Rent Green Day: Rock Band for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Green Day: Rock Band

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Wii
GF Rating
6.9

904 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Well made game for Green Day fans

posted by yworob (SIGNAL HILL, CA) Jun 9, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I hope you don't like guitar solos. I like a lot of Green Day's music but their songs don't have a lot of variety. I especially like playing music games for the drums and I've always hated playing punk songs because they are just too fast and repetitive. They just aren't much fun to play unless you are a natural drummer because I felt wiped out after trying to play at least half of their songs on expert. Some I even had trouble with on hard difficulty which is credit to how good a drummer he is but to me I just didn't enjoy playing this game as much as most other RB and GH games. I also don't think the setup of the Rockband drumset works too well with how fast you have to play. I really enjoyed singing and the bass but the guitar was almost nothing but nonstop chords with almost no solos or fills. I give this game an 8 for being well made, you just really have to like Green Day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Once again, nice job Harmonix!

posted by shadow655 (COLCHESTER, VT) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Green Day Rock Band offers the favorite party game with plenty of Green Day songs.

The career follows the gigs and uprising of the band, and the gigs look realistic.

On the Rock Band experience, most songs are easy for guitar and bass (compared to RB2) Drums have somewhat difficult songs, but not as hard as RB2. Vocals incorperate the harmonies that were first introduced in The Beatles Rock Band. The harmonies work well and can add another fun experience to the game. The main complaint I have with this game is that it doesn't include all of the Green Day songs. It only contains a couple of albums including American Idiot. This also happened with The Beatles Rock Band where there weren't enough songs on the disc.

One cool thing is that the songs can be transported to RB1 or 2 for free if you pre-ordered it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

St. Jimmy's comin' down across the alleyway

posted by Flint879 (ALTOONA, PA) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

First off, lets get the whole "this game is for fans of Green Day" thing outta the way. That's the whole premise of band specific games. People just don't understand that thats what these games are made for, fans of the band. Enough of that stuff, we get the idea.

Graphics are what you would expect out of a RB game, nothing new. The animations of the band on-stage combines a few of their signature moves, but most often get repeated and mixed with generic RB movements on-stage.

The career mode is a little on the disappointing side. With only 3 venues in the entire career, 3-4 sets to play composed of about 4-5 songs in each set. So in total there are only 15-20 songs in each venue roughly. Each venue is split up by 3 Green Day albums. The first venue is the album Dookie, the second is American Idiot, the third is 21st Century Breakdown (which is possibly the worst venue). The songs aren't just sets of songs from the particular album. Most of them are, but they throw in some other songs from other albums to switch it up. The majority of songs are from the album specific venue, but there are a couple of songs that are thrown in for switching up.

Finally, we get to playing the songs. This is where the game falls flat. Unless you are a HUGE fan of playing power chords and repeating riffs, then this is just for you. Some songs are fun, but most of the songs are boring because of the amount of chords. You should expect that from a band like Green Day though. Not a very subtle choice for a band specific game. The songs, though exciting, are a drag to play. This is the biggest problem with the game. Playing as a band is very fun, but not for very long because once you learn the rhythms, theres nothing to these songs. Even the plastic guitar weilding veterans will have no problem 5-starring every song first try. I recommend this because of the fun that could be had as a band, but 1-player is exciting at first, but drags for the most part.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really fun for drummers

posted by Cntrolrfan (LORAIN, OH) Jun 20, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I used to be a guitar person and still am sometimes but I prefer playing the drums now. I only played this game through one venue because it was my friends game and he brang it over I am a huge fan of gh and rb games. Anyways I am not a huge fan of them but i enjoy their music and this game has some good ones in it. The only thing was sometimes, me and my friend would look at each other during the intro to the next song and ask "did we just play this song?" A lot of their songs seemed to sound the same, at least for certain parts of the song. It could get very boring very fast...except on drums. :) I am on expert and expert+ drummer and I was having a hard time on some of these tracks. A few of them have drum solos, which are harder than almost anything I have ever seen from Rb2 and my DLC. :oSo while the guitar maybe boring and the same, the drums are fast and drummers will have a blast trying to hit the tricky solos and fills.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game will make your girl wanna play

posted by KoStar (SPRING HILL, FL) Jun 9, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I've been a fan of the guitar hero/rockband games, but you would never catch my wife ever playing one of these games let alone any of my 360 games, it would be once in a blue moon she would play any games, she's more of an old school Super Mario Bros/Burgertime gamers. But when she heard Green Day (her favorite band) was gonna be on a platform she mentioned she'd like to try it. So we just got it and now I'm shocked to be waiting for a turn : )

It's a fun game, lots of levels of difficultly for any level of gamer, it works for me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ok at best

posted by antcam307 (SWEDESBORO, NJ) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

no need for Green Day to have a game
their not the Beatles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Green Day Rock Band

posted by sweetgurl (MCKEE, KY) Jun 13, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 16 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

Green Day Rock Band Is Just Like The Other Rock Bands It`s Just Green Day And Only Green Day Don`t Get Me Wrong They Are A Great Band It`s Just How Much Do You Enjoy Playing The Same Songs Over And Over. You Play Till The End Of The Game Expecting To Get Something Good You Get A Message Telling You To Buy 8 More Songs From The Xbox Marketplace. It Is Total Nonsence. 880 Microsoft Points To Get 8 Songs.I Gave The Game A Low Rating Due To the Fact There Is Nothing Different Than The Regular Rock Band Just Green Day & Thats It.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Rockband Yet

posted by Kaldorain (LEBANON, MO) Dec 20, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Now, I'm not some fan boy (or at least I wasn't before I played GDRB), but this game made me one. Being in a REAL band, and having played a lot of the Rockband songs on a REAL drumset and a REAL band, I've kind of grown a hatred towards Guitar Hero and some of the 'more fun/fake' songs on Rockband. If you're one for difficulty, then this game has little to offer as long as you're great with rhythms and patterns. Which is what you should expect given this a Pop Punk game, which is about simple chords and catchy rhythms. Drumming wise, again, if the Rockband drum setup was more like an actual drumset, a lot of the songs would be more fun and easier. Guitar wise, this game made me pick up guitar in real life, part of the punk charm 'Here's three chords, go form a band.' Bass wise this song has some the most fun and interesting bass lines ever written. Mike Dirnt and Tre are really what make GD so great, while Billie has some excellent harmonies and vocals. Idk what it is about the game, but I've found myself actually able to sing on Expert and be able to get 100% without having to alter my voice, tone, or octave. This game now is one of the most played in my collection, as all my friends love the game now as well (all who weren't Green Day fans and now are as well). My only complaint is that it only really has the mainstream albums, and now that I own ever album they've done, I really like the lesser popular ones like Warning!, Kerplunk!, and even 39/Smooth. While they did put the two major hits from Warning! on the CD, I'd love to be able to play Waiting or Misery but I digress. Other downside to the game is for some reason there are songs missing but available as DLC from 21st Cen Breakdown. I really don't know why, but they're actually the best songs on the album. I highly recommend this game, as this is what made me into the massive punk fan that I am today. It's a blast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Entertaining

posted by Qonscience (WINCHESTER, VA) Feb 17, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

I have played every single RockBand and Guitar Hero game there is that is available for the Xbox 360. Not one of them was too bad. This was a pretty easy game to beat. I didnt get a chance to play drums or sing or any of that because I feel like the core part of this game is the guitar. I have seen on other reviews that this game is repetitive, which it is. But that doesnt keep it from being a good game. I have never even listened to Green Day until this I first started playing this game. I found myself constantly saying "wow I didnt know they played this song" on alot of the songs from the setlist. The songs were pretty easy though. I finished the game in 2 days and got gold stars on more than half of the songs on expert. So not the most challenging RockBand. But if you are a fan of Green Day or Rock Band. Then this game is for you. For all other gamers reading this, I dont think it would hurt to try this one unless you dont have a guitar controller! So if you are looking for a new title to try out, this one should be in your Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fantastic for What it is.

posted by ANIM8RB3N50 (SAN JOSE, CA) Jul 30, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

If you like Green Day, and if you like rock band, chances are you are gonna really like this game. The set is is Green Day's biggest albums: Dookie, American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown (with a couple others from nimrod and warning).
As for the actually gameplay, if you've played any rock band, there is almost no change in game mechanics. Like its predecessor, The Beatles Rock Band, it include harmonies for vocalists. Other than that, its the same rock band game we all know and love. It just happens to be all green day songs.
The only things I didn't really like about this game is how short it is. It only takes a few hours to beat all the songs in one sitting. Also There's not enough songs from their other albums. This is not a big issue however. If you're playing in a group. Same thing for single player but come on who really plays solo very often on rock band.
To sum things up, any Green Day fan should at least give this game a try. Fantastic for what it is and best played in a group.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

greenday rock band

posted by bobbert12 (RALEIGH, NC) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I wish u guys who cr4eate dthe game would like make it to were u can use the controllers instead of the guitar or drums!like guitar hero

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game WILL change your mind

posted by Metallicax (SHAMOKIN, PA) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

i wasnt the biggest green day fan for a while untill i heard the new album then i caught on a little and thought i would rent the game to get some easy gamerscore and i was wrong... the game is a good challenge for gamerscore which is good because i like a challenge and the game itself may have no replay value but if u have a kickin stereo and a some skill this game will be your hero. it has all of the well known songs by green day but the downfall of that is that not all the songs in the game, are really ones i know so sometimes its hard for me to keep interest but i did and i unlocked all the good songs and started loving the game. so all in all i give a nine simply for the fact that it was a good games yes very much so but im not their biggest fan and i don't know many of the songs on the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It was fun but when it got to the middle

posted by AliBear2013 (BELLE FOURCHE, SD) Jun 5, 2011

Member since May 2011

This game was fun didn't play it alot but it was fun a little I didn't play it but twice other then that I let my fiance play it since he likes green day :) other then that a good game very different.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Short but good.

posted by kyotoro (HILLSBORO, OR) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This is a pretty good game for people who are fans of Green Day. My only complaint is that it's pretty short and only took me roughly five hours to play it through without playing the challenges. Other than that it's a pretty good game :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun for Green Day fans...

posted by Jsteed101 (LARGO, FL) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

But generally more of the same for everyone else.

If you've played a Rock Band game, you know how it works and whether that play style appeals to you. What is different in this game is the songs. If you like Green Day songs and/or know them by heart, it's hard not to find yourself getting really sucked into the music.

The interesting addition to this Rock Band title is the Rewards system where you get photos and videos of Green Day for scoring a 3-5 stars on a song or a certain number of stars in a challenge (a pre-arranged setlist of songs). The photos are interesting, but nothing special. The videos are also hit or miss, with some excellent (and some not so excellent) live performances and a few interviews.

If you like Green Day and Rock Band, this is a no brainer for a rental. If you don't, then take a pass; this game will not change anyone's minds on either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NiceOne

posted by sportsgame (NORTHGLENN, CO) Dec 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

Good game, good music, good everything

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Greenday

posted by gameviewer (WINTER GARDEN, FL) Oct 16, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

Greenday is awesome.
If you love them then this is the game for you.
It is like the rest of the rock bands so if you liked them the this would be a good rental.
Thanks for reading

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

WARNING TO ALL ABOUT 10$ TRANSFER TO ROCK BAND 2

posted by neverenuff (PAHOA, HI) Aug 30, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I rented this game thinking I could download the songs to rock band 2 for ten bucks only to find out that you cant unless you buy it new and have a one time code from the manual.
I only wanted the songs from Dookie anyways because all their new albums suck.
Just so the rest of you know YOU CANT RENT THIS AND TRANFER THE SONGS TO ROCK BAND 2 YOU HAVE TO BUY IT AND HAVE A CODE FROM THE MANUAL.
Thats why it gets a weak score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

There are better Rock Band games out there.

posted by Celor997 (FREDERICK, MD) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

I'm gonna say that I love all of Harmonix's work. I wasn't a fan of The Beatles before The Beatles: Rock Band, and I've discovered so many thousands of songs thanks to their music store and the former two Rock Band titles.

I'm not going to say this is a bad game.. it's really just more of the same. Yes, they picked a sellout band for this title, but even so, I don't hold that against them.

Is the game fun to play? Yes.
Is it a Rock Band game? Undoubtedly.

I really do have a problem though.. WHERE is our Iron Maiden Rock Band?! GIVE US METAL! I'm sick of pop garbage! Maiden's been around for over 40 bleedin' years! GIVE EM SOME PROPS!!!!!

..-Ahem- .. Anyway.

It's a Rock Band game for people who are fans of Green Day. So, if you like bubblegum music and LOVE Rock Band, this game is for you.

(And, I'm going to say that I am not a fan of Green Day. After playing this.... I won't deny that some of their music is bearable. However, I'm still not a fan. Yet, you'll notice--I did not rate it lower than 6. Why? Because it's still FUN.)

Bottom line, even if you don't like Green Day, you will probably enjoy the game. And it's at least something to sate you until RB3 comes out... (Hopefully with 500% less pop than Guitar Hero 5.)

So, once again:

PROS:
IT'S ROCK BANNNDDDDDDD!

Cons:
Green Day

Bottom line:
Still fun.

Heck, they could make Rock Band: Nickelback or, even, Rock Band: Iron Butterfly, and it'd STILL be a good game!

Harmonix:
Geniuses.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

On My Own Here We Go

posted by Truthhurts (MUSKEGON, MI) Aug 6, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

When I first heard that Harmonix was making a Green Day Rock Band, I was amped. It was almost like a dream come true. The game has a lot of things to offer. Here are some of them:

Pros: Obviously, like it's predecesor The Beatles: Rock Band, the game focuses all around that one band: Green Day. The story mode was great. All the photos and videos were awesome, and left you wanting more.

The song selection is amazing. 47 of Green Day's most successful songs of all time. Single player mode is fairly well, but it's the full band mode that's awesome. Having six people rocking out to these epic songs, like Homecoming, is just and awesome experience.

Cons: Now here's where the game falls flat. Story mode is too easy to beat. Also, some songs are only playable for certain intruments. So if you only have a drum kit, You can't play 2 of the songs on the game, which jips you out of up to 4-6 pictures. Also, I wish that Harmonix could have put a back story to the photos you unlock, like in B:RB. It's no fun when you just get a photo. It's quite boring.

There are about 4 more songs that I wish could've been on the game, mainly songs from their Warning album. I also think it would've worked out better if they mixed Song of the Century and 21st Century Breakdown together. Having a song with just vocals, especially seeing as though it has no Harmonies, is very dull and no one will want to play it. Solo Play gets boring after a while.

Overall: This game is a must rent for all players interested in the Rock Band series. Fans of Green Day, this is a must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Its Bad

posted by Delby5 (HAVERTOWN, PA) Jul 24, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Its sad to see such a good band be punished not by Harmonix but by themselves. Greenday Lost alot of love from me becase of the last 2-3 albums they put out. The game starts from the beginning of their career to their latest album. Now Ive been playing rb and gh since they came out and this is the worst one of them all. The guitar is annoying to play and the songs from the second set to the third are really bad except for the exception of a few. Almost all of these songs are from their last 2 albums and thats a problem considering that they have much better songs on their first couple of albums. Idk maybe im just not into new greenday stuff but its sad to say that when the bass is more fun to play then the guitar its a problem. The guitar just felt like a chore. And this is where my its not harmonix its gd argment comes in. Since theres only one guitarist in greenday it makes the you play boring because theres barley any solos, also when your playing rthym its tedius and boring. Why is hard to explain. You have to constintly stum 3 times in a row when playing and its done in just about every single song. So that means when your playing guitar its hard to like it when your basically playing the same song with a diferent sound. A co-worker of mine said oh its just because their simple. So are the foo fighters but that doesnt mean every song I play by them doesnt have the same chords looping over and over. Idk, i can only recomend this to people who absoltly love everything by greenday anything else and you'll be dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

poor rating

posted by bass696 (CORONA, CA) Jul 12, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

this game sux worth the money...short lived game....very poor rate....green day is G

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

rock band green day

posted by deadgamer3 (UNION BRIDGE, MD) Jun 29, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

rock band green day is an ok game but not enough old school green day not a big fan of there new music and good riddens time of my life song is pretty hard to play on expert i think its the hardest song to play on the game but all in all its not bad if u like new green day u will this but if u dont atleast dookie is on the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

THE GOOD AND BAD

posted by marine1141 (FERGUSON, NC) Jun 28, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

First of all if your a green day fan it's great to be able to play your fav green day songs. Also the 3 part vocals are great to use when you have friends or family who like to sing. The bad is there are not many downloadable songs besides the new album. A total of 47 songs is great but will prob get old eventually. But overall i would have to say it's worth buying if your a fan of greenday- GT DEV1L D0G 7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

NOT GOOD

posted by TH3HOFF (PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL) Jun 14, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

VERY EASY GAMEPLAY, not entertaining rewards or anything.. very very bad.. only get it if you are an extreme green day fan, otherwise its a complete waste of time and money

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse