Rent Grand Theft Auto: Vice City for PS2
view large frontback

Grand Theft Auto: Vice City

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox
GF Rating
8.7

2660 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simple put, the Greatest Game Ever Created!

posted by Bratallica (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Grand Theft Auto: Vice City is the best game i ever played. The story is probably the best of the three. The 80's atmosphere is great and the music is terrific. One of the best soundtracks created for a videogame. The gameplay is the most important aspect of any game, and Rockstar really nailed it with Vice City. Thank You Rockstar! I highly recommend this game to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

better than every other gta even san andreas

posted by reveiwer44 (WOBURN, MA) Jul 1, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game was awesome.period. end of story. thats it. this reviw is helpful you know it it has a great sound track. i used to own it but my mom threw it out because its violent and bloody thats the one down fall buts thats not even a down fall thats fun. it still has good graphics and its very old. the cheats are cool. if u have ever played a shoting, driving, free play, fun, awesome game not in the gta series you call me i want to know this is the son of all shoting games doom i obviosly the mother. o yeah the game is in third person

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Arguably the best

posted by SLAYER600 (NORRISTOWN, PA) Sep 23, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Just like I did with GTA 3 I will go in to perspectives with this game. One perspective if I played this in 2002 and one for present time. Choose to listen to what you want.

This game is a freeroaming driving/shooting game. You play tommy vercetti. A mafioso who is taking over vice city.

The graphics in 2002 are amazing. Especially the lighting and the style. Nowadays it does not look to good. But it still has that artistic style with it.

The sound now and in 2002 is still impressive. Great voice acting backed up with a great selection of music. Some of the best music in the series.

The controls back then would have been ignored but it is still a mighty frustrating game. Camera is not perfect and the targeting needs work. But a step up from GTA 3.

This game is very entertaining. Now it would be okay but for you people play games and dont take them seriously stay away. But for people who apprieciate the work that goes into games and apprieciate this form of art definitly get this game. Keep on gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cool

posted by Blockos (NEWPORT COAST, CA) Jul 14, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is sweet because basicly you're just free to do whatever you want. I think this is the best Grand Theft Auto yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great sequal to GTA III

posted by gamebuff (ANDOVER, MA) May 20, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best Grand Theft Auto games and a great addition to the series after the ground-breaking GTA III. Warning: This contains strong violence, language, sexual content, and drug. Basically a R-rated game that would make a great movie!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love it

posted by luna20 (DUDLEY, MA) Mar 4, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If not just for the FBI Rancher, always try to get my hands on the FBI vehicles in all the GTA games. But the Rancher is my favorite and the tank nothing better then driving a fabulous tank down a flaming road with cops flying at you in all directions. I love this game and keep coming back to it even after beating it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game

posted by hdjdjksjk (DOWNINGTOWN, PA) Jan 5, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is the best it is so fun I do not no why it is rated m i would rate it t. if you like gun games go any were you want.i highly recomend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GET YOUR OWN STORYLINE ROCKSTAR!!!!

posted by killer0199 (DENHAM SPRINGS, LA) Dec 15, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is one of my favorites by far better game than GTA3 or GTASA but still to what point does rockstar think they can take a movie and turn it into something else I'm really disapointed for what rockstar did this game is a diffrent version of scarface and I dont like it much still the graphics are good and gameplay good to but if your a scarface fan then your not going to like this much as you hoped you would.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

vice

posted by crazy8 (MIDDLEBURG, FL) Aug 9, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The best game for the PS2 end of story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good

posted by ArmyRyan (SWANSEA, IL) Jul 25, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Like all GTA's this is another keeper. N this game GTA is just introducing the motorcycles and the character actually talks. The graphics could have been better, but not bad for an earlier game. The loading between islands can get on ur nerves especially when ur n a police chase and u plow into another car. The aim on the guns really suck, and there r sum hard missions, but the rest of the game makes up 4 it. my rating=8.1 GET IT
-ArmyRyan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GRAND THEFT AUTO

posted by TomClancy (CHURCH HILL, TN) Jul 3, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I thought that this game was amazing, I used to
own it but I was stupid and sold it (BIG MISTAKE).
One of the big perks about this game is that you can fly around in helicopters. Once I found that out I fell in love with the game. Also the vast amount of vehicles you can drive is cool.

I personally love shooting, driving and flying games and this game combines them all. The graphics are also stunning. This game is a must rent for all you game fly members. I recommend putting it at the top of your gameQ. I promise you will play this game so much your fingers will fall off. Trust me, I did and that's why I am typing this with my tounge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Easily a classic

posted by Ragnex (SILVER SPRING, MD) Jun 21, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

An early hit for it's genre, I still play this game just to run around and shoot people.

Pros:
Bikes are introduced.
New cool weapons.
Good old GTA action.
Good story.

Cons:
The missions are a little weak.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by devinS (GRESHAM, OR) Apr 18, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2003

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

With vice city, its been released about 3 or 4 years ago, its still good. If you look at it now, there is a bit more to do, than gta 3. I love the 80's soundtrack in the game, the graphics are decent, the gameplay isn't to complex at all. The thing is, you can get out of a car chase pretty quickly, and finish missions quickly. I really like the large selection of cast members voicing the game, the thing is, it seems like tommy vercetti doesent have much lines. And the cutscenes dont have anything interesting, or exciting, kind of like gta 3. Its just cool that vice city takes place in the 80's, the good times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A

posted by emptyeyes (VANCOUVER, WA) May 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I am not a fan of the 80's. The cars were bulky and ugly. The music sucked. But what I loved about this game over GTA3 and even GTA San Andreas was the businesses you could own. I loved how once you unlocked a business it would continually give you money. It made you feel like what you do matters and kept the replay value of this game much higher than GTA3, San Andreas, and even GTA4.

I also liked how as you got more hidden packages, more weapons and vehicles were unlocked. The Brown Thunder missions with the Apache helicopter were so much fun. Even better was the floating helicopter with a mini-gun attached that would spawn at your mansion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dissatified

posted by curlymama (PEYTON, CO) Aug 18, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was so scratched up my son could not even enjoy it. I have received too many games this way. Does anyone else have this problem? They should let you rent for free for a month for all the problems I have had. This will be the fourth game we have been unable to play. Gamefly is a joke, no customer service, takes forever to get the games, when we move this will stop forever. Very upset with the service from Gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever

posted by Kokaine (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

for obvious reason i am calling this one of the greatest games of all time imo the best one in the series while it didn't revolutionalize anythign like the GTA 3 did it made a lot of improvements in the right direction to make the game just that much betterif you haven't played you must be living under a rock

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

its ok not the best

posted by gflyer (Clovis, CA) Oct 23, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

gta vice city stories is stuck in th 80's and this is the 20th centrythe goal is based on a drug deal gone bad {not cool} and the goals get way too hard its only 10% better than gta 3 because of graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best.

posted by levimg (SAN DIEGO, CA) Aug 24, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I reaally enjoyed this grand theft auto this is the first gta i have ever played back in 2003.
I am only 12 years old. i think this gta is not as good as san andreas you cannot swim in this game and san andreas has lots more of effects.

Now for the reveiw.
Staring out this game is easy and has easy missions at first then it gets harder then alittle easier but in bewtween is very fun.
It has a florida miami beach feeling every where you you go. It is a bit harder to kill people in this game than gta3. It dose not take a allot of missions to get to the other islands just 9% you can check it if you press start then go to stats.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

There was something I didn't like

posted by SnwBrdr (EAGLE, ID) Oct 7, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't like it as much as one and two. I don't like the whole Miami Vice style of this game. I like the gameplay I just don't like the graphics as much. Obviously if it's a Gran Theft Auto game it's going to be good but the graphics with all the color and what not made it look a little cheap.

I haven't beat this game because I haven't been interested long enough to play it enough. I play it occasionally when I get bored with the my other ones but that is occasionally very rare.

Overall a good game but like I said a c- on th graphics. I don't know if I'm alone in this boat but if so oh well. Another bargain bin checker because of the newer one that's out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best in the GTA series! Period!

posted by ldurrant (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Aug 2004

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Have you not played this game? You gotta be kidding me! If you have, then you already know how great it is so stop reading and play it again. It's Miami Vice meets Goodfellas. Lotsa shootin', lotsa crazy drivin', lots big pimpin'. A must-own! Best GTA Ever!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

well

posted by Ndru000 (ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL) May 10, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I played GTA3 and GTASA and i got to tell you GTAVC is alright. I played GTA3 and beat it many times. I memorized the city, i dont even use the radar anymore i played that game so much. But this one i played it and beat it 1 time. The missions were ok, not really fun to do, almost a hassle. The script is SCARFACE!! Although the other GTA games take movie scripts to like dirty harry and that. But usually you cant tell unless you've seen those movies a few times. You can buy places and do missions for that estate and that was cool. Drive motorcycles and helicopters were prolly the biggest plus. The graphics were better then GTA3 but not as good as i would have thought. They added more weapons which was nice. But the game doesnt satisfy your needs i wasnt disappointed to the extent wear i wanted the hours i played the game back. But i was disappointed to the point where i was questioning why i bought the game. the biggest thing wrong with the game is the missions, there either "stupid and easy" or "stupid and stupid", and my personal favorite "why the heck is this mission in the game". Im not gonna name those mission cuz you got to play the game to find out but they are everything i said they would be - take my word for that. There are some fun missions but more bad then good. All in all the game still has the gta style we love. If you play san andreas without playing this one your not missing that much so dont worry about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE!!!!

posted by qwerty12 (HAMMOND, LA) Aug 7, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

The first time I played this stupid game I brought it back cause the graphics were really bad and the gameplay was horrible!!! dont get it get GTA san andreas!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect in every way!

posted by EQOAnostalgia (NEW YORK MILLS, NY) May 2, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

You don't need to read this, you are bored! You know how epic GTA is! You just figured you would read what others think.

Well i happen to think this game is a perfect 10 and 8.7 is shameful! Shame on you naysayers! Call yourselves gamers? HA! GTA VC stands as one of the best video games ever created! Plus it's the 80's! I mean cmon! Perfect title!

I would tell you to rent it but chances are you already have it and like i said, you are bored, looking for something to read, well sorry this isn't an interesting review for you, i'm too busy playing GTA!

Game on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

If you've played San Andreas.....

posted by If_Only_had_A_ (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Jun 21, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

compared to GTA III this one packs a bit of a punch but it falls way short of San Andreas. Just so you can get on with your life: 1. You die when you touch water 2. The story is not consistent, sometimes you do missions that do not make sense 3. No FREAKING HUMOR EVER!!!!! 4. It takes a while to make money 5. When the police follows you over 3 stars some civilian steps in to help them 6. Horrible graphics that would be bearable if the game wasn't so horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rockstar's Crown Jewel!

posted by FPSVET85 (DAYTON, OH) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Simply put, THIS IS the greatest game ever made period. Based on Scarface's story & Rockstar's big budget engine, It's sure to get your heart pumping. I can't tell you how many hours/days/months then turned to years i sat around pounding Mtn Dew & Doritos while Vice City stayed in my PS2. This title gets my vote for funniest game of all time as well. Sadly, one day I realized i had to grow up & buy a PS3. It turned out to be a good investment... If you own GTA: Vice City! Never sell it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse