Rent Guilty Party for Wii
view large frontback

Guilty Party

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.2

972 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Good Family Fun

posted by Glock73 (ATHENS, AL) Sep 19, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It is like clue the board game. That is the best way to give a good idea what it is like. A good weekend of fun was had with my family with this game. Well worth the rental if you have kids, or a small get together with friends. Might not be a blockbuster but, it will not be a wasted rental either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Guilty of Being a Lot of Fun

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Sep 5, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

When the lady of the house goes missing, and a villain named Mister Valentine takes credit for the kidnapping, the Dickens Detective Agency is on the case.
But the guy who is supposed to take the case head on is retiring, so he’s leaving the others in his large family to solve the crimes.
Through eight levels, players will go through places like Dickens Manor, an aquarium, and a train. You search for clues and talk with suspects about the crime at hand.
At least you play mini games when you search rooms or talk with suspects about the crime at hand. If you win the mini game, you get a clue. If not, well, you get nothing.
First one to gather up the right clues that paints the one suspect guilty of the crime and correctly accuse that person wins that round.
Oh by the way, that correct accusation has to come within a set number of turns (it varies by level) or the guilty person will get away with the crime.
The multiplayer puts a few great wrinkles in the gameplay. You can cooperate or compete against the other players.
And you have Savvy Cards that will help you/hinder your opponents by knocking out the opposition, getting clues without playing the minigames, stealing/preventing others from stealing you cards and so on.
And in Party Mode, the suspect changes with every game - great for adding shelf life.
But this isn’t a perfect game. First off, it’s not to be played single player at all. Then, some of the 44 minigames are disposable - namely the ones where you mindlessly wave the Wiimote about. And I would like the Game Room mode (where you practice the minigames) unlocked from the beginning.
But if you’re looking for a fun party game, Guilty Party is one you should get. BUY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Disney impresses again

posted by protox (LAKEWOOD, CO) Sep 18, 2010

Member since Mar 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Disney has always been good at making great games. This is one of the few third party titles on the Wii that I think fully deserves a purchase. This game was fun, interesting, very funny, and a great party game. It's easy to pass over this title and think it's just a kids game but as an adult, I probably loved it more than a kid would. I laughed and enjoyed every second of it. Sure some of the mini-games are a little annoying but anyone rating this game low has a screw loose.

The first thing you notice is the voice acting is actually pretty good. Sure not blockbuster game good but pretty good for a low key game. The animation of the characters is quite impressive for such a small title. I played through the whole story with my wife and we both enjoyed it, taking about 4 hours. It's much easier and faster on 1 player. It's a lot like clue but more entertaining. I will probably play it a few more times before I return it. I'll end up buying it at some point since it's a pretty good party game. I just wish they had more than one story to it. That's the only thing holding it back from a full rating for me. Out of everything the only real negative is that there just wasn't enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent Game!

posted by BobBee88 (LYNCHBURG, VA) Sep 4, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game reminds me of a mix of Clue and Mario Party with characters that are fun and relatable and a gameplay that is addicting and enjoyable! And it never gets boring because there are different difficulty levels for those who are strong players and those who are just beginners. I recommend this game to absolutely everyone from ages 8 - 108! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good

posted by monte (JONESBORO, GA) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Very good game. Just didnt like how me and my son solved it in two days. should have had more series to it or more mysterys to it. But all in all we both enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

guilty party = family fun!!!

posted by chrmdixon (KUNA, ID) Sep 5, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

this was a great game for my kids, wife and myself. it's very clean and fun to play together. it's easy enough for my six year old to play as well as long as we read with him.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great game

posted by yeshuvtali (MONTICELLO, GA) Sep 20, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game was a lot of fun for families, but really short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

whos the gulty party

posted by griffin59 (SEATTLE, WA) Sep 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is a dilightful mix of mario party and clue

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not as fun as it sounds.

posted by sue4angel (MOUNT VERNON, NY) Sep 19, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

In one person mode this game is not fun at all. I expected it to be challenging but was greatly dissappointed. maybe if you have more players (young players) it would be ok. i found nothing of what i expected. rent it, try it but dont buy it!!! this game is made for 8 and younger crowd. i had such high hopes...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Extremely Fun!!!

posted by jolivi9 (BATON ROUGE, LA) Feb 14, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

It's like a board game, mixed with a whodunit, mixed with Disney, with tons of fun twists and such along the way. I love this game. Gameplay goes quickly but then you can play in Party mode forever with friends and family!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

For kids only

posted by OTDyo_mama (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Feb 2, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I thought the game was repetitive and boring. It is definitely for kids, but I don't know which kids. Older kids will be bored, and younger kids probably wouldn't enjoy this either as nothing much happens to keep them entertained.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

We Didn't Find This Game as Fun as Other Reviewers

posted by gramywheels (INDEPENDENCE, MO) Aug 22, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I read the other reviews and wonder what we missed. I played with my 9 year old granddaughter who loves mysteries in books, games and movies. When I saw this title I thought it would be perfect for her, I was wrong. She found it silly and slow. It was easy to figure out "Who-dun-it" and it didn't take very long. I can't imagine how an adult party would find this game any fun but obviously we must have missed something. Luckily with Gamely you can try this game out for yourself and decide. We didn't keep it long and are looking forward to a game with a little more action. (We love the CSI mystery games)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An interesting mixture of clued and Mario party.

posted by tiloho (OSHKOSH, WI) Aug 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2005

This game is fun to play(even in single player) but the story is too short or it needs more than one. Once you play it through in single player there isn't much reason to play it any more. Instead of searching for clues to location, weapon, murderer etc.(ala clue), your clues will be to the hair, gender, height and weight of a suspected criminal. In the easy mode you need to prove the suspect guilty but in the hard mode you need to prove the rest of the characters innocent. The various scenarios look like a doll house with everyone moving around inside. You have a certain # of moves(from room to room or gaining clues through winning a minigame) per turn(even when playing in singleplayer). Sometimes you can earn more turns as you search for clues. Sometimes you just reach the suspect as your turns run out and on the next turn you have to find them all over again. In single player mode, at least, it doesn't seem all that hard to figure out and accuse the suspect before he can escape(the turns run out). Once, I even found the suspect without getting all of the clues(because a certain minigame was impossible for me even in easy). That's one of the things I liked about this game, if you failed a mini game a few times in a row it gives you the option to try an easier version of it. The graphics and voices were like a good quality cartoon movie and the family of characters were quirky and humorous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

boring

posted by maggie21408 (LEXINGTON, KY) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

it was fun for bout an hour and then it just got really boring. and so i sen it back the first day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Guilty Party

posted by gamefly_fan (MANCHESTER, NH) Jul 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

It's fun to play!!! It's fun to solve cases!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not for young kids whom can't read well.

posted by annie63123 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I love the game, it was fun and entertaining. The only thing that I don't like if the fact that you must be able to read in order to play. What I am refering to is my 5 yr old nephew, he can't read yet, so it was difficult for him to play. But a great game. We enjoyed it for a whole weekend camping.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

great game to easy

posted by twix (TURLOCK, CA) May 26, 2011

Member since May 2011

I like the game to easy pasted it quick

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

awful game...even my kids hated it

posted by olorin (CRANSTON, RI) May 10, 2011

Member since Oct 2005

Just plain bad. Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad

posted by loto128 (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 9, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

Not bad for a rental- very very short, but funny and entertaining. Felt like a video-board game. Cool character design, pretty good voice acting, and a decent variety of mini games kept it entertaining until the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cute game...

posted by FatThumb (STATESVILLE, NC) Feb 25, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

Nothing spectacular, but very cute and entertaining. I rented it, then immediately bought it for my 8 year old niece.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Addictive!

posted by ninja_monkie (TACOMA, WA) Feb 17, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This is an excellent game for players approximately 10 and older. There is a lot of reading and a lot of figuring so its not for the young ones despite the Disney title. I thoroughly enjoyed working through the clues to get to the bottom of the case. It took me two days of playing (probably 3-4 hours total) to beat the game and unfortunately the culprits are the same if you go back to repeat a level. So I don't recommend buying the game for this reason but its definitely worth renting!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not for Adults only

posted by bluerayne (YUCCA VALLEY, CA) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I think this was a neat game, but I would have to have kids for it to be entertaining for much longer. The mini games are really simple and you have something like 30 or 38 turns to find the "Guilty Party" and I figured it out in like 5 or 6 turns (pretty much after you get all the clues). If you have kids then its a great game to play with them. If your just a couple of adults wanting to be kids, then go play Wii party or Mario Party... those are much more challenging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Recommended For Good Reason

posted by caleblee (JEMISON, AL) Dec 8, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

This game is one of the most boring mundane games I have ever played. From the beginning I knew it was boring, but I just kept hoping that it would get better, it did'nt. It just got more complicated and stayed dry and boring. I do not recommend this game at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

petnet1672yahoo,com

posted by penman (DELHI, CA) Nov 30, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

it is fun games to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BORING AND WAY TO EASY!

posted by DudeLove (CEDAR CITY, UT) Oct 21, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

Rent this for your 3 year old, that's all I really have to say. The mini games and game in general is so ridiculously easy it's no fun at all, like I said earlier maybe to a 3 year old.

bad bad BAD!!!!!!! I played one round and immediately packed it back up and sent it to gamefly. Everyone of my friends and family were bored by it and unimpressed, don't waste your time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »