Rent Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories for PSP Games
view large frontback

Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
8.0

1656 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Once Again RockStar Doesn't Disappoint

posted by Spagball (BETHESDA, MD) Nov 20, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2004

30 out of 31 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

As usual the GTA franchise continues to set the bar for PSP games. Vice continues were Liberty left off. I've only put in about 10 hours with this one, but a nice new touch is the ability to recover your weapons (for a price) after being busted or wasted. Other new adds of note are the new vehicles (ATV and Jet-Ski), swimming, and the Godfather-like business ownership feature. If you liked the wide open game play of the first GTA for PSP, you won't be disappointed with this title. If this is your first experience with GTA on PSP, you will be playing one of the best offerings for this platform. Aside from some of the new tweaks, you get more of the same pedestrian killing, car racing, gang shooting goodness you've come to expect with GTA.

BUY IT, RENT IT, BURN IT?
Buy it...now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great but Glitchy

posted by hynding (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 8, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

27 out of 29 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

All of the GTA games have eaten many hours of my time and this game is no exception. There are numerous game play improvements over the last GTA PSP game but there are a handful of technical flaws that are difficult NOT to notice.

So first, here's the bad:
Nothing has crashed the game, so far at least, but you will experience more late-loading textures than ever before, especially when moving at fast speeds (and some areas, like outside the stadium, always seem to be late on loading that same street panel. I've also encountered getting 'stuck' halfway through the ground at some points and very slow frame rates during some of the side missions as well as more difficulty aiming weapons. Again, it's nothing that you can't get out of and, for the most part, forgivable seeing as how the game has even more of everything to offer over all other GTA games with exception to San Andreas.

So now to what makes this game great:
You can swim; ride jet skis, bicycles, and helicopters; identify uncovered unique jumps, rampages, and balloons (packages) on your in-game map; participate in new fire and paramedic helicopter side missions; better water effects; hundreds of buildings to enter; new empire ownership interaction; and I'm sure all the other little details I have yet to encounter.

This game is for any fan of the series. True, it is not as polished as the other GTA games, but it does offer more variety in terms of game play and sheer land mass. If you're bored of the genre or turned off by strong language and violence, you're probably not reading this review anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A PSP game of new levels!

posted by Plankfan (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jun 6, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, I haven't seen a game on the PSP this big in a long time! The missions, graphics, and sound are amazing! The game doesn't limit you with invisible walls or barriers! You can travel wherever you want on the islands! The only complaint I have is some texture popping and draw distance issues. Other than that, this is an amazing PSP game that cannot be passed up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best thing about GTA games...

posted by Ninja75621 (SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL) Jul 16, 2008

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The best thing is what ur thinking in ur head.....

this is what ur thinking....

(sniping) oh man i think i got the shot.....awww man i missed...omg there panicking!..time to strike, i got my chain saw....Attack! (chain saw sound with sound of a normal guy being sawed) omg! 4 stars time to run. Freak you coppers!....What! the games messed up or something?!?!?!? ive been busted!
(you kick the tv) Stupid cops........

(moments later) Ok time to play again...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best PSP game

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Jul 2, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love grand theft auto and it on the PSP is just amazing. The thought of playing grand theft auto anywhere you go is just amazing. This grand theft auto is good but it could have some improvements. Like the graphics i think which are about the best ive seen on a portable gaming device. I still think it could be better. Also i dont really know if there are any cheats for it because i couldnt find any but i love cheats for grand theft auto. This grand theft auto for the PSP is just a bit better than the liberty city version but both are very good and fun. Both of them are must trys and must buys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Unbelievable!!!

posted by Wolf51 (HOFFMAN ESTATES, IL) Nov 3, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I remember when I first played Liberty City Stories, I was blown away. Now, playing Vice City stories, I am absolutely, unequivocally STUNNED!!! Oh my God, this game is beyond incredible. Everything has been improved - graphics, draw distance, less ghosting, fantastic 80's music, longer missions - I can go on and on. Seriously, just buy this game. It's the reason you bought a PSP! The PSP is really coming into its own lately with MOH: Heroes, Ace Combat, Killzone and now THIS!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sweet

posted by malxmusic (Evanston, IL) Jan 12, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This is a great game! Handheld and you get to kill people with chaisaws!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is the best game so far on psp

posted by NJRICAN089 (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 4, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

In this game they added alittle of san andreas to this game you can own buness run your own gang and lots more mison this game is a must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply Perfect

posted by DamaDaLama (STOCKBRIDGE, GA) Nov 6, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I started playing gta 2 on the dreamcast when I was 8. And I have beat every gta since then. In Gta Vice City Stories you no longer control Tommy Vercetti, instead you control of Victor Vance and make your way through vice city. It has many more aspects of San Andreas than Vice City. You can swim, fly planes, drive boats, use more complex melee combat, and of course join with a bunch of rednecks and drink moonshine.
I guarantee you will love this game. Good for a long rental or a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Too dang hard

posted by GamerAdams (COLLEGEVILLE, PA) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game is just too dang hard to play on a tiny screen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Excellent

posted by Haysead (NEW BERN, NC) Oct 31, 2006

Member since May 2005

5 out of 30 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I have been a huge rockstar fan for years loving GTA III GTA IV and GTA 6 and LCS and now VCS!!! It is da' bomb :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

what

posted by PADILLA (PORTLAND, OR) Oct 18, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

im not geting it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best

posted by pitbulldog (BROOKLYN, NY) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

Better that any psp game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than Chinatown Wars

posted by Dukesfan (CYPRESS, TX) Feb 13, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I love the oppurtunities you get, the vehicles you can have, and the story. I don't like the graphics a lot, and hate that the vehicle damage isn't realistic. Still lots of fun that I want to own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ehhh...

posted by ALeGlue1993 (PRAIRIEVILLE, LA) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Well the game's plot is good but I couldn't get far on the game. I stop playing it when I had to do the mission where you're on a date with some chick. You ride on a dune-buggy and the controls are just terrible. You can barely turn and i tried all weekend and i still couldn't beat so i just turned it in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GTA VICE CITY

posted by SETHSTER007 (NEW YORK, NY) Jul 27, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Its a good continuation of the first but, this has more lagging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

gta portable

posted by gamespro (LA PUENTE, CA) Jul 16, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

first off if you like the gta series you will enjoy this game because its gta portable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best game ever

posted by daman09950 (CRYSTAL LAKE, IL) May 10, 2010

Member since May 2010

i like it for the psp because i love my psp and i beat the whole game in 1 day. you are a guy that is a guy that go and kill gang members

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pretty fun

posted by daniellee (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

The game was pretty entertaining for a while.. but the missions were kind of beginning to repeat themselves but the idea to just go around and kill anyone you want and make empires was pretty cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good

posted by kaelyn (LINCOLN, NE) Jul 1, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

The missions were fun, and trying to buy all the small businesses was challenging. However when I finally finished the last mission, and I bought all 30 businesses, I looked at how far % wise I was into the game, and it only said 43%... All that work and still not even half good enough, after that I lost interest, but the missions were great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

it is so assume

posted by kntcme123 (ELMHURST, NY) Jun 27, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

i loved it its so cool i relly
nice graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GTA Vice Cities

posted by gtaman157 (BEL AIR, MD) May 19, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

Well to start off I thought this was a complete failure for a sequel to Liberty City. The graphics were a bit better but I would not suggest that you buy this game. If you dont have Liberty City, GET IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by ezmac101 (SCARSDALE, NY) Apr 30, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

i love this game its amazing. it is absolutely one of the best game for the PSP. my only problem is that many times the game world will not load the moment you get into that specific area so you often end up crashing into walls that are invisible until you hit them. considering it is a PSP game you can expect it to be perfect.

BUY THIS GAME NOW!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its Okay

posted by Blackzilla (ARNOLD, MO) Apr 21, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

GTA: Vice City stories is no 10 but still is an okay game. The story wasn't always good and taking care of a business on a whole different island in the game isn't either. The gangs are kind of like GTA: SA how you can press up to recruit. But this game just isn't as good as LCS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW!!!!

posted by PARADICE1 (BRONX, NY) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

THIS GAME IS "AWSOME"!!!!I CANT PUT IT DOWN !!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse