Rent Green Day: Rock Band for PS3
view large frontback

Green Day: Rock Band

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.5

371 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

A must for Green Day fans!

posted by Lymiegirl (TAMAQUA, PA) Jun 17, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was so much fun! For me, I just turned 30 and it was a walk down memory lane. They have been a favorite of mine from back in their old days- before Dookie. So that was a slight disappointment for me- was so far it appears you can only get songs from Dookie and above. The only other disappointment is they spent so much time getting them to look like the band members but kinda sucked at the mouth movements when they sing- kinda creepy puppet looking-lol. Otherwise I spent hours playing- I just couldn't stop! I love it and couldn't be happier with it! My only regret was buying it and not just renting here and getting the import code to load it onto my hard drive and not wasting 60 bucks! But it was well worth it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Green Day rock band: a review

posted by mythkid (SANTA MARIA, CA) Jun 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game as a graduation gift, I was happy I got it because I'm a fan of the rock band games and green day is my favorite band.

Pros:
Great graphics, each character is nice and realistic
Drum charts, they are fun and challenging
Set list, they chose some good songs

Cons:
The guitar tracks aren't all that fun and are repetitive
Set list, They needed more from insomniac, nimrod, and warning, (and possibly shenanigans)
The unlockable content they say is "never before seen", I unlocked a photo, and I saw it before.
Lack of venues, there could have been some during the nimrod or warning era (or the pop disaster tour)

Overall, Green Day Rock band is a very fun game and I would recommend it to any green day fan, or any rock band fan.

So rent it, buy it, borrow, just play it because it's fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

green day rock band

posted by mikuel (HAGERSTOWN, MD) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a MUST for any Green Day fan. 47 of the best songs fun to play, fun to sing, tons of extras.
So easy to get Trophies and very rewarding, rent the game pay 10 dollars get a code to export all 47 songs as playable songs in Rock Band 1, 2, and this holiday will work with Rock Band 3 ( by the way Rock Band 3 will change the history of the music Genre FOREVER ) so support MTV Harmonix and rent this game if you like it BUY it. If you BUY it BUY it NEW cause included is 6 additional Green Day songs plus the export code.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst of the RockBand Franchise

posted by Cheezeit (COLLEGE STATION, TX) Apr 29, 2012

Member since Oct 2008

This was by far the worst Rock Band game. I couldn't stand the overdrive loudness. Really obnoxious. Go from quiet nice sounding music to overly loud, then back to quiet when the over drive was done. I think that alone was the most annoying this about this game I hated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Possibly the best one-band RB game

posted by Darkfang114 (JONESBORO, AR) Sep 19, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

So I just finished this and boy did I have some fun.. the song list is amazing. I was a big GD fan about 8 years ago but forgot about them and moved on. This game reminded me of how great they were in the 90's. Surprisingly I had the most fun singing in this game. The Dookie songs were awesome and every one of them was fun! I spent 4 days finishing the game and cleaning up all the trophies, and that was a 4 days well spent, although 99.99999% of people will not platinum this. You must be one the best RB drummers in the world to get the kick drum trophy in Brain Stew which will probably take awhile.. then there is the Greatest Hits trophy. You must literally be a god at drumming or you won't even come close. Other than that, great graphics as always with RB games, fun gameplay, and great songs. YOU MUST RENT!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Gets OLD!!!

posted by djthaiboxe (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Sep 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Its still rock band at heart, but the fact that you are limited to green day is the only drawback...you literally have to love this band or your WILL grow tired of this game very fast.

After playing this game, i've realized that i dont like green day anymore.

I will still give this game a 7 of ten just because its still rockband at heart, but i'd have to say that the beatles edition was better put together

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

no brainer

posted by RFitzmor (RIVERSIDE, RI) Sep 11, 2010

Member since Jul 2006

If you are a Green Day fan this is a great game, otherwise steer clear. I have been a GD fan since Dookie, so playing through all these songs was a blast. Glad I rented instead of buying, now that I am finished with the game its doubtful I would want to play it again. I think its the same for me with all the music games.

The albums Dookie, American Idiot, and 21st Century Breakdown are on here with a few songs from their other records sprinkled in. Not as artfully done as the Beatles game there are no special visualizations of the songs and minimal outfits. Its like a snapshot of three concerts given during the tours for the three complete albums.

Again if your a fan, it gives you a new appreciation for their songs making you fell like part of the band. The sound quality is fantastic and if you have a good sound system your going to be really happy with the experience. I am giving it a 10 because the songs are great and in my opinion that is all that matters for a music game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

WTH happened to Green Day??!!??

posted by IAmTrip (THE DALLES, OR) Aug 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

I am an avid gamer and a huge fan of music games. The folks at Harmonix are genius' for introducing the drums and mic into the guitar dominated genre with the release of the first Rock Band game. I haven't been that interested in most of their DLC add ons, (Lady Gaga? Really? We've sunk that low? But I digress) and some of the newer titles are moderately esoteric, but they are genius' none-the-less.

My main question is, as earlier stated, WHAT THE F HAPPENED TO GREEN DAY? You start off playing the stuff everyone was interested in. Rocking out to the entire Dookie album. Then as you progress through the years to the Warning, Nimord, Insomniac stages of the band's life you'll notice a sharp, and frankly unexpected, turn. The punks who were "off the wagon and hitchin' a ride" and "telling you to f off and die" while still writing music you couldn't help but get in to, went soft rock and, dare i say, a little Pop. I noticed this disturbing trend around the begining of American Idiot.

Within a few tracks you go from strumming like crazy hoping to keep up, to standing around playing the same double note for four minutes. Most having 0 difficuly rating. Even if you are a hardcore fan of the new stuff, which means you didn't start listening to Green Day when they were still Green Day, you will get bored very quickly as an easy game usually isn't a fun game. A fun game is one that gets harder as you go. You'll notice none of Bullet in a Bible is on there, and they want you to pay for all of 21st Century Breakdown. Good luck with that.

If it weren't for the fact that the whole Dookie album, Hitchin' a Ride, Geek Stink Breath, Brain Stew/Jaded, and other INCREDIBLE songs are included I'd say don't waste your time. But Harmonix's trademark playability are clearly present making it accesible to veterans and new players alike.

If you think I am being too critical, Last Night on Earth. That's all I have to say. Last Night on Earth. Seriously, guys what happened?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »