Rent Guitar Hero 5 for PS3
view large frontback

Guitar Hero 5

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii, PS2
GF Rating
6.4

1256 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Upset Kids and Happy Music Lovers

posted by RonaiSnzer (WAYNE, WV) Sep 6, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

15 out of 23 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

You get your new GHMix, versus modes without the wacky power ups thank god.

The music is a wide variety that makes the younger audiance and by that I am talking about the Teenies cry out about how horrible the song list is. So what if we dont have all this pop junk from today?

Classic Rock, Metal, Funk, Blues, Quazi-Punk.

If you cant find more then one favorite song out of the 85 tracks you shouldn't be playing this in the first place. The only complain I have is if you use Mr.Kurt Cobain in quickplay he is RIGHT HANDED!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh...

posted by DthBlayde (PARLIN, NJ) Sep 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

17 out of 33 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

Subject pretty much describes it. While the graphics were impressive, and they've come a long way to really get the on-stage presence to where it's actually entertaining to watch.. (Sorry.. RB does it so much better.. they "get" it)..

Sadly... the song list this time around was abysmal. Having to trudge through unknown songs from bands that sound like they belonged in the bonus track section, JUST to unlock songs that are actually popular or known... Maybe I'm just not keen on what passes as "today's" music, and I consider myself pretty broad-minded where music is concerned.

I couldn't bring myself to finish the song list to the end, and returned this after 1 day, with 4 venues left unlocked.

If this is the road Activision choose to take with the franchise, then count me out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Guitar Hero is goin down

posted by Adult38kid (TROY, MI) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok, I've played alot of Guitar Hero Games. My favorite was GH 2, which had the best songs. Since GH 3, its just been down from there. The characters and graphics were much worse than in 2, and the song selection was terrible. I played Smash Hits, and the only reason that was worth playing was to play the good songs. I haven't played Aerosmith or Mettalica, but I'm definetly giving up on guitar hero after this one. GH 5 sucked, it had terrible graphics, terrible songs, and was just bad. Goodbye guitar hero, because Rock Band is 10x better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worst Tracklist EVER

posted by MrMatthew (SAN JOSE, CA) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This may have been a good game, but instead they choose some of the worst tracks I have ever seen in a Rhythm based game since Rock Revolution.

Gameplay is Solid
Graphics look Great
Online Works... but that's only if you can find anyone else online. Seriously is no one playing this game or is it their matchmaking software?

Either way, avoid this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I wanna Rock....Band That is

posted by jf1977 (WEST GROVE, PA) Oct 31, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have a lot of problems with this GH franchise. First the song list is interesting, but It has a track list that is quite peculiar. Why have a Guy Dress like a Water Buffalo, a Punk Rocker and a Kiss Band Member Wanna Be rock out to David Bowie's and Queens Under Pressure when I feel that it is so out of place. Some songs just don't feel that they have been added, and the ones you unlock I just can't get into the right mood. Also the strumming and hitting the buttons at the right moment while the crowd is getting angrier and angrier that you can't rock out and only complete 21% percent of a song even though you are hitting the color buttons at the right time and strumming the crowd is still dissastified. Confused, so was I. That's why I'd rather stick to Rock Band. The Beatles Rock band had a Tutorial that made more sense to a first timer like mysefl. Pretty Much if the red button comes on screeen you hit the red button and strum your guitar at the same time. But Rock Band's franchise just is much more user friendlier. And a better list of tunes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

More of the same

posted by Caveman420 (REDMOND, OR) Sep 29, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This is just the sam as the last 2 GH games with a bad playlist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great!

posted by ilnewsome (BEAVER FALLS, PA) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

It'll take time for people to understand the new way Guitar Hero works. People get mad when things change... they don't like change! Especially Guitar Hero enthusiasts.

The game has great songs. Import most of the GH:World Tour songs, Import most of the GH: Smash Hits songs (on the 10th for PS3), Import all your other downloads. Plus import support for ALL future Guitar Heros so GH:VH should be an import and Band Hero is already a confirmed import so all you people bitching about the set list will get your pop and over commercialized music in there, too.

Real people who matter are giving this game 4.5/5 and 9/10 for it's new modes, new competitive game modes, and just making getting online and playing really fun, new, and easy. I also like how you save your band mates now and all the opportunities to get score multiplyers of up to x11. if you get Band Moment, all band members activate star power at the same time, and you have a streak. WOW! and you Six star songs if you get all the notes. 100% and full streak is worth an extra star. The add on characters like Kurt Cobain and Carlos Santana are nice. The new calibration system is neat once I figured it out. You can make and save your own playlists unlimitedly, and you can turn on the game and be playing within 30 seconds because the game boots straight into Party Play mode, so you grab your instrument and press Square/Yellow and a song loads right up, or you can pull out a setlist you made. Keep is rolling and if someone wants to join they grab the instrument they want, hit square/yellow and join right in also! No interruptions of any kind.

DLC looks promising for this new generation of GH too, with the first pack being Rolling Stones and not a European one. The note highway is now uniform same color that's easy to see notes on, no matter what instrument you may be playing. Overall, amazing! I play it more than RB2 now because it's truly better, and after importing have over 300 songs on the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Guitar Hero's hero!!

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Sep 21, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I just bought this game for my Dad for his birthday, and was really hoping its was good. I was a little worried due to all the bad reviews given by other players, but was also encouraged by the good critic reviews, so I really wasn't sure what to expect. Turns out, it is awesome!! Graphics are the best for any Guitar Hero game thus far! The character design is top notch and the improved guitar is really cool.
I actually, really like the song list; it's really good in my eyes. There are several good songs I actually have on my iPod and other songs I'm new too. All songs are upbeat and fun to play. The genres of the songs are all over the place, but all provide good songs.
The guitar is also awesome. It comes with improved whammy, and fret board. It also comes with a cool little feature called the Slider which is really cool.

Pros: Amazing graphics, sick character and instrument design. Song list is actually really good, stages are cool. The new guitar adds new and welcome additions.

Cons: If you don't have the guitar, there are some road blocks that can make you fail a song. Not compatible with Rock Band controllers.

I totally recommend this game to any fan of Rock band or Guitar Hero. But I would advise a purchase of the guitar, at least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Got Boring Really Fast and Awful song selection

posted by GWARRRRRR (CASTRO VALLEY, CA) Sep 4, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I was excited when I saw Gamefly sent me Guitar Hero 5, being a fan of previous GH's, I had high expectations for it because of the large amount of songs.

I never looked up ahead of time to see what songs were on it because I like to be suprise, and boy was I suprised at how terrible the songs are. I mean there are seriously songs on here that do nothing but the same rhythm and buttons the whole song. WHATS THE FUN IN THAT. I mean Scars on Broadway? Gorillaz? Terrible!

GH is supposed to let you play great instrumental songs, and instead we get this. There are some good songs, but 5/150 is not good. haha.

Glad I didnt pay $60 for it. Sent it back the next day.

Oh well maybe next time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What the hey

posted by aumndragon (FLORENCE, MA) Sep 5, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

What the hey Activison. First of the people that decide what "popular songs" are need to be replaced as well as the people who agreed with them! This is like GH for sixty year olds. I mean really now did they accually expect us to like this! So thay added a bunch of new features, what good is that if I don't know 80 percent of the songs ans well as hate 80 percent of the songs. Activison has really abandoned their fanbase, give GH back to Harmonix! Ok now that I got that out of my system, I say this game is not even worth a rent, the song list is so boring that I can't play the game for more than 1 or 2 song lists. Im sorry but putting in only about 8 well known songs out of sixty is unacecptable, give us nickelback, Hinder, Disturbed, Evenesscence, Nightwish, and so on. A warning to all who are thinking about getting this game don't bother. I love all the other GH games except GH Aerosmith but this one blows GH5 out of the water with how bad it is. Wake up Activison, get the fans opinions of what songs you should use in your games, not what you think is good. Oh wait that is why this game sucks so bad, because they don't give a darn what the fans think.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

GUITAR HERO OR ROCKBAND??????????

posted by g0d2076 (OVID, MI) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i rented this game for a new guitar hero title.......... what i got was rockband 3 with the name of guitar hero 5. if you like the rockband series you will probably like this game if your more of a guitar hero fan (like me) you will not. the song list is what kills it more pop type songs and little to no harder rock like on the previous guitar hero titles. where's killswitch and disturbed and slipknot and tool and groups like that that is why i play the guitar hero so cause i want to play true rock not mainstream rock.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE

posted by dankgrns (SANTA ANA, CA) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE!!!!!! VERY FEW GOOD SONGS, WHAT HAPPENED, WORLD TOUR HAD TONS OF GOOD JAMS. VERY DISAPPOINTING. NOT RECOMMENDED AT ALL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Welp

posted by Spideyman2 (EASTLAKE WEIR, FL) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I dont understand how people could say this is the best Guitar hero to date.. It might have been the greatest if the song selection was any good. When i bought it I went through the whole setlist twice on quickplay and didnt pick anything... I have to say that i would actually want to play 5 out of 85 songs that are on there, the rest just suck

Graphics are better than previous games and they improved allot of stuff such as GHStudio,Drop in Drop out party play,and more minor things.
So i guess i would rent this but your not going to be super surprised at how good it is!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not playable with my guitar

posted by ladygemini (GREENEVILLE, TN) Sep 15, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I have had 2 copies and ran into the same problem. I have a guitar which came from arrow smith and the guitar hero 5 would not let me play the songs on both cds. I called walmart, blockbusters and another video store plus a gamestop. They have not heard of this problem and said they believe the disks are bad from gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Great songs Horrible Gameplay

posted by alphagame (SAN JOSE, CA) Sep 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I have been a huge fan of any Music/Rhythm game that has come out since the original Rock Band and so I was greatly looking forward to this game!!! But beside having ramped up the graphics significantly I must say the game is a disappointment. But here's the catch: THE TRACKLIST IS AWESOME. For anyone that says anything otherwise, YOU'RE AN IDIOT. As a game developer you want to appeal to a wide range of people and yes you cant please everyone because music is like beauty, Its in the eye (ear) of the beholder. But to say that the tracklist is anything less than superb is just plain ignorant.
HOWEVER, the gameplay is just horrific. I have played the drums for quite some time now and the lag configuration setup is so far off it really destroys the game. I barely ever missed any notes on either Rock Band, my 100 songs downloaded, or GH World Tour but for some reason the lag on this game is frustratingly off. On top of that the sound is always behind because you can't adjust the sound in the negative direction. Frustration built to the point I just gave up and sent it back without ever having finished more than 4 songs. I really wish Rock Band wouldn't have made its next install a all Beatles game (cause its a little late and outdated) but I guess Ill just spend 60 bucks on DLC for previous titles because neither GH nor RB will be getting my money for their full releases this year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Game!

posted by Pitboy43 (GURNEE, IL) Jun 27, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Set list was great, with the availability of DLC songs and online play. Challenges weren't necessarily easy, and there are a couple that will throw you for a thrill. Sucks that no one plays this great game anymore though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fast

posted by Harley9589 (DIAMOND, IL) Mar 6, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

We did not like this one. Nothing like number 3. To fast to play. It needs more songs that are good. More Rush songs on it. Slow down the pace on it.
I liked the meters on this one. But I missed the meter that told us who was winning. The beginers is neat. I was able to play but that was at times to hard. Rox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not completely bad, but not good either.

posted by tfchronos (MORGANTON, NC) Nov 8, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Gameplay: 3
Play each song once (which is okay with me 96% of the songs I could only stand to play once anyway) collect stars to proceed, once in a rare while you’ll see a cut scene. The challenges are a neat addition but but it's not fun if you don't like the songs.

Graphics: 6
Are better than any of the others. The create a rocker is almost the same as in the past. The clothes are all the same, might and I stress might be 2 or 3 new pieces. But overall same ol' same ol". The fret boards are also boring. It‘s the same thing for all characters unlike previous GH’s which were different.

Sound: 3
It’s only getting a 3 from me because it has Bon Jovi, Iron Maiden and 3 Doors Down on it. You can also play DLC. Other than that this set list should be balled up thrown in a rocket and shot into the sun, the guy(s) who came up with it too, they picked good bands don‘t get me wrong. They just picked bad songs.

GH Mix: 9
They really cleaned it up; they almost out did them themselves on it. I would have preferred it have more than 2 decent Metal Tones and not so many clean and old ball tones. Other than that it’s pretty good.

GHTunes however: 2
It’s like grass that never gets mowed...
It would be half way neat if 99% of it wasn't junk. All you find on there is impossible this or to hard that… GHTunes should have a "Remove it" feature where if the song gets enough of those votes it should be removed from GHTunes... That would save alot of space and let all the good ones be heard.

Lasting Appeal: 2
For me it's an epic failure the only thing that will keep me playing which is once every other week is GH: Mix and DLC. If you like most of the songs then you’ll not get board.

Overall: 3
Only because of GH: Mix and DLC, again if you like easy to play pop and alternative songs then you will love the game. I’ll just stick with playing a game that’s actually requires skill like GH: Metallica

Thanks for reading

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

it's...alright

posted by imaboss69 (DAVIS, CA) Jul 12, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

ive noticed that guitar hero has slowly been getting worse and worse, which isnt a complete rip on this game because its still okay, in fact the gameplay itself had been getting better, its just the songs that need work. when i first played this game i hadnt heard of litearlly at least half of the bands in it, and i have a pretty broad musical outlook, its one of my favorite things in life. my biggest complaint with this game is that its ridicuolsly easy to fail, especially on expert drums, once you get in the red, your pretty much screwed. now, onto the songs, like i said before, they were just alright i guess, theres some really great ones like demons by darkest hour, and sweating bullets by megadeth. but thens theres terrible songs like l.a., by some ninny named elliot smith, and ex girlfriend by no doubt, which is weird because i like some of no doubts other songs, but they picked probably theyre worst song. music games are my favorite kind, i love playing drums in these games, and that all started with rock band, which i prefer over guitar hero. but lately i looked at the songs in the upcoming rock band 3, and im not gonna lie, most of them suck, really hard, then i looked at guitar hero warriors of rocks...WOW. guitar hero is actually staring to look better than rock band, which is weird because its been the opposite for the past like 5 guitar hero games, and rock band is really good at relasing good dlc, something that guitar hero is terrible at. so all in all, this game is okay, but im mostly looking forward to the next one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GUITAR HERO 5

posted by KEVERY12 (FLOWERY BRANCH, GA) Jun 1, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

So it took a week to get here and the graphic killed my eyes and there is some kind of sketchy disturbed sound that constantly occurs sounds like an old record player , you know like the record was scratched up or something gamefly please don't send me anymore games like this please and thank you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OMG!!!

posted by SOULR3AV3R (BURLINGTON, VT) May 12, 2010

Member since May 2010

Okay, first of all....what happened to being able to play these games with the normal controller......i cant play guitar and im not the only one, that is why it was nice that guitar hero's 1,2,3, and rock the 80's had controller support....but this is just plain rediculous. HATE IT HATE IT HATE IT HATE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

sound

posted by hazmat (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Mar 14, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

To me it seemed like the most of the songs that you played, guitar or bass, the instrument was off key. Even in quick play, the only Iron Maiden song on the track list, to me, just did not sound right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

When a game goes to far.

posted by mdcrawford (BROKEN BOW, NE) Mar 9, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This game is an ok game. Its a little more chalenging then World Tour, but the music isnt the greatest selection. I guess you cant expect much. With 4 other games + band specialties, and rock bank, all the "good music" would be drained out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible songs!

posted by Crallfish (SUWANEE, GA) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Worst song list on have played for GH!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I'd Say 4th Best of Series

posted by gameflyrev (DALLAS, TX) Jan 23, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

I'm still a big fan of all these music titles mainly because they are just plain fun to play, especially when you are good at it. I've recently picked up a drum set ( rock band series of course ) and am learning them and I have to say it is alot of fun.

Anyway as for the game itself I'd say this is the 4th best in the series. Behind GHI, GHII and GH Metallica. The song list has its ups and downs. There are alot more simple songs nowadays in the song lineup due to the fact that it takes into effect microphone difficulty and other difficulties besides just the strength of the guitar track, which is what made GH I and II so fantastic. The entire lineup was geared around the strength of the guitar sections and of course that automatically makes rock and roll the centerpiece genre. Now? You have everything.

Best thing about this title is the online play and the new modes. Finally a GH with new online modes! You will have alot of fun, especially with one called Momentum. A competitive mode that puts everyone playing at Medium difficulty. As you correctly hit your notes the game will steadily increase your difficulty up to Expert. The more you miss, the lower in difficulty you go. It is quite the slap in the face when you see yourself on Expert while your friend is all the way back at Beginner on the same tune lol.

This title is definately worthy of the purchase if you are a fan of many types of music. With 90+ songs and the ability to create your own music and download more, really theres not much holding you back from a purchase. If you hate these titles already, this will not change anything. Oh, and good god, watching Johnny Cash during a metal song or Kurt Cobain during a rap/r&b song is pure comedy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse