Rent Guitar Hero: Aerosmith for Wii
view large frontback

Guitar Hero: Aerosmith

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3, PS2
GF Rating
6.5

1112 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

guud but some bad

posted by vmimom (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Feb 27, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

great game with great songs but if you dont have a guitar DO NOT GET THIS GAME!b/c the controls are extremely hard for the wii without the guitar!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOME

posted by lopstephan (SOUTH DAYTONA, FL) Dec 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

gREAT GAME FEELS LIKE YOUR ACTUALLY IN THE BAND! gREAT CONSEPT!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Guitar Hero Aerosmith

posted by chasinfire (LA PORTE, IN) Nov 9, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I like the concept, and they do have alot of songs. Not a huge Aerosmith fan. They had to put in alot of so so songs to fill the game. I would rent this, play it and send it back. This one isn't a keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

OK but not great

posted by Malkier20 (O FALLON, MO) Oct 13, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was a good rental from Gamefly but I am glad I did not buy it. I beat it on medium in two days with minimal play time. I did not fail out of any songs. I say this not to brag but to give an idea of how difficult the game is. On medium it took me 3 weeks to beat Guittar Hero 3 with. The song choice was OK but it missed out on some really good Aerosmith songs like Eat the Rich and Walk.

All in all, the game made a good distraction for me till Guittar Hero World Tour comes out but definitely isn't on par with Guittar Hero 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Guitar Hero: Aerosmith

posted by BeesKnees (FORNEY, TX) Sep 25, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Guitar Hero: Aerosmith is a very good version of Guitar Hero, and if you love Aerosmith this is the game for you. If you like the battle features of other guitar heroes then you might be disappointed. There is only one battle against Joe Perry at the end of the game. You will also get to hear some newer Aerosmith from 07 and 08 albums. I still recommend it if you are into Guitar Hero as a rent from gamefly, but you might not want to buy it. There are other songs in the game so you don’t burn out on Aerosmith. Each level has pretty much 2 non-Aerosmith songs then 2 that are. First is typically a newer song. Second a hit from 70's, 80's, or 90's as well as the encore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rock it baby

posted by rvalimont (CAMBRIDGE SPRINGS, PA) Aug 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is good but i am surprised that there is not enough aerosmith songs .....but overall excellent graphics i cant wait for guitar hero 4 in october this will get me until release ....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

GH:Aerosmith lacking, but not a bad game.

posted by LordGoomba (ODESSA, TX) Jul 31, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

GH:Aerosmith was just released at a poor time. The game is, in itself, a decent game.

The track listing includes, of course, Aerosmith and some tracks from other bands that Aerosmith toured with or they happened to like or cover their songs. I would have probably preferred the entire track listing to be Aerosmith, but from a marketing standpoint I can see why it was done the way it was done.

The game's fault is that it was released not too long after GH 3 and GH:On Tour. So, GH:Aerosmith just got too old too fast. I had just about become bored with GH 3 and GH:On Tour and out comes GH:Aerosmith. I was easily bored with GH:Aerosmith. New tracks is not new content. Songs may be different, but gameplay is the same and is becoming very stale.

I played a few tracks and was easily bored with it and haven't picked up the guitar since. All in all, however, GH:Aerosmith is not a poor game. It just had poor timing for release.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Guitar Hero: Aerosmith

posted by rpgadam07 (GREENVILLE, SC) Jul 11, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It was decent. I really liked some of the songs even though I'm not not an Aerosmith fan, such as Back in the Saddle, Kings and Queens, and Train Kepta Rollin.

I did have a problem with the difficulty of the songs. The reason I am still playing Guitar Hero 3 even though I got it back in November for my birthday is because most of the songs are still challenging and fun to play (One, Through the Fire and Flames, etc). On GH: Aerosmith, there were only a couple of songs that were a challenge to me (like Train Kepta Rollin and the Joe Perry Battle).

It was a good rent, but I probably wouldn't want to own it unless it was a gift or something.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good game to spend some time

posted by achaguri (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jun 29, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Just like Guitar Hero 3, GH Aerosmith keeps you in front of the TV desperate to see what music is coming next... The Aerosmith band characters are real good and the songs are awesome...
I recommend it if you are an Aerosmith fan or not...
Just Keep Rocking!
Cheers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Guitar Hero: Aerosmith

posted by FlayVI (HEWITT, TX) Jan 11, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

To be honest...I heard lots of bad things about this game, but I wanted to experience it for myself. I'm glad I did. I think we're being too hard on this game. Here are a couple of negatives that were true:

1. The game is not innovative in any way.
2. you can tell it was made in a hurry.

These negatives didn't really bother me. If you're a fan of the other Guitar Hero games, it plays exactly the same way, which I found comforting. It should have been called Guitar Hero 3: Aerosmith. The worst things I noticed were that the timing of audio and video was off (even with calibration), and I would of liked to play more "classic" Aerosmith songs from the 70s, 80s and 90s. Other than that, I enjoyed the game very much...and I forgot how cool "Livin' on the Edge" was. I considered keeping the game, but did not. If you're on the ence about this game, give it a try...you might be surprised. Happy Gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

dissapointing, but not bad

posted by tony13 (BOTHELL, WA) Jul 3, 2008

Member since May 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

GH Aerosmith was dissapointing in the manner that it did not feature enough of the bands hits from Permanent Vacation, Pump, and Get a Grip. They had a lot of songs that I couldn't have cared if I ever heard again. I could have been way better with a better song selection. Also it only featured 31 songs, + purchased songs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It is the most ownage game i have ever played

posted by ss9vinny (BRICK, NJ) Jun 28, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love the way they put in other bands music that they toured with, i would recomend this game to all hard-core guitar hero fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A definite keeper!!!!!

posted by raildave (FOREST HILLS, NY) Jul 9, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Although some reviews stated that this doesn't offer enough content for the price....I beg to differ. This latest offering in the Guitar Hero series at least makes the game playable. (unlike the Guitar Hero 3 disc)And of course it helps that I am an Aerosmith fan from way back and this game is a must for any fan!! This is an interactive tribute to one of the greatest rock bands out there!!
I am thoroughly enjoying the heck out of this disc and reliving songs I have not heard in a long time!!
Way to go Activision...now if we could have a Guitar Hero Stones....that would be awesome!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rock On

posted by sean794 (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 30, 2008

Member since May 2008

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

For the past 8 months or so, Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock has been dancing a merry jig in the global marketplace, so it's about time they released an expansion pack. After the disaster that was Guitar Hero: Rock's the 80's, I was a little scared about what Guitar Hero: Aerosmith would bring. And quite frankly, it deserves the praise it gets... MOSTLY.

The game centers around, you guessed it, Aerosmith. From when they first started up until their induction into the Rock n' Roll Hall of Fame. Of course, the setlist doesn't ENTIRELY feature Aerosmith, because if it did, there would have been something severely wrong with the development team. Not only is there Aerosmith, there's also Joan Jett, Mott the Hoople, Run D.M.C., Stone Temple Pilots, Cheap Trick, The Clash, New York Dolls, The Cult, the Black Crowes, Lenny Kravitz and Ted Nugent. And since I'm so late into my 2nd paragraph, it's about time I start talking about gameplay.

The game is very similar to Guitar Hero III with several notable differences. The Hammer-on/Pull-Off system is much smoother, the graphics are slightly better and (almost) all of the songs let you play rhythm guitar instead of bass guitar in Co-Op mode. I, being raised on Guitar Hero III, noticed that the game is significantly easier, with only hard song being the very last one, and that's playing on Expert. However, that is preferable to having my hands be set aflame while playing Through the Fire and Flames in GHIII.

Overall, if a) like Guitar Hero or b) like Aerosmith, I heartily recommend this game. And now I have to go run and hide from Yahtzee Croshaw so he doesn't track me down and beat the living snot out of me for ripping off his reviews.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pretty good

posted by cneira (CANTON, OH) Jul 1, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

very excited to play a new guitar hero but i think they could have added more songs. the graphics are great though!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Song selection,graphics,and amount of songs off

posted by owengamer (EAST FALMOUTH, MA) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This games has a few problems that bring it down but not completly it still manages to bring a solid performance areosmith you play as well joe perry also your original band on non aerosmith songs you do notice the varitey is not their with non aeromith songs really not good at all but aerosmith songs are suprisingly pretty good the final score is a seven for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AEROSMITH ROCKS!!!!!!!

posted by kingkool (LARCHMONT, NY) May 26, 2009

Member since May 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As a guitar hero fan this game was awesome, and as an Aerosmith fan i cant even begin to descibe hiw great this game was. believ me. theres no use renting it, buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Missing some of the best songs

posted by veelaunch (GLENDALE, UT) Mar 23, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. Guitar Hero at its finest. My only gripe is that some of my favorite songs particularly from Get a Grip album were not to be found. Hello isn't that the point of a game focusing on one band so that you can appreciate all of their songs? Otherwise I enjoyed it thoroughly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just wish it had more songs

posted by coxwithane (MANKATO, MN) Feb 4, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really like the format of opening act songs by other groups and then you earn the Aerosmith stuff, but I found that most of the Aerosmith songs were WAY old and there just weren't enough of them. I don't remember anything being more recent than the 80's, and I really wanted some of their more current music. Other GH games have more than twice as many songs as this game does.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad, not great

posted by dnavarre (PRATTVILLE, AL) Aug 5, 2008

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is missing a few things like Aerosmith's better songs, and the fact that a third of the songs are not theirs or even covered by them takes it down as well.

It's the same Guitar Hero you know, just shorter. It has the same four difficulties, and if you already have mastered expert than about a quarter of the game will be much too easy for you.

If you're a beginner then it's not the game you want to start on, you would much rather have Rock Band or a full length Guitar Hero game instead.

At least give this one a 3-day rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another guitar hero

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Aug 4, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Guitar Hero is a great game series. And the next addition to the series is Aerosmith. And it is basically the same thing as guitar hero 3 besides its only aerosmith. So if you like aerosmith your in luck. A thing i dont like about it if you use the wiimote is that the controls are very weird and it takes a lot of getting use to. A nice thing about it is that it has WiFi so you can play with people around the world. The graphics are what i call "Wii Graphics" which means if you have an xbox 360 or a ps3 itll have better graphics. But its a very nice game and a good contender for a spot on your game Q. But unless you love Aerosmith dont buy this game, just buy the third one because it has something for everybody.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Guitar Hero!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by colinkurt (CLEVELAND HEIGHTS, OH) Jul 17, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Another good Guitar Hero game!!! It is you start out as an opening band and then you play as Aerosmith!!! They have many unlockables and stuff. It is fun!!! Rent it, buy it!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DA SHISNIC

posted by bobbin (ROY, UT) Jul 1, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is amaizing no two ways about i pushed the keep it button before i even recived the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Classic Installment of Guitar Hero

posted by IceCold08 (ALIQUIPPA, PA) Jun 30, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First off I am very impressed at how quickly I received this game, I was sure it would be low availability on the release day but,Gamefly was prepared. Keep up the good work Gamefly.

Anyway from the moment I started my career I knew this was a special game. You play a few songs as your created band "a-la an opening act" then you take over the stage as Aerosmith. Very quickly you lose yourself in the game, singing along as you play.

This game gets a Perfect 10 from me, which is hard to come by.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Did not like the song choice!

posted by nise06 (POWAY, CA) Dec 30, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

We did not like the choice of songs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse