Rent Guitar Hero: Aerosmith for PS3
view large frontback

Guitar Hero: Aerosmith

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, Xbox 360, PS2
GF Rating
6.2

1027 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game

posted by wolfehound (JEANNETTE, PA) Jul 10, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I liked this game. I believe if you like Aerosmith and GH then I believe this is the game for you. It's basically a expansion pack, but I defiantly see this being aimed towards they older crowd. I do not believe there is a song on this released after 1990 except for maybe a stray Aerosmith song. All in all if you like Aerosmith get it if not it's a pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Guitar Hero for Aerosmith Fans

posted by MrGame (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jul 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Alright many people have compared this game to Guitar Hero Rocks the 80's. Well it really is not. Guitar hero Aerosmith is meant to outline the history of Aerosmith and their adventures as a band.

Gameplay:
Well it plays exactly as any other guitar hero game. 5 different colored note come scrolling down the screen and when it gets to a certain point you are to press and strum you're guitar to note shown. Not really a complicated concept. However quite difficult to master. Also those familiar with the GH3 Hammer-on and Pull offs(HOPO's) are stricter in this game than in GH3. The game features 6 tiers of songs to play, each location ties into Aerosmith history in a way. Each of the 6 tiers features 2 non-aerosmith songs followed by 3 Aerosmith songs
Then you move onto the next tier.of songs. Along each of the songs depending on how well you do you get money to unlock new guitars characters and the 11 bonus songs. While again really simple it does get the job done.

Graphics:
The graphics are pretty good in thins game. The band members look great and the Aerosmith characters look great and even do similar dances like do in real life. But other than that graphics don't really matter in a game like this.

Final Thoughts:
If you have never played guitar hero but like Aerosmith i would recommend this game. If you do not like Aerosmith then stick with Guitar Hero III. Hardcore guitar hero fans may not like the fact that the charts in this game are a easier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth a Playthrough

posted by greenlaser (CINCINNATI, OH) Jul 12, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Guitar Hero: Aerosmith is a fun expansion to Guitar Hero III, but it doesn't offer enough to stand on its own.

GOOD:
-The songs are all genuinely fun to play; no "Kool-Thing-esque" tracks that will kill your GH buzz.
-Aerosmith's onstage performances are extremely cool and greatly enhance the atmosphere of the game. I actually missed notes a few times because I got distracted watching Steven Tyler's antics.
-The new venues and outfit styles are interesting to discover.

BAD:
-While the note chart runs smoothly, the performance in the background (particularly shots of Joe Perry) frequently suffers from bad framerate stuttering.
-Hammer-ons and pull-offs feel slightly more restrictive than in GHIII.
-As a seasoned expert player, the difficulty just wasn't there. I imagine this would be a great game for someone transitioning between hard and expert.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Waste of a Guitar Hero Installment

posted by Viperz99 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

Should have been an addon. Only a worthwhile game if you love Aerosmith.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

guitar

posted by GPCL22 (LA CROSSE, WI) Jul 2, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I got the game because i was told the rockband guitar would work on it, i was told wrong. Im sure the game is fine but im angry because i like the rockband guitar better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst guitar hero ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!

posted by bigjonx (ODESSA, FL) Jul 1, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

not only are the songs almost all aerosmith but the songs that arent suck. most of the artist are good but not the songs they put on there the songs arent even challenging and they are slow and boring. dont bother renting because it will waste your time unless you are a really good fan of aerosmith. wait for the next guitar hero!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great

posted by flyboy816 (WACO, TX) Jun 28, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

i loooooooooooooooooooooove this game an if you even remotely like guitar hero then you will too

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Guitar hero????

posted by Kennix (CHEHALIS, WA) Jul 2, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

Let me just start off by saying this is by far the worst one ever let me tell you why I think this

1. This game seems to be one of them Xbox 360 Too Ps3 If you don't know why im pointing that out let me tell you. When a game is made off of the Xbox 360 And copy and pasted to the ps3 ("Witch this is the cheap way of doing things") The graphics and many other things are just horrible!

2. when running on 1080I or 480I the notes seem to not hit right. And when the camera zooms on the guitar player the notes slow down due to video LAG.

3. Most of the songs on this guitar hero game suck! They are all SLOW!!! On Expert you don't even strum up and down , That is how slow the songs are.

4. Lets talk about unlockables. Hmmm this game seems to not know what "Unlockables" ARE!!! you get about 7 songs to buy , and 3 new characters , 1 you have to unlock not buy.

5. This game also seems to lack battles , and many other things that other guitar hero games has had.

6. ONLINE PLAY! would be nice if there were poeple to play with... now that I think about it there was one other guy. I played with him and MAN-O-MAN can you say SERVER LAG!!!!!! I run a T3 line and I could not hit more then about 40 notes on a song.

So to sum this game up it is not worth your time getting. and if you bought this game Ill have to take a moment to laugh at you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Guitar ONLY?!

posted by vanfireman (EASTHAM, MA) Jun 16, 2011

Member since May 2011

This game stinks - only guitar - no drums/singing. Not worth it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

GH Aerosmith

posted by prophessor (MORGANTON, NC) Aug 8, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Overall a decent game with nice visuals. One of the greatest bands of all time. The guitar battle against Joe Perry kind of ruins the game tho. Not really hard but really not fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pink is the color of passion pink is my new lover

posted by crazyhands (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

game is good id say its colorful aerosmith best band ever

summary:rent\sell or give back and i did review for fifa to check fifa 10 xbox

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DIDN'T WORK

posted by theknutz (FREMONT, NE) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

AFTER WAITING OVER A WEEK FOR THIS GAME TO ARRIVE. I COULDN'T EVEN PLAY IT DUE TO A HUGE SCRATCH ON THE GAME AND IT WOULDN'T EVEN LOAD TO THE MAIN SCREEN. I'M AFRAID TO RENT IT AGAIN BECAUSE I'M AFRAID TO GET THE SAME COPY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ugh

posted by Cheezeit (COLLEGE STATION, TX) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

After playing this I reaffirmed that I don't like Aerosmith's music; and never really have. That coupled with poor choices of non-aerosmith music was a mixture of awfullness that I shouldn't have bothered with. But I did. This game sues the GH 3 graphics (which is too cartoony now for my tastes).

I played it for a few hours and sent it back.

The little snippets of video footage would have been nice if they hadn't chopped it up into one sentence segments. Might actually learn something about them.

Either way, I didn't like it. But I knew I wasn't going to like it when I put it in my queue. I was more interested in seeing if the few songs that are listenable by aerosmith were worth playing... Alas, I never got that far because the rest was garbage. GO play GH Metallica, much better songs and graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

guitar wont work

posted by mrmonopoly (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Aug 31, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I can not play it with my Rock Band 2 guitar so I am sending it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

DUDE LOOKS LIKE A LADY!

posted by sergeant (TAMPA, FL) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

GAME IS HARD TO PLAY EVEN IN EASY OR MEDIUM MODE SO I USED THE CHEAT CODES TO UNLOCK ALL SONG'S HA! HA! BUT DOES NOT HAVE DUDE LOOKS LIKE A LADY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

songs songs songs

posted by stinabear (HOLLYWOOD, FL) May 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

i thought this was going to be off the chain an omg did the whole game sucked!!! i will try other versions but never buy or rent this one again!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

GH: Aerosmith

posted by lanthram (Fort Smith, AR) Apr 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

I loved the selection of songs although i wish there were a few more favorites, however i hated the fact that when ever there was "questionable" lyrics the almost muted the vocals for the entire song.... about 5 Aerosmith songs were uncensored while the other artists songs went unmolested. In my opinion I believe they almost ruined a possibly great game but instead made it mediocre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NOT WHAT I EXPECTED AT ALL!!!!

posted by PS34LIFE (BUFFALO, NY) Feb 27, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

AFTER PLAYING GUITAR HERO AEROSMITH..I WAS DISAPPOINTED IN THE FEATURES AND GRAPHICS.. THERE WERENT A LOT OF SONGS TO CHOOSE FROM NEITHER.ILL CONTINUE TO SUPPORT ALL GUITAR HERO SERIES BUT MY FAVORITE... GUITAR HERO: WORLD TOUR.

THANK YOU ANYWAYZ!!! I LOOK FORWARD TO RENTING AND OR BUYING MANY MORE GAMES.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Less than fun

posted by lilpanzer (CHICO, CA) Feb 8, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I really didn't care for the format. Yes its guitar hero and yes that's great. However, who really wants to play an encore after every song? I found it to be more of a bother the more I played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

out of 2 gh games aerosmiths realy stinks

posted by chefjj (WASHBURN, WI) Jan 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

this game really stinks i used the unlock all songs cheat and the game had around 20 maybe 22 songs i have world tour and even before the cheats there were at least 30 songs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sucked!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by tintizzy (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

Ok i got this game thinking "ok i get to play aerosmith songs freakin sweet." When i got it and started my own band and went to the first gig i had to play other groups song just to play two aerosmith songs. do not rent this game!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dont get it unless u rent it

posted by MrPanda (ATLANTA, GA) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

This game is not worth buying, but it is a fun game to play for rent it is like one big DLC and not worth the money, cause u can beat it in like 2 and a half hours JUST RENT IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

this should have just been an add-on to GH3

posted by KEVshi (Los Angeles, CA) Oct 12, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

Pretty lame choice of songs and unless you're the most die-hard Aerosmith fanatic, there's nothing you can get in this game that you can't get in GH3: Legends of Rock. There's only 1 battle sequence in this game where you face off vs. Joe Perry that's even mildly challenging. Finished this game in a couple hours & had no desire to play it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

guitar hero is back

posted by ANDYman (FENTON, MI) Oct 5, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

well.. first off, this deserves more than a 6.5 rating, and if you never liked Aerosmith in the first place whats the point of even playing this?
Moving on, I really think there should be more than just 30 songs for the main setlist. Also, i would have chose a better selection of songs than the ones given. Now for the positives. I really liked how in career mode you got to see the bands story, and their journey to success. Graphics were also great as well.

Anyways, this game is definitely worth a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good for a quick rent

posted by Nez477 (RICHARDSON, TX) Sep 30, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

There are only around 45 songs in this game, so if you are comfortable at a certain level and want to play through on hard or expert it will only take a couple days. The songs are really not that hard, fun, but overall it just seems like half a game. Hence I give it half the score.

Song selection is alright, but who cares about their 2007 album? The fact that there are like 3 songs from that album that aren't classics and no one has ever heard of is silly.

So again, quick rent, but nothing more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse