Rent Guitar Hero: Aerosmith for PS2
view large frontback

Guitar Hero: Aerosmith

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, Xbox 360, PS3
GF Rating
6.9

1013 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Really Disappointed, But Almost Impressed

posted by Spider (KANSAS CITY, MO) Sep 24, 2008

Member since May 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I will compare this to Guitar Hero: Rocks The 80's.

First, If you haven't played a Guitar Hero game before, it's all about jamming with songs from I Wanna Be Sedated by The Ramones to Free Bird by Lynyrd Skynard. You hit colored notes that come at you on the screen. This is why it's a lot more fun ( and easier ) with the special guitar controller.

Guitar Hero: Aerosmith is not really a disappointment. This is because I suspected that it wouldn't be all that great, because history repeats itself and I knew this was going to be much like how Rocks The 80's was: a step down for the series. The graphics and characters are much like the ones on Guitar Hero 3: Legends Of Rock, even though this has all the Aerosmith members. The graphics are so cartoonish it's almost scary. Really, less than half of the songs are not Aerosmith. But those are pretty good, like I Hate Myself For Loving You by Joan Jett And The Blackhearts. But I recommend this game to all Guitar Hero fans ( and Aerosmith junkies ). I give it a 7 out of 10.

Guitar Hero: Rocks The 80's is also a disappointment, but it probably has a better setlist, ranging from Turning Japanese by The Vapors to I Wanna Rock by Twisted Sister. This one has better graphics, too. They're pretty much just like Guitar Hero 2. But Guitar Hero: Aerosmith is more original than this. I also recommend this to all Guitar Hero fans ( and 80's junkies ). I give it an 8 out of 10.

So there you have it. I recommend Guitar Hero: Rocks The 80's over this, but both are still Guitar Hero games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Funky animation distracts otherwise good game

posted by xbuster (SALINAS, CA) Sep 16, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What is up with the funky animation? Ever since Neversoft took over the development of this franchise, the animation has gone downhill. The overly cartoonish look of the characters and the stiff movements (especially the drummer) are distracting and give the game an amateurish look.

Gameplay is good and the songs are great. However, I think the game would be much better if the characters were less cartoonish and the movements were more fluid. C'mon Neversoft, you can do better than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Very Disappointed

posted by momrocks (LITCHFIELD PARK, AZ) Jul 9, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love Aerosmith and was excited when I heard about this game.

I am glad I played it at my sister's house first and that she is the sucker that paid for it. The song list was weak and the Aerosmith classics that everyone would recognize are done by someone else.

You also spend alot of time standing there waiting for more notes to come. Very sad...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

FLash

posted by Criter73 (WASILLA, AK) Jul 3, 2008

Member since May 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Wow, I was so hoping for more. Been listing to Aerosmith since Permenent Vacation. Love guitar hero...but the two together is all FLash. What songs are not Aerosmith are dull (No offence Mr. Nugent.) Even the choice of songs from Aerosmith are too old for most players.
The vault only has a hand full of extra songs, mostly From Joe Perry's newest album.. woow!
But the concept of being an opening band for Aerosmith is cool, even have a battle with Joe Perry. All the graphics great. All in all, Rent, might last a weekend for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Walk This Way.....toward the counter to buy it!

posted by bleclercq (TERRE HAUTE, IN) Aug 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Guitar Hero + more Aerosmith = yes! If you like Aerosmith- heck, if you KINDA like Aerosmith, then this is your game. Guitar Hero usually has anything from classic rock to hard rock, but this one actually has a little bit of rap in it, which sets it aside from its predecessors.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Different but very good

posted by Chronos18 (MORGANTON, NC) Aug 8, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Guitar Hero: Aerosmith is a bit different than the other Guitar Heroes, As for the Gameplay I was disappointed to find out that they had removed coop carrier, but they added two player coop mode back to Multiplayer, I'm not going to try to spoil any of if so I will just say I did not really like the carrier mode it at first but as the game played on I started to understand why it was done that way and now I think it's cool. The screens are allot better than the other Guitar Heroes. The choice of Aerosmith songs is pretty good, but it didn't have I Don’t Want To Miss A Thing, bummer, oh well it had Love in an Elevator and Walk This Way so I'm still happy, as for the other band songs on the list the only ones I knew where the Black Crows, The Cult, and Stone Temple Pilots, the rest of them I had never heard until I played the game. Graphics wise, I think it was ok Rocks the 80s looks better in my opinion. Anyway it's a 10 for me because it's Guitar Hero and Aerosmith put together which makes it a great and fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too Easy!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by chadgamer (KELLER, TX) Jul 23, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've had this game for three days and only played it for 1 and a half hours a day and already beat it on expert!!! Usually that would be bragging but if you just got through the first couple of sections on GH3 then you've played harder songs than ALL of these!!

Guitar Hero had set themselves up for another impossibly hard song (like TTFF by Dragonforce on Guitar Hero 3) that would have made the game worth while for Guitar Hero fans, but at the end of Career you get to play a song that was so easy it should have been in the opening section!!!

Train Kept A-Rollin was the only challenging song,
but it didn't even compare to most other songs in the other Guitar Hero games!!

The characters are the same! They took all of the characters from GH3 and put them in this one!!
I wouldn't be mad if they had changed their look a little or something, but they look the exact same!!!!
The only new characters are the Aerosmith band members, but your so busy laughing at the size of the Aerosmith singer's mouth you don't care who your guitarist is!! Seriously! Its HUGE!!!!

This whole game was a disapointment!!

I'm going to give this game a 4 just because I love Guitar Hero!

I would recommend this game only to Guitar Hero freaks like myself who just have to get it because its Guitar Hero!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's Just That Great

posted by asb910 (CUYAHOGA FALLS, OH) Jul 3, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is one of those games that you want to get because of the success of the other guitar hero games. I think this one is even better then the other Guitar Hero games. I say this because the songs are just plain awesome. The only bad thing that got on my nerves about this game is that there is only 37 songs. Of course, there are more but you have to buy them. Or you can always use a cheat to get all the songs. This game has the same characters as Guitar Hero 3 (I don't know about 1,2,and rocks the 80's) They have new guitars that look pretty cool. Overall, It is a very very good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

alright

posted by harisonkid (HARRISON, OH) Jul 13, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game was not that great it is just like all the other guitar hero games maybe even worse.
it has bands i havent even heard of. Aerosmith is the only band i really know oon there

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!

posted by SH94AP (WEST SAND LAKE, NY) Jul 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is great, Aerosmith is an awesome band and when i heard about this game i thought it would be rly good, and 2 tell the truth it was insane.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sweetness

posted by loolooloo (PLAINFIELD, IL) Jul 11, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

yummy!

this is my favorite band

cool!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

it was ok i guess

posted by anime3443 (NORTH STREET, MI) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

this guitar hero is really for people who listen to areosmith, and i am not one of thoes people, i dont listen to there music and the game didnot really intrest me all around.

But if you like areosmith and guitar hero than give it a go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

this game is awesome!

posted by jake12 (OWENSBORO, KY) Jul 20, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

put the awesomness of guitar hero plus, aerosmiths great songs and viola you got one awesome game. and playing as the aerosmith people, awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

have the game luv it

posted by Raptor1133 (PORT ORANGE, FL) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

i will tell you if your thinking of playing expert learn to master hammer ons and hammer offs since even at the begging you will need them.i got this game for christmas and by the title luv it.i would buy the game. but if you hate aerosmith then you will hate it.
the only bad thing about it is that when the rest of the band sings in the chourse parts their lips dont always move but other than that its one of the best games ever would buy it if you luv aerosmith.if u hate them then i would rent.
hope this helps

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sucked

posted by funnyshade (GURLEY, AL) Jun 25, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

This game sucked it was a copy of guitar hero 3 but worse this is the worst one yet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Aerosmith good Idea bad playabillty

posted by DOUGNWANDA (MOUNT VERNON, IL) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

While the game idea was excellent playability is not what we expected!

The game is set up the same as guitar hero 2. It has a good story line with plenty to learn about Aerosmith.

The problem is that it seemed to be impossible to calibrate the guitar. We tried different guitars and could not get it to play right.

We have played nearly every game in this series and never had this problem. We were actually planning on buying this game. Thanks to gamefly for letting us try it first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's Okay, but not GREAT

posted by Hithere (CHANTILLY, VA) Feb 21, 2009

Member since Apr 2004

It was Okay, But not great. Guitar Hero III: Lengends Of Rock was MUCH better. Better songs, HARDER songs, and GOOD songs.

But Guitar Hero IV: Aerosmith was still pretty good.

Mark my words, you WILL NOT like it as much as Guitar Hero III!

Here are the best songs from LEAST to GREATEST.

5. King Of Rock, Run DMC

4. All The Young Dudes, Mott The Hooper

3.Walk This Way, Run DMC feat. Aerosmith

2.Back In The Saddle, Aerosmith

And The BEST SONG ON GUITAR HERO IV IS.....

1. Dream On, Aerosmith

So, as you can see, there are some good songs on it.

But here are the WORST SONGS On it from BEST to WORST.

5. I Hate Myself for Lovin' You, Joan Jett & The Black Hearts

4. Mercy, The Joe Perry Project

3. Mama Kin, Aerosmith

2. All Day & All Night, The Kinks

AND THE WORST SONG ON GUITAR HERO IV IS.....

1. Toys In The Attic, Aerosmith

I always hated Toys In The Attic.

Anyway, It's a fine game and blah blah blah.

So thanks for listening and have a good day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by CJ251015 (FLANDERS, NJ) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

This is a great game. There are new and old songs, all of which are awesome!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GH aerosmith

posted by Colton9490 (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 15, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

It was a overall decent game..there could have been some better songs and could have been more...was able to beat the game in medium in 3 1/2 hrs. it is also easier than other GH games.Im now trying it on hard to make more of a challenge

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Guitar Hero: Aerosmith

posted by caps242 (ANDOVER, MA) Nov 15, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

this game is okay. but its not all aerosmith songs, because of that i was kind of dissapointed. But the one biggest thing that tict me off was that the game didn't have "lizard love"! So they dont have all of aerosmith's songs! overall i would give it a 4! :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Guitar hero Aerosmith

posted by Dougie (LOUISVILLE, KY) Nov 6, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

This game deserves a 100. It was a great game. My five favorite songs were 1.Draw the line 2.King of rock 3.Walk this way(Run dmc) 4.Walk this way 5.Train kept a rollin. It was cool how they made run dmc a guitarist. a perfect 100.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucks

posted by Cadavors (LITTLETON, CO) Oct 4, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

why because all the songs are boring even on expert and on top of that the song choice sucks even worse then the game play so dont rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This Game is AWESOME!

posted by Marcus163 (BRONX, NY) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

This game is too cool. I love it. I recommend it to everyone who enjoys good music and a good challenge. It is awesome I like how they included Run DMC in there too. It is awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ok game

posted by banana330 (TOWNSEND, MA) Aug 19, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Guitar hero aerosmith wasent realy that good the song were not realy that fun guitar hero 3 bet this one by 3 points i dont think the songs were fun to play to cause after like 2 songs i had to quit and go do somthing else cause i was bored from that game
still good tho.

P.S. readers check out guitar hero on tour very good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ahhhh

posted by twiztidjug (MC ROBERTS, KY) Aug 14, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

This Game Sucked.... It was like the only songs that were any good were the aerosmith songs.....All the other songs were bad...I would not suggest anyone getting this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse