Rent Guitar Hero 5 for PS2
view large frontback

Guitar Hero 5

Not Rentable
Also on:PS3, Wii, Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.0

309 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game GH 5

posted by deven7 (OLD TOWN, FL) Sep 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

guitar hero 5 is a very good game just the thing that sucks is it doesnt have better graphics then world tour (guitar hero 4).But it has some good songs like bring the noise 20xx, krptonite, sweating bullets and etc. Its a good game i give it a 8 =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Guitar Hero 5 Review

posted by pbecked (BEDIAS, TX) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its pretty good except it takes too long to load and save.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Guitar Hero 5

posted by djstevieb7 (ROCK HILL, NY) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

At first glance I thought this would be a great game just because I have not been disappointed yet. But, unfortunately I was since there's about 10 songs worth playing this game for and the rest were songs I never really heard of, and I just did not enjoy playing them. I realize there are a lot of new rock bands out there, but this game had too many obscure names for me. In my opinion there needs to be more of a concentration of older rock songs from the 70s, 80s and 90s since those artists are well deserving to have their songs represented, and enjoyed. I guess I'm a little more old school, but we can't forget where today's rock originated from. I also did not like the different format in career mode (you have to play just about every song to unlock the final venue), including many boring tracks. The final song is long and, for lack of a better word, AWFUL!! I did not even finish the game once I unlocked every venue. I'm hoping the game creators will someday read this entry, and hopefully take my opinion into consideration. I don't think I'm alone here. Sorry for the long essay. ROCK ON!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I see dead musicians

posted by Range13 (BOZEMAN, MT) Sep 8, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Basically the ps2 gets a stripped down version but all the tracks are here so if you are in it for the music then this version is fine. The setlist is great for the most part more classics less new junk, and some odd but choice picks SCREAMING TREES etc.. The mechanics feel particularly sound this time around and through a component cable this game looks WAY better than world tour in the graphics dept.
Unlocking Johnny Cash and Kurt Cobain is somehow more disturbing than it was with Jimi the last time around. There is no music studio nonsense and the challenges of the next gen versions are absent but the music sounds great and everything works as it should. TERRIFIC SETLIST overall and a great new system for playing through career hitting only the songs you like. The touch pad from my WT guitar doesn't work on this game however, 7.5 stars the trailer for DJ HERO feels strange as it features DJ AM talking about the art of DJing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mostly bad songs, some are not even rock songs!

posted by annarborjack (ANN ARBOR, MI) Jul 31, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Some of the songs in this game are good though. But do not get the game just for a few songs. Some of the songs are classics so just rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

GH 5 PS2 version

posted by Cell9000 (JOELTON, TN) Jan 30, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

ok so i rented GH 5 and just got it yesturday
and tried it out today well i don't have my guitar with me right now
so i gotta wait to play the guitar part of it
and when i got my contoller plugged in
it says i need to have a mic plugged in idk if the game only works with a mic plugged in or if it's just cause i don't have a guitar plugged in
ANYWAY by from what i've seen so far it's not very good for the ps2
because of two things that happend to me when i tested it
1. it takes WAYYY to long to load
2. some songs just never load (smells like teen spirit never loads for me go figure the one song i wanna play dosen't load)
i would have rented it for my 360 but i need to by a guitar for it
soo basically if you only have a ps2 DON'T RENT THIS
OR BUY THIS
but if you have a 360 or a ps3 i think it would be WAYYY better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not happy

posted by awesome26 (OAK HILL, WV) Nov 15, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

the game was broke when I got it today

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

What is wrong?.............

posted by FPDrummer3 (CRYSTAL FALLS, MI) May 8, 2010

Member since May 2010

I HAVE GOTTEN 2 GAMES (1 REAL AND ONE REPLACEMENT) AND BOTH OF THEM DON'T EVEN WORK ON MY PS2. IT PLAYS ALL GAMES EXCEPT THIS ONE!!! DON'T RENT THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome :)

posted by CodeRed979 (TUCSON, AZ) Mar 25, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This game was very good. it features good songs like Kryptonite, Bring the noise 20xx, The feel Good Inc. etc.. It has stuff that the first guitar heros didnt like band creation and use of the drums and mic. I recommend renting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

wow?!?!??

posted by ryuoka (HOMESTEAD, FL) Jan 8, 2010

Member since Oct 2007

almost all of the guitar hero games were awesome but this was a total let down. out of the 80+ songs in this game there was less than 10 that were any good and only 3 that were great. not even worth the money or time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

uyhhnf

posted by bfjklz (WAPPINGERS FALLS, NY) Dec 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

fffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

What Happened to Encores?

posted by Paikwin9 (DUBLIN, CA) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

I noticed on GH: Metallica that the were no encores but rather a star system. I thought that since this was a "band-centered" game that it may be something specific to it. But now, I bought GH5 because I wanted the free GH: Van Halen. While I like many of the songs on the track list I am dissappointed that there seems to be no purpose in playing career. (I just got the game so forgive me if I have not discovered it yet!)

The thing I do not like is no encores. Moreover, instead of having the encore move you to a new venue, you have to manually move yourself from venue to venue to see what songs are available in each venue. Pretty Lame. I liked the sense of accomplishment that one got from completing the levels.

If you are a fan, you will probably like it. If you are not tired of the music on the other versions of GH you have at home, rent it or wait for a used copy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Completely Changed

posted by hellogames (SOMERS, CT) Oct 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

The first time I played this I knew there needed to be more. After I played guitar hero 4 and this one I knew both of them were completely changed from the other ones. Yes in GH4 it had create a song mode but still it just didn't feel original. Then GH5 came out and I was dieing to buy it and when I rented it instead I knew it wasn't right. I returned it right away. The graphics are cool and it has some hard songs on it but I would Still Say "RENT IT DON'T BUY IT" Other people might think different, but this my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Only Rent This Game

posted by fabuloso (BETHESDA, MD) Sep 25, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

With all the songs this comes packed with, only 6 of them are worth playing this game for.

Disappointed is my only thought to this game.

GH needs more "Legends of Rock" games. These games are getting soft and are reason why I wont buy, or rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

need more

posted by ddakaboom (OSWEGO, NY) Sep 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

i like it i just wish i i can use the controler on this one i can on all the other exsept world tour n metalica n i can get 100 on expert on all the songs on all the games tht i can u the controler but on this i can get only a 87 on expert

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »