Rent Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories for PSP Games
view large frontback

Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
8.1

3468 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good considering

posted by Slappy (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 8, 2006

Member since May 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is actually not bad considering its on the PSP. It has a lot of features and the gameplay is classic GTA , its good! This game looks and plays really good and is fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of PSPs Best

posted by Spagball (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 14, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2004

14 out of 21 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game has really set a high benchmark for the PSP platform. Like all in the GTA series this game has infinite replayability. If you are at all familiar with GTA I don't think much more needs to be said about this PSP version. If you are a fan and own a PSP, you probably already own this. If you don't I bet dollars to donuts you eventually will. I highly recommend this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

How is this a 10?

posted by Weeble (TACOMA, WA) Jul 26, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

19 out of 29 gamers (66%) found this review helpful

There is some conspiracy. As soon as Rockstar puts out another iteration of the GTA franchise, people automatically give it a 10. This is not terrible but far from a 10. I am sorry. And I am a huge fan up until San Andreas, the gangster hip hop, rap thug, drive by simulator setting back African Americans 400 years into a trite stereo typing insult.
GTALCS is a fair adaptation to a portable but the already wonky controls are even more maddening now because of the lack of a 2nd analogue stick. Missions range from the usual escort, make a hit, to just plain impossible to even begin thinking about completing the mission.
At least our man has name this time Tony Ciprioti, I don't remember how its spelled and don't care. This is just a rip off of GTA 3 ported down, albeit quite fun in many ways, but also gets old fast...we've been here before. You can make your own radio station with your own music via your memory stick, that's pretty cool. But really this is not anything near as good as Vice City and GTA 3. Rent it for some good 'ol "I remember this part of town" fun, but save your money for a game that doesn't feel like a re-run.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

YEah yeah

posted by Josh342 (WESTBURY, NY) Aug 22, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I bought this game with my psp, still didnt beat it cause its hella long, its worth your money just like any other GTA
besides the DOwnfall of The GTA series with the release of San Andreas which sucked major palls... But this game is worth checking out if you havent already.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GTA for PSP may be good but not excellent.

posted by Luigi360DS (NORTH HILLS, CA) Jul 6, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

First off, you may think that this game is the best you can get for PSP just because it has the 'Grand Theft Auto' logo on the box. While it is good, it really isn't the best.

The game has an alright story with some pretty to very fun missions. It has alot of things from console GTAs like all the weapons and everything. While the game has excellent graphics, the framerate can get very choppy making the gameplay pretty slow. Another thing I found wrong with the game was that it has unbalnced difficulty. In one mission all I had to do was drop someone off somewhere and in the next mission I had to rescue some guys from a police stand-off. As soon as I got the guys in my getaway car, the cops put chains on the floor, and rammed my vehicle with all they had. It took me like 20 tries to get past that mission, and it was towards the beggining.

Overall, I think this game is a really good buy, if you could get past the slow framerate, glitches, and the unbalanced difficulty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Okay title

posted by Showtime (TEHACHAPI, CA) May 13, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Since the psp lacks many powerful titles, the gta series for the psp is quite enjoyable. The difficulty of the game is much more intense than the console versions of grand theft auto, and the game gets very repetitive very fast. Not the best game for psp in my opinion but one of the good ones.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Can be good or bad. depends on how you use it.

posted by sedition (DERRY, NH) Jun 6, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong, this is a great game. But it has flaws. good and bad flaws. Some of the bad flaws are... since there's no right analouge stick theres no manual aim. EXCEPT on the sniper and rocket launcher. Also there's lot's of small glitches like cars sink into the ground and people spin in circles and some other small barely noticed stuff. The good is that you can download a major "glitch" at maxbot . com it is called the "CheatDevice" and gives you the full power to customize your world. You can get heilcoptors,flying cars,motorcycles that drive on walls and flood the world then drive on that!!! plus the story line is mildly detailed and fun. I logged 8 hrs. before I beat it. then the "cheatdevice gives you endless hours of joy. plus to top all that the world is fairly large and the driving phsyics are good to. in comparisin to other psp games this is the greatest one yet. P.S. IF YOU USE THE CHEATDEVICE MAKE 2 SAVES OF YOUR GAME AND ONLY USE THE CHEATDEVICE ON ONE BECAUSE THE CHEATDEVICE CAN TEMPORRALY CORRUPT YOUR SAVE. BUT ONLY TIL YOU TURN OFF YOUR PSP. ALSO IF YOU HAVE THE LATEST 2.7 UPDATE THE CHEATDEVICE WILL NOT WORK.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Grand Theft Auto III Reincarnated

posted by TheAuracle (MELBOURNE, FL) Jun 24, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Rockstar has to be the most consistent game developer around... 'Liberty City Stories' is a Godsend, not only bewitching GTA heads everywhere, but successfully showing the power and prowess of the Playstation Portable. From the look and feel of the game to the amazing sound quality, including the soundtrack (The Liberty Jam feat. DJ Clue is my favourite radio station in the game, giving hip-hop classics one last spin. R.I.P. Hip-Hop), 'Stories' will have you buying a lot more Visine that you ever thought you'd need. Apart of the many pluses this "go anywhere, do anything" game has is that this IS your daddy's Liberty City. Keeping the same burroughs, GTA III fans will instantly recognize certain landmarks and will have fun pointing out the "renovations" of select areas GTA III proudly boasted. Also, motorbikes gallore! Rockstar takes pride in making a video game that doesn't push the envelope, but rather cremates the whole thing all together. With the addition of 'Stories' to a seriously volitile series, though it may be a mini version of the console powerhouse, Rockstar continues to pop it's collar, forcing imitators to bow down yet again. If you have a PSP, you'd be clinically insane if you didn't go out and get this game. Even if you don't have a PSP and you only know someone that has one and you have to ask play every now and again, tell the owner to stop being an idiot and get Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories. All hail the best PSP game to date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun game on the go

posted by beachbabe (NEW YORK, NY) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was challenging and fun on the PSP.Very good graphics and sounds compared to other games.But I feel like the levels are too tough on this small packages.For those who can tackle past the games on other console,this might not be too tough for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Liberty City Stories is just good, not great

posted by jimrusso42 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) May 27, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying that I love the GTA series. I have been hooked since GTA III and usually pre-order every new one. They are a ton of fun, challenging, and keep you busy for endless hours if you want to get 100% completion. While each previous title has had its benefits and drawbacks, I can't say that I am overwhelmingly pleased with Liberty City Stories (LCS).
I am happy that GTA has made it to the PSP. But, GTA in any form is not necessarily a good thing. The lack of a second analog stick to move the camera around almost totally destroys the abilities of this game. This problem could be solved if the targeting system were better. As anyone who has ever played a GTA game knows, the targeting system is terrible. When you can't target the guy, standing 3 ft. away, shooting you with the AK-47, just outside of the camera angle, but instead target the policeman inside the camera angle who then begins to shoot you, or the person walking by who then starts beating you with a bat, you know there is a problem. Using the PSP analog stick to drive and move is hard at first but you get used to it...eventually. Missions are sometimes so ridiculously hard that it takes all my self-control to not smash my PSP into a million pieces. But that is typical of any GTA game.
All of these things aside, LCS is still a good game. There are few more rewarding things in video games than having an almost completely free ability to go anywhere, do anything, steal everything, and kill anyone in a variety of ways. The missions are challenging (if sometimes impossibly)and fun. The cut scenes have beautiful cinematics. The fun factor is at least a 9, maybe a 10. You will spend many hours trying to do everything.
If you love the GTA series, then you will like this game. It could be better, but the PSP is still new and game developers are going to need some time to make games that push it to its limits. Hopefully the next GTA will be an improvement on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is one of the best games for the psp

posted by gamerboy13 (Hollywood, FL) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best games I have played on my psp, it is also better then gta san andreas and especially it is on the go so you don't have to sit at home on your couch and play it you can play it any time you want.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST GAME FOR PSP!!!!!!!

posted by MichaelS (SEDONA, AZ) Apr 22, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This was the best games I have played, it has multiple story lines which I LOVED!!! It made it so if 1 mission was to hard I could do something
else

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Really, really bad.

posted by pepper5471 (DALLAS, TX) Jul 27, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

The game is really, really bad. If you were like me thinking that the islands were all three games put in one its not........there's no airplanes ,not enough cheats and if u do do cheats don't save....i did like 20 cheats for ammo and other stuff and i saved the game and when i played it froze on me an i had to start the whole entire game again.....Bye ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game didn't work

posted by superflykid89 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Apr 7, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

i put this game in my psp and it didn't work so i will have to buy this game because it didn't work on my psp so i hope the next psp game work i know i'm rent use game but i want to try them so hopeful the other psp games work on here ok.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Psp Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories

posted by vandykes4 (THOMASBORO, IL) Aug 18, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

A fun and easy game for teens who like games with violence and grand theft. I recomend this game for mature kids. playing this game could teach ou a bit about driving too. Rent this game to find out how fun it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game

posted by Dukesfan (CYPRESS, TX) Feb 22, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

It took me two days to complete the story mode (70 missions). The boat fight rocked, and the minigun was unbelieveable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GTA

posted by madeen (BRIDGEPORT, CT) Nov 1, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

the game was pretty good in all but,the people look like a player in mindcraft so all you GTA lovers get this game it's pretty good but,that's my opinion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

wish I could

posted by gangstergamer (LANCASTER, CA) Oct 29, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

This review may not be as helpful to most viewers because the game did not work. Sorry

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best game Ive played

posted by steeler45pack (LONG BEACH, CA) Oct 16, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I think that this game is action packed with explosions. girls, cars, and more.I like this game because the missions aren't as long as other games and I like how they let you free roam the city. If your a person who loves to make mayhem, this is the best game for you. Hop you like the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Won't work.

posted by Donny1962 (HOPEDALE, OH) Sep 15, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

I went to play this game on my psp and it got to the loading screen and told me that there was an error reading the disc. I tried again (six times mind you) and it still didn't work. My psp was at ver6.2. Which is up to date so I don't see what the problem is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

grand theft auto lc

posted by adan21 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) May 21, 2011

Member since May 2011

liberty city is amazing not the best graphics but the gameplay is auesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

liberty stories is really fun

posted by mjc529 (RICHMOND HILL, GA) Jul 10, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

the game letting you do what you want helped make it fun.thats what makes the whole gta series fun.but that does get boring after a while.missions are okay and graphics,killing yourself may be funny at first.other than that the game is a should rent game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

HATEFUL CONTROLS

posted by clintonk (SAN MARCOS, CA) Sep 14, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

This game didn't translate well to the smaller port. Shooting was frusterating, slow load times were brutal. It LOOKS just like GTA but doesn't feel like it at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GTA Liberty City Stories

posted by timberman (TAMPA, FL) Sep 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

This is a very good game like many in the GTA series. There is only one thing the graphics. In GTA 4 the graphics are amazing the car are so real but hear it is like a little kid drew them. The car are not smooth they are more like boxes. No offense to the makers because they have been giving us some of the most graphical games ever made but the game is made on a PSP or play station portable in a hand held device you should not expect the graphic to be as good as a xbox 360 or a PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great

posted by greenman30 (CONYERS, GA) May 28, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

for a hand held it rather surprised me in how much content was in the game. if you liked the series youll love this one to

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse