Rent Guilty Gear XX Accent Core for Wii
view large frontback

Guilty Gear XX Accent Core

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
6.0

317 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Classic Guilty Gear...

posted by OtakuDC (WASHINGTON, DC) Nov 23, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THE CLASSIC CONTROLLER IS ABSOLUTELY NECESSARY TO ENJOY THIS GAME.

Not even the GameCube controller makes it very possible to enjoy the classic Guilty Gear experience. The Wii motion controls are absurd and the GameCube controller is bulky and unresponsive.

With the classic controller (a good 20 dollar investment to enjoy any virtual console game), Guilty Gear shines like usual.

Frenetic and beautiful battles with fantastic character designs. Tight battle systems and gorgeous high resolution drawings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome fighting game for the Wii

posted by Capdain (SAN JOSE, CA) Jan 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is possible the funest Fighting Game for the Wii that I have seen. It just rocks and is awesome fun. Not to mention that it is innovative with the atackes as well as having some different ways of doing it. The gameplay is the best, it rocks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Classic Controller Is Best; But Not The Best Game!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Dec 7, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I was dissapointed that the series has went down hill. Unfortunetly the main 3 issues are very slow control, you cant do the same moves as the computer when playing the character and the background is distracting and becomes a pain when trying to read the stats. There is pretty good depth even though the AI is outstanding smart and the interface is pretty good and the graphics are not that bad. All in all it is worth a rental (and make sure to use the classic controller because the Gamecube one does not work as well).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

awesome

posted by kirbneilio (TRAVIS AFB, CA) Oct 20, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

totally groovy and awesome!
great intuitive controls.
great charactors.
classic feel.

overall: awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GGX is as technical as ever!

posted by Lordjon (FORT WORTH, TX) Jan 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I can't seem to get into this game. The controls are very cumbersome even with a gamecube controller(That is unless of course you have an arcade stick for the GC/Wii.)If you have to use the Wii controls or GC controls I would "maybe" say pass on this one as it took me some getting use to. I'm use to fluid feeling controls and it still has the same buttons as the old games, but the placement of the controls on the GC controller is obviously awkward to play with when you are use to playing GGXX#Reload on the Xbox or GGX2 on the ps2. This game is very good in a technical sense, but it's nothing special if you already have XX#Reload. I like the roster only a bit, the Order Sol isn't really a big deal he's way too slow to be usefull in real battle.(Think worse then Ganondorf in Super smash Bros Brawl slow or perhaps about the same speed.) Many AI characters are superior in speed and will combo you just like a japanese player or online player would do. I found the challenge to be enjoyable but when I switched to GGXX version of Sol I found the AIs incredibly easy to beat down instead of being fun to beat up like with Orders Sol. I like this game alot and it really is worth the 24.99$ buy you should get it if you like GG because it's alot better then the 360 GG2 Overture game. I would definitly recommend this to those who own a Hori Arcade stick for the wii or a Gamecube Arcade Stick for the GC.(Yes, I'm looking at you old Soul Calibur Stick owners out there lol.) This game is very good for a 1 vs 1 game but it does not beat Castlevania Judgement by any means. It also does not beat Brawl Naruto or any other Vs game on the wii except maybe Facebreaker K.O. Party(Which is alot of fun go check it out now.)Note that most of the games I referenced are 4 player games I play 1 vs 1 on or 2 vs 2 on. I rarely ever play 3 vs 1 or 1 vs 1 vs 1 unles it's a random Brawl match on Wi-Fi. Anyways watch out for Ino and Boss Order Sol(not to be confused with Orders Sol he will pwn you.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The only problem is...

posted by Randomness (BELLINGHAM, WA) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

This game is, for the most part, the same as it's PS2 counterpart. The only real difference is that you can choose to use Wii controls, which do not work at all. Which is why the game's score suffers a little. Other than that, you might as well read a review for the PS2 version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

first time GG player, and loved it

posted by fatetality (SANTA FE, NM) Jul 31, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

well when i first put in GG I was fine with button mashing but after a while it got boring so i found a website called dustloop it tremendously help and after a few session of the training mode it instantly became funner (i spent at least half my play time in training learning everyone moves and creating new combos, i probably had the most fun with this in not for the MP) after this even the imfamos I-no became eseyer. if you like finding new classic games or replying old as long as you have a classic controller you'll love this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A closing thought

posted by xenoaurora (HAMILTON, OH) Dec 17, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

Ok to be honest i kept the game 3 days. The first day i put it in i tried to play with the wiimote and it was a disaster. The controls are impossible. Then their is no tutorial so your not familiar with the buttons at all. I did end up trying it on the gamecube controller but with the graphics dating back the SNES, it was still very difficult to enjoy. So my thought is this, unless your a hardcore guilty gear fan i wouldnt even bother!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

REALLY REALLY BAD

posted by PeaTear (SAN JOSE, CA) Dec 6, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

Aside from horrible graphic, I-NO is way too stong, even on begginner level. Game designers are really bad at making an adequate difficulty level, and with the wiiremote too? It's just impossible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stay away from this game.

posted by Shadowseal (DUNDEE, OR) Nov 21, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

I am a fan of 2D fighters, while i prefer the third "D" i can still roll with only two. That said the guilty gear series has my respect, while I think the combo system could use a bit of work as it isn't very realistic, they are still good games. But what happens when you port this game onto the Wii? Well you get this: A fighter from a great series of games, with some of the worst controls i have ever seen in a 2D fighter. If you have played the other games, you know that the combos take a lot of skill to pull off, but it can be done. Well not any more, Accent Core on the is nothing more than a button-masher with a pretty title. There really isn't much else to say about the game, except, get in on the ps2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game, maybe not so well suited for Wii

posted by JT4444 (ANN ARBOR, MI) Oct 23, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

I've always loved guilty gear, so I'm probably giving this game a higher rating than it deserves.

This game has really interesting (bordering on absurd) characters, hilarious heavy metal music, and good looking, heavily stylized backdrops. Fights are interesting as ever, with each character having their own unique special moves and style of fighting. For overall design I would give this game a 10!

But the controls for this game are pretty bad (using the Wii remote/nunchuck). To punk and kick you have to shake the nunchuk (it varies depending on how hard you shake). And to do a slash and heavy slash you shake the wii remote. OR, you can bypass these and simply use the D-pad. Using the nunchuk and Wii remote, fighting sequences take a lot longer then they should for a 2D fighter like this. But if you use the D-pad you can do combination sequences much more quickly, although its more uncomfortable on your hand.

If you're really into fighting games, definitely DON'T use the Wii remote and nunchuck. If you're like me, and don't mind shaking them about and having your guilty gear characters fight a bit slower (and perhaps clunkier) than you are used to, than this game is pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »