Rent Grand Theft Auto V for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Grand Theft Auto V

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $59.99

Also on:PS3, Xbox One, PS4
GF Rating
8.8

3422 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

All right i guess...

posted by micdanchris Jun 17, 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was so hyped up for this game after all the great responds from critics! Not what i anticipated.

Over all its not a bad game but many games beat it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply Amazing

posted by Inspire21 Sep 18, 2013

15 out of 20 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

To keep it short and sweet this game is beyond anything you've ever played the characters fuse together so well during missions there's so many side activities to do and those aren't even side mission it's a must buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GTA V

posted by macsmiff (ENDICOTT, NY) Sep 17, 2013

Member since Jun 2006

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The graphics are great, story is great, runs very smooth, very realistic, huge map, all around my favorite game I've played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Grand theft auto V

posted by undeadXsoldier (PALM HARBOR, FL) Nov 20, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Its good and I have had lots of fun but after awhile it got really repetitive even online and its taking them way to long to release online content that should have been there the day of release. The games been out long enough and were still waiting for heist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Starts off with a bang...then...

posted by StyleGamer (FOUNTAIN, CO) Dec 13, 2013

Member since Sep 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

To be honest this game gets old fast. After the initial awe of the gorgeous LA visuals and first few missions you get the gist of what you will be doing the rest of the game. Go here, kill person A, grab loot, leave. You can obviously jack around and just kill cops and create general mayhem but it gets old fast...iit might have been fun when San Andreas came out but this is 2k13.

That's where the online comes in. If im going to be running around shooting at stuff it might as well be at other players and with friends. The one thing I will say is the apartment/vehicle element to online is the ONLY saving grace. I legitimately enjoyed collecting vehicles and customizing them (partially because I used the LSC glitch and had enough to buy the Adder, etc.).

unfortunately online is ridiculously boring when it comes to gameplay, missions, and racing. You know...the actual GAME. You can only run around and gun so many people down and go so many repetitive online missions which involve monotonous tasks like drive here, collect loot, kill ambush. The missions now don't pay all that well considering how boring they are.

Overall this game is pretty overrated. Has great graphics but the gameplay and online mode are supremely boring.

7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

GTA V is a major disappointment

posted by Temponed (SOMERVILLE, MA) Jul 28, 2014

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First off let me just say I have 0 interest in online / multiplayer components of console games. So whatever this game has to offer in that regard is of no use to me. As far as I am concerned Vice City was and is the Gold Standard when it comes to GTA game-play - diverse main missions and fun, somewhat open-ended side missions especially the profession-based ones (taxi, ambulance, etc.) ones. These are what made me fall in love with the series. Liberty City did a pretty good job both keeping this component in the game and also changing and adding to it (cop missions) in an interesting way. GTA V, however, is woefully lacking in the side mission department. The random encounters are for the most part pretty 'Meh' and most of the strangers and freaks side missions have neither the open-ended appeal nor the cash-earning element of prior games' side missions. The one exception would be Trevor's smuggling missions, which I played over and over since they were the only ones of their ilk and I could find no other way to earn $.

I kept begrudgingly doing the main missions with the hope that at some point they would open side missions that would create opportunities for me to earn $ with the characters but this never happened. The credits to the game rolled right around the time I was expecting to get some interesting side missions. For a game with 2 discs, the main story line is unbelievably short and unfulfilling.

And I truly do not understand why there all these properties listed for purchase that you can't afford until you finish the final mission. What is the point of that? Lastly, they built in this somewhat interesting accomplice structure for heists but then there are only like 3 missions in the entire game that utilize this system. I suspect it is used more heavily in the online component but then why have it in story mode if it is barely used.

Glad I opted to test-drive before out-right purchasing the game because it is not worth it imho.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Unreliable

posted by TrixieOfChaos (GRAND LEDGE, MI) Jan 15, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Well the campaign is fun with all of its humor but the plot is very predictable. But to why it got a 5...
I got it a couple days after release and the online rarely worked and when it did it was glitchy and full of bugs. I lost all of my cars twice so just playing online but when all of my single player data become corrupted is when I decided the game was awful. It's an unfinished product. Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

REQUIRES 8 [EIGHT] GB for REQ. Install +more Saves

posted by hisuphola (SKOKIE, IL) Dec 9, 2013

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Not neccecarily givining the game a 2.0, but as it REQUIRES that install bs, just so people would not call them up and complain of long load times, it is b_.

Will probably change rating a bit if I get a 2.0 Flash Drive 16GB (what you need to get if your harddrive is not Big).

But Agian REQUIRES to be installed and 8GB at that (plus w/e amount for save(s) ) It will NOT at all play without instal, there is no: Please instal game for optimal performance etc... that Any other single huge named game says, It will NOT play at all without it_-->

Game Fly should put this game in download section or least Put in BOLD in title REQ. 8GB +

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

8GB

posted by Jay2smooth (VALDOSTA, GA) Feb 14, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Its unlike any GTA in a long time but in order to play it you have to have 8GB of free data BOO....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not what i expected .

posted by Realist_ (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Dec 5, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Be sure to make sure you have at least 8GB free on your Xbox before buying or you would be in the position as i am. I have the 4GB Xbox and no money for a USB so i can't play the game because the installation requires at least 8GB of space. Why would Rockstar make such an idiotic creation, Instead of a regular disc like the last series? What about the people who have only 4GB systems? On top of a $60 game, Now have to go out and soend more to buy a USB just to play one game? VERY Disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rent It And Return It.

posted by White14Man (CHICO, CA) Jan 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I suggest renting it and beating the Single Player mode and then Returning it. The multiplayer is really nothing special, unless you are into the free-roam mode because that is the only mode people really play. The other Online game Modes are rarely played and its hard to get a game started because people leave so often.
Its not even a game I would recommend buying. The only games worth buying are games that you wouldn't mind playing again, and this is not one of them. Once you beat it, your done.

Multi-Player = Not Worth It. ( Unless you like the Free-Roam Mode )
Single Player = Definitely Worth It.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good But Short

posted by SewellC (WEST COLUMBIA, SC) Oct 18, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The game is actually pretty good and they have all the makings of a great game but they just fell short. The actual story mode wasn't as long as it usually is and i beat it within about 30 hours of gameplay. I thought i was getting a game that I would be able to play for a couple of months but it lasted me less than a week and the online multiplayer is really lacking all around. Its a slow start and if you don't have anyone to play with then you're just sitting around waiting for someone to join into your game so that you can actually do something beside driving around and shooting and robbing random people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Generalized Take on GTA5

posted by 3rd_St_Saint (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 14, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Having rented this game since the day it came out, I have this to say:

Blatantly sexist overtones, Republican humor, less melee options than IV and being able to do little more than kill civilians round out the things wrong with the game.

Single player's pretty solid, aside from how short it is if you just blaze through it. The world feels fairly detached from you in ways that Saint's Row minimized, and there isn't a whole lot of humor worth laughing about outside of Franklin's homies and Main missions.

----------

Things this game got right are the planning and prep-work involved in performing heists. When you experience it, you'll know and appreciate the authenticity.

Regenerative health and bullet damage. Bullets kill you rather quickly, and health only regenerates half-way.

The shark...

Creator map for Races/Deathmatches. Simple interface once you learn it; a blast if you've got a vision.

Ability to create a girl in multiplayer. Go online for help to make her pretty; trust me - you'll be glad you did.

Basic gun modifications.

Real estate and car modifications/insurance.

-----------

Good game overall and pretty... but it's collecting dust. After single player, it becomes more of the same irreverent Multiplayer 'fetch it' quests or 'shoot this group' missions. Feels as familiar as rampaging on GTA III or Vice City all over again. I'm not a big fan of the Trevor antics (I know a town full of people like he and Wade) and I'm still waiting for multiplayer heists (which may make this game a 7 overall).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Okay

posted by gfsubscriber1 (SOUTH PASADENA, CA) Aug 7, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like other versions better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

GTA

posted by nickydubya (GLEN MILLS, PA) Jun 24, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you have a fantasy for acting like a anti social thug, then this game is for you. Other than that, it does not impress me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sucks

posted by CallOfDutyGurl (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 8, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its okay but... The Mission's Are to Hard And The handelings hard

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I have older 360......Ultimate fail Rockstar

posted by SKILLZmills (MATTHEWS, NC) Jan 26, 2014

Member since May 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Can't even play it....got second copy and even borrowed a copy from friend. Tried usb and clearing cache....nothing. Would like to see for Xbox One soon?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Online with GTAV

posted by yik (FRESNO, CA) Oct 24, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

true game that is meant to entertain an it's doing just that. I never played a game like it!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a Solid 10 thru & thru

posted by SuperBRAIN (ISLIP TERRACE, NY) Sep 20, 2013

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Better then GTA 4....its missions are fun & diverse

great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

gta5

posted by mikestud89 (FORT STEWART, GA) Oct 14, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

this game is awsome in regards to graphics. the story was good to. the only problem i had was the story was too short. i beat it in a day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

havent beat it but its great

posted by DavidU (HENDERSON, NV) Mar 14, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

must say buy or rent it now i mean NOW great game good story line fun game by far 10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun, But Not Good

posted by classicmints (MAYFIELD, PA) Feb 13, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

GTA V...where to begin. I'll start with the good. It is a lot of fun to play. For about 10 hours or so. Then the bad and the ugly make this a more frustrating game experience than Dark Souls.

The controls. Are god awful. On foot you'll find yourself falling off ledges and buildings due to the flimsiness of walking/running/jumping. Vehicles are near impossible to drive. A slight turn of the analog stick will send your car plummeting across several lanes into oncoming traffic or telephone poles. Then, as you crash into a car head on at 10mph or 1000mph you will often times be dumped underneath your car (alive), until you're run over by the back tires of your own vehicle. Flying is even more difficult as if you're in a helicopter the buttons for turning as you will notice will slightly turn you left or right only to fling you back straight on as you were going. If you try and turn with the analog sticks you will wobble and stall out, crashing into any nearby objects and exploding into a fiery death.

Gun controls are manageable but still made hectic by the clunky way the camera shifts far more than your analog stick is moving. Even dropping the sensitivity doesn't help. Its a choice between not being able to move fast enough to hit a target in time, or missing them because the controls aren't allowing you proper CONTROL.

The story line and characters are slightly more interesting than they have been in previous games. You'll find yourself hating your own characters more than you hate the controls though. This makes progression difficult because you really just won't care what happens next.

This, like all GTA games is fun. BUT. They have yet to address the issue of horrible handling and controls that were brought up in GTA3 10 years ago. What we have here is a game that has an imagination that exceeds its grasp. If it wasn't for the maniacal fun you can have for an hour or so before moving on to better things this game would have scored far lower.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Grand theft of moeny

posted by Shadowstacker7 (DUNDALK, MD) Jan 19, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I always hated gta I didn't want this but my dad got it I tried it it is terrible not worth 60$ extremely hard cops and when you die you lose everything

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

stupid game

posted by hatman48 (PLAINS, KS) Dec 31, 2013

Member since May 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I just flat did not like this game! played it for a few hours and took it out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by adamoh (TOWNVILLE, PA) Oct 28, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I'm not really a big fan of the gta series, but I figured I would give this one a go. and I was not disappointed.
nothing short of perfection for this title. 2 thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse