Rent Guitar Hero: Aerosmith for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Guitar Hero: Aerosmith

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS3, PS2
GF Rating
6.3

4637 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not what I expected

posted by Kynlore (LEDYARD, CT) Nov 4, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Maybe I should have expected a rehash of GH3, because that's what I got. There weren't enough of my favorite Aerosmith songs in there to make me play it more than once through. After one career play I was done. I sent it back the day after I got it. First time I've done that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Guitar Hero 3 Expansion

posted by Okiegeek (AGRA, OK) Jul 1, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

38 out of 51 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

First off I am very disappointed with this game because I bought it. Don't get me wrong this would be an O.K. title to rent. As I do in all my reviews I will list the Pro's and Con's of this game and a summary

Pro's: The game looks fresh and new on the menu. Aerosmith does interviews throughout the whole career mode (very descriptive and sometimes even funny). There is a nice array of Aerosmith tracks ranging from Dream On to Pink. Very few new guitars but alot of new finishes for them. Quite a bit easier than the 3rd installment (could be good or bad)

Con's: Definitely not a game to buy (I mean seriously Activision could have sold an online expansion pack for GH3 and charged 10 dollars for it). Nothing changed with the physics, graphics, online modes, or scoring system. Only 31 songs in the actual set list (over half of them being aerosmith). The fact that for every tier of career mode you have to play 2 sometimes even 3 aerosmith songs in order to progress (gets incredibly repetitive, Aerosmith has never been recognized for their variety of music, most of the songs sound identical except for some variation in lyrics.) I played through the whole career mode on hard and made 5 stars on each song excluding one. I haven't even beat GH3 on Hard. Activision really underachieves with this game and lost respect from me due to the fact that I bought it thinking it was an all new game. I see no downloadable content whatsoever. There isn't even a Xbox Live page for this game. I don't know if they plan on incorporating it later or what.

Summary: Overall this game would make a good rent for the Guitar Hero fans but definitely not one to purchase. I believe that the producers of this game could have sold it online as a 15$ expansion pack for GH3. Also thoroughly disappointed in the variety of music they have. If you don't like classic rock then you might not even want to rent this game. I still can't believe I paid 60$ for this expansion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not as cool as i was hoping.

posted by pauly37 (SULPHUR, OK) Jun 29, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

20 out of 27 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

being a fan of aerosmith and guitar hero i had high hopes for this one, guess i set my hopes to high.
first thing is if you`ve played gh3 , you`ll know exactly what to expect. the graphics and presentation are exactly the same , which is no bad thing.
the problem i had with it was ,1. the set list(not the aerosmith tracks, pretty much all their good ones are in it)its the other bands tracks or the other bands themselves, cheap trick ?? mott the hoople ?? the clash, great band , loved the clash as a kid growing up in england in my punk days, just seemed a weird choice of track .i can get past the weird bands and odd tracks , my main gripe is the longevity, just over 40 tracks , only 31 in career.i`m no gh pro trust me, on the hard difficulty i can get to the last episode on gh2and the final 2 episodes on gh3 before i get into any kind of trouble. this game i finished career on hard first attempt , no failures.so it`s definately easier than the previous 2.
overall i just felt like this game felt more like an extended demo, much like gt5 prologue, it seems more a filler until the real thing arrives.i`m still debating on whether it was worth the 65 bucks i paid for it.i would advise if you have the guitar then rent, if not buy gh3 with guitar then rent this .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GH and Aerosmith Fans can Walk This Way

posted by EpykTerp (COLLEGE PARK, MD) Jun 29, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

19 out of 26 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

To clear something up, GH: Aerosmith (GHA) is NOT the next big game in the the GH series, it's more of a filler between GH3: Legends of Rock and GH: World Tour (scheduled to release 10/28/2008).

That being said, GHA does exactly what it set out to do: it gives Guitar Hero enthusiasts a batch of great songs to play, and gives Aerosmith lovers the chance to shred onstage with their favorite band.

GHA runs on the GH3 engine (it looks and feels the same), but with some new features. You'll be able to jam in a variety of Aerosmith-inspired venues, and, most importantly, take the stage as Joe Perry (Aerosmith's lead guitarist), shredding your heart out as a cartoony, shirtless Steven Tyler belts "Dream On" to a roaring crowd.

The songlist includes 41 songs in total, which include 25 Aerosmith songs, and 4 written and performed by Joe Perry. The rest are songs from big names of the Aerosmith era, such as The Clash and Stone Temple Pilots.

GHA is noticeably easier than its predecessors. If you had a tough time getting through career mode in GH3, you're in luck, as GHA seemed much less difficult on every difficulty.

The only notable flaw in GHA is the lack of a co-op career mode, which I had a LOT of fun with in GH3. You can still play with a friend in co-op or versus, just without the story.

If you liked GH3, and don't despise Aerosmith, pick this one up, you won't be disappointed. If you didn't like GH3, or if you hate Aerosmith, leave this one on the shelf.

If you haven't played GH3, please, come out from that rock you're living under.

Happy Shredding,
Epyk

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Don't waste your time and just get Rockband 2

posted by gravity257 (SEATTLE, WA) Oct 15, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

After Guitar Hero 2, 3, Rock Band, and Rock Band 2, I had much higher expectations for this game. I'm no Guitar hero (I can barely beat hard on GH3) and I made it all the way through the game on hard in under 3 hours with no scores under 95%.

If you like Areosmith, I'd say rent the game for that reason, but if you aren't and Aerosmith fan, don't waste your time and just go get Rock Band 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good rental

posted by rogerdoger (VOLO, IL) Oct 7, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a good rental, certainly not one to buy imo. Much easier than GH2 and GH3. The video spliced in from Aerosmith is kinda interesting and a nice addition.

Not a big fan of Aerosmith myself, but if you like the guitar hero type game this is worth the rental. Obviously if you like Aerosmith this is really worth the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Guitar Hero: Very Little Aerosmith

posted by Bannon9k (BATON ROUGE, LA) Nov 3, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

You'd have to be a hardcore aerosmith fan to enjoy this game. And even then you'd be disappointed. First off, only 18 out of the 31 tracks are Aerosmith songs. The rest are mostly garbage songs that have to be played on easy so you can stumble your way through them while not paying attention.

Once you finally get to some Aerosmith songs you realize they only used a couple of their really good songs. The rest would require a large sum of narcotics to enjoy.

Over all, skip this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Guitar Hero Aerosmith

posted by Codethomas (BRANSON, MO) Jul 2, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 14 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

My friend and i got this game in the mail yesterday and we popped it into his 360 and we started playing and we went on expert and we beat the career pretty fast without a guitar and then with a guitar it was fun but it passes out achievements like they are candy(not like there is anything wrong with that).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Hmm.. It's Okay.

posted by KMurda (ROSWELL, GA) Jul 1, 2008

Member since May 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

First off, I play a lot of Guitar Hero/Rockband, so I'm well experience. I play on Expert easily.

Guitar Hero: Aerosmith is a little dissapointing, but not as much as I thought. I mean I knew it wasn't going to blow me away, but it is a good rental.

The songs are ... okay. I really wish there were some other Aerosmith songs chosen.

There are actually only a couple I enjoy playing.

The lack of co-op career was a little disappointing. The fact that there is only 31 songs in Career mode is a little disappointing.

I sat down and played Expert Career and finished it in 3 hours. I basically breezed through every song until the Train Keeps on Rolling, which is fun yet incredibly hard.

I like Guitar Hero because the guitar parts are insane compared to Rockband, but I felt disappointed. I breezed through them all without ever having to repeat. I failed twice in 30 songs once at 95% and another at 97%.

The story to Career mode is kind of fun. Each venue Aerosmith coms on and tells you what happens next in their career.

The unlockables are alright. The game just feels a little half a$$ed as far as content.

It kind of feels like an expansion to Guitar Hero 3, which in principle it is except for it costs $60 and the lack of Guitar Hero 3 content.

The songs are mainly ok at best, but there are a few gems. "Dream On" and "Walk this Way featuring DMC" were songs I really, really want to come back in Guitar Hero: World Tour. Those songs were an absolute blast to play. They have a great vibe to them.

All in all, it is a fun couple days, but there isn't much to it. 31 songs + 7ish bonus tracks won't keep you busy for very long.

I'm happy with a 7 on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Do you really think aero-smith needs more money!?

posted by JoAnWalnut (PUEBLO, CO) Oct 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I am honestly saddened to see that this formula of "lets pump out the same game repetitively and create minor tweaks to the content" is so widely accepted with little or no question. Now forget that I'm an honest musician who plays guitar, bass, and drums along with a multitude of other instruments. This game is in the same vein as DDR, and its pathetic that people feel like "Rock Stars" for being able to play games like this flawlessly. A person will go out and buy this guy. Fine. Then they buy all the extra peripherals for it, hundreds of dollars in equipment often times. But the point where somebody brags (honestly BRAGS TO ME) about how good they are at this game? Its NOTHING like playing an instrument. You hit five buttons repetitively, strum a little toggle switch and (most impressive of all) tilt the neck up at a slight angle to get "star power". I've played the game on expert, and in a fairly simple song mostly comprised of power chords, the screen breaks out into a blazing solo through the entirety of the song. Wow, that's really.. well, freaking lame man. I hate to have to dumb it down this much, but apparently I'm required to every time I speak to anybody of this game to touch base on any level. The only appeal of these games is they can be played by any, including toddlers with incredible ease. The draw back is you invest intense amounts of time and money into something that could be mastered by an elderly woman with cerebral palsy within a day or so. Why not go to your local music store and get a real guitar, or for that matter ANY instrument? Because most people are too lethargic to invest the energy into any skill worth while other than those they already know and understand these days. I love games, especially games requiring actual skill and reflex. This isn't one, so I must iterate. SHAME ON YOU IF YOU ENDORSE THIS MONOTONOUS DRIVEL. And trust my word when I say if this continues, original gaming is dead. Now go sell this and buy a guitar you drone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

JUST AN UPDATE

posted by Benjamin94 (DELAND, FL) Oct 3, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

When I first bought the game I thought it would be like a sample of guitar hero world tour but its just like guitar hero 3 with lots of areo smith. I was able to beat EXPERT in less than a day and its not just because the songs are way too easy the campieghn is short and I mean short the only thing they improved is the graphics and there not that different from GH3. AND IN MY OPINION IT DOUSNT LOOK LIKE THEY GOT MUCH SUPPORT FROM OTHER BANDS THIS TIME. All it is is areo smith and 2 or 3 other bands that you cant remember and trust me you dont want too remember them because the music is lacking variety its all 70s pop and no modern type songs so I would say rent or just forget about the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nothing surprising, but easy achievements

posted by MightyYuna (DENVER, CO) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I have played GH2, GH3 and Rock Band. This game is nothing more like another GH3, throwing Aerosmith, easier gameplay and tons of easy achievements up for grab in just first 3 songs. I played as Izzy and any woman character, turned down an encore, hit 100% on medium, play one song without activating star power, then play the encore again, Bang! I have 175 points in half an hour! Man, I busted my butt just to get 200 points from GH3! I checked out the cheat cheat, all 1000 points are more than possible to get.

The difficulty is between Rock Band and GH2. I beat Rock Band hard without failing, almost beat GH2 Hard other than Firebird, struggled with GH3 hard, but this game is probably as easy as Rock Band, but a lot more fun. There are not a whole lot of "hit green 15 times, then yellow 15 times" type of garbage like on RB. You still feel like you get to play the notes.

I like the videos in between the venues while Aerosmith explained the whole history of their journey. That was pretty cool for the fans.

Overall, as a GH hardcore fan, I didn't even bother to rent. Just bought it and I know I will play over and over again. Maybe on this game, I have some hopes to complete Expert...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game sucks

posted by Atrain (WINDSOR, CO) Aug 28, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

I have never played such a terrible game. And Aerosmith sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

okay gh game

posted by Qonscience (HAYMARKET, VA) Dec 4, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

I dont see why this game gets as low as a 5. The only thing I see wrong with this game is the size of the set list. Some people are right it could've just gone as an expansion pack to gh3. But this game is good for GH fans and achievement hunters (if you play well on expert then you could easily get around 600 gscore points). I got the game the first day it came out, and I beat it on the same day. Others complain that the graphics and highways are exactly the same as gh3 which is true. But to me and alot of other GH fans, gh3 was the best GH game. Don't fix something if it isn't broke right? If you are a big Aerosmith and GH fan i really recommend this game. One more thing about set list size. It shouldn't matter how big the set list is. The songs in the game will have you playing them over and over again. Songs like Toys in the Attic, Sweet Emotion, Walk This Way (Aerosmith and Run DMC versions), King of Rock, and Train kept a Rollin especially. You might even wanna think about buying this game now that its been out for a couple of years. But either way you will most likely have the game finished pretty quickly. This game deserves a shot!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bit disapointing

posted by rac191 (CHELSEA, MA) Sep 5, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I did not rent this game before buying it. I am rather new to the whole Guitar Hero franchise (Games), first buying GH World tour. I really enjoyed it and wondere why I waited to so long to get it. I figured that it was more for kids (I am 49 yrs old), and would not hold that much appeal for me. I do play a "Real guitar" and that may have been partly the reason why I didnt get it. But I am glad I did, and have purchased several others, including the Metallica version. OK, so on with my reaction to this game.

I was very excited until I got to the Guitar battle part of the game. Having played and still playing on the easy level, I found this very frustrating and actually put the game away and did not play it for a while. I thought, incorrectly it seems, that the guitar battles were for 2 players to battle or for online GH.
I am frankly really upset that I had to do this guitar battle to continue to play the game. For me, it takes away from the whole fun of playing the game to begin with. I was also disappointed with the song list. Many of their songs are not available untill you unlock them in some way. The cheat to unlock all songs did not work. I was looking forward to play "I dont wanna miss a thing", "crazy", Dude looks like lady and other great Aerosmith songs. I am not sure these songs are available, because you have to jump through so many hoops to unlock songs.
But I was the most upset with the quitar battle early in the game and having to do it over and over again, and not being able to beat it after 15 times, I simply put it away and bought another GH game. I felt it was unfair, expecially as a begginer.
The GH as a whole, is a great deal of fun to play, and I now see the appeal. Since I do play the guitar (not too well I might add), I found that playing Gh was helpfull in many ways. Having never played with a band, it was nice to play with full band and it helped to be a better player. Hearing a actual beat helps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Okay

posted by Guardian1 (WHITEMAN AIR FORCE BASE, MO) Nov 8, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

This game is okay if you really like all the other guitar hero's then you will like this one. But if you are expecting a lot of hit songs from aerosmith don't count on it. Plus they have a few songs on there that aren't even aerosmith. I didn't care that much for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I don't Understand why people don't like this game

posted by yodathecat (SHORELINE, WA) May 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Many people hate this game, i disagree.
the game is short and easy but has ok songs. now before this game I did not like Aerosmith but after playing it I did. this game has good graphics, achievements and music and is free flowing unlike GH3. The multiplayer is OK, if you go on prime time you can find people but don't expect to find anyone at one in the morning. the expert campaign is actually do able. this is a must rent for a GH beginner because of the easyness of it. its a must buy is your a Die hard GH fan or like Aerosmith.

Over all:
Achievements (i got almost 900)
Graphics
Gameplay
Easyness
the campaign is do able

Ok:
Music
Store
Multiplayer

Bad:
None

you should check out what this game is offering, you may be surprised, and if you don't like it then good thing you rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

FANBOYS ONLY

posted by PregpEggo (LEWIS CENTER, OH) Apr 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Honestly i rented this game because i wanted some achievements it looks the same as guitar hero 3 and is lacking good songs. the good thing is that you dont have to play every career to get each career achievement but playing through the career once is more aerosmith then i can handle... unless youre a diehard aerosmith fan or achievement wh0re, dont get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

gha

posted by ilovegs (RENO, NV) Apr 5, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

i would say gha is more of a achievment game than anything, most of the songs are fun but no were close to gh3 so if your looking for a game that could get you ubove 500 g in 1 hour this is the game to get. whats cool is that you can beet the game on any difficulty and get the lower achievment, for example i beat it on expert and got all they other ones, so yes deffinetly get this game if you want to get some easy gamerscore!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ehhh....

posted by animanexus (BALTIMORE, MD) Apr 1, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Not going to beat around the bush. If u are a fan of guitar hero 3 or world tour i don't think this would be the game for you. The Aerosmith story is done well but the song list sucks in my opinion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Skip this game.

posted by DODGERdude (ATWATER, CA) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This game is not worth the two hours it takes to beat. The songs were boring and the selection was small. The Career Mode had 31 songs none of which are that challenging on hard difficulty. This game is just guitar heros way of trying to make a quick buck. Only the most extreme Aerosmith fans should bother with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Okay if you like Aerosmith a lot

posted by Gender (OREM, UT) Feb 2, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

There aren't very many songs, and a lot of them are trash. There are a few good songs though. Probably don't want to waste your time unless you really love Aerosmith, or you really love Guitar Hero and Rock Band and have already played the other ones to death.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Guitar Hero Aerosmith

posted by cnross (DELAWARE, OH) Jan 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I thought that this game was very cool. I gave this game the rating 8 because of all the cool songs and graphics. Other things that were bad was that some of the bands were not very popular except for the main one Aerosmith.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Nothing New

posted by chileanboy (SIGNAL HILL, CA) Jan 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

There is absolutely nothing new or impressive about this game. If you have played guitar hero 3, then you wont be missing anthing.
PLUS, the choice of songs is HORRIBLE!!!!
The only "good" song on it was PINK, and it wasnt even in gameplay, as you have to buy it at the vault.

What about songs like,

"I dont want to miss a thing"
"Jaded"
"Crying"
"Crazy"
"Just push play"
"Girls of Summer"
"Fly away from here"
"Janie's Got A Gun"

NONE OF THEM ARE ON THE GAME!!!!!!

that is just OUTRAGEOUS!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If your looking to score some achievement points.

posted by chadrick (CUDAHY, CA) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

The game is just like the others of the genre. Repetitive and at time boring. I mean if you really like Aerosmith then by all means play it. I gave the game a 7 because the achievements are easy and since its a rental I still haven't been bored with it yet. The rating for the game as a buy is a 4 so there you go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse