Rent Guitar Hero 5 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Guitar Hero 5

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS2, PS3
GF Rating
6.5

3671 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Guitar Hero 5

posted by Flint879 (ALTOONA, PA) Sep 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

44 out of 49 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

PROS:

-Graphics are nice and flashy
-Variety of songs is huge
-Challenges add a new feel to the game

CONS:

-Some effects are rather distracting
-Songs could have been a little harder

FINAL THOUGHT:
Finally, Guitar Hero 5. I'm not pumped for GH anymore just for the sheer factor of me being a hardcore player and like to play very difficult to straight up hard songs. If that's what you are looking for, it's not here. Granted there are a few hard songs like Scatterbrain by Jeff Beck and Darkest Hour and Children of Bodom are also some of the other harder songs. Personally, I thought this game should have picked better songs, most of the songs are kinda cool, but are rather annoying when the notechart looks pretty similar to the last 6 songs you played. The graphics are very nicely done, but the way they changed the graphics for the notes and fretboard while playing songs, to me, took me about 15 songs to become used to the new, flashy interface. Star power, in my opinion, is rather distracting. When you launch star power, the fretboard turn blue and has a flashy blue line flash its way across the fretboard. You get used to it after a while, but it's still a distraction to me even after beating the game. GH5 does have some cool new additions, like the addition of challenges for specific instruments or full band for certain songs during the career such as; Guitar- whammy held notes for up to 80 seconds total, Bass- hit 360 up strums, etc. This game is definitely worth picking up if your are a GH fan or want to discover new music. Multiplayer is fun like in any GH game, but party mode is where its at. Up to 4 people can join at any time during a song and play whatever instrument, want 4 guitarists? You got it, want 3 drummers and 1 guitarist? You can do that too. I would say this game is worth picking up if you are a Guitar Hero fan, but for hardcore players like myself, I'd approach with caution as the harder songs aren't until the very, very end of the setlist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Good Activision Guitar Hero?

posted by eke826s (BROOKLINE STATION, MO) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I can't believe I'm going to say this being a major GH hater (since the departure of Harmonix), but GH5 is actually a good game. I almost couldn't put it down after playing it the first time. The playability of the game is so much better especially the vocals engine. The new varying challenges per song add something fun, plus a good way to rack up stars for your career.

My biggest complaint is the setlist. It's not the best in my opinion, but some may love it. There are some fantastic songs on the game, but between ones already in Rock Band or coming soon, there's not a lot to keep me going on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A huge improvement over world tour

posted by 20mooseman (AUSTIN, TX) Sep 27, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

World tour was a bit of a disappointment, but the GH franchise has redeemed itself to a degree with guitar hero 5. First off the music, for once, appeals to a wide variety of tastes for everyone to classics rock fans (Dire straits, elton john, santana), to indie fans (Arctic monkeys, white stripes, vampire weekend), to metal fans (megadeath, ramstein). However there are songs that just feel out of place such as superstitious and play that funky music. the songs also dont always bring too much challenge until the last 3 or 4 levels. and for every good song there is an absolutely terrible and annoying song that you might have to end up playing to get to the next stage. overall guitar hero 5 makes a pretty good rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Awesome song list

posted by smclarke (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 12, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

and lot's of fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Game! Songs...not so much...

posted by criticman (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Sep 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2005

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I really loved the actual game elements, so many neat choices, customization options, graphics were excellent and all the game play modes are really good. However, most of the songs are quiet....lame. Uninspired, hardly difficult in any way, save for a few death metal songs at the end. Mostly just pop songs and oldies...and some that just seem out of place, like Stevie Wonders' "Superstition"? Not to say I don't like the songs, but honestly, hardly any provide a challenge, though I guess it's designed more for party playing rather than Mountain Dew fueled teenage virtuosos who want to shred to their hearts content. Has great brands though, B.C. Rich, Ibanez, ESP, Shcecter, Converse, Vans, and others. It could have been so much more, and when I think of waht could have been I weep for the lost Guitar Hero.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Poor track list

posted by Kingpk (FALL RIVER, MA) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The defining feature of any music game is the music. Guitar Hero grasped that concept in the first trio of games, but ever since Activision took over, Guitar Hero games have become full of songs that are either A) uninteresting or B) from bands I've never heard of and, after playing their music, I understand why I haven't. Most of the few songs on this disc that I actually liked playing I can already get in Rock Band's music store. The "play as 4 drummer" thing is a cool idea, but honestly, how many times will you want to lug your drumset to a friends house AND have two other friends do the same?

The music store is ugly and clunky to navigate and isn't updated nearly as much as Rock Band's weekly updates, which frankly is inexcusable given that Guitar Hero's popularity should have artists falling over each other trying to get their tracks in the game.

Activision should kidnap the guy that picks the music for the Rock Band series because they need a bit more focus instead of pumping out disc after disc of mediocrity.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better every year

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Sep 3, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Guitar Hero has really evolved, and those years have really made this game pretty good. This year some new things are competitive mode, which you have to play with multiple people, local or live, and you can do some new game modes like rockfest, pro faceoff, and band quickplay, and then some others. But the new one there is rockfest, and this is what is the focal point of this game. In rockfest there are game modes like momentum (Difficulty will change mid song depending on performance), Streaker (Get points for long streaks), and a bunch others. And by the way, Momentum is really cool. The music studio thing is better this year and is simplified by a lot, so its much easier to understand. The songs on this game arent very well known for the most part, but theyre really good songs. And a nice feature in this game is if you bought World Tour and you still have it, you can transfer them to Guitar Hero 5 for free. Just go to import songs and type in the code on the back of the World Tour's manual. Emphasis to World Tour's Manual, not GH5's manual. And for a last note for drummers, i am having a lot of trouble getting used to this game drumming whise, so please be patient and dont hurt somebody with your drum sticks. Try this game out today!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Probably the best in th series

posted by PlasmaCell (SPRING, TX) Aug 31, 2009

Member since Aug 2003

16 out of 28 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I own all Rock Band games and Guitar Hero games, and this is probably the best in the GH series. Tweaked gameplay, new modes, a great setlist, some nice backwards compatibility and an overhauled GH Tunes. Not sure why all the hate out there for the GH series, but if you're a fan of the music rhythm genera then you shouldn't hesitate to pick this one up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its still no Rock Band, but its better than before

posted by NathanMIx (ROSWELL, GA) Sep 2, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

GH5 did make a lot of changes...but...face it....its still Guitar Hero...Although we wish it could look as good as Rock Band and feel as good as Rock Band, I dont think it ever will. GH5 has a way better set list than last time, but still has a majority of boring songs, up to the "OMG THATS NOT EVEN POSSIBLE!! WHY WOULD THEY PUT THAT IN A GAME!?!?!" (GH tends to do that...). This game is better than I expected it to be, but not much better. One thing I like is that they changed the crash symbol on Rock Band drums from blue to green, it makes it a lot easier.

If you're a GH fan, you might want to buy it. if you like Rock Band (A.K.A. - Me) they just rent it if you want to give it a try, dont be a fanboy who is blinded by thier tardedness.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best Yet

posted by lljjbj07 (SHINGLETON, MI) Aug 31, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

14 out of 27 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

What can I say, it's Guitar Hero. But arguably the best ever. With it's new game modes including Party Play Mode: Jump In/Jump Out of songs at any time without interupting the song. Any Insterment you Chose: Which allows you to play any insterment you want up to four of the same (Ex. Four guitars playing at once. No longer will you have to argue about who has to play Bass). Rockfest: New Rockfest Mode tests your skills against 4 players locally , or up to 8 players online in games like Momentum, Do-or-Die, Perfectionist, Elimination, and Streakers. Rock With Your Mii: Mii Freestyle makes it easy to create songs on the fly and record/edit/share your own videos showing off your Mii (For Wii console owners). Import Songs Straight Into GH5: Much like Rockband, you will be able to play all your songs you bought from Guitar Hero: World Tour in GH5, and inport some songs straight from Guitar Hero:World Tour and Guitar Hero: Smash Hits. Rock With Your Avatar: Star as your own Xbox LIVE® Avatar in any mode (Xbox 360 Only). Create And Share Your Own Music: Compose your own songs or download thousands to expand your music library with GH&trade: Studio, GH&trade:Mix 2.0, and GH&trade:Jam. And finally Play Rodie Battle With Your Nintendo DS: Connect one or two Nintendo DS™ systems to your Wii™ to play as a ‘roadie’.
Sabotage your opponents’ equipment and fix your own band’s gear to save the show. Not to mention that all of the 85 songs will be unlocked from the start. That's a lot to take in and believe me this game is epic compared to the other Guitar Hero games. A must buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GH 5

posted by johnmiles2 (EVERETT, WA) Sep 1, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

9 out of 18 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game still isnt rock band but its not terrible either. Most people just give it bad reviews simply because of that reason. Its actually pretty fun and the track list i think is pretty good. It really has a nice mix of everything. They did take a lot of ideas from Rock Band which greatly improves its gameplay. I think its definitely worth a rent if you want some new songs. Its still no rock band but its getting close

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same old Guitar Hero

posted by tomstu (FORT MILL, SC) Nov 24, 2009

Member since May 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you like guitar hero, you will like this game. Personally, I think the setlist isn't that great. Too much variety, not enough genre focus, and songs that shouldn't be in a guitar hero game. Basically more of the same. The series is getting stale, thats for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

better than most reviews say

posted by gladura24 (LOVELAND, CO) Dec 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i have seen a lot of reviews that are a 3 to a 5. some below that. people say that it is to easy, or that the songs aren't good. But that is if you only play on the guitar on medium or lower. playing on hard/ expert with the guitar, base and drums, i can honestly say that this game gets hard. and the microphone parts are brutal on some songs. the songs themselves? well as long as your not some stupid person who only likes stuff from the last ten years, you'll love a good majority of them. if you are that person who only likes new stuff, well screw you. their are tons of new features liking playing with your xbox live avatar, and party play, where anyone can come in or leave at any time, and their can be four of one instroments. no one in your family like to sing? play four guitars and rock out that way. the game looks redone and shiny (literrally, it is all metallic and such) and the new features make this a definite rent, if not a buy. the only reason i gave it a 9/10 is because when you pick a singer, they will stay with you the whole time you play unless you take the time to change it. the problem is, axel steel will sing "cool thing" and pandora will sing "du hast." just kind of creepy when a girl sings the song of a screaming german dude. other than that aspect perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice comeback game

posted by King4day (CHARLOTTE, NC) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought "World Tour" was the company trying to hard to compete with Rockband.
- While GH5 still has band mode, as it should, it did a great job adding new features and getting back to what made it great.
- It has new guests. Though having the singer of the muse is an insult to everyone since nobody is going to buy this game for the Muse singer. Santana, Cobain, and Cash were enough.
Infact, why aren't they promoting this game around Kurt Cobain along with Cash. If I was going to buy it for a guest, it would have been because of Cobain. I didn't know he was in it until I unlocked him.
- Being able to play whatever instrument you want no matter what who else is playing it is a great new feature.
- The song selection is much better than the last.
- The online play feels smoother than World Tour and has a lot more options.

If your a fan of the GH series, it's probably worth getting. U'll see why when you rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

it's guitar hero!

posted by messiah23 (Miami, FL) Aug 31, 2009

Member since May 2008

11 out of 31 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

great songs, same setup= good times. 85+ songs will keep anyone busy for a few days. great rent, especially for the original tracks. two hand tap guitar solos

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Definitely not the best in the GH series

posted by justinbc (WHITWELL, TN) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I had pretty nuetral expectations for this game because there is a new guitar hero game ever 3 months or so and I knew what to expect. The visuals in this game had been improved alot, the game play is flashier and the background animations have a more real look to them, alot like rockband. As far as the customization factor the character creator, instrument creator, and song creator, have not been changed really at all there are just some new items and options. gameplay of course is unchanged with really no inovations, except for party play a really good feature that allows you to drop in and drop out any combination of the for instruments, for examle you could have 2 drummers and 2 lead guitars. Now on to probably the most important part of this game, the setlist, and well to be honest it sucks. There are 85 songs and about 10 are good, and only about 5 of those are fun to play. Of course music selection is an opinion but it will be hard for anyone to find alot of songs they like(I would suggest looking at the setlist on wikipedia).
My verdict on rent or not i would say only if you are completely tired of the same old songs. The games in the past series have had awsome setlists though, especially smash hits(which is a combination of songs from GH 1 to aerosmith) so if you havent rented it you should.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

gh fail

posted by philly12 (UTICA, NY) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

cool but dispointing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Graphics arnt enought

posted by Sleekonia (ROSEDALE, MD) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I'll start of by saying this game has great graphics... now thats out of the way lets talk about the play list... everyone has there own taste in music and it shows in GH5. there was about 11 songs on the game that i was happy to see and willing to play. normally GH playlist grows on me and i end up liking more songs the further along i got in career mode. BUT while playing career mode i found myself losing interest in playing fast, and unlocking venues with more and more lamer songs wasnt my idea of a good time. I did enjoy the over all feel to this game's gameplay versus GHWT. but song wise WT has it beat. ever since GH3 i've noticed the so called "Hits" have been becoming more and more for the masses and not for its audience. I think GH is slowing becoming too big to care about the music its putting out, and more into being a household brand name.. sorta like sony. I'm gonna have to pass on this same i just got it in the mail saturday, and i'm about to drop it back in the mail for pick up monday morning... I think i'm just gonna have to stick with Rockband and its childish graphic but way better playlist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Song List Is Horrible

posted by XProjektX (PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL) Sep 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This Installment Of The GH Series Is Probably The Worst Mainly Because
Of The Song List. Cool Additions To The Game But The Song List (Though Long) Gets Boring Due To Lack Of Catchy Songs And Well Known Songs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A rockband want to be

posted by Ryann178 (SOUTHINGTON, CT) Sep 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I kind of understood what guitar hero was trying to do with this game. They added many different types of songs that would appeal to many different people kind of like what rock band has done with both of its games. Yet none of the songs seem to appeal that much to anyone. They also lack the toughness of the ones in 2 through 3. Not very guitar hero-esk. The graphics and gameplay were very good though. Maybe worth a rent if you like some of the songs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ehhh

posted by fucilija (RINGOES, NJ) Sep 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The track listing still lacks....I'm a fan of a broad range of music stretching from reel big fish all the way to killswitch and stuff in between. other than some new addition of the tracks like rammstein i have to say a renter not a buyer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst of the series

posted by jones29 (ATLANTIC HIGHLANDS, NJ) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 16 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is terrible, the track list is full of garbage, nu metal, alt crybaby junk. rockband 2 is still destroying world tour and gh5. Even tho this is a band game it should have had more memorable guitar songs, rock band is a band game and has all the right songs not to mention the mass amounts of DLC. Guitar really slipped since number 3 which was the last good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Guitar Hero 5: Here we go Again

posted by Robert4375 (OGDEN, UT) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The Guitar Hero 5 experience could most easily be summed up with the phrase "More of the same.". Not that this is all together a bad thing. But I really think that even with the addition of individual challenges by instrument, all we are really looking at here is what is in the song list. And this one is all over the place in this regard. With over 85 songs there is definately some variety here as well as with the ability to bring over all of your old GH Tunes (finally), the extended play value s great!.

I think that this franchise may have run it's course however. We seem to be at a point where there is just not a lot left to add to the total band experience. And to be honest I go to a lot of parties that usually wind up around the PS3 or the XBOX 360. Having said that I can't remember when the last time GH was brought out to keep the party moving.
To sum up:
It is a more of the same game in it's own right. It has an excellent songlinst with some good multi-player component. But I think this pony is running out of tricks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Guitar Hero 5

posted by soildmetal (CANDOR, NC) Oct 17, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Did not really like the song list on this game. Guitar Hero METALLICA is way better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

junk

posted by BDawgOSU (GALLOWAY, OH) Oct 17, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

its just the same old game from years ago....nothing new, and i really mean that....the songs are junk! not many well known songs, and without much to want to play it gets boring very fast, you can go online and download more songs to add into the game, but of course you have to pay for those, so you might as well just play the old guitar hero games and download a few new songs.....DONT BUY/RENT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse