Rent Guilty Gear 2: Overture for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Guilty Gear 2: Overture

Not Rentable
GF Rating
4.2

883 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

beauty

posted by tallestdav (POMONA, CA) Aug 17, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game has great graphics and gameplay u got to have patience though other wise ya ganna be like these monkeys but trust me if u like rts and action ur ganna like this been playing it for years still enjoying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A fascinating fusion of action and strategy.

posted by dmhoshi (COLUMBIA, SC) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Guilty Gear 2: Overture deviates from the one-on-one Fighting game that most gamers have come to know the Guilty Gear series for. At best, we're treated to a stylishly unique hybrid of Action and Strategy gaming. At worst, we have a convoluted table-top game held hostage by an incredibly steep learning curve.

Allow me to break this down board-game style. I think that would be easiest.

Setting up the board, you'll have four main components. The first is the "Masterghost," your home base (and starting point) that must be protected from enemy assault and the destruction of which ends the game. Next is the "Master," the character you select and the piece on the board you have full control over. The "Servants" are subordinates of the Master. They may be assigned paths and destinations by the player. And then, "Ghosts" are nodes scattered around the board that may be taken by either team. Occupation of Ghosts provide makeshift bases for Masters and Servants to replenish vitals and receive status boosts.

The steep learning curve comes into effect as the player has to manage moving around the map as the Master, conjuring up Servants and giving them assignments, shopping for items and skills, and using strategy to topple his opponent -- all in real-time. That's quite a bit to manage, on top of how incredibly fast it all transpires. You have to learn to think quickly, act quicker, and improvise. Fortunately, the game has an exhaustive online help file (in the Start Menu), and a variety of missions built around helping the player understand the ins and outs of the frantic gameplay. Help yourself to downloadable replays from the Leaderboards to see some truly epic battles.

Guilty Gear 2 is one-of-a-kind experience; quite possibly the antithesis of the "mindless action game." It requires a lot of practice and patience, though. It helps to be a fan of both Action (Fighting) games and Strategy games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Guilty Gear 2 - What happened?

posted by DEEKON (PAWNEE, OK) Nov 5, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

For a series that has a strong background in the 2d fighting arena this game takes a step back. Horribly. It's a cheap Dynasty Warriors knock-off that does it wrong. Guilty Gear is known for it's lightning fast game play a myriad opportunities for crazy and flash combo's. This game barely gives you 6.

The only returning characters to the fold are Sol Badguy and Ky Kiske. For those looking for a little bit of nostalgia those are the only two that will give it. There are a couple of more characters that are new and made for this game. Interesting character concepts that Aksys' is infamous for. But apart from a 6 character list that is all there is to play.

Game play is horrendous. Like I stated before, it's a cheap Dynasty Warriors knock-off, which brings shame to the Guilty Gear series and doesn't give credibility to the next game that might be brought on the next gen. It's efficient enough to pound the attack button, and while you're at it throw in a couple of jumps, to affectively beat this game. The enemies are laughable unless a "Master" shows up, then be prepared for spamming and evasive maneuvers until you can back them into a corner/wall.

Guilty Gear's first leap into the next-gen arena burns up like the Hindenburg. For a true next-gen Guilty Gear game, you might as well download Guilty Gear X#2:Reload from the Original Xbox section in the Xbox marketplace.

(This review is not the one that was originally suppose to be posted, my computer pretty much slapped me in the face and erased what I was working on at the time. So this is done hastily and not to the par that I want it. Take it what it's worth.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Um..What?

posted by Murakami (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

well the guilty gear franchise take another step backward with this one. I am a HUGE fan of their fighting series (even isuka) but this was a giant step in the wrong direction.
The lovable hand drawn graphics are gone and replaced with playstation 2 quality 3d environments.
The gameplay is very similar to Chaos Legion (ps2)controlling groups of troops to take over other areas and the enemies.
This game was a waste of time and a waste of space in my queue.
Not even worth the rental.
Stick to what you know...2d fighters...thats what everyone loves and what everyone wants......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It was ok!!

posted by Akiragrew (MIAMI, FL) Jun 28, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was ok, its not good but its ok i had fun playing it, sure some may say it has a Dynasty Warrior gameplay-ish but that didnt bother me since im a big fan of Dynasty Warriors so yeah ok game it was fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What is this game suppose to be??

posted by D1rtyyyy (METAIRIE, LA) Apr 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I guess if you are true to the franchise then this would be considered a "good" game but I'm not and I thought it was pretty bad! What's the deal with all of the text-over over half the screen? You can't see anything! It was very aggravating. and the combo moves? What up wit dat? I don't know, I didn't like it at all. There are tons of other games to play before you should get around to this title!

Thumbs down, way DOWN!

-D1rtyyyyy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Guilty Gear, or guilty of something else

posted by Hawthorne (ARDEN, NC) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This has been one of my favorite fighting franchises on the last generation of systems and ranks up there with Soul Caliber and Dead Or Alive for me. When I heard that they were releasing a new G.G. I was really excited because I thought we were going to get a new great fighting game, but found out that it was going to be a real time strategy type thing it kinda worried me. It turns out that I was right to worry about it. I started out with high hopes for the game just because of the franchise, but when it took a good 15 minutes to do the mandatory tutorial, I had lost most of my hope. Once I got to the first level and it does another good 8-9 interruptions while attempting to hack and slash though some of the most poorly designed creatures I have seen in a long time, i mean lil round robots that look pretty much like old snes/ps1 sprites come on , I got tired of having to stop to listen to poorly written and extremely dry dialog. I will say that i does have a couple good points, the combo system really is not too bad it just takes a little getting used to in order to get the different combinations down. It also has in interesting concept on the creatures that build your force. Honestly all in all it might be a game that I would play more if we were still playing ps1 games that we know are hard to control, but in this day and age its something i really would just say rent it don't buy it till there is a big price drop, id say its worth around 20-25 bucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kept me playing

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Oct 16, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

7 out of 21 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I never played the first Guilty Gear, however ive heard some good things about it. I dont really know many people who like those kind of games though. I also know the first one was 2D and this one is 3D so if your really attached to 2D you might not like this one. The graphics are average most of the time but sometimes the graphics are not so good. I think the story mode is kind of weird sometimes and i dont really think it makes since sometimes. However I really didnt want to stop playing for some reason and i though it was kind of fun. I think in the third mission thingy it tells you how to sprint and you have to turn a lot and it just really gets annoying because its almost impossible to press "a" and turn fast enough. Another thing about the campaign is the mouths of the people move pretty good most of the time with what they say, but sometimes its off. The live for this is just average. But overall i liked this game a lot more than i though i would and i wouldnt suggest buying it, but i would suggest at least renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

FAIL

posted by Raytaka (PITTSBURGH, PA) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game was similar to the Dynasty Warriors games with a double dose of FAIL. The battle system is flawed without an effective way to block, not only that, but the sprint system is TRASH. DONT WASTE YOUR TIME. YOUR ONLY GOING TO BE DISAPPOINTED...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Feeling Guilty for playing GEAR

posted by XBLRadio (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Almost 3 years into the 360 lifespan and the Box takes a giant leap backward.

I know this is just suppose to be button mashing fun, but it fails in the fun part. Graphics are Xbox Generation 1 at best, Sound is you usual clangs and thuds with the same old score, and the gameplay is unoriginal.

Skip this rental and rip it far away from your Q!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW... and not in a good way

posted by GarCZ15 (MORENO VALLEY, CA) Jul 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this is without a doubt the worst game i have ever played. plz just stay away from it. itll make u start to speak in tounges

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Where's My Guilty Gear?

posted by kevin1972002 (RICHMOND, VA) Apr 12, 2014

Member since May 2011

So I rented this game thinking I was gonna get into some 2-D crazy slash decimating flash fighting, but... nope. It's so out of the way of a fighting game, I don't see how it's included in the genre. It's more like the strategy games, which I hate. I don't wanna think that much while playing games, unless there's a puzzle involved, in which case, LEMME AT IT!!!

Ahem. I digress.
I wouldn't suggest this to anyone looking for a fun beat-em-up fighter, OR for anyone that's a fan of the GG franchise. They have so missed the mark, I can't find any redeeming qualities in it. Fun, no. Engaging, no. Worth a rent, no. That is all.

Seacrest out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The Game That Could

posted by DeucesWild (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Sep 17, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

This game advertises itself as a high-speed action strategy or an intense tactical action game. The best thing about this game is its voice acting.

If you're a fan of Dynasty or Samurai Warriors, you most likely will not like this, even though that's what I thought I was getting into, just a different universe.

And if you're into Guilty Gear, you most likely will still not like this.

If anything, liking any of the above gets in the way of enjoying this game. Where the game has an interesting premise of an action game with some combos and the tactical elements of managing units to capture and hold key positions. Characters do not have any permanent growth, so you're as strong in the beginning in the game as you will be at the end.

The story is lacking and potentially confusing, with some strands of sanity barely holding together some kind of flow in this empty desolate adventure. The gameplay varies from the tactical action mentioned above to a DS-style mystery game, to a top-down action game, to SNK-style boss fights.

The multiplayer isn't too enticing for myself either and is much like the tactical action aspect of the game.

And as a side note, there's at least one game breaking bug in the game on a boss that can be consistently reproduced that makes this boss literally invincible. It's the price you pay for being brutally effective too fast. Couple that with some annoying combat lines such as, "Shut up!" and "How annoying!" with lots of boss retries and you get yourself a frustrating little adventure.

At best, this game is a rent. Should never have bought it. Different perspective though, makes me appreciate GameFly even more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

give it a chance

posted by guymakura (BUDD LAKE, NJ) Aug 23, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

This game is japan's stab at trying to make an RTS.

if you're expecting a guilty gear fighter, then you're going to come away sorely disappointed. its a completely different genre.

i gave it a shot and was suprisingly pulled into it. its not like any RTS game(or japanese game for that matter)that you've ever played. it makes you a warlord and gives you an army at your disposal.

I will say it def gets harder later on and sometimes requires some trial and error. but the results are satisfying.

give it a rent. what've you got to lose?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

guilty gear 2 review

posted by gamebox4 (PANORAMA CITY, CA) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

The game had nothing to do with one and one fighting but rather you fight enemy combatants in a terrain environment. this would work if there was more to it but there wasn't. no other dangers except the enemy combatants. it took all the fun out of a videogame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Garbage at Best

posted by tfwcu09 (CONCORD, NC) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

Wow, i'm normally a fan of Warriors-style games, but this is one of the worst games I've played in the past year. Everything about this game feels awkward, the controls and combos are terrible and dashing can be such a pain to control its not even worth it. To add insult to injury, normal enemies are weak and easy to kill, but bosses are very overpowered and can easily mop the floor with you. Overall this game is very frustrating and is nothing but a waste of your time and money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Headaches are only the beginning.

posted by Servas (JOHNSON CITY, TN) Sep 3, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Alright, so I played this game for a whole ten minutes. It was terrible, I don't think I can even think of a redeeming quality to this game. It is a terrible insult to the guilty gear games and I should have looked at the other reviews before queuing it. The characters said the same line over and over and over when you attacked with a certain move. The ghost control points were stupid and it was impossible to win unless you stacked teams in the exhibition mode. All in all, it was a total waste of my time to get this game and now I have to wait another week and a half to get my next game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Huh?

posted by iPUNCHfish (CAMPBELL, CA) Mar 6, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

What I thought was going to be a traditional fighting game turned into this poor excuse of a 3d action adventure third person free roaming point capture game with RTS elements. That's really it... you capture points on the map much like Onslaught in UT. They threw some interesting elements into the mix with that gameplay type which adds to the overall strategy but the game has an extreme dominant strategy. Toss a couple clumsy battles and you got this game.

GG! PEace!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Why

posted by HSReaper (NAPLES, FL) Mar 1, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Why did they have to mess up guilty gear???? It was just fine as a 2d fighting game. They really should have done it like street fighter IV now that's a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just... don't..

posted by Selficide (CASSELBERRY, FL) Feb 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Let me start off by saying that I haven't played the first GG, so I can't really compare it to the first one, ...but if this game is any indicator, then I'm not going to bother. They tried to add some depth to the fighting by adding a "control the territories" dimension. While this sounds promising, it feels shallow and half-thought out. All of your attacks are done with two buttons, leaving you to the same 4 combos over and over. The minions are semi-autistic, and if you want to send them to a specific location, group them up, or create more, you have to stop and open a new screen, leaving you vulnerable. Concerning the story, it feels like they were trying to make it sound as deep as possible, without actually knowing what they were talking about. Constant vagueness doesn't get me interested, it makes me play another game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What. Were. They. Thinking?

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Jan 31, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

Guilty Gear 2 has been released pretty much under the radar. Well, true, the fighting series hasn't been a top-tier series to date, but they always seemed to be enjoyable 2-D fighting games. Not on the level of Street Fighter, but better than most of the other fighting games out there. I can also appreciate a developer's desire to try and branch out their franchise to different genres, but these moves tend to be laden with potholes. When the ONLY remotely successful attempt at this was MK: Shaolin Monks --- and that game, mind you, was really good --- this is one of those moves that is up there with trying to date an ex-girlfriend's younger sister.

So, they decided to branch out the Guilty Gear fighting games to the world of action RTS. OK, they ended up making a REALLY bad Samurai Warriors clone.

Amazingly, the visuals are WORSE than in the old fighting games. I LOVED the artistic style of the GG fighting games. Beautifully drawn and lushfully animated 2-D characters are, now, muddy 3-D models that actually look about as bad as the ORIGINAL Samurai Warriors. What is the point of actually making a next-gen title look worse than the last-gen game it is marginally based upon.

The storyline is the usual --- OK, I don't care about the storyline. At all. Useless nonsense. The gameplay, though, does matter and it was pretty boring. You walk around small, linear levels and lead a tiny force of people against a group of foes. Not as many foes as in the usual game of this genre --- which actually shows that you can make a tedious game worse by providing FEWER enemies. I had long wondered if it were possible and, yes, it is possible.

There is nothing to recommend this game. Quite bluntly, the X-Box Original of GG is a better title and it costs significantly more. Sad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bad all around

posted by emceelokey (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 2, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

Too much bad dialogue. Sub Par graphics. Flea market knockoff of Dynasty Warriors gameplay. Does not do god for anyone. Not for Guilty Gear fans, fighting game fans, brawler fans, graphic fans, fans of fun. Provides none of those.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Guilty Gear 2 aint good at all

posted by Spawn1978 (ELIZABETHTOWN, PA) Dec 2, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

First and foremost the GG2-Overture was a fighting game that went RPG, and to tell you they did an alright job I would be lying to you their battle system is horrible, also the voice acting had no emotion at all, and too much talking in between chapters, I rented this game hopping that it would be somewhat interesting and I was sorely let down it is a rent do not buy this game and add it to your collection save your money, heck don't even rent it, yes the game is really that bad!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

So asian it hurts.

posted by 1337gam3r (BOULDER, CO) Nov 26, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

I played this game for a total of about 10 minutes. This game is ridiculous, stupid and completely unnecessarily asian. If you think people are made out of triangles and like bright flashy lights with little to no intelligent game design with high chances of seizure then this game is for you. If you like having fun while you are PAYING to play a game, this game is NOT for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not a good game

posted by Epic09 (ROCK HILL, SC) Oct 31, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

This does Game not good the online mode gets old fast evening the story mode gets old fast that and the vioce act is not that great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse