Rent Guitar Hero: Metallica for PS3
view large frontback

Guitar Hero: Metallica

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox 360, Wii, PS2
GF Rating
7.9

2050 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

gutar hero metallica sucks

posted by duders (SEVERNA PARK, MD) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

guitar hero metallica sucks if your not ubsessed with metal music. i'm not ubsessed with metal music i mean i like 5 songs by metallica and the game is still disapointing. theres only stone cold crazy, turn the page, and tuesdays gone that are not really metal tunes. plus half the stuff in the game people have never heard of unless you love metallica.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

cannot use controller

posted by peeps1 (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) May 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I just recieved this game a few days ago and can't play it with a standard controller like I can with legends of rock. I don't have a guitar so I use my controller. It forces me to sing which I don't want to do, and there are no other options. I really want to play this game but I'm not going to spend 50 bucks for a guitar on a rental game. I even e-mailed activision with no response. I called activision but no option to speak to a live person. If you rent this game you will not be able to use a standard controller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

S&&ty Deal

posted by BloodPig (SWEETWATER, TX) Apr 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

This game is not good at all metallica sucks and there isn't really any other good songs so i give this game a 1 because it has metallica's macabre songs on it...........

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

God Awful...

posted by Exordium (FREMONT, CA) Apr 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2003

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Where to start...

The PS3 version doesn't work with the ION Drums unless you unplug the cymbals; What fun is that?!

This game should be the thing that should not have been; $59 for this buggy hunk of garbage isn't justifiable. All these songs should have been DLC content for BOTH Rockband and GH; oh wait, some of them already exist in GHWT and RB.

Maybe somewhere down the line when a patch is released to fix the drums I will pick it up again, but from what little I got to play I realized anything after And Justice for all just ISN'T fun to play. At least Metallica didn't make us suffer through St. Anger and Death Magnetic

I have never played GHWT but if the game mechanics are anything like this version I am glad I haven't. This game is only for the Metallica fan boys... Which for some reason seems to be EVERYONE?!?! Please stop buying their albums so they will just put an end to what's left their miserable career

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

an ok game

posted by aac405 (PROVO, UT) Sep 3, 2009

Member since May 2008

this game is alright story mode is pretty good, except for the create a rocker, and not being able to restart career mode without having to erase all data and scores, song list is alright, they made the game too easy though, all in all it was an ok game.. ill put it this way i played it for a day and decided to send it back, it gets a little boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This game has no BC with RB 2 stuffs!

posted by Phil1017 (HILLSIDE, NJ) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

i did test it if this game has BC with RB 2 guitar, drum and mic. SAD! this doesn't working with guitar and drum expect mic. i dont know why. then it sucks! it made me disappointted with this game because of no BC with RB2 stuffs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Guitar Hero Metallica, worst mix ever

posted by Lyceria (BEAVERTON, OR) Jul 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Being that this game is guitar hero, I didn't expect anything new, just a nice mix of metal songs with plenty of Metallica thrown in. Now perhaps I'm not the best person to judge Metallica songs, being that I listen to only a select few, but you would think that those select few songs would be scattered evenly throughout the sets, giving you something to look forward to while playing songs unknown to you.

Instead all the most popular songs are tossed in the first 2 - 3 sets and the rest, all the squiddliy deedily dee songs which classify FAR too much repetitiveness are everywhere else. So the enjoyment of the game quickly seems to wear off.

Graphics are standard and nothing much to talk about, and the music quality seems fine. I really didn't care for the extras, the vids weren't all that exciting, and the buyable content for your rocker was, well, I'll just say 'eh'.

Overall the game is weak because of it's poor mix. And the non metallica bands range from absolute garbage to mediocre at best with an occasional, "gee that's a good song" coming from out of the blue but those are few and far between. Okay, 4 exceptions, also in first 2 - 3 sets, Tuesdays gone, Turn the page, smokin in the boys room and stone cold crazy, those are awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

metallica cool....guitar hero not

posted by molock666 (SUPERIOR, CO) Apr 3, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

the premise of the game seems fun...play your favorite metallica songs, and while it is fun to play SOME cool songs by metallica the game falls short of anything new and exciting. there is an expert+ mode for the drums which adds "double bass", but is only "playable" if you have a second kick pedal, or a robot ankle. the "other" bands in this game are not impressive at all. the overall note charts seems to be very simple. I WAS a fan of the guitar hero series, but since guitar hero 2, it seems like its geared more toward children. go and play rock band, overall its a more solid game. they have something for everybody and tons of dlc. they have challenging metallica songs(dlc).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nice game...

posted by Timrsings1 (HILLIARD, OH) Jun 27, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

I was expecting so much more of Metallica songs than what this had on it. Also, it's a Guitar Hero version. I like Rock Band versions so much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It seemed ok.

posted by emptyeyes (VANCOUVER, WA) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Maybe I'm just bored of the music genre, but this didn't hold my interest. I think the main thing is after playing Rock Band, and Rock Band 2, I just can't stand the awkward and dizzy feel of Guitar Hero. I do feel that fans of Guitar Hero will like this game much more than I give it credit for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Best for Hardcore Metallica Fans

posted by FizzyGurrl (DENVER, CO) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I am a huge fan of the Guitar Hero franchise and was so excited when they released Guitar Hero: Metallica. However, I am not a huge Metallica fan myself, but I figured that, like Guitar Hero: Aerosmith, there would be plenty of offerings from other bands in addition to the Metallica canon. I was wrong! Sure, there are a few non-Metallica songs, but even they were very metal-oriented (I know what you're thinking- metal songs on a Metallica-based video game? Duh) Yes, I agree that I should have known, but I still kind of expected it to be a bit more mainstream.

Also, they seem to have changed the gameplay for career mode since World Tour. When I clicked Career Mode, it instantly took me to a Metallica concert where I had to jump right in to the first song- there was no song list from which to choose my first selection. I wasn't really a fan of that, and I sincerely hope it was just something weird I did with my controller to get me to that screen instead of a proper song list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Guitar Hero: Metallica

posted by MrDan71 (LONG BEACH, CA) Apr 9, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This was an excellent attempt at giving real cred to the Guitar Hero franchise. The music was awesome as it IS Metallica!! The addition of the Expert + was pure genius, opening up for songs by Slipknot (I can dream can't I?) and other HEAVY bands. The presentation is less cartoonish than previous GH titles which was a welcome feel. Metallica didn't deserve to be cartoonish with giand arms and tiny heads. The game as a whole was well done. My MAIN problem with THIS game... its ANOTHER GH game to collect dust. When you are finished rocking out to the songs on the dics... you are left with user created songs. Where GH lacks is where Rock Band triumphs. Rock Band allows you to export your songs to play with BOTH Rock Band and Rock Band 2, PLUS you can export Rock Band songs for play in 2. GH, you have to CONTINUOUSLY swap discs. DLC is for World Tour. Metallica is only for Metallica, etc. I want the FULL rock experience. Its like having a shelf of great CDs that have a few good song and having to shuffle through them to get what you want (Guitar Hero) or you can have all the GREAT songs on your iPod handy without the fuss (Rock Band). Guitar Hero: Metallica is a great effort, for the short term gamer. Once the songs are dominated.... there is really no reason to go back. No expandability. Maybe this is Activision's way of keeping the money coming. I'd rather just have GREAT DLC that works on multiple games than to pay for another disc of great songs that will just sit around... collecting dust. What I want is Rock Band: U2. Can someone make that happen?
Gameplay-7
Graphics-7
Replayability-3
Overall-5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Metallica rules!

posted by badassgamr (MIDDLETOWN, OH) Jul 19, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

Rock Band equipment does not work with this game. I'm sure it would have been a blast to play. The only instrument to work was the mic. I tried drums and guitar with no success.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Guitar Hero Metallica: Pretty good..

posted by gmoney7380 (BRANDON, MS) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

While I did enjoy this game.. all the Metallica songs that were on here available for play, the game becomes stale really fast.. Once you play it a time or two you really lose interest in it. There were also a lot of songs that should have been on this game that were left out also.. but overall it is a good game if you want to get your Metallica fix.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good effort

posted by Jexter (WEST HAVEN, CT) Apr 18, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Excellent graphics and good song choices.... a few songs from their catalog were noticeably absent but a solid game.... if you use the rock band guitar you cannot perform the extra effects with the neck slider as it does not have one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just another GH Game

posted by CrashBash (RIDGEWAY, VA) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

Well it is starting to appear if you played one Rockband or Guitar Hero game you played them all.

I didn't see anything new that was really mind blowing. I was actually disappointed with the final product especially knowing that Metaclica rarely lends it's endorsement on anything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Metallica Guitar Hero Ok; Weak Next to RockBand

posted by rlegojr (OWENS CROSS ROADS, AL) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Great selection of Metallica and additional songs to play. But I guess I have been spoiled by RockBand(1&2) as the fidelity guitar (notes) coming you at appears a bit cartoonish (huge stars) after playing with the smaller and more intricate RockBand bars. Also, I am not an audiophile, but the guitar crunch/distortion is not as prominent in hitting the notes (as RockBand) and in general the audio interaction level seems a bit weak. Of course, this is your only bet to get most of these songs right now as only a handful of Metallica songs are available in RockBand. Maybe Metallica will release an add-in pack for RockBand and then the problem will be solved.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lack of Network and DLC support

posted by SignOfZod (BALTIMORE, MD) Mar 31, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First when it comes to Metallica it's awesome for fans... Love METALLICA. Now to the system ops. The Death Meganetic DLC works and plays way better than on GH3. But, if you download any other DLC the game mutes the sound of the DM album when you play. The online network is torrible as the others, no one to play with and not to many options. I think it would be much better on RB games for better network. I got it for METALLICA and because RB controller works well on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Guitar Hero's "Metallica" a hit.

posted by evelander (LINCOLN, NE) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

I am a 30 year old kid who loves 80's, and 90's rock and metal, especially Metallica and other bands that truly knew how to wail. Guitar hero brings all of Metallica's best hits to a playable format and each one is like a slice of metal pie. These are some of the toughest songs that Hero has to offer, I guarantee.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Definitely for the Fans

posted by VGMAN0421 (RED HOOK, NY) Jan 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Bottom line: If your a Metallica fan (from decent to hardcore), then this game is for you. After playing for about 10 minutes, I got hooked. This is nothing like Guitar Hero Aerosmith. That game had a very short song list and was almost identical to Guitar Hero 3. It didn't have much to give it the theme of "Aerosmith". But in this game, everything from the main menu to the animation for when you win a song is all Metallica. It always gives you the feeling of being in a heavy metal band, and may cause you to bang your head. Yeah, its that intense. However, you may notice that just like with Aerosmith, Metallica in the game doesn't exactly look like it is now. I don't know how they looked in the past, but it definetely doesn't show them as they are now. But, you'll eventually get over that. I defintely check it out. Warning though: if you're not really a Metallica fan, then just like Beatles Rock Band, this probably won't change your mind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hard rocking fun!!!

posted by banjotune (NORMAN, OK) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

I like Guitar Hero and I love Metallica. The gameplay has improved it's previous titles and the music is awsome (no covers). The Metallica band members look incredible, they jam out just like the real guys. You can also customize your own avitar. I say 8 out of 10. 10 If you love Metallica.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

8 as a rental...as a buy? 5 probably

posted by boobage (ALBANY, NY) Oct 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

Metallifacts is great. Like the old VH1 Pop up video show. Band motion capture is amazing, it's like watching the guys perform...not quite, but it's got that Metallica feel. But as it's been said, once you play through the songs, and replay your favorites, that's pretty much it. There is no expandability. Would have been sweet if they released the S&M version of the songs, since they already had the symphony stage for No Leaf Clover.

Loved playing Metallica songs and others, but unless you're an absolute freak, there is no reason to buy this. It should have been an addition to a library. Imagine if they have had guys from the band as DLC characters for Wolrd Tour and just released a new Metallica pack every month. People would have been all over that and it would have been amazing. But charging $60 was more appealing to them.

As it stands, it's the same as GH Aerosmith...play through it, play a lil more since I love the band and a lot of the included songs, then return it. Too many good games coming out to make a commitment to this one.

It does a great job of capturing the bands energy, though. Gotta give them props for that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Some good music.

posted by Cheezeit (COLLEGE STATION, TX) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

I like the metallica music. After a go through, I reallized I actually knew more metallica music than I thought I did. I like some of the misc tracks. I'm not too into thrash/punk metal type things, so I really hated those.

My only complaint was my Rockband 2 drums didn't work with the game. Of course, it's a GH game and I don't have that drum kit.

Everywhere I read, it looked like they were supposed to work, but they didn't for me. I kept getting booted out of songs because the orange cymbal wasn't available. I ended up playing through one song some how without the orange cymbal, of course my score sucked, but was to be expected.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Works with Rock Band gear + it's METALLICA!

posted by Homina8or (HACKETTSTOWN, NJ) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I bought the complete Rock Band gear when it came out so I could play the drums. I was never into GH but I couldn't resist getting RB because I was more interested in playing drums since it is closer to the real thing playing the drums in RB/GHWT than it is playing the guitar in these games. I am glad that I am able to use my original RB drum kit with GHM but to really get the full experience of the game you need the GHWT drum kit because of the special high hat and cymbal which is not present on the original RB drum kit. I may consider getting GHWT wireless drum kit when it gets cheaper but for now, I'm going to rock out with the kit I have. GHM is a lot of fun if you're a Metallica fan. Knowing the songs really helps to play the game for me as I didn't miss that many of the notes (I don't know how play real drums) the first time around playing Unforgiven or For Whom the Bells Toll. In contrast, the first time I played Just What I Needed by the Cars in RB, I couldn't even finish the song.

Graphic-wise, they could improve the character drawings to really bring out a HD experience on the PS3 or 360 otherwise you could just play it on the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Love the band

posted by ElevenBrav (STAFFORD, VA) Jun 2, 2009

Member since Apr 2005

Great game if you love Metallica like I do. I wish I could have played it longer that I did. I unfortunately could not play it because my equipment broke again. Yes again. I am not hard on the equipment and don't play everyday, but I have been able to break both the guitar and drum kit twice.

Great game, just wish the GH hardware was as well built and sturdy as EA's.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse