Rent Grand Theft Auto V for PS3
view large frontback

Grand Theft Auto V

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $59.99

GF Rating
8.8

2609 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best

posted by Mrfifa (NEW YORK, NY) Mar 9, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the best GTA game ever i got it for the xbox 360 and the ps3 just wish they have it for the xbox one or the ps4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Everything a Gta fan could ask for.

posted by Imaburritooo (SUFFOLK, VA) Mar 5, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game. met and surpassed every expectation i had for it. The only thing i would ask for is a bit more In-depth customization.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great sequel to a promising series

posted by matster (DOWNEY, CA) Feb 7, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Who doesn't like the gta series. If you're playing gta 5 chances are you have played earlier gta games. I've heard many bad things about the online aspect of this game. But as I'm writing this I believe many issues have been fixed. But for me this comes as a single player series I don't even think this should have online so that didn't effect my opinion of this game. gta 5 gives the great style of game play gta 4 has offered us. But this time around a new loveable cast with greater voice acting. With little familiarities that players might recognize from previous games. What really stood out for me was an overall improved continuation sequence when dying you don't have to start all the way over like you did in gta 4. For me it seemed gta 5 was a bit shorter than gta 4 but then again with a ton of side missions and soon to be released dlc this game should suffice your gta appetite

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Grand Theft Auto V

posted by JimmyYeager (CLEVELAND, OH) Jun 18, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In case people are not aware, GTAV will not work on older PS3's. There are 18 different models of the PS3, and the only way to tell is by the actual model # on the back of the system. The first few models produced do not have a strong enough processor to handle the graphic depth that GTAV has. The game will load up and start to install but eventually stop moving no matter how long you let it set. It will then tell you there is 1000 or so hours before installation is complete. This is your sign that your PS3 will not play this game. I only gave the game a 1 rating because I could not play it seeing how I have the first PS3 model.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GTA 5 Installation Warning

posted by Ragnor (CARMEL, IN) Jun 16, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game requires 8 GB of space to install which is not an issue with the large hard drives on consoles these days. I prepped and made sure i had 40GB of space available before the install. The install froze at 7GB every time i attempted to install the game and eventually crashed my PS3. After 10 attempts of attempting to install this game, i eventually quit and sent the game back.

I would highly advise you do not waste your time as the likely hood of this game installing on your PS3 is extremely low.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game for a lazy day.

posted by S3kchun8 (FORT WAYNE, IN) Feb 18, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been playing the GTA series since the original Playstation, and this game does not disappoint. Be prepared for longer load times when you start the game up, but overall it is seamless. It is kind of hard to get the hang of things if you haven't already played this series before, but the GPS helps out a lot. If you get bored, you can always run around and shoot people. Overall this game is great if you are just looking to kill some time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Masterpiece

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Sep 19, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

17 out of 23 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

Grand Theft Auto doesn't need any introduction. Everyone knows about this title regardless if they ever played it. The third person title places another chapter inside of the GTA platform and Rockstar has made yet another gem.

You assume the role of 3 characters...
Michael - A successful, retired robber that was a professional in his trade.
Franklin - A young upcoming criminal, that is tired of gang activities and wants to make real cash with real opportunities.
Trevor - An edgy, Ex-Air force pilot, and former accomplice of Michael's who had fallin through the cracks of society.

These three band together to make the quick dollar by pulling sophisticated Heists... Out for the big scores they will do anything to get the job done.

There is many twists to the story, but I don't want to ruin it.

The replay-value is very high... There is multiple standpoints in the story; the world reacts different to each character. You will find random spontainous events happen... Creating a rich illusion of a living world. With different choices you can make, in each character.

Graphics are insane... Characters start sweating from being outside... Physical motion of the character has a very life like approach. The tire sounds(driving on different terrain), in cars... Have a very appealing realism to it... Many small perfections and a vast world of rich detail.. GTA V has to offer.

You have so much to do... This is a game, you will want to start over from a few hours from playing, because you will feel like there is more story you missed... Just from having so much OTHER things you can do.

Massive world; Character skills can level-up/progress; You can fly aircraft; buy properties; customize vehicles; go off roading; play golf, tennis, darts; rob stores; Do the in-game stock market... Drive around be a taxi-driver for quick cash...
Rockstar did a marvelous job... Plus all of that is online too.

This game is worth keeping.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

GTA V, Too Obsessed With "Realism"

posted by taintedwisdom (YUCAIPA, CA) Dec 16, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Despite featuring aspects from both GTA San Andreas & IV, GTA V is kind of it's own entity, but not in a good way. If you liked IV's leaning more towards realism, slow & tedious character movement, & cover based combat then you'll want to violate this game's disc. If you want to have fun, not die the second you enter a fight, not constantly experience disconnects between realism & game mechanics, not waste time with underdeveloped modes, or have basic features be outright absent then go back & play San An. again or play Saint's Row IV. Ever since GTA IV Rockstar seems to have had a VERY unhealthy obsession with realism & this game is no different, if anything it's getting worse. The world is breathtaking & the gameplay moreso because you'll be shouting in frustration from all the times you die unexpectedly. Death comes in SECONDS, especially if you're not prepared. After chasing a car I personally died before I could even get out of the car! Ever since GTA III Rockstars maps have been getting bigger & making it harder to find avenues of escape from police or just get from point A to point B without planning a road trip & it's worse than ever in V. You can lose police at 1 or 2 stars with ease by following traintracks if you stumble across them but you might as well reload your file if you get 3+ because the helicopters apparently have jet rockets because you can be doing 100mph & have one right on your tail. Speaking of reloading it's impossible to quit/restart a mission, so if you can't quickly fail intentionally you'll have to kill yourself, lose the ammo used, & 5 grand for hospital expenses. Seriously! It took Rockstar like a decade to grasp the complex art of mid-mission checkpoints & now they're not just late to the party they're proactively omitting BASIC FEATURES! With the character limit I can't even continue listing all the things wrong with this... thing, just don't buy it, rent it & give it a chance if you MUST but if you have doubts DON'T buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome views

posted by crunchyedg (MOUNTAIN HOME, AR) Sep 20, 2013

Member since Dec 2008

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I'm going to take a different tack from others that have reviewed this game. I rated it high because it’s pure eye candy. I decided that I wasn't going to do missions right away so I just started exploring. I would climb a mountain look around and see an even bigger mountain. So I'd point the car or truck downhill and aim for a ridge that looked like I could catch air off of. I did this over and over; trashing cars, tumbling down mountain slopes and over cliffs to a fiery explosive death, and having to go steal a new car just to go do it again. The map is huge, the mountains are huge, and the coral and marine life is amazing quality. Yes, I took time to go swimming in the ocean, even did some cliff diving. Too bad it was shallow and I died. LOL!! I also hunted deer, coyotes, cranes, and birds that were flying too high and far away to identify. To be honest I think a person could play for months without seeing everything there is to see and if you only stick to missions you're going to miss just how brilliant this environment is. In my book, this is a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good and bad

posted by strunknate (CANADENSIS, PA) Jan 31, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I did like gta 5 but it was confusing and got boring within the first few days of having it. it is full I mean full of high pitch little kids on there microphones screaming and yelling it annoyed me so much and the game is not very fun unless you are playing with friends or you have a mic if not I do not recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

OK

posted by Your_Momi (HIGHLAND, CA) Jan 31, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful


In the previews and screenshots for this game, everyone was so excited for GTA V.
Single player: 7/10 , it would be better if it were longer though. The replay value is high, because there is so much to do, i've almost finished the game twice, and I still haven't done everything there is to do.
Online: 0/10, the loading times are very long people will kill you for no reason and say "(explitive) you, (insert racial slur here)." The payouts for missions are low, and even if you get money, everything is so expensive. The cloud servers are often down, forcing you to play single player, or make a new character that you cannot keep.The list goes on and on and on.
Overall, if you're the kind of person who likes to play online games with your friends, I would not recommend this game. You can borrow or rent it, and you will see what I mean. But, if you like single player, I would recommend getting this game. Maybe, if all else fails, you can try online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rockstar is to blame

posted by SexOffender (ROSEVILLE, CA) Jan 30, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Single player/story mode is broken as of patch 1.9 Online the cheaters have serious leverage over legitimate players. The MMOG has been flooded with counterfeit money. Undoubtedly Rockstar Games servers have been compromised by hackers. You would have thought Rockstar Games would have learned from the growing pains of other MMOG(s).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Game is Great but freezes constantly

posted by Theohhdude (MURRIETA, CA) Jan 17, 2014

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First off, I think this game is great. The only reason I am giving it a bad rap, is that the game freezes everything I start playing. Rockstar has no answer, other than try a list of things that is a giant waste of time. I have a newer PS3 slim 160gb and I truly believe that the system itself cannot handle such a massive game. Waiting for the PS4 release, which now seem it will never happen.

I can't review it in a proper fashion because the game doesn't work on my system and I am not going to purchase a new system...

Thanks Rockstar.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Drags

posted by mklplaya321 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jan 12, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I like the characters and the new grapphics but the storyline really drags. its like they didn't know what to write so they just starter writing down giberish

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Loading...

posted by andy9976 (NORTHPORT, AL) Jan 9, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'd love to review this game but it takes SOOOO long to load.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I Disagree

posted by TeddyTerrific (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jan 5, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is my first review. I am an avid gamer but do not like co-op or multi-player, so this review is confined to the solo story mode.

Unlike most of the rest of the world, this game just didn't add up for me. I know this intuitively when I can't wait to finish a game. This is what I felt almost from the start with GTA V. Following is a list of my problems with this game:
1. Poor shooting reticule, particularly hard to steer a car and shoot at the same time.
2. Too much driving to get to or finish some missions
3. Did not have enough $$$$'s to buy numerous properties until after the last big heist, i.e. until the game was almost over
4. Character development was shallow and often unrealistic.
5. While there was a story/plot, it was convoluted and not remotely in the same vein as The Last of Us, Uncharted series, Two Souls, etc.

Overall just a big disappointment for a game I waited eagerly to play. I like the first 4 GTA's quite a bit, but this one just fell flat for me. I was very happy to return it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

fun to play but...

posted by nastymacaa (GAINESVILLE, FL) Jan 3, 2014

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

fun to play but rockstar makes online life such a drag. low payouts on missions...and hackers galore roaming with god modes and tanks. lame some sessions are ok but trust me you will end up in a lobby with god modders and they will give you money and then u get sent to the cheaterpool. wow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

lack of game play

posted by theman4156 (SCHENECTADY, NY) Nov 26, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the campain was short and lack a point.i think that a game with there different caracters could of had a longer campaign. after you beat the game it kind of ends realy nothing to do to keep you playing I thought that the hipe did not stand up to the game there was a lot of things that you could not do in the game, like the number of propretys you could own or how many cars you could have a lot of details where left out don't get me wrong the graphics whetre great but the ovaer all of the game sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Glorified Depravity.

posted by Nemy009 (HOUSTON, TX) Sep 20, 2013

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Make no mistake, GTA 5 is a crime simulation first and foremost, which means care must to be taken to keep the kiddies out of the room while playing a game like this. The profanity flows as freely as the animation of the characters and the exaggerated gang banger antics of Franklin's friend Lamar can at times produce a roll of the eyes. This could of course garner the attention of a politician or two looking to reignite the debate on violence in video games, and one could hardly argue with them on the "violence" part since GTA 5 is indeed a violent video game that should be kept from those with impressible minds.

That being said, the game is an impressive technological feat, and it's sometimes hard to believe that it could been done on 6+ year old hardware. Physics and lighting have improved substantially over GTA 4.

However, since Rockstar has decided to return to its San Andreas roots with RPG style character leveling, the movement and controls of your character can feel a little sluggish at first until you level them up and increase their endurance, running speed, strength, etc. This will of course make those that still have GTA 4 fresh in their minds feel that GTA 5 is a slower paced game, but as stated early this is only temporary.

All in all, GTA 5 is a great "swan song" for current gen systems, and I'm pretty sure people will still be playing it even after the next gen systems hit the market.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

(story 10) (online -2)

posted by 07civsi (BUFFALO, NY) Oct 20, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I bought this game a few weeks after it came out. The first thing was that the story is pretty decent and it is a huge world. There is a short summary on the story mode.

Cops- are smarter and will get you for stupid things this game makes you think about how to get away.

Online- Some people are cool and awesome just playing missions and what not, others are D---s and just go around killing other players the population online is at least half ten years old or just plain ignorant. They say things like " I'm Going to get you (Enter Racial Slur)". Oh and underage rampant with mics. I listened to all the people until I found out you can turn off the mics so if you play online I highly suggest turning off the mics because it will save alot of headache. But on the whole a decent game for story mode, horrible online glitch ahoy kicks and cannot connect to the cloud. Be wary if your getting it for the online wait until next month it may be patched enough to actually work right.

Hardcore players that hide behind gamertags and user names go on youtube and type in gta online and that will be the people who play this. P.S. You are going to be homeless online because to buy a house is 98,000 dollars to over 100,000 the money is tight in the game all around

The truth hurts but that's just how it is from my perspective do not try to deny it if you play all the game you will know i am speaking the truth

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

one of the worst GTA games

posted by kidoplivous (CLEVELAND, OH) Mar 1, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

We waited for this?!?!?!?! I had more fun with the ps 2 games.... at least the driving controls were a lot better.... If you want to play a game of this style and with better controls and story I suggest Saints Row 1,2 or 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sucks

posted by scooter420 (PARADISE, CA) Feb 18, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

every game I have got from you have either skiped froze or some thing just dose not work properly I am veary unhappy about this and I know its not my ps3 because every game I have bought brand new games they work just fine

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Story Line

posted by Jaydee626 (LA PUENTE, CA) Oct 19, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

L.A. Noire has the same kind of game play and graphics as GTA V. To me this game is good. But not worth 60 bucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not that great

posted by Anton54 (MATTOON, IL) Oct 2, 2013

Member since Dec 2010

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

there is two parts to this game single player, and multiplayer. single player i give 3/5 and multiplayer i give 0/5. The single player missions are repetitive. There are still glitches. The multiplayer servers were down the first day and finally came up on Wednesday oct 2nd and the loading times were very slow or hard to get into a game! This is junk they way rock star treated its customers by making this junk game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad Ideas

posted by SickestPunk (TAYLORSVILLE, NC) Oct 20, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The online is awful, constant issues with gameplay such as cars disappearing, invisible walls, dying for unknown reasons. What i just experienced today was me trying to snipe another player that had just killed me for no reason, every time i pulled the trigger, it did nothing until my sights was no longer on him, then a millisecond after i stop trying to shot him, he is able to shoot me. He was not in passive mode. I also blew up a remote bomb i threw out on the road as i noticed on the map that a player that had just killed me was trying to do so again. After he drove over my bomb, i detonated and it killed him and his car and it took 10,000.00 dollars from my character for insurance. The idea to make it so a player can lose money in this game is ridiculous because people kill you for no reason. You can lose you character for no reason, I lost twenty thousand within five minutes of sitting idle, which i believe is because the programming for the game is messed up causing it to do things it shouldn't. The game is now designed so you spent countless hours building yourself up so you can end up wasting all you have gained away for nothing, mainly because everyone in this game just wants to kill you for no reason at all. Worst experience I have ever had with a game and its just a cause for stress and aggravation. Save yourself the time, money, and life wasted in this game and hope they do better next time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse