Rent Green Lantern: Rise of the Manhunters for Wii
view large frontback

Green Lantern: Rise of the Manhunters

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:3DS, Xbox 360, DS, PS3
GF Rating
4.9

285 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

This game needs better design, more creativity

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 11, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The power of the Green Lantern is to use your imagination to create several weapons/tools with the ring to save the day from bad guys.
Well, there’s no way this game’s going to come up with an almost infinite objects that can be created with the power of the ring. So, instead, they limit it to a few dozen set objects.
Green Lantern: Rise of the Manhunters is your basic side scrolling action game. As the Hal Jordan, newest member of the Green Lantern group, your task is to blast, punch, and destroy robots called the Manhunters, as well as other bad guys and other monstrous creatures.
The first level gets you used to the basics of fighting, blocking, grabbing and flying (and they are easy to understand). Each of the next four levels gives you two special moves and an fellow Green Lantern member to call in to refill your ring power if that runs low.
The special moves include firing rockets, deflecting enemy fire, becoming temporarily invincible, or temporarily firing really huge guns. You can also level up your hero and get him more powerful melee attacks, more powerful ranged attacks or better health.
But the opposition isn’t that strong; I had little trouble defeating them without using any special moves, and things only got easier with my guy fully powered up. A speed run through the game will take only three to four hours.
But the biggest problem with this game is other parts of the game design. The graphics are blurry and bland, the cut scenes leave a lot to be desired, the very few objectives for the game repeat far too often and the hidden objects don’t affect the game play at all.
Green Lantern: Rise of the Manhunters starts with a simple and fun aspect, but the lack of imagination in the overall game design takes all the fun out of it. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by majibitca (ROCHESTER HILLS, MI) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the graphics suck, extremely lame, story line is odd to say the least, not a game I would ever play again or recommend to anyone I know !!!!!!!

Far better games out there !!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game my son EVER PLAYED!

posted by asterzick (BATAVIA, NY) Sep 23, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My son is a 9 year old autistic video game genius of sorts and this game annoyed him to no end. Not fun, not entertaining and not worth your time. This is the first and only time my son played a video game he didn't like...I'm stunned!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fly away latern

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Nov 1, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

i just played this game and was disappointed. The graphics on this game are a amazing it is like watching an cgi cartoon but there is to much dialouge that goes long with the images. I was getting bored reading all of the text before i even started playing this game. The controls work well move with the nunchuk and fight with the wii remote and b button. It gets boring because all you do is fight a bunch of robots and fly around to each destination. I would not recommend this game to super hero fans or action game fans alike.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Green Lantern Rise Of The Manhunters

posted by eddy100000 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Jul 15, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

This was a great game. I was able to complete the game full upgrades to the maximum and with almost all the contracts. My favorite contracts were the missiles and guns. The contracts i love were the torpedos for the missile and for the guns was the MP40. This game may be great but its better to rent it than buying it. Its a worth to playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not recommended

posted by zsigman (SAN JOSE, CA) Jan 17, 2012

Member since Jan 2006

boring- repetative side scrolling no platforming button masher. decent enough graphic and play control .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Green Lantern on Cartoonnetwork

posted by kdoggiewv (MORGANTOWN, WV) Nov 17, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

The Evil Red Lantern team is Killing all The Green Lantern. you have to watch Green Lantern only on Cartoonnetwork in 2012 you will see what i mean!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fair, just fair

posted by Peydirt18 (POCATELLO, ID) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

This game wasn't that bad, it had some good moments. I was a little frustrated with the bosses and how often you had to repeat portions if you were defeated. It reminded me of a game that I would play on the NES when I was much, much younger, with better graphics. Gaming has changed a lot since then. Makes for a good rent, not one to buy, for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »