Rent Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS3, PS2
GF Rating
8.1

5677 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better songs, but not as much fun as GH2

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Oct 27, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

50 out of 72 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Something was obviously lost when development switched hands from Harmonix to Neversoft. Guitar Hero 3 is still a blast to play, and it looks a lot better than GH2, but it just doesn't feel as good. Part of the problem is that the timing is different. I often found myself strumming too fast, hitting notes in anticipation of them being within the circle, and a lot of times my notes were missing. It only took about two plays through the same song before it wasn't a problem anymore, but each song moves at a different speed and sometimes requires that adjustment all over again. Also, Easy seems harder than GH2, Medium feels about the same, but then when you get to Hard on GH3, it feels like Expert on GH2. It's just WAY too hard.

I did find that most of the songs, even ones I didn't particularly like, were still pretty fun to play. There were some songs on GH2 that were just kind of boring, but that's definitely not the case here. In this area, GH3 is a definite step in the right direction. A step backwards, however, is the multiplayer. You actually both have to go through Xbox Live and the multiplayer menus to play 2-player on one box. It's not a major deal, but it doesn't really make a whole lot of sense. Also, there's a battle mode where you try to make the other person fail a song, which really isn't very fun. Instead of just trying to see who plays better, the idea is to get power-ups that are used to mess up your opponent and make them fail the song. So instead of "winning", you're making the other person lose. It's very disheartening. Online battles can be over in as little as 20 seconds. Maybe some people would get a kick out of Battle Mode, but I personally didn't like it.

Overall, if you like Guitar Hero 2 and are mainly just looking to expand that experience with more songs, check out GH3. If you're looking for an improvement on the GH2 formula, this ain't it.

Also note that the X-plorer guitar from GH2 works perfectly well with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sounds Good To Me!

posted by IllogicalJ (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 29, 2007

Member since May 2005

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Did Guitar Hero III jump the shark with its new owners? No. The battle mode is a little misguided and far from balanced, but on the whole, everything about Guitar Hero III is better than the previous installments. The song list is excellent (although the bonus tracks from Guitar Hero II were better), and the only disappointment is the limited availability of some songs outside of battle or co-op play. You can go online to satisfy those urges, as it's easy and fast (like the game itself), but it's hard to trust complete strangers to "rawk" alongside you.

Thing is, Guitar Hero III feels like a complete package: it has a story, it has cut-scenes, it has boss battles, and it has a slick learning curve. It has more than a few songs that may wreck your controller ("Barracuda" and "Raining Blood"), but it also has slick riffs like Tenacious D's "The Metal," The Scorpions' "Rock You Like a Hurricane," and Muse's "Knights of Cydonia." Not sure how much more diverse you can get.

Start to finish, Guitar Hero III is nothing but satisfaction (though I've heard complaints about the peripherals), and from the instant load times to the crisp graphics, more attractive character models (What? It's nice to have something other than colored buttons to look at), and more responsible HOPOs, it's a smoother, "rockier" game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Something definitely changed in this game when the

posted by BigBen24 (ASHLAND, VA) Dec 28, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Something definitely changed in this game when the developers switched from Harmonix to Neversoft. It just doesn't have the same feel as GH 2. It's not that the tracks aren't just as good or the songs aren't as fun, but it's just not the same rockin' good time that the other one was. First of all, Casey Lynch looks absolutely ridiculous. One of my favorite characters from the previous games had a complete makeover down to the hair color. Her skimpy leather costumes simply don't match her tomboy look from the last game. Also, they replaced Eddie Knox with Midori, a character who would honestly fit in better with a cheesy DDR knockoff than a game like this. Her bright Barbie doll apparrel simply does not fit in with any of the songs or the other characters, while Eddie Knox was one of the most popular characters. The multiplayer was also weaker than GH 2. Battle Mode, a mode where instead of Star Power you get powerups to activate to make your opponent fail the song, simply did not impress me. Focus should be put on who can actually play the game better, not just who can withstand effects made to make you play worse. Also, many of the difficulties were off in the game. Easy and Medium were about the same, but many of the upper level songs were more like Expert than Hard. I haven't even tried Expert, but I am going to assume that they made that much harder as well. While this may satisfy the upper 1% of extremely advanced players, players like me who found the difficulty of the second game perfect, this was simply too hard. Nevertheless, Guitar Hero 3 was a solid game with a great soundtrack and fun songs and I did like that they included real rock legends, but the feel that Neversoft put into the game simply wasn't the rockstar feel of the previous Harmonix-made game. Most of the changes that Neversoft made were for the worse, leaving a reminiscent feeling of a Harmonix developed game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rocks Steady

posted by Buzzsaw (WINTER HAVEN, FL) Nov 2, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Good game, definitely worth the rent. Nothing different then the same game as the ones before, just with new songs.

Yes there are additions to the game play with the bosses and the guitar battles, but nothing new majorly.

Great new music, but the graphics are same as before, nothing new to report. Bottom line is - look up the song list and if the music there is to your liking, Rent this thang ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Seriously upset at this game....

posted by EderPaz (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jan 17, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

and where it's gone. It feels like this is an actual band, good times its first time out, outstanding its sophmore year.... then sells out it's third, and consequently just wants to make money afterwards instead of great music/games.

I jumped back to GH2 and found that the music was not only way better, but it really felt like you were playing a challenging Guitar list. You really felt like... DUH! a guitar hero. The point of this game was to have killer riffs, and the people at Neversoft and Activision killed that dream that Harmonix had. All this game seems to do is have double notes and long notes the whole way through. Way to get lazy guys. The "good" people behind those "let's release a Tony Hawk game every year once a year for the next 20 years" seem to be on the road to do this for GH.

Seriously, it felt like the geniuses said,"Hey, this game is catching on, come up with any song idea that you wanna see in a game and we'll see if this is possible in 3 months."

THE KILLERS?!?!?! When do u think "awesome guitar riffs" when you thing the Killers? I mean.... MY GOD!! Some of these songs seem out of left-field. I also think they paid attention to too much of the older crowd in their 30's-40's that picked up this game and cried for more oldies cause a good chunk of these songs are from the 80's (hello, that's what rock the 80's was for) this also means that much of the music blows.

Don't get me wrong, some songs are surefire classics, but I've heard these songs from the 90's a little too much on the radio already. GH 2 introduced me to some quality music.... not this game.

The only thing i'll say is this that should sum up my frustration. I'm sorry Harmonix. I should have invested in your game Rock Band instead of this garbage. You're list in music is alot more diverse and better than what GH 3 offers.

Don't be surprised if GH 4-9 come out in respective years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This game is a waste of time...

posted by VampPsy (ROBINSON, IL) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I never thought I would have said this about a guitar hero game but this game was a big waste of time. This game feels like activision and neversoft just tried to hard to live up to the guitar hero standard that harmonix set up for the game. There was just to many boring songs in this game and a hand full of good songs. Some of the good songs was the two boss battles of tom morello and slash. But lets go ahead and list the good.

The good things about this game
The guitar battling online {even though there is jackasses mostly on there that want people to play expert instead of the level they are on.}
Only a hand full of songs like rage against the machine, tenacious d, weezer, muse,satana,and the rolling stones was good the rest was stupid.

The bad
Just about everything else int he games that I didn't list. The songs get so freaking hard its like you have to have the hands of a robot to play. Even though majority of the songs aren't cover versions they feel like they have bad charting and don't have any feeling behind them. Hence even though I was playing on hard I was trying to fall asleep.
Another bad point is most of the list was ripped from rock band. Both rock band and gh3 had paranoid,cherub rock , sabotage, Mississippi queen,and a few others if I'm not wrong.

But all in all I am not a hard core rock band or harmonix freak. I just didn't find this game enjoy able. except for a hand full of songs and I feel they tried to rip off some of the rock band songs and failed. I mean the charting on the songs that the two games shard was way better on rock band than on guitar hero 3. playing guitar hero 3 versions of the songs they shared was like I said boring.

Guitar hero 3 just made me not want to play any future release from never soft and activision while they have the license on this game.

So thanks a lot activision and never soft for killing a good series you bastards why don't you go back to making skateboarding games and leave the rock to the professiona

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Watered Down Version Of Guitar Hero 2

posted by ViceZorb (BEAUMONT, TX) Oct 29, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

First off, the songs are just jumbled together, theres no real sense of progressing through the levels, on medium the songs are the same difficulty throughout the whole game in GH2 this was not the case, the songs seemed to get harder in the hirgher brackets.

Battle-Mode is just a waste of time, esp win you have to 'beat' a boss to progress through the game, it breaks up the flow and potiental story line [which is perfectlly short and to the point for this kind of game.

But what can i say, its still fun to rock new songs out on a fake guitar!!! And the new black finish on the new one is a nice touch. The new wireless guitar handles better and the buttons are better space, and of course its wireless!!!

Moreover, i dont think this should have been GH3 but a whole new guitar sim game, since the main development team changed. It like having a 'Mission Impossible' series that had almost nothing to do with the original tv show. Yet I degress, this is a fine game as far as guitar sim games go, though they changed basically every aspect that led people to buy the second game, not telling them that the third game is different.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!!

posted by MattCat (PEABODY, MA) Oct 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

13 out of 36 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

this game is insaine! i love all the songs, and xbox live is sweet! you can play against real people. this is probably the best game i have ever got!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

no rockband

posted by gouncgo23 (SAVAGE, MN) Dec 30, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i Got Rockbad when it came out and my brother got GH3 for christmas when i tryed GH i reolized i made the right choice the guitar sucks, the buttens are to small and spaced wierd and the struming is wack, not to mention one boss battle is like a rap song that you play on the guitar?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not compatible

posted by Geoffrey (DERRY, NH) Mar 10, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

thought if I bought Rock Band my guitar would work for guitar hero, as the guitar hero guitar works for rock band... it doesn't

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Unbievable

posted by Drakhen (ATLANTA, GA) Jan 28, 2008

Member since May 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I just cant say where to begin I been excited about this game for some time now I moved it up in my qame q a few times and now I finally get the dumb thing to find out that they do not support the RockBand guitar, I cant believe this, I am not going to go out and buy a guitar when I allready have the rockband one, Oh well I am sure rockband is far far better of a game anyways, So long GH series, I hope you go down in flames.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock

posted by zenubio (FARMINGTON, MN) Oct 28, 2007

Member since Aug 2003

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

For the most part I think this is everything that GH2 is and more, but there are some aspects I'm not sure on. Now in part of the career mode you have to challenge other rockers (like Slash), in this arcade style mode. Although I like the attempt at mixing it up, I kind of felt it was stupid, just let me play my songs and master them. Thankfully it only happens 3 times, which is another issue (consistency), why not at the end of each level.

My biggest gripe is songs. I wasn't thoroughly impressed with the songs in GH2, so I thought these would be better. Don't get me wrong, there's songs that I love that more than make up for it, but there's WAY too many metal slashers songs for my taste. There's plenty of light rock that would be fun to play (Red Hot Chili Peppers, Counting Crows, Clapton, John Mayer, etc) that are no where to be found. I'm really curious how the songs are picked.

I think the game is slightly harder. I'm on the last level in GH2 on hard, and this game I beat on medium with a little more difficulty towards the end. I don't want to spoil it, but I love how they did the credits. The only other similiar time I've seen this is in a wakeboarding game.

All in all, as many have said if you like GH2 this isn't much different, so that's all you need to know.

Can't wait for Rock Band, which should smoke this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Why Put in Boss Nattles that No one can Beat?

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Dec 1, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

I reallyreally really reaqlly really really hate it when the Idiot {rogrammers think they need to put something like a BOSS battle into a otherwisegreat game, hey morons that program games some people arent Perfect Guitar Players LIke you seem to be Would have been a great game with the Exception of Boss Battles where you have to be a Professional Real Guitar Plplayer to beat them The Idiots that came up with the Idea I hope get Fired and never are able to find another Job,I give this at best a three all because of the Stupid BOSS Battles that never should have been in the game Stupid Morons!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RAD !!!!

posted by zerohour850 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 15, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

THE BEST OF ALL GH GAMES!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game!

posted by SunofaBob (PEARL CITY, HI) Nov 9, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

My wife loves to play this game. She keeps the songs in her head and looks them up afterwards. It's a great game for fun with family and friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good for first timers

posted by kicuming (STUDIO CITY, CA) Jul 14, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

this is a good game if you only play on easy or medium
Not a great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

best guitar hero title

posted by Qonscience (HAYMARKET, VA) Dec 3, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

Even though I haven't played all the GH titles for ps2 I think Gh3 is the best out of all gh games. The song list for this game is great. For hardcore gh fans you have raining blood which is always fun to play, one, cliffs of Dover, number of the beast and more unlockable songs that vary in genre. If you are just starting gh then I highly recommend this game. Almost all of the songs are fun to play and the title really lives up to its name. There are so many good bands on this game. And the highway is different than gh2. Personally I think this is the easiest game to hit all those hard solos. Another challenge held in this game is the song through the fire and flames. I have beaten it on expert and its a really rewarding experience once you actually have beaten it. Its a great game and doesnt take that long to beat and its cheap! Sp whether you decide to rent it or buy it, you will still have anamazing time with this game! Oh and I also suggest that you get a guitar hero controller if you don't have one ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I play Guitar Hero.....without a guitar

posted by garrettisbeast (CALDWELL, TX) Sep 4, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

I was very interested in this game because, like you saw in the title, what I say is true! i have had this game for almost three weeks now and i have only used the controller this hole time, crazy right. anyways back to the main topic. This game is pretty cool and i would definately recommend it. i give the producers a couple thumbs up i guess.Ha Ha. by the way, nice job on designing Slash, he looks awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i am startin to hate gamefly

posted by stringbean317 (DENHAM SPRINGS, LA) Aug 19, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

this is the second time ina row gamefly has sent me a game that does NOT work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game

posted by koolman20067 (PERRY, GA) May 8, 2011

Member since May 2011

this was a good game but it was too short in the career mode and u could not play as a bass player

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Guitar Hero III

posted by michael476 (AKRON, OH) Jan 9, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

this is one of the best Guitar Heros

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wasted Rental

posted by AGUN72 (PALMYRA, PA) Apr 21, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

If you have Rock Band equipment, do not rent this game. It is not compatible with the Rock Band guitar. Neither are any of the Guitar Hero games published after this one. You have to have a Guitar Hero guitar or you can not play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Compatible With Rock Band Controller

posted by NoCode0680 (ARGYLE, TX) Mar 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

Ever since I got my Beatles Rock Band controller I've been checking out various Rock Band and Guitar Hero games. Most recently Guitar Hero Aerosmith and Guitar Hero Metallica. Apparently every Guitar Hero game from Aerosmith on is compatible with the Rock Band controller, Aerosmith was not at first, but an online patch will make it so. Unfortunatly no such patch was created for GHIII. I don't know all the politics behind this, but I do know that Guitar Hero controllers will work on every Rock Band game, but the GH people have not completely returned the favor. So anyway, I got the game today, and my controller would not work. So I can't tell you anything about the game, but my rating of 1 is because they should go back and make this game compatible like they did GH Aerosmith.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My personal Guitar Hero favorite

posted by latiasfan (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Nov 29, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

With a great varied setlist and cool guest appearances like Slash and Tom Morello, this is one of the best Guitar Heroes to date.

Pros:
-Awesome setlist. It's got a good variety of modern rock. classic rock, and even some other stuff in between.
-Good graphics. It's not the best thing you'll ever see, but it's pretty realistic.
-Customization isn't quite as good as the newer Guitar Hero titles like World Tour or 5, but there are a lot of guitars to choose from.
-If you're crazy good at Guitar Hero, the ultimate challenge - Through the Fire and Flames by Dragonforce - is on this game, and I think it's the hardest song on any Guitar Hero yet. I'm also pretty sure this version is harder than the one on Smash Hits.

Cons:
-Since it's before the age of the drum kit and mic, this game only features Guitar and Bass. Some of its songs are available on Smash Hits, however, but this is still worth having as well.
-Challenge. It takes an INTENSE amount of skill to beat this game on expert, especially the final boss battle (I counted, 102 tries to beat the last boss alone). I don't know if this could be considered a 'con,' but it's pretty ridiculous if you want the achievements for it
-Achievements. You don't get the achievements for beating it on Easy, Medium, or Hard when you beat it on Expert; you have to go back and pluck out the easy stuff on all the main songs if you want to get all the gamer points for this game. Also, there's one for beating Through the Fire and Flames on Expert, which is insanely impossible.

Great Guitar Hero, Great setlist, very very challenging on Expert. It's worth a rent, even with all the new full-band ones coming out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Game locks up muy system

posted by Liero67 (OWOSSO, MI) May 18, 2009

Member since May 2009

Every time I get this game and put into my xbox it gives me an error message saying I need to put it into an xbox 360 console. well duh it is. I wouldnt recomend this game to anyone beacuse the problem gets wordse with each time I use the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse