Rent Greg Hastings Paintball 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Greg Hastings Paintball 2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii
GF Rating
4.8

1647 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could be better

posted by Treseler77 (SAND SPRINGS, OK) Nov 11, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I liked this game for about 30 minutes, then realized that if you don't have other people to play this with, it's not going to be fun.

The AI is terrible regarding maneuverability, (Bunches up on one piece of cover, rushes the flag running straight down the middle every time.)

3D models are terrible. Don't get me wrong, if I like a game's gameplay and/or story, I don't mind bad graphics. But this game didn't fill the gameplay void.

This next complaint is probably a personal problem that you might not agree with, but I felt stance changing (Crouch/Crawling) clashed with sprinting and diving. I know that sounds stupid, because you need to be standing to sprint, but it just felt like changing stances was slow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GHP2 Review

posted by uptobat2 (STREETSBORO, OH) Nov 22, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

In my opinion this game was a very solid one. The different styles of scenario games made it very interesting. Especially since they used more old school woodsball in the game. The selection of different guns was also very diverse and sometimes made you think which ones would work best for different maps. I did get annoyed in how easy X-Ball was to win and you would be sitting there up by 10 for 3 minutes. They could have made it a little more difficult since i was on the hardest setting and was still using un-upgraded rookies in the final stages. Overall this game is totally worth the rent. Have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mixed feelings...

posted by prtyinabox (SOUND BEACH, NY) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I did enjoy this game as it did take the time to expand on some elements from the prior GH game. My son really enjoyed the gear and money systems, and getting to individualize players a bit. The game types and the way they present speed/rec/woods ball all do give the game an initial appeal. It doesnt last that long, so here is where the casual fans and occasional ballers will likely lose interest and that makes sense considering some obvious shortcomings.

If I was in a paintball game and was witness to players sliding around the field in bursts of apparently friction-free environments, I might be visually frightenened. In the upcoming sequels, if coming should definitely devote some time to more natural-looking movement. Some more detail to the backgrounds to keep it looking like a port from an older system should have taken place as well.

For fans of the series, you will likely have fun on a play through. Other games may want to look elsewhere for their paintball fix.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Why did I even try it!

posted by chillyj0715 (PASADENA, MD) May 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Alright I have to admit my hopes were pretty low for this one but it was horrible. Maybe if I had a freind to play it with it would be better but trying to play any of the later games with the AI is horrible. I had 7v7 games that lasted a whole 8 sec and my whole team was done, I managed to take 3 people on average before they swarmed me and took the flag/marked me out. Besides this fact the game is awesome the game types are cool the equipment is cool. Physics seem pretty good besides the whole AI crawling and duck walking faster than you run and shooting more accurate than you with the precision aim.

Overall I give this game a 2, I just couldn't stand it, I am an achievement monger and can't stomach this game to get anymore....oh well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not worth a buy

posted by olachu (PEARL CITY, HI) Oct 20, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I have played the GH series since the very first one and this one seems like nothing has changed from the others. It is as if they just added 2 to the title and changed up the locations where you play. I would not recommend buying this game even if you are a die hard paintball fan. I think if you are a big paintball fan this game will greatly disappoint. Rent before making any decisions about a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Only for true enthusiast!

posted by oxygamer9 (DALLAS, TX) Nov 3, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game was fun for a little while, but quickly got boring. The beginning of the game required a lot of skill and direction of your team in order to win. But by the end, your team was so good you basically could sit back and let them do all the killing for you.

This was def a rental game, would never buy it but was fun for a couple days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Don't Get it

posted by Wicked15 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Oct 2, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

It was fun for maybe 30 minutes than it got boring. The Exhibition mode is extremely repetitive. In the middle of playing if you get an achievement the game will freeze for a few secs sometimes allowing you to get shot. The graphics seem to be lacking any kind of specific detail.
The online was ruined by the fact that you can rub off paint the same way you can offline.
If you like paintball you WON'T like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Good

posted by CSquared (SARASOTA, FL) Oct 2, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If You Enjoy Paintball Or The GH Titles Then This Is The Game For You. It Has A Much Improved Career Mode Which Takes More Strategy Then The Previous And The Online Game Play Is Better Then Before. But This For Sure Is A Try It Before You Buy It.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same old tired concept.

posted by Dumbledore (BELLEVUE, WA) Oct 3, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

I played the last Greg Hastings Title. Heck, me and my friends used to LAN with the game and play constantly. It was a blast! 7 years ago. And nothing, i mean nothing about the game has really changed since then.

What you have here is a game that most games on the xbox live arcade would put to shame these days. The gun models and sets are that horribly done.

Game play is somewhat addictive, but there is a huge amount of slowdown later when you upgrade your markers enough to shoot at a high rate. I mean the game really chugs along..

I wouldn't recommend this to anyone unless you're a die hard looking for a cheap paintball outlet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great!!! But 2 things

posted by kegna14 (DANVILLE, IN) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

good game. very reallistic except that you shoot 40 bullets at someone at close range and it doesnt hit them. Need to unlock hoppers(loaders)
quicker.Every thing else is just fine I really like it. 5 starS!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Decent Game

posted by jroby9 (LITTLE ELM, TX) Dec 22, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Game play was overall pretty good. Graphics seem pretty outdated and play gets repetitive. But the overall system and idea is good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

almost there

posted by dxc1210 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was really great starting out. The currency system was fun.
Tournaments were really fun, and kind of felt like online play. on the down part, i beat the game in 2 days, and after i was done, there wasnt much to do after. Online was pretty much the same as regular game play. i wish there was more to the game. It was entertaining for a few days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Its ok, Went Downhill from the first

posted by TBuldog (FRANKFORT, KY) Oct 5, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So this game is ok, its a paintball game you cant be looking for anything extremely great but this game has gone way down the well. the graphics havent got any better, the game play is laggy, computer players are dumb as heck and pretty much suicidal, and a lot of elements are taken away from the original GH game. If you are a Diehard PB fan then go ahead and try it, its alright

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

well

posted by conkermon (NAPPANEE, IN) Oct 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

i really liked this game it impressed me the building of maps and playing them with ai players was really cool that i think that was the coolest thing about this game i think it was kinda like a forge mode like halo reach but ur limited to 50 items that stinks of all ur items! like every item or any item u choose counts as 1 of ur 50 so that stinks and another thing theres no second floor building ur one 1 floor building and 1 floor only oh yeah xbox live they need to work on more people joining so they will make more effort to make better games if they see lots of people are getting on their game they are going to try to impress them and make a better game but right now noones and i mean noone im talking about 70people maybe not even that are on ghp2 xbox live and its actually really fun we just need people on the game to show them how much we like it oh yeah make sure ur on xbox live or they cant see their fans well gtg peace and Godbless

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Controller and Stick Layout

posted by GapGoody (PAVILLION, WY) Oct 9, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I found the graphics for game great. The controls for the game were to cluttered. In my opinion, the buttons and stick use could have been simplified. All of the Call of Duty series have excellent button and stick layout. This game is garbage as far as controller . I believe that less is more. Hopefully the next paintball game will have button and stick layouts that will be more user friendly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad bad bad

posted by sirerin (COTTONWOOD, AZ) Oct 2, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 15 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

Really thought this was going to be a fun play. Turned out to be a mirror of the gamefly commercial. Was just about ready to through the tv through the window. Bad graphics, bad concept. The company could have saved some money and never developed this piece of garbage. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE...

posted by Anti_Hero916 (FOLSOM, CA) May 25, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I absolutely love paintball and paintball games but this one is just terrible i mean ive seen playstation 1 games with better graphics than this, i bought the game for like 2 dollars and i no joke played it for like 10 seconds, then i took it out and i snapped it in half, thats how bad it is, i was even generous enough to give them a 1 if you can vote negative i wouldve voted -10

overall not even worth a rent...i mean cmon i snapped my disk in half it was so bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful

posted by BenZoooooo (RIVERSIDE, NJ) Oct 10, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

One of the worst games i have ever played. Very repetitive, and the graphics and gameplay are just plain awful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BORINGGGGG!!

posted by Jrasko1011 (WINDBER, PA) Oct 1, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

Extremely boring if you are not into paintball games. I was just trying this out and i almost fell asleep playing it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Greg hastings Paintball 2

posted by syracusenate22 (CENTREVILLE, VA) Nov 14, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

It was great, the graphics, the game play, etc. I'm surprised they haven't came out with the 3rd one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fun but hard

posted by gamerguy318 (FORKS, WA) Aug 21, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

I thought this game was good but it was really hard on easy... I mean it was a fair game but it is not a game I would buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

GHP2

posted by mecod19 (MANSFIELD, TX) Dec 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

If I were to describe this, I would say that it highly fails at being a good game, being into FPS (first person shooters) I expect X to be reload, A to jump, B/RS to be crouch/prone,& B to cancel, this does not follow those button procedures, so therefore I must say that this game ROYALLY SUCKS!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could have been better but definitely worth a rent

posted by IAmWarrior (PLAINFIELD, IL) Aug 12, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I really have no clue why, but I could NOT put this game down. I really enjoyed it, but putting my experience with it behind, here are the pro's and con's:
Pro's:
1.LOTS of customization! Many different guns, outfits, upgrades, players, and maps!
2.Lots of fun to play and very addicting!
3.Lots of different and sometimes hilarious game-modes.
4.Very fun to play with a friend!
Con's:
1.I'm not usually a graphic hound, but the graphics for this game really could have been better.
2.When playing with large teams, the game will actually drop framerate significantly because of the AI shooting all at once .
3.AI is braindead, they will always rush up the middle of the maps, with a occasional one or two AI attempting to flank.
4.If you get very good at wiping (wiping paint off of you're mask when you get hit) it gets very hard to get out.

Despite the con's, I had a very fun time with this game, and kept returning to it. Definitely worth a rent if you're into the sport, or just want to try something new, pick up this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Underrated

posted by SwaggedOut_ (COCHRAN, GA) Jun 6, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

This game is so underrated. Its a great game, its atleast worth a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Greg Hastings Paintball 2

posted by gonzo5416 (EL PASO, TX) Jun 5, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

This game was not playable when we got it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse