Rent Guitar Hero 5 for Wii
view large frontback

Guitar Hero 5

Not Rentable
Also on:PS3, PS2, Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.9

719 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good game play/bad songs

posted by wildwillie (SUGARCREEK, OH) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved all the new stuff you cold do in the game, but a lot of the music just sucked, and that really effected how i felt about the game. if you play career you had to play all theses boring songs i had never herd of just to get to the good ones and there were few good songs. so guitar hero needs to start getting better and more known artist on there like they use to. Im ready to go to rock band because they have a better song list now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good, but not great.

posted by Casualrage (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Jun 10, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Once again the Guitar hero series delivered a good game that fell far too short of greatness. They are always fun, but they pick not so fun songs, and they put the terrible songs at the start of the game so you have to play them to get to the small set of good songs. If they would break that chain then the franchise could achieve greatness.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Guitar Hero 5 OK

posted by Mikeyoyo (NORTH AURORA, IL) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In all honesty, i think its just pretty much like any other Guitar Hero game out there just with instruments and being able to make your own people. But that doesnt mean its bad. I had plenty of fun playing this. Guitar Hero will always be my favorite music game. Its just pretty much like any other Guitar Hero game out there. Just a few addons. But if your still wondering if you should try it, i think you definetly should if your a fan of other music games. Just make sure you have a guitar/any other instruments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than the others

posted by attilio (East Elmhurst, NY) Sep 2, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It is basically a better version of World Tour. I just finished playing it for over an hour and had tons of fun so far. The Mii free style is way better than before and the new DS connectivity makes this game that much better. So far I am not extremely happy with the track list, but I can't expect them to have every single song I like on their.

I really recommend everyone who loves this series to buy this game, you'll be happy because it is definitely worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Very Good

posted by eeeriddler (NEWBURY PARK, CA) Sep 16, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game wasn't nearly as good as the previous games. However, it is still not as bad as Guitar Hero: Aerosmith. Overall, I think Guitar Hero 3 or world tour are still the best, but regardless, if you like Guitar Hero, it's fun to play, but not to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

guitar hero 5

posted by samba11 (PHOENIX, AZ) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

We just rented this game. We were unable to play it. In order to play it, you must purchase the guitar. It costs at least $70.00. We wish they would let you know what excessories you need to play the game. boo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

New Tracks, Same Ole Fun

posted by Piersd (FISHKILL, NY) Aug 31, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

This game is great, but it just doesnt up the playing experience from GH4. Yes there are new tracks which I like more then the previous titles but the same core gameplay mechanic is the same.

All in all its the same fun just which different tunes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Working

posted by DiddyK0n9 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Oct 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

The disc i got did not even work. I put it in and it got to the load screen and didnt got any further than that. After that i put in four other games and they worked just fine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Guitar Hero 5

posted by ClutchChick (MARQUETTE, MI) May 6, 2011

Member since May 2011

Least favorite of all the GH and Rock Band titles thus far (although I downright REFUSE to play the Green Day edition)! Some good tracks but the gameplay isn't challenging or interesting. Played for about 1 1/2 hours and was bored already. I did like the fact that it allowed you to import already downloaded tracks from my SD card without having to buy more Wii points, other than that...I wouldn't really recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

really bad

posted by rockdog (ANDOVER, KS) Feb 26, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I personaly thought the game was really, really bad. The overall build of the game was the best to date. The songs were a different story. Unlike World Tour wich made me get some songs on my iPod this song only had four out of numerous songs I liked. The songs were Two Minuites to Midnight, You Give Love a Bad Name, Sperit of Radio, and Looks that Kill. Not good at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty Good

posted by jilly9797 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Sep 27, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

Although I really only like it because of Plug In Baby, there are many other good songs. I definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ummm "guitar" hero...

posted by Access (IONIA, MI) Jun 23, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

Guitar Hero is a fun game... very addicting yet simple to learn.

It would be nice if they made it so people knew accessories are needed, maybe if they put something like "GUITAR" in the title...

Maybe the gaming industry should add an IQ rating to the game boxes somewhere?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Guitar Hero 5

posted by dcskins (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Apr 28, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Guitar Hero has always been good, I just don't like the songs, some of which I've never heard of.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I'm ambivalent

posted by Anderdoodl (CEDAR RAPIDS, IA) Apr 20, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

While I like some of the new features (being able to switch instruments and band members during gigs, the bonus challenges), and I like some of the song selections, I was disappointed with the difficulty level. I played a lot of songs that I'd never heard before on expert and scored 95% or higher on the first try. I think the designers are trying to make the game more versatile in terms of instrument usage, thereby watering down the guitar aspect. Maybe they should just start calling everything Band Hero...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

GH5 songs

posted by drachen (BIDWELL, OH) Apr 3, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

guitar hero 5 does have some nice graphics and updated software but they still come up very short 90% of these songs suck they are not fun and after maybe 20 minutes of playing you wonder why you even rented this game (or bought) but all in all everything else was pretty good thats why i rated it a 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

As expected

posted by Nuitaran (WESTBROOK, ME) Feb 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This was just as I expected from a Guitar Hero game. Improvements to the UI, improvements to performance, and all new songs. Personally the song list left a little to be desired for me, but I have very odd taste in music, so this isn't something I expect to be the norm for most people. All around, great GH game. Activision delivers again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty so-so

posted by jawsdaddoo (FEDERAL WAY, WA) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

The songs I knew were a blast to play, the others.... not so much.
I'm thinking this genre may have played itself out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not a fun game

posted by bdp1979 (BRIGHTON, MI) Jan 29, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

this game is NOT fun at all! the song selections are HORRIBLE!!! words cant express how disappointed I am with this game. if this was a make it or break it game it would more then break it, it would shatter it!! very very poor songs and worse to play, no fun, no nothing! dont waste your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

guitar hero 5?

posted by dooger (SYRACUSE, NY) Jan 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

I dont know if this can be considered a new guitar hero game, to me it just seemed like guitar hero 4 just with different songs. I know your going to say "omg thats all guitar hero is about", but I own guitar hero 3 and 4 and there is MAJOR progress over the games with different modes and obviously the whole band in guitar hero 4 but at least they all had a story to them. This guitar hero was just here's a playlist, play it, you unlock new songs. I kind of "cheated" (if you can even call it that) i didnt like this guitar hero so i just went to quick play and picked the songs that i liked and played them and then sealed it. If you are a die-hard guitar hero fan then this is the game for you if you liked guitar hero 4 (who couldnt) i was just expecting more. In the end i felt it was guitar hero 4 all over again, the wii did add asome excusive features though but unless you had a wii i guess there isnt anything new for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

another awesome installment

posted by ryandanzig (ROUND ROCK, TX) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

again, another awesome installment of a spectacular series of games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Video is glitchy on the Wii

posted by JimDScott (SAINT PAUL, MN) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

I only played this game for about 10 minutes. I tried 3 different songs, guitar only, in career and quick play mode. Each song had at least 2 video pauses -- the kind of frame drops you might see in a laggy online game, but I wasn't playing online.

For a rhythm game, the frame drops were inexcusable. Seems like Harmonix was so intent on boosting the visuals, they forgot about the actual game play.

I'm a big fan of Guitar Hero and have always preferred it to Rock Band because the game play is more challenging and I liked the Guitar Hero songs better. Based on what I've seen of Guitar Hero 5, Rock Band is the better choice, because whatever else happens on the screen, the next notes are always smoothly streaming forward.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

just ok

posted by tntjnj (MANTECA, CA) Oct 28, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

It was just ok... I'm in my 40's and the songs were 'old'.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Guiter Hero 5

posted by JasonM2012 (BROWNWOOD, TX) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

I'm quite sorry but, I'm going to have to disagree with everyone. When I'm in the mood to play Guitar hero, I'm looking for songs with difficult solos, great artists, and songs that just get you in the mode! I have found none of these in this game. To me this game is absolutely horrible. It's GUITAR HERO, not alternative bull krap music. I have yet to see a song by an artist I know of that is amazing! This game is an absolute disappointment and a great example of why not to rush a game out onto the market. Guitar Hero 5 shouldn't even be compared to world tour by you people. where's ozzy osbourne, and all the other good artists???, definitely not in this fail of a game. I rate it a 2/10, not a 1/10 because it's at least playable but come on! What a disappointment!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ROCK ON Guitar Hero!!

posted by A7X698 (HAVERHILL, MA) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

Activision has released it's 13th Guitar Hero, and it is pretty danm good! Argueably the best tracklist of all Guitar Hero games, Guitar Hero 5 brings the best of past Guitar Heroes withsome cool new features. In the Wii version, Mii freestyle mode is back and better than before, and the ability to connect your DS to your Wii in download play is pretty sweet.For the most part it is just like its predescesors, but the new featurers is were this Guitar Hero shines. With the all new party play mode, you and up to 8 friends can rock out to any of the songs with out worry of failing. The best part of party play mode is that no one is assinged to 1 instrument. For example, if you get tired of playing bass you can drop out and turn on your drum set and star rocking out on drums! Guitar Hero 5 isn't all sunshine. GHMix is still really hard to use, and I'm pretty sure no one has an unlimited amount of friends coming over to play party play, so it looses most its fun when you are alone. That is still no reason to forget about this game. Bonuses on songs in career mode adds more depth to it, espescally since all the songs are unlocked from the begining. Bonuses range from whammying for a certain amount of time to hitting a certain amount of snare notes. Guitar Hero 5 is a great add to the Guitar Hero franchise and is a must buy for Guitar Hero fans. Activision just has to be careful how many Guitar Heroes they release.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best One Yet!

posted by 06Mustang (DAWSONVILLE, GA) Oct 10, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

This is the best one so far! It has the same features as World Tour ,but it is more creative and the graphics are great! The characters are younger looking than anyone other I have played. The song titles to choose from are ones that a teenager will know atleast ten. More entertaining than any other and definately more challenging! Every GH fan will like this game. I've only played for two hours and I'm already hooked!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse