished rocking out to the songs on the dics... you are left with user created songs. Where GH lacks is where Rock Band triumphs. Rock Band allows you to export your songs to play with BOTH Rock Band and Rock Band 2, PLUS you can export Rock Band songs for play in 2. GH, you have to CONTINUOUSLY swap discs. DLC is for World Tour. Metallica is only for Metallica, etc. I want the FULL rock experience. Its like having a shelf of great CDs that have a few good song and having to shuffle through them to get what you want (Guitar Hero) or you can have all the GREAT songs on your iPod handy without the fuss (Rock Band). Guitar Hero: Metallica is a great effort, for the short term gamer. Once the songs are dominated.... there is really no reason to go back. No expandability. Maybe this is Activision's way of keeping the money coming. I'd rather just have GREAT DLC that works on multiple games than to pay for another disc of great songs that will just sit around... collecting dust. What I want is Rock Band: U2. Can someone make that happen?
Gameplay-7
Graphics-7
Replayability-3
Overall-5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by jakeman342 (PATASKALA, OH) Apr 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Like any other Guitar Hero game, this is just a fun game to play. Metallica is one of the best metal bands of all time and there is really no better band to make a game after. The songs I feel are harder later in the game, so there is definitely a challenge for all you guitar hero freaks out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Guitar Hero Metallica: Pretty good..

posted by gmoney7380 (BRANDON, MS) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

While I did enjoy this game.. all the Metallica songs that were on here available for play, the game becomes stale really fast.. Once you play it a time or two you really lose interest in it. There were also a lot of songs that should have been on this game that were left out also.. but overall it is a good game if you want to get your Metallica fix.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT!!!!!!, but could have been MUCH better

posted by scottish8x (TUCSON, AZ) Apr 2, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

personally i love metallicas songs, i am a long time fan of there music, and to be able to "play" some of there best songs was completely awesome. but there were sooooooo many metallica songs that definitely should have been on this game that weren't. songs such as "the day that never comes", and "blackened". those are two of there best songs (my opinion of course). like i said the songs that are on there are completely awesome and this a great game, probably my favorite GH game yet. but honestly, i am a little disappointed at the songs that are not on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

METALLICA!!

posted by djeside (FITCHBURG, MA) Apr 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Playing as Metallica was just awesome i do wish blackened and other songs were on here but the game overall was perfect!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Metallica!

posted by MauiRocks (Lahaina, HI) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2004

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

C'mon, you get to play as Metallica. How cool is that?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One Word!

posted by Novabrian (WESTMINSTER, CA) Mar 31, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Awesome! I like this but it has too many Metallica songs where are the 98 Degrees & Back Street Boys songs? HAHAHAHAHAHA Just Kidding! Game is Awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost 10

posted by HEAVYARM7 (BROOMFIELD, CO) Apr 21, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had a hard time picking a 8 or 9 so its more like a 8.5 but GH: Metallica is definently for anybody thats been playin the Guitar Hero series and like me have watched them slip off into what seems to be a Now 17 CD for music. Its great music and a bit tougher. There are a lot of Metallica songs, obviously, which make a gig with all Metallica songs take FOREVER cuz they're all bout 7min songs. And in a odd sense the game is short only having 50ish songs. Rent it tho, totally worth it..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good effort

posted by Jexter (WEST HAVEN, CT) Apr 18, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Excellent graphics and good song choices.... a few songs from their catalog were noticeably absent but a solid game.... if you use the rock band guitar you cannot perform the extra effects with the neck slider as it does not have one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lack of Network and DLC support

posted by SignOfZod (BALTIMORE, MD) Mar 31, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First when it comes to Metallica it's awesome for fans... Love METALLICA. Now to the system ops. The Death Meganetic DLC works and plays way better than on GH3. But, if you download any other DLC the game mutes the sound of the DM album when you play. The online network is torrible as the others, no one to play with and not to many options. I think it would be much better on RB games for better network. I got it for METALLICA and because RB controller works well on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

cannot use controller

posted by peeps1 (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) May 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I just recieved this game a few days ago and can't play it with a standard controller like I can with legends of rock. I don't have a guitar so I use my controller. It forces me to sing which I don't want to do, and there are no other options. I really want to play this game but I'm not going to spend 50 bucks for a guitar on a rental game. I even e-mailed activision with no response. I called activision but no option to speak to a live person. If you rent this game you will not be able to use a standard controller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

God Awful...

posted by Exordium (FREMONT, CA) Apr 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2003

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Where to start...

The PS3 version doesn't work with the ION Drums unless you unplug the cymbals; What fun is that?!

This game should be the thing that should not have been; $59 for this buggy hunk of garbage isn't justifiable. All these songs should have been DLC content for BOTH Rockband and GH; oh wait, some of them already exist in GHWT and RB.

Maybe somewhere down the line when a patch is released to fix the drums I will pick it up again, but from what little I got to play I realized anything after And Justice for all just ISN'T fun to play. At least Metallica didn't make us suffer through St. Anger and Death Magnetic

I have never played GHWT but if the game mechanics are anything like this version I am glad I haven't. This game is only for the Metallica fan boys... Which for some reason seems to be EVERYONE?!?! Please stop buying their albums so they will just put an end to what's left their miserable career

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

metallica cool....guitar hero not

posted by molock666 (LOUISVILLE, CO) Apr 3, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

the premise of the game seems fun...play your favorite metallica songs, and while it is fun to play SOME cool songs by metallica the game falls short of anything new and exciting. there is an expert+ mode for the drums which adds "double bass", but is only "playable" if you have a second kick pedal, or a robot ankle. the "other" bands in this game are not impressive at all. the overall note charts seems to be very simple. I WAS a fan of the guitar hero series, but since guitar hero 2, it seems like its geared more toward children. go and play rock band, overall its a more solid game. they have something for everybody and tons of dlc. they have challenging metallica songs(dlc).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nice game...

posted by Timrsings1 (HILLIARD, OH) Jun 27, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

I was expecting so much more of Metallica songs than what this had on it. Also, it's a Guitar Hero version. I like Rock Band versions so much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

METALLICA!

posted by KillaYoMomma (FUQUAY VARINA, NC) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Being a Metallica fan from way-back this game is great on several levels,
One thing that makes this game great is, of course, being able to take part in the best band EVER. Standing in as the gutiaris of Metallica is like a fantasy in which if I don't pull my weight and hit those lick the song falls apart.
A lot of these songs, from Fade to back to Master of Puppets take me back. So, on top of being a guitar-playing fantasy, Guitar Hero Metallica is like a Guitar-Playing stroll down to where The Memory Remains!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Guitar Hero's "Metallica" a hit.

posted by evelander (LINCOLN, NE) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

I am a 30 year old kid who loves 80's, and 90's rock and metal, especially Metallica and other bands that truly knew how to wail. Guitar hero brings all of Metallica's best hits to a playable format and each one is like a slice of metal pie. These are some of the toughest songs that Hero has to offer, I guarantee.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epicness, the best GH ever to me

posted by tfchronos (MORGANTON, NC) Oct 22, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Ok, let’s just get this out of the way right now. It's called Guitar Hero "METALLICA" of course it's only going to focus on one brand... Stop whining that it doesn't have variety, you can't play anything non related to Metallica, and it has no replay value. It was made especially for Metallica and Metallica fans that's why only the Death Magnetic DLC works with the game. If you don't like Metallica then don't rent or buy this game it's clearly not for you.

Now for the review, for me it's the greatest GH ever made, I'm a huge Metallica fan myself I love everything but ST Anger. So naturally I love this game and play it religiously enery single day. The only two complaints I have is that 1 It's not centered around them enough and 2 it doesn't have enough Metallica songs on it, however I can let it slide.

Presantation: Is very good the begining cut scene where it shows all the album logos being sucked into the Death Magnitec Coffin is absolutly amazing. The beginning of carrer is epic, playing the estacy of gold as the band members walk out into stage gives me goosebumbs every time I see it. The stage designs are also very well done. In my opinion there where not enough cut scenes, but the ones there are very good.

Battle mode: Is also very well done, the powers being themed and named from real Metallica songs it a nice touch.

Sound: Very good lots of the must haves, though I would have preferred many more Metallica songs even if that meant dumping the varieties.

Graphics: are the same as World Tour which could have been better. Each band member has 3 different versions of themselves Current, Young, and Zombie, which is very cool.

Overall: If you like Metallica then it's diffidently for you, if don't like Metallica, hard songs, or heavy metal go rent GH5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Quite Possibly

posted by Giusto69 (HAYDEN, ID) Apr 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

The best guitar hero made just because metallica is one of my favorite bands and this one is a challange

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awsome game

posted by megadeath (CLEARFIELD, UT) Jan 31, 2010

Member since May 2005

This game is Awsome very fun on guitar drums and bass. One problem though is it didn't have enough songs off their Ride the lightning, And Justice for all, or Kill'em all albums. but still very good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Definitely for the Fans

posted by VGMAN0421 (RED HOOK, NY) Jan 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Bottom line: If your a Metallica fan (from decent to hardcore), then this game is for you. After playing for about 10 minutes, I got hooked. This is nothing like Guitar Hero Aerosmith. That game had a very short song list and was almost identical to Guitar Hero 3. It didn't have much to give it the theme of "Aerosmith". But in this game, everything from the main menu to the animation for when you win a song is all Metallica. It always gives you the feeling of being in a heavy metal band, and may cause you to bang your head. Yeah, its that intense. However, you may notice that just like with Aerosmith, Metallica in the game doesn't exactly look like it is now. I don't know how they looked in the past, but it definetely doesn't show them as they are now. But, you'll eventually get over that. I defintely check it out. Warning though: if you're not really a Metallica fan, then just like Beatles Rock Band, this probably won't change your mind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing Game

posted by kg00668 (COPPELL, TX) Dec 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

Alright, I absolutely LOVE Metallica, and Guitar Hero Metallica was everything I had hoped for. This game was challenging, but the songs on it were worth playing over and over again. I didn't play any of the side-band songs, aside from "Tuesday's Gone" and "Turn the Page" (they were not my favorite), but you have to play at least two in the second set in order to get to the remaining Metallica songs - (These two were the best in my opinion, because Metallica covered them).

Over-all I would give this game a 10/10, and recommend it to all Metallica fans!

I did think the game was a little short, considering I had played every Metallica song in the game at least 3 times the first day I got it, but I just couldn't put it down. They didn't have all of the songs I had hoped to see, but it wasn't made only for me, so this isn't an issue at all. They have multiple songs from every CD, including St. Anger. It surprised and excited me to see Frantic, mainly because most people, for whatever reason, hate the St. Anger CD. Not I.

So this game is definitely a winner in my book, best Guitar Hero out there!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A difficult game

posted by ReiNene (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Dec 5, 2009

Member since May 2008

This game is truly a great Guitar Hero game. Metallica is one of my favorite groups so u know I would give a good review because of that, but I despite that, I actually like the challenge of the game. The songs are long and fast. The selection is really good. It does show you the groups that influenced them. I could make do without the Foo Fighters tho. I don't ever recall them having an influence on them. Anyways, playing on medium is a challenge, especially on guitar, when you play a long song and your wrist starts hurting along with your fingers. Hard don't even get me started. True GH players will have fun. The drums, I love the fact they made it, where you can add a second kick pedal to really be like Lars and doing so gives you another difficulty mode. The reason why I didn't give it a 10 is because the recording studio in there that they added from the GH World Tour. Once again, its a cool idea but it still kinda sucks when you cant add vocals and you really have to know how to play the instruments in real life to even compose a song. Overall this game is worth the buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

gutar hero metallica sucks

posted by duders (SEVERNA PARK, MD) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

guitar hero metallica sucks if your not ubsessed with metal music. i'm not ubsessed with metal music i mean i like 5 songs by metallica and the game is still disapointing. theres only stone cold crazy, turn the page, and tuesdays gone that are not really metal tunes. plus half the stuff in the game people have never heard of unless you love metallica.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse