Rent Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories for PS2
view large frontback

Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games
GF Rating
6.6

2220 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very fun game

posted by Roadhog (YAKIMA, WA) Jul 3, 2006

Member since Dec 2003

17 out of 19 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

If you liked Gta III you will love this game. It has new cars, motorcycles, new missions. and a lot of things to do. You will be busy for days. The only draw back is that its the same game engine as III. And there is no airplane in this one that you fly. Overall very good!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Great Value for the Money

posted by DaClint (MANHATTAN, IL) Jun 16, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

24 out of 28 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories for the PS2 is a great value. It's like an enhanced version of GTA 3 for $20. It's like GTA 3 but includes a couple more radio stations, motorcycles, more guns, and your character talks. It includes most of the things you expect from a GTA game: free-roaming, carjacking, side missions, fun storyline missions, cops, and many more things. But this game lacks some things found in the newer games (Vice City and San Andreas) like buying property, recruiting gang members, pedal bikes, the ability to rob stores, dating, and some other things. One thing I liked better in GTA 3 than in this game is in GTA 3, your character is a new guy trying to make it and earn respect. In this game, your guy is cocky and can get annoying in some cut-scenes because he thinks he's "all-that," even in the first missions. Still for $20, it's a great game, especially if you do not own a PSP. The graphics aren't that great, but are still decent. And at least the loads times are fast. I recommend this game for someone new to GTA games or a big GTA fan. Remember, you do lack somethings in this game, so some people might prefer getting Grand Theft Auto: Vice City or Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas, which is also $20 each at this time. A note to parents that this game does have blood, swearing, and violence, but it's nowhere near as bad as Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas. I teens or even "tweens" should be able to handle this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cipriani's Return Is Awesome

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Jun 17, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Although this was a shorter storyline than the other GTA games since GTA3, it was a fabulous game! My only question is this: why wasn't Madsen brough back as Cipriani? There should have been a few more side missions (aside from races), but this is still a great game! I am pleased that I ended up buying it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Gotta Check it Out

posted by Cody21441 (LINTHICUM, MD) Jun 25, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Alot of people are bagging on this game because it doesn't have all the great features like San And. but this game wasn't going to be the next GTA if you get what I'm saying. They just put it out so that we could enjoy the saris and not think that you had to have a PSP to play this game. So don't knock it because it isn't as good as the last GTA. This Game is very good in its entirety, you play as someone, you steal cars, you shoot people, you have fun. It has a good story line. Your Tony C. and your getting back into Liberty City getting your feet wet in some crime. Its a good game to rent, you'll enjoy it and send it back. Buts its definitely something you should check out for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Talk about a flashback, man

posted by wandarut (EAGLE GROVE, IA) Jun 24, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Every corner you take; Every street you go down; you'll say, "I remember a mission in that spot on GTA III! It's a blast racing down the still familiar streets of Liberty City again. The gameplay is great, the game mechanics are pleasantly familiar, and, of course, this is home, after all. I highly recommend this game to any fan of the sreies, no matter how remotely interested they may be, and for 20 bucks, you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

EVERYONE WHO HATES THIS GAME READ!!!!!!

posted by Gangsta (NEW YORK, NY) Jul 12, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If you hate this game you gotta understand this a port game which means nothing new just took a game from PSP and put it on PS2. This was not ment to be an upgrade what so ever so stop compairing it to SA cuz until GTA4 comes out no GTA game will be as good as SA. This is exactly why the game was 20 bucks and not 50 because its a port the graphics isnt bad just on a few things like the tail lights of cars other than that its just a brighter version of GTA 3, all the reviews I've read say worst GTA ever and the number one reason is there compairing it to other GTA that put more time into it. This is just a port and the reasons the missions are small and fast is cuz the PSP can only handle so much so stop complaining and be glad they put it out on console even if they did it for money i still bought it becuase its better to pay 20 bucks than 300 for a psp with the game. I like this game and im glad they ported it becuase I dont have a psp ad I wanted to play it even if the missions are some what short and the some of the graphics suck oh well its not supposed to be better than the other GTAs never was intended to. So stop and think about it and either play the game on PS2 or play it on PSP

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

How did this happen?

posted by teamparado (WESTFORD, MA) Jun 22, 2006

Member since Apr 2004

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game is terrible as a console title plain and simple. On PSP this game was really good and an example of what can be done with the PSP but on PS2 it doesnt hold up at all.

Graphics- The graphics are idenitcal to the PSP version complete with insane jaggies, low res textures, low poly models and a terrible frame rate. It doesnt make any sense, this game looks worse then GTA3 and it has a worse frame rate.

Sound- The sound is good, classic GTA but the radio stations dont have the same kind of effort its console cousins do. Voice acting is decent.

Gameplay/Control- If you have played GTA you know what your getting into. The only problem is the horrible frame rate interferes.

Overall- If you own a PSP get this game and play it on the go, you will love it but we all expect more from our PS2 even for $20.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nothing at the end

posted by devinS (GRESHAM, OR) Jun 13, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2003

14 out of 25 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This was a good one. I liked how it was a revisit, it was nice to see liberty city again. It seemed to have better graphics, and textured than gta 3. It still is the same thing as the other gta's, with the same elements and engine. This one doesent have a good soundtrack, i think vice city has the best soundtrack out of all of them.

The thing is, the story missions are very good, but after you beat it, there is nothing to do at all, but just drive around. I like all the nice costumes you get.

I think this one is more humorous and funny than the other ones, for some reason. I like all the different kinds of characters you work for, and i like all the revisiting ones too.

This game is all pretty good, but there is nothing to do after you beat the storyline, its almost like your finished with the game right then. And all the payphones dont have missions, they are all just racing, nothing more. And just blowing up cars, and killing pedestrians, and causing some destruction gets very old. Like it has been from the past few sequels, the same old stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ha Ha.... No...

posted by darkarchon (VACAVILLE, CA) Jun 15, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

For such a good franchise, Liberty City Stories is a terrible game. It's got the replay value I love about GTA, but the storyline was so weak I wouldn't want to play it again. Rockstar could have easily added more missions to this game which would have made it instantly better. I'm sorry but this game was terrible. 5 for replay though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Same as PSP

posted by PlayBizzle (SANTA ROSA, CA) Jun 7, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

15 out of 28 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

well it may be the same but i still give it a 10 because the GTA series is the best out there even tho they should have waited a bit and added some things this is still a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories is the BOMB

posted by Footballer (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) Jul 25, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

All of those Grand Theft Auto fans out there, You should Play Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories is the BOMB!!! I personally Love Grand Theft Auto Games. Especially Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories!! Me and My brother Chris Could not stop playing this Game. It was as if the Game Stole Our Hearts. That's how GREAT It is. So GTA Fans get Off that Couch and Buy Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories right now!!! If I loved it you will 2. If you Buy/Rent this Game from GAMEFLY make sure to leave a Rating and a review of what YOU think of Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories if You really Liked This Game. This is Footballer saying Good- Bye

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The worst of LCS!

posted by guffeylang (DES MOINES, IA) Jan 1, 2007

Member since May 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful



Liberty City has seen its share of stories. But none as seismic as this. One-time well-positioned mobster Toni Cipriani was forced into hiding after murdering a made man. Now Cipriani's back and in search of redemption. The Liberty City he's returned to is in shambles, with rival mobsters, corrupt politicians, and striking unions engaged in a ruthless struggle for control. Experience the grit and grime of Liberty City like never before as GTA: Liberty City Stories leaps from the PSP to the PS2. Steal cars, escape from cops, and maneuver through a vast underworld as you slowly seize the town by the throat.

Codes
Enter these during gameplay UP, SQUARE, SQUARE, DOWN, LEFT, SQUARE, SQUARE, RIGHT Weapon set 1
UP, CIRCLE, CIRCLE, DOWN, LEFT, CIRCLE, CIRCLE, RIGHT Weapon set 2
UP, X, X, DOWN, LEFT, X, X, RIGHT Weapon set 3
L1, R1, TRIANGLE, L1, R1, CIRCLE, L1, R1 Money Cheat ($250,000)
L1, R1, CIRCLE, L1, R1, X, L1, R1 Full Armor (Blue Bar)
L1, R1, X, L1, R1, SQUARE, L1, R1 Full Health (Red Bar)
L1, R1, SQUARE, L1, R1, TRIANGLE, L1, R1 Raise Wanted Level
L1, L1, TRIANGLE, R1, R1, X, SQUARE, CIRCLE Never Wanted
CIRCLE, X, DOWN, CIRCLE, X, UP, L1, L1 Cars Drive On Water
X, X, R1, CIRCLE, CIRCLE, L1, TRIANGLE, TRIANGLE White Cars
CIRCLE, CIRCLE, R1, TRIANGLE, TRIANGLE, L1, SQUARE, SQUARE Black Cars
L1, UP, RIGHT, R1, TRIANGLE, SQUARE, DOWN, X Raise Media Attention
TRIANGLE, CIRCLE, DOWN, TRIANGLE, CIRCLE, UP, L1, L1 Spawn Trashmaster
L1, L1, LEFT, L1, L1, RIGHT, SQUARE, TRIANGLE Random Ped Outfit
L1, L1, CIRCLE, R1, R1, SQUARE, TRIANGLE, X Sunny Weather
UP, DOWN, CIRCLE, UP, DOWN, SQUARE, L1, R1 Clear Weather
UP, DOWN, X, UP, DOWN, TRIANGLE, L1, R1 Overcast Weather
UP, DOWN, SQUARE, UP, DOWN, CIRCLE, L1, R1 Rainy Weather
UP, DOWN, TRIANGLE, UP, DOWN, X, L1, R1 Foggy Weather
L1, L1, LEFT, L1, L1, RIGHT, TRIANGLE, CIRCLE Spawn Rhino
L1, L1, LEFT, L1, L1, RIGHT, CIRCLE, X Faster Clock

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One word PERFECT!

posted by Gamewinner (MARKSVILLE, LA) Jul 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a great game for PS2. It is the best game I have ever rented. It is a great game for people who love action/adventure, fighting, and shooting games or if they want to play the game and they cant afford a PSP. It is also only $20 for the PS2 than it is for PSP for $40

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

buy it if you don't have a PSP

posted by shorty (WICHITA FALLS, TX) Jun 21, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I personally thought that this was a good game for the PSP, and later on I finally saw that it was on the PS2, i borrowed it from a friend and played it for a while, but it felt all to the same like the one on the PSP and GTA3. I would only recommend this for people who don't have a PSP and really want to play it. overall, so so. 7/10 for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worst GTA Ever!!!!

posted by JJDoom (CYPRESS, CA) Jun 9, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

11 out of 26 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

This is by far, the worst Grand Theft Auto game I've played since the London game. I know that this game is a port, but why did the graphics get worse in the cross-over? These graphics are horrible by GTA standards. I'm playing on a brand-spanking new HDTV, and I could barley see a thing on screen, with the brightness for the game and my T.V. turned up. The car handling is horrendous, the missions make me feel like I'm doing second grade math (that means they're easy and pointless to anyone out of the second grade), and just the feel of the game is just wrong. I feel that Rockstar really dropped the ball with this game. The controls feel a little off as well. Not as bad as some games, but not good, either. Now, that's just my opinion. Take it for what you will.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GTA Liberty City Stories is much better than gta3

posted by Bspade18 (PARLIN, NJ) Jun 14, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

GtA Liberty city stories is a great game if you do not own it for the PSP. Some of the different things
that are in the game that was not in gta 3 are missions, Certain bridges are not built, cheats, stores, radio stations, songs, and finally supporting characters. Now if you did play the PSP
version then you are going to be doing the same thing in the PS2 version. Finally the most important thing is that it is $20.00 in America.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not so good

posted by bornmaster (MAPLEWOOD, MN) Jun 7, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

7 out of 20 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

i always have been a fan of gta but come on its like bring us back to vice city same game it gets really boring yeah its fun for like an hour but all you do is the same thing over and over again its to repetitive they have to add more things its always the same gta just a different name

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

at first stunk..but i like it after all

posted by hollywoodj (COLONIA, NJ) Jun 23, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

well at first iw as like "this is the fourth game technically of gta and this stinks" but after playing i found it kinda funny and fun to play..now do not mistake that for me saying ebtter then the last two gta's cause that would be wrong. ntohing comparable to vice city or san andreas..but it will do to pass time before next one
as far as new things..there is nothign new that is really that noticable

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great but could be better....

posted by EARULES (VALLEJO, CA) Jun 11, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i liked the game but the fact there is no flyable helicopters really no good bikes and the same old cars that r a little different and have different names... other than that its a great game that i would recommened to everyone who likes the GTA series and even people who dont.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What's So Different?

posted by ISpikeI (TUCSON, AZ) Jun 6, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I have the PSP version of this game, but what I am wondering is if this game has anything different ( New Cars, Missions, etc. ). I'm just want to know if it's worth checking out, cause I don't wanna miss anything. [My rating is based on the PSP Version].

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this looks awesome

posted by Knuxsfist (DAVISVILLE, WV) Jun 6, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 29 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This game is probably better than Vice City,3,and San Andreas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

hot

posted by gamehacked (OZONE PARK, NY) Jun 7, 2006

Member since Nov 2003

1 out of 13 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

this game is hot i preordered it and now its mad fun go buy it its gangsta,your like relivin the world of pt.3 its mad cool,go cop a copy of liberty city

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

grand theft auto

posted by lovebug32 (MACHESNEY PARK, IL) Jul 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I have it played the game at all. I seen the videos there cool it is just like gta 3 or 4. I wont to play the game win i git the game. I now win I git the game I will play it win i git it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good and better than the PSP version

posted by Dukesfan (CYPRESS, TX) Apr 3, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

It's like the PSP version, only better. It's very fun, and I want to purchase it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!

posted by portals97 (CAMDENTON, MO) Mar 4, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I love the storyline and all the vehicles are nice. But I would like if there was more money when you complete a mission. Other than that, the game is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse