Rent Guitar Hero Encore: Rocks the 80's for PS2
view large frontback

Guitar Hero Encore: Rocks the 80's

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

2419 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Guitar Hero Encore: Rocks the 80's

posted by rockroza5 (CAMERON, OK) Sep 11, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I grew up in the 80's and nothin than this get's more awsome this game totaly rips.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game! but I play with a DualShock, so...

posted by ryanzero (FOLEY, AL) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is great, not as devastatingly accurate as Frequency, more akin to Amplitude in that it gives you some leeway on timing your presses. This makes it a better party game.

The soundtrack is classic and very well-mixed. Sounds better than CDs. It's great to get to play these tracks that I'd never really listen to otherwise. I have a new appreciation for 80s music.

Like I said in my title, I prefer the Dual Shock 2 over the guitar because I have arthritis and can't mash the big plastic buttons so well. This is a problem playing on HARD and EXPERT difficulty because the final trill on Bang Your Head (Mental Health) by Quiet Riot is nigh impossible without the guitar controller. Too bad Harmonix didn't consider this when they obviously included gamepad support to cater to their loyal fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What do you expect

posted by Nevets01 (MADISON, TN) Apr 16, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its guitar hero, did you honestly think they were going to change anything? Its Guitar hero 2 and a half. Its was a just filler for Guitar Hero fanatics (like me) to play between guitar hero 2 and three.
Its the exact same as guitar hero 2, just slightly re-designed for the 80's. Its sort of an upgrade in a way. So if you liked Guitar hero 2, you should like this one too. GUITAR HERO FTW!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Comparison Of Games From This Series

posted by Spider (KANSAS CITY, MO) Mar 21, 2008

Member since May 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've decided it would really help if I described more than one Guitar Hero game in a review, so I've taken this game, Guitar Hero, and Guitar Hero 3 : Legends of Rock, and wrote what is like a review of all three.

First, this series is about the life of a rock n' roll guitarist playing old and new songs. This game is extremely frustrating with the Dualshock 2 controller, if I were you, I would only rent these games if I had access to a guitar controller or two. This is because in these games, colored dots come at you on the screen, and you have to strum the note and press the right button to get the note or chord. This is what makes it hard with the Dualshock, it doesn't have colored buttons. Now for Guitar Hero Encore : Rocks the 80's.

In Guitar Hero Encore : Rocks the 80's, you play along to songs like " I Wanna Rock " by Twisted Sister, " Round and Round " by Ratt, and the cover of " Ballroom Blitz " by Krokus ( originally played by Sweet ) . This game is shorter and has less bonus content than others of the series. This has the same characters as Guitar Hero 2, except with 80's makeovers. The graphics are just like Guitar Hero 2, and the venues are mostly the same. This game gets 8 out of 10. Next, with Guitar Hero.

In Guitar Hero, you can enjoy the best playlist of the series, with songs like " I Wanna Be Sedated " by The Ramones, " Iron Man " by Black Sabbath, and who can forget " Smoke on the Water " by Deep Purple. The major downside of this game is that you can't play on different difficulties in multiplayer like other games of the series. The graphics in this game aren't so great, a little cartoonish, but not as much as the almost scary characters in Guitar Hero 3 : Legends of Rock. The characters are mostly just like the ones in Guitar Hero 2. This one gets 9 out of 10.

In Guitar Hero 3 : Legends of Rock, you play along to songs like " Welcome to the Jungle " by Guns N' Roses. This one has the best multiplayer, though. 8 of 10. Read my review

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Harmonixs Guitar hero Farewell

posted by Youthrebel (XENIA, OH) Jul 23, 2007

Member since Jun 2004

17 out of 22 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

This is the last installment of guitar hero by the orignal creators at Harmonix. This one follows the style of GH2 but adds (as the title suggests) an 80s theme. From the music to the stage to the character design its a time warp back to 1980 and im lovin it. The songs are all classic and all covered well and the orignal tracks are amazing. This one is a little easier to play, most of the songs truely arent as difficult to play as the songs in GH2 but they are still enjoyable to play through. The closer you get to the end of the track list is where the more challenging and rockin tracks lay. And i must say they couldnt have chosen a better bonus song than Limmozeen that song rocks and its very interesting to play. All and all the game ranks a 10 along side GH2 despite of its realitvily easy difficulty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Rushed?

posted by spitz01 (HUBERTUS, WI) Jul 25, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

The game is still guitar hero so it's always going to be fun, but it all just seemed so rushed. They don't even have new sayings in the loading menus and they can't even think of a new saying before you play the last song. It's still the same "Are you sure you wanna rock with Play with Me?" just like they did Freebird. The game took only a couple hours to beet on expert and after thats its only multi-player and trying to better your own score..for yourself. The songs are fun but honestly it would've been better being a downloadable content only picking the songs you want so you can leave out the garbage that fills up the empty space in the track list. Not worth 40$ unless you really love 80's music and don't get bored with it. Definitely worth a rent though just to play some new songs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good but not long enough

posted by sogxsbpx (CORONA, CA) Jul 24, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is just good. the songs are awesome but the problem is that there are only 30 of them. no extras to buy at all. theres only one unlockable character and no songs. there are the standard guitars and skins but no outfits. this is a bare bones guitar hero that is passable due to a great song list. definitely worth a rent just to play the songs and send it back but i wouldnt buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Rock the 80's

posted by BoomTown (CHINO HILLS, CA) Jul 24, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game follows the previous GH games with the same layouts and stlyes of play, but adds the 80's theme. If youre a 80's music lover then you will enjoy this game, otherwise it is a little dissapointing. Songs arent as fun to play, they lack solo's and fun things like that. Iron Maiden, Twisted Sister, and Extreme have some fun songs in the game, but the worst part.... NO BONUS SONGS!

once you beat the game (just 30 songs) that is it. You can try a different difficulty but theres no bonus songs which was sort of depressing :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

80's Shredding

posted by CarrieMari (WARD, AR) Jul 25, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Straight out of the box I loved this game. Not much had changed from Guitar Hero 2. The 80's theme was a good idea, makes you remember all the screamo metal there was back then.

The gameplay's not bad, though it's a bit easier than the last one, which I don't think is a bad thing. Guitar Hero 2 turned my fingers into pure muscle, I can curl 65lbs with my fingers lol. This one will give you a good challenge though with the later shreds you play in the game. Do You Want To Play, by Extreme will get you feeling that Buckethead type of finger work.

The music covers, are ok, they get annoying sometimes, especially 18 and life. You'll get used to them though and won't even remember. All-in-all, I give this game a 8 for giving us something to do until GH3 :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Skinny Ties, Neon and Big Hair, Oh My!!

posted by lazygamer (Northridge, CA) Jul 24, 2007

Member since Jan 2003

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

No doubt, this game is Guitar Hero 2 with songs strictly from the '80s. Everything has a neon '80s sheen to it, from the SCANTRON you enter your band name on in Career Mode to the Rainbow Brite-colored costumes and skinny ties of the main characters (the rest of the group is exactly the same as GH2 oddly enough, even the shaggy bassist). As long as you understand this, you should be happy with the game.
Some songs will be familiar ("We Got the Beat", "I Ran") while others...not so much ("Radar Love" by White Lion? Is that a "B" side?). Some of these songs may not be familiar at all to some. If you're younger than 25, there's a good chance none of these songs are familiar (perhaps "I Ran" from the GTA: Vice City commercial). Since song selection is what the game is about, this is going to be subjective. I've read reviews raving about the song choices of GH:2, but some of them I could have done without.
The notes and chords all seem appropriate, once again no shock there since this is a version of GH:2 and Harmonix's last bow in the series.
A big clue that this is more of an expansion than a stand-alone "full" game, is the lack of unlockable features. So no real rewards for finishing other than the intact encores and bragging rights for scores (which, come to think of it is rather '80s).
This is a nice summer distraction until GH:3 comes out, with its more familiar mixing of eras. Can't have too much Guitar Hero, right!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Weak With a Side of Weak-Sauce

posted by DebLee (ALBERTSON, NY) Aug 1, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Sigh... This game had so much potential. I think everyone was overly hyped about this game, thinking about all the great one-hit wonders and shredding guitar solos that SHOULD have been included. Instead, it's too many hair bands, not enough classsic 80's tunes. When I think of the 80's, I don't think of "Balls To the Wall" or "Seventeen." Those are the songs I want to FORGET ABOUT. But as a Guitar Hero fan, it's still fun to play new songs, regardless of how painfully the cover bands butcher the tracks. Would have been nice to see SOME differences between this game and GH2. But I guess they are saving all the good stuff for GH3, which looks much more promising. For me, this is a RENT ONLY game, and I'll send it back when I finish playing through it. I'll save my $50 for the next installment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

So so

posted by dawinner (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jul 31, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is use to be a 10 star rating what happened. Has the world gone mad (or at least the makers ). You cant change skins, buy new songs , and they took away most of the hardcore rockers. The songs are ok and all they sayings are the same. And at least change the places. This game must have been rush . This game is just one of those games makers use to distraced the fans until they're done with gh3 oh yea.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not that great

posted by ivanahump (PLANO, TX) Jul 27, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Guitar Hero's 80's edition is a waste i mean it may be worth renting if your a die hard guitar hero fan.
They made this one boring by taking out bonus tracks and getting rid of have of the characters

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

guitar hero encore: rock the 80's

posted by nothinleft (GONZALES, LA) Jul 26, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i felt that this game was a little bit of a disappointment. there werent very many things to buy in it. u could only buy the grim ripper as a character and there arent any outfits to buy for any characters. u couldn't even buy any new songs. i think u really have to love the 80's to enjoy this game. i wont recommend this game at all. i even think guitar hero I was better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

HORRIBLE GAME!!

posted by catinabox (SOSO, MS) Nov 8, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I can't beleive that they actually made this game! Only good thing about this game is it has 80's songs. Other than that, nothing new same old Guitar Hero. Seems to me the only thing they changed were the way the avatars looked and the lighting and colors. Other than that H O R R I B L E game!!!!!! It seems to me that this started as a side project on someones desk at the office! This had the potential to be a very great game! But, they blew it!! Totally blew it! Don't buy this game! Under no reason should you buy this game! Just rent it! You will see exactly what I am talking about as well as the other people that have left reviews on Gamefly. IT IS HORRIBLE!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste of time and a shame for the creators.

posted by PaulFace (SAINT PAUL, MN) Aug 28, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When confronted with the idea of a encore to GH2 I was as excited as everyone else. Then I played the piece of cra....the game(if that's what you call it. The songs ALL SUCK. Sure on Gh1 & GH2 there were some songs I didn't care for but I played them to get through the game. This time a round they seem to find the most obscure horrible excuses for music they could dust off. Of course this is just a marketing situation, just like new coka-cola. When you put a BAD BAD BAD product on the market your next product will be such a relief that everyone will say how great it is even if it is just like the original. This was waste of time and I will be happy to see it go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not the best Guitar Hero but still good.

posted by DethEngine (LONGVIEW, WA) Jul 31, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This Guitar Hero was not the best but it was pretty good. Im probably not going to buy this but I'll probalby re-rent it. But I will buy Guitar Hero III.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

guitar hero encore rocks

posted by drummerboy (CARTER LAKE, IA) Jul 28, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this is one of the best games if you like to rock out to the 1980s music and jam out to the songs it was a pretty fun game soo who cares if it has the same layouts or the same moves the songs really matter lol well to me it does but its a fun game to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Lame

posted by ChefBoone (RAPID CITY, SD) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Lame. <-period

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WONT WORK

posted by frustrated (WINDHAM, ME) Mar 15, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

My son put it in and it would not play at first I thought it was just the system but when he put another on in it worked fine.........so I just wanted you to know he was unable to play this game thank you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Meh o.k.

posted by cubemnstr (CARSON CITY, NV) Jul 28, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Like most have said it is a good game for renting. When this game was first announced I thought it would be like Guitar Hero 2, but not exactly like it. This game is basically GH2 but with the 80s slapped on it. When you first play the game it seems cool, but then it almost instantly goes away. I didn't buy this game, but since I know that it is $50 that kind of gives it a low blow. Thirty songs can get boring after a while. If you get this game rent it for a while and don't even think about buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by jeebus (CAMPBELL, CA) Jul 25, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

it's like harmonix just threw this together at the last minute. P U!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Was Disappointing

posted by AkaneN (OAKLAND, CA) Nov 26, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

I didn't like it much the music sucks to me same old same old for the early guitar hero's game play. I wanted to try it out even though the 80's weren't that big for their rock music i don't know why i thought it would be more of an 80's hits or more new wave or the techno pop dance music that was so big back then like electric avenue or the pretty in pink song or something. Anyway if your into 80's heavy metal or rock then you may like the songs that are on there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pretty Good I guess

posted by joshdies (TAYLORS FALLS, MN) Sep 1, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

This is a pretty Good game. it is mostly for people that know a lot of songs from the 80s or for anyone who likes guitar solos

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

OMG this bites.

posted by s4sutler (OXNARD, CA) Jul 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

The songs are great but the visuals sux they were just re skinned to look 80's. The stage and every thing stayed the same.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse