Rent Grand Theft Auto IV for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Grand Theft Auto IV

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $19.99

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.4

29287 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best one yet!!!

posted by micdanchris Jun 17, 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

No this game is far from perfect and has allot of glitches but this is by far the best Grand Theft Auto yet. and yes i'm aware Grand Theft Auto V has better score from everyone else but IV will stand out as the best so far frome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Grand theft auto

posted by NateDogg315 (WEST MONROE, NY) Nov 19, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

i wasnt able to play this game.
It was scratched to bad to play it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Okay game

posted by tymmac007 (DREXEL HILL, PA) Nov 6, 2013

Member since Aug 2010

I agree with kronicuser, I just got done finishing Sleeping Dogs before I got GTA 5 and I'm not real impressed with this new GTA. Sleeping Dogs had a way more interesting story, and it just played a lot more smoothly. GTA seems more forced, and for whatever reason, the text on the screen is very blurry and hard to read. I thought GTA IV was a bit of a disappointment too but maybe these games are just going downhill from here. Maybe Rockstar needs to ditch the GTA format and go more in the Red Dead Redemption route.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game but not great

posted by Ashton79 (MERIDIAN, MS) Sep 26, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This is a good game besides the glitches while driving the road starts to disappear at top speed and the aiming ain't too good either. But besides that one the best GTA games I have played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

History making game!!

posted by nananotbatman (WALKER, LA) Sep 7, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

This game is from a long line of games that really marked generation gaming. this one was truly history making in its own way. overall this game will always be one of the best in many ways.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i want to play this game

posted by ehkusay123 Aug 8, 2013

i like this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sexy

posted by shadow1312 (BURLINGTON, WI) Jul 29, 2013

Member since May 2012

SEXY GAME!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Open World Games Will Not Be The Same...

posted by TheGameShark (LACOMBE, LA) Jun 1, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Let me start this review by saying I've had GTA IV for weeks, and I haven't fully discovered everything within the borders of Liberty City. I guess I know how it got the name, beacuse the liberty it grants the player is amazing. It is packed to the brim with side missions, secrets, interesting locations, and a certain sense of charming humor only a GTA game could bring. Even though that seems great, it gets even better. A 30+ hour story will keep you locked, and the colorful characters you meet along the way (who can get annoying and have hit-and-miss voice acting sometimes.) will keep your focus away from the more tedious missions. The graphics were great...... for it's time. It still looks good, with a couple of odd textures, but just don't expect Watch Dogs from this game. On gameplay standards, the gunplay is solid, with a n okay cover system, and a slew of weapons and vehicles. Multiplayer is a welcome addition, with online free roam where it can be you and some strangers blowing each other up, or you and a friend having high speed adventures. Basically, the single player campaign but even MORE chaotic, and in my opinion, more fun. This rounds off a stellar package that no one should miss. Don't be surprised at all the awards on its record. It deserves all of them, and that's why I give GTA IV a 9 OUT OF 10. Someone should call Gordon Freeman, beccause you'll need a crowbar to pry me away from my controller after this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

grand theft auto iv

posted by markharo (PATTERSON, CA) May 26, 2013

Member since May 2013

best game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

get it

posted by kiely (SOUTHLAKE, TX) May 18, 2013

Member since May 2013

get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

LOL

posted by kronicuser (SAINT PETERS, MO) May 17, 2013

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I wanna say if you haven't played Sleeping Dogs pick that up, its the same gameplay as GTA but they do everything better. My main problem with this game really only one but its so huge it just pushes the game to fail....Okay if you make a game where about 70% of the game is driving...you should make driving fun not horrible. if you press down the gas for about 10 seconds and need to make a turn coming up you better slam your breaks to almost a stop. I bought this and really wish I didnt

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

its awsome

posted by kingddd23 (SAINT PAUL, MN) May 15, 2013

Member since May 2013

I got the game and it awesome because killing people become like a cop do all that cool stuff

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Interesting Game

posted by Djfenix_JCR (COCKEYSVILLE, MD) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

i Just finished it in both alternative ways, but it's sad that or either Kate or Roman Died at the end. still can believe there is no way to save them. but i was a real adventure playing it now time to get the achievements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very awesome

posted by Adam24148 (RIDGEWAY, VA) Mar 20, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This is a great game I could sit here and play the game for hours. There are plenty of things I could tell you about this game. If you haven't played this game and don't want anything from game don't read any further.

. This game has great graphics
.this game has a great story

MAIN PEOPLE
Niko Bellic
Roman Bellic
Jacob
Brucie
Michelle you find out she's a cop

Overall this's is a awesome game. Rockstar did a great job on this game.
If you like this game don't forget to pre order grand theft auto 5 coming out September 17 2013

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best gta ever made

posted by MeRaReFoRm (BATON ROUGE, LA) Mar 7, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

this is the best gta ever made.. i love how bogt and tlad storylines plays into this storyline.. u have to beat all 3 versions with the diff caracters to know what happened to the diamonds..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

GTA Over and Over

posted by ProfPlum (PORTLAND, OR) Feb 7, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Pretty much the same game it always has been. The accents are super annoying and I don't even think they hired real russians to do it. Graphics are lackluster, I expected with all the breakthroughs in graphic tech they would have improved. Well. They didn't. Very choppy. The driving is still horrible, it seems they will never get breaking down right.

All in all, typical GTA game. Thank God for open maps, the games only saving grace.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

gta iv

posted by buddy095462 (POPLAR BLUFF, MO) Feb 5, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

the game is very cool, playing on multiplayer mode (free mode).

once you beat the game you can do any thing with niko bellic
i heard that you can do cheats and mods on there it is very cool AWESOME GAME!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

C'mon Man???

posted by Mr_McSkee (RENTON, WA) Feb 4, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Really nothing spectacular. it is the same as all the other GTA games. Nothing special. Switch it up ladies and gents. Try to figure it out and make it more compelling and captivating. Its the "Same old stuff, Just a Different Game".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love GTA

posted by Roseyard (SPOKANE, WA) Jan 17, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

When I first played this Game i was blown away. I love it best one yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rockstar does it again...

posted by desolate23 (LAWTON, OK) Jan 3, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

Once again we see Rockstar showcasing perfect game quality for every dollar you spend for this game. The game graphics are completely astounding and can ultimately prove itself as one of the greatest games of the decade as of 2000-2010 even now in 2012 it still sells rediculously fast and somethimes is difficult to obtaina copy. I recommend this game and don't let negativity of these so-called reviewers ruin the sandbox rpg gangsta like experience and fun you'll have during the whole game. Even the multiplayer is fantastic for a first-timer at making a multiplayer with this game series if you like this one you'll definetly enjoy III, II, and one and all the other games in between them and all the worth their money expansion packs and DLC's a great buy for your average gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ehh

posted by pysicallyawesom (GRANTS PASS, OR) Dec 28, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

at least its better than the episodes...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Grand Theft Auto IV. Not as good as I hoped

posted by gfra226 (LANCASTER, CA) Dec 27, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

While the graphics for this game are very realistic the game features lack from previous GTA titles. No car modding :o( No tatoos, No hair cuts, No robberies, No taxi missions, No ambulance missions, No fireman missions, ect. So far I've only found one arcade game that is playable and I mastered it in under an hour. The story line is lacking a lot also. The best part of the game was the bank robbery and it was very linear. I still haven't found any rampages either. In other words, I expected everything from previous GTA titles and a whole lot more and there was less, so it was a let down. I guess Saints Row has taken the flag for these types of games. Maybe one day GTA will reclaim it and live up to it's name again. I can only hope.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game I ever played

posted by Steelz (KENNESAW, GA) Oct 25, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Best video game ever!

You can do anything you want in it, completely a free roam game, about 10 multiplayer modes, best game ever!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

what happens after you you finsh the game

posted by justin816 (SCHAUMBURG, IL) Oct 6, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

do you get to be a cop

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awsome

posted by cooldude951 (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Sep 19, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

one of the best games ive ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse