Rent Grid 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Grid 2

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.5

370 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun!

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) May 28, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2012

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I am having a lot of fun with this game. It is a lot like the old one but with a better framerate, not much though. The graphics could be better but they are still good for a race game. The online is awesome with a lot of the same tracks from grid 1 showing their faces so anyone who liked grid 1 will enjoy this one. I still haven't found the demolition part of the game, if there is one. I really liked that part from the first game. oh well, if it is not there they will put it out in a dlc probably. oh yeah, the driving is very precise as far as the controls are concerned. the cars are really fun to drive. I just wish they had put a little bit more new stuff in the game because it really feels like the same game but with better overall mechanics, which I guess makes it worth a play but I guess I just wanted more. It is still good just now WOW!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Liking it so far...

posted by HTownBalla (AUSTIN, TX) May 29, 2013

Member since May 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I played it for a couple of hours once I got it and so far I have liked it. I'm not too big into "realistic" racing games. I'm a Split/Second die hard (it's more arcade style than realistic), still dominating online since the game came out 3 years ago. The graphics, sound, handling and overall presentation on S/S has been hands down (and still to this day) the very best racing game I have ever played.

That said over the last few years I have been looking for other racing games to play too but I always end up turning that new game off and going back to S/S. Grid 2 does not make me want to abandon S/S by any means, but I will say it is pretty good and I may actually hang on to it and play it for a bit....maybe even buy it.

The cars don't look that good to me and the drifting is irritating (again, take that with a grain of salt from me as again S/S just does these 2 things better) but the track environments and the customization's and selection of cars are good. I like the season mode so far too.

I gave it an 8 due to it not being a total let down like any other racer I have played since S/S and the graphics and car selection and the fact that I actually want to play it more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awsome

posted by JesseScher7 (VALATIE, NY) May 30, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This IS a Great game..its little hard at first but when u get use to it, it gets easier.. Also graphics r top notch for the xbox 360. I just got done playing fornza right before i played this and i like it because its not trying to be fornza or need for speed, has it own feel and it kicks aas. Chances r if your dont like racing games u will write a bad review.. so dont, its anoyying. GIve it a chance and u will fall in love.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Career Mode Is Dull

posted by Azazel_x (CARLSBAD, CA) May 28, 2013

Member since May 2013

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Been playing career mode for about 5 hours in total, and I find it difficult to hold my interest; seems very bland and lacking in entertainment. The racing itself is solid, but you also need an online game pass to unlock multiplayer or do anything fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I really wanted to like this game

posted by coopdog72 (OCALA, FL) May 29, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

I play everything so I'm no Jeff Gordon of the racing genre. I found this game to be very hard on medium not because of the AI but the car is very hard to control you must brake a the perfect time or crash if a little late to early and you'll just stop or loose so much speed everyone pulls away like you're a spectator and why are all the racing games hiding corners it's hard to tell when they're coming up. I do like the fact that every car seems to drive different but that just means more frustrating races with my limited time Wife,kids,work, I like to play games that I can play and not break my tv because I threw the controler at it when I went from 3rd to 7th for the 11th time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

boring

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 30, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Overview
=====================
I played for about 2 hours in the career mode and it just didn't hold my attention. There just isn't a hook to keep you interested. The handling isn't that good, which is saved by the rewind feature (however, that felt like a cheat button).

I didn't get to play the multiplayer since it requires a code and I didn't bother with the free 2-day trial since I just wasn't enjoying the game much.

The graphics are pretty good and the driving is fine overall too.....I just couldn't find a reason to play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

grid 2

posted by Drum423 (WOODINVILLE, WA) Jun 3, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I played grid2 for hour and it has a lot of problems they need to fix. but I gave it a 4 rateing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this is best one yet hope they have a 3RD

posted by duck_duckerton (SAGINAW, MI) Nov 30, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

Man look here this game is just that nice love the game play and the fact you can now use flip paint makes it so much more great cant wait to get it online

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WOW

posted by Tatatijo (TAMPA, FL) Oct 22, 2013

Member since Feb 2008

I love Codemasters's games. The Dirt series has been a favorite of mine. I passed on Grid one cause reviews werent that great. Man im sorry I did, Grid 2 is as great as the Dirt games have been. If you enjoy a perfect middle between arcade and simulation rent this game. Its very fun and its beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good ARCADE Racing Title

posted by Eddie1171 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Oct 9, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

Grid 2 was a OK racing game. I think its more geared to the audience of Arcade racing, I myself am a sim racer and at the start the game was OK for me, but as soon as i found myself having to drift on the road courses just to keep up i found myself bored with it.

Pros: Really fun,Pretty easy,Great selection of events
Cons:Sim is not there,Small selection of cars(Compared to GTA/Forza) No Assist can be changed(always on) ABS/SCC/TCS

Over All 7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

FUN RACER

posted by TheSnowGator (OMAHA, NE) Jul 20, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Grid 2 is a surprisingly fun game. For racing fans, whether arcarde or simulator, they will find this game enjoyable. For casual gamers, it is still fun, but it may get boring quickly.

The graphics are visually impressive and the environments are pretty. The selection of cars is decent. Although you cannot upgrade a car with performance parts, you can customize the cosmetics (wheels, decals, paint job). The amount of racetracks is decent, too, but the bulk of the gameplay is through the story mode. The story mode is servicable and offers different challenges, but nothing that will keep you glued. That is why casual gamers will have a tough time playing this game for more than a week. Bottom line: This is a great mix between arcade/simulation, but the lasting appeal is only for racing enthusiasts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this game is BAD

posted by gamerguy318 (FORKS, WA) Jul 13, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

this was the first game i rented and i wished it was the last. this is a racing copy of dirt 1 2 and 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Headcam

posted by Zanery115 (OGDEN, UT) Jul 12, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

on Grid they had a headcam, people complained (mainly because they couldn't figure out how to change the camera to permantly change to a different veiw.) I loved headcam mode, it was the only way to race on any racing game which grid 2 just ruined.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Grid 2

posted by dominator24 (JONESVILLE, VA) Jun 8, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

I like the feel of the game. The graphics are pretty good. I only have one problem with this game....... It seems as though during a race when you are side by side with another car on a straight piece of road, the AI car will intentionally swerve all the way across the road to hit your car when there is no need to. It will not let u pass cleanly on a straightaway road. This makes no sense. I can see a little beating and banging on the turns, that kinda fun. But, that is kinda stupid to swerve like that when there is no need to. Otherwise, I think the game is good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

OK Game..

posted by Talon_1G (FORT IRWIN, CA) Jun 7, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Very arcadey , reminds me of the Cruis'in arcade game at the mall with better graphics , but fun if you can deal with the blurred backgrounds and very unusual physics of the cars and handling. .. also 800 points for online access.. Grid fans will like what they have done with the game , but if you are hardcore into Forza 4 like I am , you should try it first as the physics and gameplay will mess with your mind a little ... Overall Grid 2 has great graphics besides the blurring, pretty cool single player and very nice cars, physics are a little bogus, and online play has its ups and downs but what game doesn't ...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not bad at all but has a few tiny flaws

posted by johnnylaw21 (WADSWORTH, OH) Jun 6, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

A fan of and hardcore player of racing games I consider myself a great guide into the racing game genre from arcade style to sim style racing. Grid 2 did a fabulous job at taking care of the biggest problems in the first. The largest flaw in the first game was that almost every car was like driving on ice,the handling was just always on the edge and even the slightest tap or wheel off led to spins and crashes galore. Grid 2 has much closer to real world physics for a game that is more grounded in arcade style racing. High power rear drive cars can be tough to wrangle where front drives understeer easy and all wheel drive rides get traction fast but feel heavy like they should. Engine sounds and track noise is pretty much right on with even most tracks having a heckler pop up here and there which at first there were people yelling outside my house until I figured out it was coming from the game. The music is like most racing games,pretty much turn it way down or off,but in any good racing game the cars provide the best music with high revs and turbo blow off and tires begging for traction. The only thing lacking was in depth tuning of your car for each individual race,as well as visual upgrades were very limited for those of us who love to get crazy personalizing our rides. This lack of truly deep customization leaves you not as in love with your car as a sim game would but you can do more personalizing than most arcade racers. Online is definately a bright point with a nice variety of tracks and car levels and with the rival modes and global challenges I find myself going online to race more in this game than any racer I have played to date. While the arcade style leaves the online races to be a bit messy with a lot of careless driving and sometimes you feel like you are in a burnout game but overall you are rewarded well even if it does take quite a long time to get to a high enough tier to have a diverse stable of cars. Overall,a bit of everything racer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »