Rent Green Lantern: Rise of the Manhunters for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Green Lantern: Rise of the Manhunters

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, 3DS, PS3, DS
GF Rating
6.3

1902 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Not a BAD movie tie-in

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Jun 9, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

40 out of 40 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

But what are we to expect when a comic book hero is the star of the latest summer movie? The game tie-in is inevitable, and 8 times out of 10, the game is really bad. Green Lantern is not that bad. It's not great either.

The graphics are actually pretty good. You spend most of the game in 3rd person perspective, and are a good distance back from Hal Jordan, the main character, of course. As the story progresses, you do get cut scenes with close ups, and the graphics hold up to close scrutiny. There is some cinematic "wow" factor here at times.

Voice acting is good, music is good, and effects are well done.

Here's the problem though: the game really plays on rails. Badly. You fight baddies in one sequence and them move right on the the next wave. Tiny cut scenes interrupt to further the story, but then you are right back on rails again. You can't fly unless they have set aside a special level that is a flying level. Otherwise, you only fly when you've cleared a few waves and it's time to move to another area. A small green lantern symbol will appear on the ground. Stand on it and press A, and you get to briefly fly to the next zone. What's a Green Lantern that can't fly? I find it a very strange design choice.

Best bits: leveling up earns you points to spend on new skills and shapes to create (constructs) with your ring. They start off simple enough with swords and spinning blades, hammers and the like. Eventually, you will unlock glowing gun turrets and much more complex and powerful weapons. This to me is the reason to play the game through the slogging waves of baddies. Fans of comic book superheroes will enjoy seeing all the new powers in action, and it makes you want to keep playing to unlock.

Comic fans have entered a golden age where their favorites hero gets a decent movie made and is given a little respect for a change. Keep your fingers crossed that the movie tie-in will be minimally as good as Green Lantern. Or hopefully, better...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game doesnt Work

posted by bep_menke (COPPERAS COVE, TX) Jan 5, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Got this game and it is so scratched up that my xbox wont even read it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by nonaym13 (HAMILTON, OH) Oct 10, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Glitchy, no "restart from checkpoint" option, stupid, make no sense story line.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Go green and bear it.

posted by joseswift1 (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

As you may know movie based game usually are not up to gameplay standards. But surprisingly Green lantern on Xbox 360 is pretty good. The controlls are fine. The gameplay mechanics are smooth and responsive. My friend new to Xbox also likes the game. As a fanatic of FPS gonre I liked the change. It played fairly well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An ok game

posted by Gadjira (NEWCOMERSTOWN, OH) Jul 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Being a huge fan of the Green Lantern series for many years, I looked forward to this game. Sadly in the end it was just another movie tie-in game that lets you down. The graphics were surprisingly good, as was the voice acting and and the fighting style for Hal was not bad either. However the game was stuck way to heavily on rails. Almost the entire game consists of fighting a group of enemies, then moving on to the next island of enemies. There was no real flow to the fighting. Each group is isolated on it's own island. Only having 10 levels to level up your Hal isn't that great and having the 2nd player be restricted to only what Hal knows just seemed like a serious waste of Player 2. My daughter and I finished the game in just a few hours then went back and tried it on the hardest difficulty and there was absolutely no difference. However after saying all that, if I found this game in a bargain bin for cheap, I would really consider picking it up. While it wasn't the best game I ever played, it should be considered a nice bargain bin gem eventually.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The Green Lantern

posted by BrotherSterben (PEARL, MS) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am enjoying the game. It has some nice sceens and the GL of sector 2814 is pretty true to the comicbook. The manhunters and other GL Corps members are fun to watch. I gave the game a 7 for contant and play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better than expected, but short

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Jun 18, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Unlike the $300mil spent on the movie (Really Fox? You took that much of a risk on a guy best known for playing Van Wilder?), the video game you could tell was working with a tighter budget. Nothing is great, replay value is practically zero, but I did enjoy the SP action/adventure campaign even though I breezed through it in 6 hours.

The 1st thing you’ll notice is the attention to detail that went into showcasing Ryan Reynolds perfectly formed buttox. The 2nd thing is that the game is really just 1 short campaign, but the drop-in/out feature for OFFLINE co-op was nice. The 2nd player gets to be the pink faced guy, so fortunately you both can wear green spandex. Player 2 gets everything the main player 1 has, so the bonus of having another unique guy to play with is VOID. That was lame.

The levels are extremely linear and simple but you do have over a dozen cool unique moves with your Green ring where it creates things like giant gatling guns, lasers, missiles, a huge Mech, baseball bat, giant mines, giant hammers, etc. Those can be upgraded, and set to whatever buttons you want for added button mashing.

A is jump, X is light attack where you swing a giant green sword, Y is heavy and swings a large green hammer/giant fists that can launch foes in the air for added air combos. B shoots a green extended arm to grab an enemy to pull towards you. The idea is like God of War and a ton others where you have a combo meter and as you get better combos your skills advance, opening new combos, and so on. Magic has a meter which you collect glowing orbs and dealing damage to build it back up. You also have a bar for a special ability by pressing LB and RB which gives you super duper strength and unlimited magic abilities (seen in every games like this). Mix them together to get sweet 100+ hit combos.

Great for a weekend rental or to score easy achievement points, but this is one and done and a little bit of fun.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lantern

posted by Strider22 (MONTROSE, WV) Jun 19, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The game is really good other than the repetitiveness of the levels. It's basically just a bunch of button mashing so if your not in to that then not the greatest game. The bosses are challenging and make their sequences hard because they don't like to die. They are a little drawn out when you fight them resulting in a lot of cheap deaths. Other than that the game has a lot of cool upgrades and easy achievement points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this is about the worst game i have ever played

posted by scrapy2011 (Freedom, IN) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i just got this game a few days ago and i already hate it. the graphics are good, and the storyline is good too, but the game play sucks. i mean what other game have u played where u get surrounded by enemies and theres nothing u can do but let them just keep hitting u? theres no way out, i mean i cant do anything cuz as soon as they start hitting they dont stop till im dead, and i cant do anything but watch cuz the game wont let me. ive played alot of video games but this has to be about the worst game ive played yet. in 2 days ive been the maddest i have ever been in my whole life. i mean when u buy a game and u get absolutely no enjoyment out of playing it then thats pretty bad, just saying!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Game

posted by UndeadYankee (LAKE BUTLER, FL) Jul 27, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is fun I am a Green Lantern fan and I've always wanted to play as one so this is why I liked it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Awesome, Good Game

posted by Capdain (SAN JOSE, CA) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was really awesome and I was really impressed with it. Although it was not a perfect or what I would call a “great” game like Infamous 2, it was a fun game to play, particular with a child. It was non-stop action and fun achievements to get. The story also was really, really fun for comic book geeks, and lovers of the movies alike. All the way through the game, we were impressed with the game play, fun action, and the story. It was a really dynamic title, that while I rented it, played it three times, I am considering buying once the price goes down. We played through it a three times now, and going back to get all of our achievements, it is still fun to beat on the enemies. I would really recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!

posted by Gamer_girly (WHEAT RIDGE, CO) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

How could controlling Ryan Reynolds in a Green Lantern suit not be fun?? Love, love, love this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

surprisingly good movie game!

posted by aleksi (HIDDEN VALLEY LAKE, CA) May 28, 2014

Member since Apr 2010

when i first say the promo's for this game, my initial reaction was 'oh no, not another one." But when i played it, boy was i wrong! now, am i saying that it's a perfect game? not at all. it's got a few issues.

for instance. the sheer number enemies in each scene is just ridiculous! it feels like u can barely walk five feet with out a million more coming at u again and again. rinse and repeat. what i DO like about the types of enemies though is that there the same TYPE of enemy but they are different variations. See, they are sticking to the story line of being robots, but the creators of the game made sure each group of robots that u fight either are a completely different type of robot altogether, OR just a giant version of what u just fought. plus, i like the creators over explain to you why that is, either through the cut scenes themselves, or on some sort of button prompt as to how to kill them so u know that you are dealing with something different altogether.

Another no big deal but still present enough to be annoying problem the game has is the controls. they feel to loose. no big if you are just walking, but is a real pain to deal when you are fighting enemies (which is most of the time), or flying. I think either the creators of this game simply did not notice this, or simply did not have time to fix it before their deadline.

On a lighter note though, i will say that there was a lot of great visuals. Nothing as good as a game like ASSASSINS CREED or CALL OF DUTY obviously, but still commendable (especially for a movie tie-in game. It seemed to me while i was playing the game that the creators tried their best to nail that down in the short time that they had. the blues and purples mixed in with the oranges and reds and so on.

The voices were good as well. They were neither overly dramatic or to silly. Basically, the voice acting matched the story line.

I gave this game an 8. definitely worth AT LEAST a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Trash

posted by royrob210 (JACKSON, OH) Jul 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Began ok then the boss fights aren't harder the controls get less responsive and of course the boss merely looks at you and you take damage. Tougher opponents are fine making the controls sloppier and random damage are not acceptable. The camera doesn't pan with character, sloppy mechanics, etc the list goes on and on. A game that had potential but fails due to poor programming. Pass this one up, it was nothing but an exercise in frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fun

posted by jakstone (KATY, TX) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

pretty fun but short...
beat it in three days. Kind of an arcade type game, so if you like those this is good for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

hot game

posted by starks105 (DETROIT, MI) May 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

this was a really good game all in all wished was just a lil longer nice graphics and the weapons omg

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good to go

posted by Acdburn23 (GLENOLDEN, PA) May 13, 2012

Member since May 2012

Easy game if your into Maxing out your achievement Points like i am...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not what I expected

posted by ProdigalWarrior (SLEMP, KY) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Was not too thrilled with this game. Felt as if there where just too many restrictions during game play. Would not recomend buying the game but might be a good play if you have no other games.... Give it 3 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Why can't they make good Movie games?

posted by crazyhorse (SAN GERONIMO, CA) Feb 21, 2012

Member since May 2006

I thought after reading a few reviews this would at least be a fun title with the use of the power ring and all. The problem came when I started playing, it was completely boring. I only played most of the homeworld fighting and found myself caring less and less as I went through it. If the rest of the game was the same, fight thru enemies get to jump off point and hit A then I'm glad I quit. It didn't even have good voiceovers from Ryan Reynolds which is a shame since he can be funny. If you like the same thing over and over play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

loved it

posted by uzumaki_naruto (LONG BEACH, CA) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

great spin off from the movie - fun achievements - give it a try

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring....

posted by cord339 (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 6, 2012

Member since May 2010

Played about an hour's worth. Came back to it once, but I couldn't no more. It got really dull. I got so bored I just stopped playing it, forever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Bad, Not Great

posted by ranmcc (WALDORF, MD) Jan 23, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Not every game can be like Batman. This game is very linear. There's some cool power ups.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great fun for any age

posted by semtexonur6 (MOUNTAIN VIEW, AR) Jan 21, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

i just bought this game and i spent the better half of my afternoon playing through it. its simple easy to pick up and play. its fun for any age group and its really easy to 1000 point his game i have 18 more achievemets to go and theyre pretty easy to get all of em.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Another Poorly Thought out game

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Jan 13, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

Why are there so many games made that unless you have superhumaan faster then light reflexes you can't defeat the Insanely difficult Bosses? Wait I know it is because the programmers have never played the games without all the cheats that the player will never have turned on so they have no clue that the Games they are making are impossible to play. no wonder i havent bought a game made in the last 5 years. Programmers get lazy and design games no one but they can play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Green lantern

posted by fallingangel151 (Jamaica, NY) Jan 3, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

i loved the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse