Rent Green Lantern: Rise of the Manhunters for PS3
view large frontback

Green Lantern: Rise of the Manhunters

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, 3DS, Xbox 360, DS
GF Rating
6.2

1554 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

my impressions

posted by das99 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jan 5, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i didnt know what to expect of this game, but i was a little surprised. it is actually rather fun and its cool how there is a nice variety of different powers. it's not boring at all, it's rather challenging, and worth a rental, possibly this small price too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better than Captain America

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Aug 5, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game is totally different than Captain America, thats a good thing. I like this game alot more. It's not perfect by any means, but it's fun and i like the camera views during gameplay.
I played it for an hour as soon as i got it and didn't even realize it.
Its a good rent, i may buy it when the price goes down.
Worth a rent for sure

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Should be called Green Lantern of War...

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) Jun 11, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

19 out of 27 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Really, I can't recall the last time I played a really good game based on a new movie. They always feel rushed, unoriginal, and lacking. Green Lantern is no exception. If you've played God of War, and I don't know anyone who hasn't, then you'll be right at home playing this game. The linear level design, the gameplay mechanics, the level up system, the fixed camera, all smack of God of War. It's disappointing really because superhero games have so much potential to be as good if not better than God of War. What annoys me the most about superhero games is the need to have your character 'learn' his powers. Rather than have a powerful character from the start and creating enemies to match his power. Everything about this game feels uninspired, the level design lacks detail, and there is hardly any variety in the enemies you fight. There is never a real feeling of accomplishment in the game and once you finish it, you wish it went on a little longer. I truly hope the movie is better. On a side note, the ring powers are actually cool to use and I like the ease of accessing them, but I wish there was more variety to choose from.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not as bad as I taught

posted by Antmoney33 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Dec 15, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If your a god of war fan an who's not. Green Lantern is the game for you. I do admit its a cheap knockoff of the famous god of war games but it plays well. There all kinds of action in this game but not much of a story line. If your in the mood for a fast game that's all action try this game out. But this should be a rental not worth buying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Green Lantern game is a yellow light at best

posted by chemoman (CAMARILLO, CA) Jun 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

The game Green Lantern: Rise of the ManHunters is probably the best made from the movie / game so far in the past couple of years. Unfortunatley that's not saying much. I expected it to play, look and feel like the last super hero games we've seen ( Thor, Ironman and the Hulk... ugh!) in the past. The graphics are okay, some of the fighting moves you earn are okay and that's about it man, not much to this game it's basically a beat em up repetitive game. just rent, don't buy. Maybe the Capatain America game will do better ...yeah right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Game Sucks!!!!

posted by a22shady (RIVERSIDE, NJ) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Aug 2009

13 out of 25 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

I got the the game and was excited to be able to play Green lantern the idea of the game was very cool, However that is where it ended. The overall game play is lousy and the game is just rediculously repetitive and boring. The weapons are cool as he does have a variety of them which you would expect but everything else is horrible. If I had known wouldn't even had rented the game. The MOvement "Camera" Sucks you can't even look around in order to see in another direction you have run that way to get the camera to move.

I tried this game for about an hour or so thinking it will get better. It didn't this is one game I am happy I rented If I bought it would have been the fastest trip back to the store.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

not bad

posted by baum_er (WATERTOWN, NY) Jun 16, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm no comic book fan so I'm not criticizing its accuracy towards the comic book. Over all not a bad game. Not hard especially if you play on two players, moderately entertaining. If you are a trophy hunter or are desperately wanting to get your first platinum trophy, this is your game. Got a platinum in four days. Play on its hardest difficulty and pay attention to your surroundings and you get the platinum in no more than two play throughs. Not a bad game. Not a game to buy. but a fun game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Another Tedious God of War Clone

posted by officeninj (GAINESVILLE, FL) Nov 3, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

You know a game is bad when its protagonist is complaining of tedium IN THE GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by riki1227 (MIAMI, FL) Aug 31, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

nice

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

No X Men Origins game but close enough.

posted by Shampos_86 (PORT SAINT JOE, FL) Jul 17, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Before I Green Lantern I wasn't expecting much out of it, I mainly ordered it cause I wanted the chance to play as the legendary Green Lantern Hal Jordan for once. Turns out this game was better than what I thought it be, the upgrades are cool, the fighting mechanics did not get old, and the story line was ok. A couple things they could have worked on were some of the glitches, the voice acting (not to rag on Ryan Reynolds, I think hes a great actor and funny too), and I wish they would have shown more of the other green lanterns like To Mar Rey, he wasnt even mentioned in the game. In all it was a pretty satisfying game to play and I hope they come out with a second one for the second movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This Game Rocks!!!!! Wicked Awsome!!!!!

posted by surrender316 (CAMERON, MO) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

8 out of 23 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

Let me say first off i have had no problems with this game compared to thor. that game could have used some inprovement but back to green lantern. This game blew my mind the graphics,gameplay and even the sound of the game is where it really shines. Being able to use all of his powers and upgrading was so much fun. It is a little bit harder as you progress trought the game. but it is so much fun! The combat system kinda felt like a mixture of castlevania: lords of shadow and god of war 3.
I would definatly recommend renting this game and maybe even purchasing it. So Peace Out and happy gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun to play

posted by timandjamiehall (KISSIMMEE, FL) Sep 22, 2014

Member since Apr 2011

Game was very fun to play, thought it took to long to acquire the personal lantern to replenish power but going through second run with my son he is 6 and loves the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible, Terrible, Aweful,

posted by jonny5isalive (FREDERICKSBURG, TX) Jun 26, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

Definitely not worth a rent, buy,
or even watch someone else play it,
this game is an exact carbon copy
of the awfulness that was THOR
and i would not even recommend
this game to a blind person.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

its ok............

posted by astrongic (FORT MYERS, FL) Feb 18, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

the game is fun the construts are cool. but the computer cheats like crazy, i was fighting the purple energy queen and i was about to defeat her and i get hit with a invisable flying projectile. i didnt see it coming. i was killed 4 times like that until i defeated her. its cool if ur a green lantern fan but not worth the purchase. im sending it back, didnt even finish it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great

posted by Toltecatl85 (BEAUMONT, CA) Oct 19, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

better then i thought...great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Play with a friend

posted by eggman4397 (RENSSELAER, NY) Sep 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

The two player cooperative mode is much better than the one player version. With the one player mode, you can get overwhelmed by the manhunters in spots and it is harder to divide your attention to complete missions. With two players, your partner can keep the manhunters at bay while you complete the mission priorities. I find this game's cooperative mode to be one of the better ones, as you don't fight over power-ups or anything like that, but truly compliment each other to make it much farther in the game.
The graphics are good, especially as you move between missions and the game play isn't just button mashing. Pay attention to the sequence hints to bring down the bigger manhunters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Cutscenes and Settings.

posted by jessericheson (BRADENTON, FL) Aug 30, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

While the game reflects some of the characteristics of the god of war saga style, the gameplay is continuously slowed down by the cutscenes, or in any instance the characters are talking, your slowed down and barely move. When playing in the the two-player mode, which is coupled into the campaign, the second players selections and progressive upgrades aren't saved. And when you starrt playing again the second player has to rely on the first players previous settings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Some evil escaped this game's sight

posted by Jaruski (PALM SPRINGS, CA) Aug 25, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

Sucks. Not just sucks, but super sucks. Really? Shoot the door "just so" to make it open? Because that's SO MUCH FUN. How on Oa can the game suck worse than the movie?!? Peeps keeps calling it a "GoW clone". I wish! This was a hackneyed, horrible nightmare, movie tie-in dreck worthy of a negative 3600 if that score were possible. How this got a 6.2 and Bloodstone got a 6.6 I'll never know, because .4 is a very small difference. Bloodstone was Awesome compared to this waste of time. Worst game I've played all year, HORRIBLE. DO NOT WANT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hmm

posted by BloodyHeck (HOLCOMB, KS) Aug 23, 2012

Member since Oct 2008

I do not understand why this game has bad reviews it is great; especially for Green Lantern fans. Wether if you read the comics or just watch the movie or cartoons this is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

God Of Lanterns!

posted by Gamejunki2 (SALEM, VA) Jul 31, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

Lantern War God? God Of Lantern War? God O'Lantern?

Any one of those names is basically what the game is about. The entire plot of the story is based after the movie and set mainly in space...something the movie failed to do. Making a great Green Lantern game would be combining the character with Scribblenauts where you can create your own constructs but sadly that's not the case here. Constructs consist of different variations of the same base weapons through incredibly obvious linear stages and minimal polish on stage design, making it the easiest platinum trophy to achieve EVER. Control schemes are slightly difficult when choosing different "Special" constructs while engaged in battle and makes you wish they had a voice command system installed to help you through. Voice acting from Ryan Reynolds is believable yet the other characters suffer greatly with the exception of kilowog.

If you're a D.C. comics fan these are easy things to get over but in terms of gameplay overall then it's all just mediocre and a C Grade effort.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Average Game. Easy Platinum Tropy

posted by encarnated7991 (FAIRFIELD, CA) Jul 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

It's a pretty average game and it's a complete clone of the God of War series. If you love the God of War series than you will take a liking to this game. The game is about 10 missions long and each is mission takes 30-50 minutes to complete. It's worth a rent if your a fan of the Green Lantern, God of War, and if you want some easy trophies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lame and to easy

posted by Tonynelton (BLACK RIVER FALLS, WI) Jul 22, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Not creative enough

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

decent

posted by wolf98 (BOWLING GREEN, KY) Jun 12, 2012

Member since May 2012

it was an ok game but it was not half as good as it could have been.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Look up angryjoe show on the web...

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) May 30, 2012

Member since May 2010

The Angry Joe show is well known around the web... Someone should tell him about services like Gamefly!
he did a reveiw on this game which is fairly spot on...
In any event, what can we say about green lantern?
how about boring repetition! Like most cheap movie knock offs green lantern features insane difficulty jumps even at the lowest difficulty setting, and it gets boring eventually... After your 300th enemy of the exact same palatte swiped bad guy saying the exact same phrase you eventually get tired of it... I have a developed tolerance to boring games, yet even I got tired of it after a while... Movie license games almost never do well because they often have a limited budget, and a limited time on the production cycle...
This game was boring enough that Angryjoe made himself into a "RED" lantern... Yes, it is THAT BAD... So either try before you buy, or watch the Angryjoe show for the video review of this game.... The choice is yours! Then again you could do both...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rent don't buy

posted by Astronskas (AUBURNDALE, FL) Apr 22, 2012

Member since Sep 2008

This game was less than I expected. I was able to beat it on a weekend in about 8 hours. The game isn't anything new and can be frustrating at times when you get pinned in a corner and cannot defend yourself. The camera angles in some battles are horrible and I found the controls to be a challenge in the middle of battles. If you are a Green Lantern fan rent the game, if not try something better like God of War.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse