Rent Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas for PS2
view large frontback

Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.6

5205 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GTASA

posted by Soldier2k3 (SPRING HILL, FL) Jun 2, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

27 out of 28 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

I thought that GTA San Andreas was the best GTA on the ps2. There is so much to do from eating to changing clothes, even skydiving. I thought that the graphics were great. I loved the storyline and the characters.

Also, I think one of the best features was the different aircraft that you can fly. There's such a variety when compared to the earlier GTA's. Playing as a real gangster in the ghetto was fun too. It was different than being real high class like in Vice City.

So overall, I give it a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent Game

posted by SimplePlan (BLOWING ROCK, NC) Apr 9, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game. There are some really good things in the game like: good music, good graphics, not beat in two days game, and the game really has a meaning, it's not just a random guy shooting people, it's fun. I thought the game was hard and I couldn't beat it, but the part I did play was fun. My favorite thing to do is to go really high in a plane, and jump out with a parachute. In conclusion, it's a great game and I would suggest it to anyone, even though it has a few "strange" parts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best GTA Ever

posted by cellAMM (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 16, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

62 out of 69 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I don't know what some people are thinking. They say this game is a disgrace. Well I bet once they play this game they would completely think different. The game's story is great, the gameplay is as good as ever. Though the game won't get an award for best graphics the rest of the game makes up for it. Wide areas to cause distruction to pedestrians,a wide variety of vehicals to choose from.There is nothing better to get for your PS2. So for those who think negative of the game go play your other E-rated games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I'm speechless.

posted by Barrenzye (EL PASO, TX) Feb 19, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is perfect.
Seriously, there is absolutely nothing wrong with this game.
And it is for that reason that my review is so incredibly short...
Wow.
This game literally leaves me speechless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Grand Theft Auto San Andreas

posted by 2011gamer (ROCK SPRING, GA) Jul 31, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Arguably one of the best in the series. You get to eat food, recruit other gamg members to fight by your side. It has a very long story. A good list of characters and a very evil antagonist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

perfect

posted by bondieo (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jul 1, 2011

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

when i got this game i imedietly played it and played for 12 hours!if gta4 never came out this would be the best gta.you can eat,own alot of houses,own alot of guns,weapons,cars,planes,jets,bikes,just like the sims exept better!I litterily cept the game untill the next year!only my idea of a perfect game is better,granturismo need for speed gta4 and middnight club.A game like that doesnt even exist!A must buy and rent game from gamefly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

There are reasons this is my favorite game

posted by ynot4tony2 (MORRIS, IL) Dec 17, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This installment is the best GTA game available.

San Andreas has you playing an inner city African-American in the 90's. I personally got lost on some of the urban slang, but I'm a white guy nearing middle age.

The action level in this game is top notch. It's basically a third-person shooter/quest/driving game that allows you to switch camera views (including to first person).

The most impressive feature of this game is the open-ended, massive universe you're allowed to play in. The plot/storyline missions are numerous, putting most other games to shame. Then add to that dozens races you can play, "vehicle" side missions (like putting out fires in a fire truck or delivering people to the hospital in an ambulance), and interactivity with characters and environment that provides little more than fun distraction from the main goals. You can log in dozens and dozens of ours of gameplay and still have much left to explore. You'll definetly get your money's worth in that respect.

The driving aspect of this game is excellent too. The variety of vehicles you can drive is wide (cars, trucks, boats, helicopters, planes, and a few unusual vehicles). Radio stations in vehicles allow the choice of several genres of music.

The graphics are good, somewhere between cartoon and realistic. The action and play is smooth. Loading times are annoying, but not that frequent.

I claim it's the best game ever. Fun, funny, challenging, in-depth, and addicitive. It's also violent, vulgar, and deals with other adult themes. This game is not for children.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GTA has never been better

posted by killer0199 (DENHAM SPRINGS, LA) Dec 16, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First of all this game is one of the best GTA's now and for years to come I bought this game the first day it had came out and still to this day I occationaly play it because it has sevreal goals in my standereds and there quite hard too....

1. one of the longest and strongest storylines in GTA history.
2. Huge land for you to roam around on biggest ever.
3. somewhat good graphics.
4. 2 player mode when you can just get a buddie and roam the streets.
5.realistic ways.

If you haven't played this game then play it if you have played it and you love it buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome with a side of fun.

posted by mdcodered (CLARKSTON, MI) Nov 6, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is perfect combination of blood,vilience and weapons.From shooting up ballas to beaten them hos.This game is the most customizable in the series of gta.With the option of 2 player this may be the best multi player game with guns ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

gta rules!!

posted by skateman (EASTON MD, MD) Oct 31, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

gta sanandres is the best gta every!!!!. you can swim, fly airplanes and ride bikes and drive a lot of cool cars. The gta world in sanandres is big you can go from the city to the country.the missions are a lot of fun. this game is a must buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Grand Theft Auto:San Andreas

posted by GAMEFLIER (DUXBURY, MA) Oct 25, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is an all around fun game. The story is great graphics a good and is very challenging. This game is still very entertaining even though I have beaten it. It is somewhat like the sims because you have to feed CJ and get him excises and other things. If you want to take a break from the challenging yet fun missions you can play around with the boat load of cheats they have for the game. (Note: You should not save with cheats on they may alter the game permanently!!). I kept this game because once i started playing it I was hooked. I highly recommend this game to anyone who loves gaming and wants a game they cant beat in a week!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this is...

posted by jfkljhlfdj (ROCHESTER, NY) Jul 25, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is the best games in the (GRAND THEFT AUTO) series. you can drive planes and helicopters. you can also parachute and use a jet pack. you can ride a bike and alot of other cool stuff. you can shoot with a PISTOL,RIFLE,SHOTGUN,UZI,- HANDGUN,REVOLVER and alot more. you can drive a BOAT,PLANE,CAR,POLICE CAR,FIRETRUCK,AMBULANCE and a whole lot more. oh ya you can parachute out of a PLANE! you can also do drive by shoot outs too. you can go in your house and play VIDEO GAMES. you can play basketball to. so if you get this game you will have soooo much fun. it the best game EVER!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An Instant Classic

posted by JAMMASTERJ (BOULDER CITY, NV) Jul 6, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Grand Theft Auto series reaches new heights with their San Andreas installment. San Andreas is simply bigger and better. It is by far the best game in the series. San Andreas brings a deeper story line to the table. In previous GTA games, the main character was not fully developed. But, in San Andreas, we get to know CJ as we take him through the game. We learn his tendencies, about his past, and ultimately the man himself.

Also, this game has a great deal of missions. It is by far the most comprehensive game to date. Not only are the main missions extensive, but the side missions bring the game even further. For the first time in GTA history, you can customize your character to your liking. CJ can visit the barber for a new hairstyle, coast into the tattoo parlor for some new ink, or even visit a number of clothing shops to pick his favorite style. One minute his can be a Grove Street Banger and the next you can have him decked out in a suit.

GTA also brings a new skill level system to the table. As you go through the game and pass missions, CJ earns respect. The more respect he earns, the bigger his rep gets. With this, CJ becomes more feared by rival gangs and more loved by his block. Then, he has an easier time recruiting soldiers for Grove Street. Not only can you have influence on your respect level, but you can develop your driving skills. As you drive cars, motorcycles, bmx bikes, and planes...your skill in the specific vehicle will increase. As it does, you receive better handling and reaction time. CJ can also influence his appeal by dating girls and satisfying prostitutes. CJ also can develop his body. As you play the game, CJ can visit the gym to build his muscles or stamina.

Never fear, San Andreas is loaded with more weapons than ever before. And, CJ must develop his skill with the firearms as well. The better he gets the better guns he can receive.

Also, GTA finally visits Las Vegas, calling it Las Venturas. But, still the Strip lives!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

greatestgame

posted by ogforever (BROCKTON, MA) Jul 5, 2006

Member since Aug 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

gta san andreas is the greatest action game ever nothing even god of war matches up to it every where i go gta san andreas gets a 10 im still playing today who isnt ha ah

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games ever!

posted by cartman (TEWKSBURY, MA) Jun 25, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best games ever because you get hooked to it and you chan't stop playing it! The missions are really fun to. They can be challenging or easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BAD ASSE

posted by PimpjockAH (SPRING, TX) Apr 12, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

this gta is probably the best you get pimp cars dress yourself have more then 30 homes alot of weapons if GTA IV didnt come out this would still be the best gta but i still dont about gta iv

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Of The Series

posted by raider102 (SMOAKS, SC) Jun 1, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

19 out of 23 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game has taken it above what is expected,
1. Longer Storyline
2. Better & Stronger Gameplay
3. More Cities To Explore
4. More In-Depth Characters
and many more. If you have played the past GTA games you must get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Keep It Up, GTA

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) May 4, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Still another great GTA game! CJ was a cool character determined to clean up his life (at least a little). After being framed by 2 bent cops for killing another cop, CJ sets out to prove his innocence and find who killed his mother. His best friends have stabbed him in the back and new friends become his strongest allies. I also like that there was a character with a disability added (Woozie). I myself am disabled. It was neat that it was three cities instead of one city divided by bridges and tunnels. Flying was easier and there were more cars to choose from and cars could be modified with new wheels, side skirts, spoilers, and more. The only part I HATED was the driving school, flight school, and other schools. I don't play games to be `tested`!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Young gangsta

posted by 123321 (LERNA, IL) Aug 5, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is easily my favorite game out in the world right now, and you'll see why. Killing people are fun, and if that ain't enough, then hijack a car and take a spin around your new world. Graphics have improved alot, and you can actually swim in the water unlike previous gta titles, many more guns are featured, and there's an actual variety of vehicles to hijack. If this don't get yu jacked up, than the real life-like terms have finally been fit into this game. Hopefully, you'll enjoy this game and take it in as your favorite game out there in the gaming world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

so freakin awesome

posted by hq4579 (TULSA, OK) Jul 3, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

its the best game ive ever freaking played its awesome dont rent any others this game is the bomb so freak all the others

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING

posted by CHOAS83rd (WESLEY CHAPEL, FL) Apr 2, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

THERE IS A GREAT STORYLINE
GOOD CHARACTERS
FUN WEAPONS
VERY REALISTIC AND UNRERALISTIC AT THE SAME TIME

THIS IS A GREAT GAME IF U LIKE SHOOTING PEOPLE
AND IF U HAVE ALOT OF ANGER BUILT UP INSIDE U

TO HAVE FUN IN THIS GAME U NEED CHEATS WITHOUT THAT
THIS GAME WOULD BE VERY BORING lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Endless

posted by killerkiss (NEWARK, NJ) Apr 12, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2006

18 out of 25 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

My review title is a perfect world to describe this game...Endless...because you have so much to do in this game! You will spend days and nights going around the vast world of San Andreas. I finished this game over a year ago and yet I still pop it in and keep playing it. It's replay value is impressive!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Swell

posted by Soojaganoo (Los Angeles, CA) May 4, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I love this game on almost every aspect. There are a couple missions that are lame, ie: Shooting the radio control planes on the roof. And some other ones that require you do do training that is far too time consuming to progress in the game. Such as having a certain breathing capacity. And no, for some reason you can't just use the infinite breath cheat and play on. You can't get the missions unless you train it, which sucks. BUT like all other GTA's there is and endless variety of mayhem to cause and fun to have. Also, the loading screens between isladns are a thing of the past. I highly recomend this game. But be ready for parts that will get you really ticked off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever IN GTA HISTORY

posted by gflyer (Clovis, CA) Apr 7, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

grand theft auto sanandreas is the best game ever in history.you could do about anything.and i would give up every game in the world just to play it every day.and the cheat codes make the game even better.and anyone who doesnot like this game must have no game experence and must play the most girlest games ever.and the story isa great add to the game.and you get to buy your own clothes and houses.and you can get money for flips in the car whene you enter the cars can fly cheat.and you get to play basketball and classic video games.and you can about any gun you want.and you get to design your guys hair.and you can get taxies to quads and you get to drive boats and make cars float on water.and you can play songs from your cd's whene you a car or motercycle.i highly reckemend this game cause ITS THE BEST GAME IN HISTORY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Never ending fun

posted by Sarene (FRESNO, CA) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

16 out of 25 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Here is my short but sweet review:

positives:
~The storyline is interesting and compelling
~The vast amount of things you can do always keep you interested
~Huge amounts of minigames help splice up the levels
~The fact that you ACTUALLY level up your character is simply awesome
~yay! The character finally knows how to swim!
~Huge, attractive map with obvious, yet hilarious references to real cities
~multiplayer fun stuff!
~gang territories are fun to steal

negatives:
~The Z missions are extremely difficult [flying toy planes around, ugh]
~It feels as if this addition to the series was a cash cow milking off the media's current obsession of street culture and glorifying ghettos and gang activity
~ maybe a wider selection of vehicles and weapons?
~the jet pack is probably the silliest thing I've ever seen

overall, a great addition to the series, and I'm overwhelmingly pleased with the upgrades in gameplay and realism.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse