Rent Grand Theft Auto IV for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Grand Theft Auto IV

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $19.99

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.4

29274 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Crazy Taxi with guns.

posted by joemungus (FEDERAL WAY, WA) May 7, 2008

Member since Dec 2004

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Maybe Im too old. I actually have the ability to get up off the couch and go do most of the things in this game. Yes the city is huge. Yes you can do alot of stuff. The disappointing thing is a total lack of fluidity. To me this game tries to do too many things at once. I'd rather do fewer things well than many poorly. Combat is tedious and a real bore. Shooting is lame. The physics of the vehicles is awful. Its a re worked copy of vice city. Rockstar needs a new idea. I dont buy games to go to a comedy show. Theres one in my neighborhood. Yes, we have bars and dope, too.
This game just doesnt hold my attention. Its not compelling play at all. Yawn.... I play games to be entertained. I live in a large city. We moved to the suburbs to avoid that junk. This game is for 13 year old white kids who've never been anywhere. I'm sorry, Rockstar. Its time to move on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Haters

posted by YungTo (EASTLAKE, OH) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

FOR ALL YOU PEOPLE WHO SAID GTA4 IS CORNY U SHOULD GO STAND IN FRONT OF A CAR N LET IT HIT U. THIS IS THE BEST GAME TO COME OUT, JUS LIKE REAL LIFE THEY PUT ALOT OF WORK INTO THIS GAME FOR PPL OUT HERE N THE WORLD TO BE TALKN DOWN ON IT. I DNT KNO NO GAME THAT HAS EVER BEEN BETTER DEN GTA PERIOD. ITS THE BEST GAME OUT AND ITS DA KINDA GAME IF U BEAT IT U CAN GO BACK TO IT AND PLAY SOMEMORE UNLIKE SAINTS ROW. NOT TALKN DOWN ON SAINTS ROW CUZ DATS MA GAME TO AND THE FIRST ONE WAS KINDA BETA DEN GTA N 2 NUMBER 4 CAME OUT NOW I DNT SEE A GAME BETA WE A JUS SEE WAT SAINTS ROW 2 IS ABOUT WEN IT COMES.....BUT N TO THEN ALL U HATERS TALKN DOWN ON GTA...GO STAND IN FRONT OF A TRUCK N DO US ALL A FAVOR.....

YUNG T.O out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by Truukk (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Apr 28, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Went to my friends house today, He works at ebgames, And has it. Just pure amazing. Cant wait for everyone else to play it.

It deserves a 10/10, I quit wow to play this Just like every other gta

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not So Grand. Unless you got the time.

posted by mihigamer (NEW YORK, NY) May 6, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

First off I am new to the GTA franchise. Never played one before now though I do own all three systems and play games at least an hour or two a day. So take this as a grain of salt but i wanted to give a user review from a different perspective. I really got excited seeing all the trailers and got it the day it came out but a week later I was already bored with it. I just can't get into the game. The graphics are okay (nothing on Bioshock still) but the VO is awesome (love the Jamaican guy even though I can't understand anything he says) but back to I only play an hour or two a day cause i work a lot made this game not so great because it takes time to do anything in the game. I get a call, I drive over, get shot at, die and then have to do it all over again. When you only have an hour to play you don't get much out of it. Sometimes nothing at all. So I returned it.

All in all. I think if I was still a kid and had 8 hours a day to kill this would be the holy grail but in my case since i live in NY (aka Liberty City) it was fun to see how they built it up and made it their own but the game play just doesn't fit my current situation. Maybe when I retire and there's a GTA8 that is 200 hours long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game i play on xbox 360 so far.

posted by Techdior (NEWARK, NJ) May 4, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I am not a fanboy but this has to be the best game i play on my xbox 360 so far.

That's all i have to say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Heaven

posted by Pete89 (HOLMDEL, NJ) Apr 30, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Game is just plain amazing. The graphics, the story, Niko, all the physics and fun multiplayer..GO BUY THIS GAME!!!! dont even rent it! BUY IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

People are blind......

posted by drummer416 (STRATFORD, CT) Apr 30, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 16 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

Are you kidding me? I have seen people saying that this game has the best graphics they have ever seen. Ok???? Either you are blind or your copys of the game came with better graphics then others. Nobody noticed the jagged edges????? The edges of cars, buildings, characters, the trees, telephone poles...."everything" looks like it has stairs around its edges. When you drive a car and you look ahead at the far away surroundings they are all a big blur. I have $2500 dollar, 46", 1080p, top of the line samsung hdtv. Some other games look absolutely amazing. so i know my tv is not the problem. Is everyone blinded by the fact that developers said it would have amazing graphics???? i dont get it.
The gameplay is pretty good and the story is amazing. The driving physics are a little weird. Not realistic at all. I have never seen a car wobble left to right so much while turning. Its a bit annoying and weird looking. For a next generation gta it is very disappointing. But other then that, it is the best gta so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It was a great a game but one minor problem

posted by EagleFan (YELM, WA) Dec 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I thought the game will be difficult,it wasn't difficult at all,even doin all two scenes with both villians..The graphics was awesome,especially their new vehicles love it...But the bad part was seeing at night,and especially the fog blending in...I recommend playing this game if your a grand theft auto fan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but repetitive

posted by kamesh811 (DURHAM, NC) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Cons:
- Gameplay was repetitive and long. Many missions were quite similar to previous missions, and the game just seemed to drag on. It got to the point where I kept playing because I wanted to see how the story would end, not because it kept me hooked.

Pros:
- Before it got boring, the missions were fun. Challenging enough to keep you entertained, but not difficult enough to be frustrating.

- The choice at the end of the game was a nice touch, though from what it looks like it doesn't make too much of a difference in how the game actually ends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Grand Theft Auto IV

posted by rapidfired (DELAND, FL) Apr 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is a perfect sequel to the gaming franchise. This game has a solid online multi player mode, and a vary captivating story line. Campaign never gets old and has a high replayability. I give this game a 5 out of 5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GTA4 Spoiled by fanboy reviews.

posted by dudemandud (COLUMBIA, MO) May 16, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I'm gonna make this simple and give you my perspective on the game.

Gameplay: The single player offers up to 92 missions with each lasting 2-5 mins and normally a 1-2 min cut scene. The cut scenes are the only reason why I played this game through. The first few hours of gameplay are normal gta staple of go here kill this guy. Later on you'll come across the three leaf clover mission which is easily the best in the game. 6/10 for gameplay

Graphics: Not the best on the 360 by any means but it does have it's moments. The illusion of being in a city was nice it's just too bad the gamplay was hurt in the process.

Sound: Like I said the cut scenes are the only reason why I buckled down and really gave this game a chance. The voice acting is superb to say the least. 10/10

Multiplayer: The multiplayer isn't anything new if you ever played the pc version with a few mods. Simply put it has a ton of modes/games a few of which are awesome like mafia work but for the most part it's a chore. 6/10

Replay: If achievements are your thing you'll likely be playing this game forever. If not then you should at least give the single player a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Its frickin GTA4 what did you expect?

posted by NOscoped (BEAUFORT, SC) Apr 28, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

2000 characters cannot do this game justice, and in the sapce I have to fill I cannot even begin to tell you how good this game is (like you dont know already). I haven't even finished it, in fact I am probably hours from doing so but trust me one this: For 60 bucks this game pays for itself time and time again. Oh yeah, its also probably the best game of the year bar none, butyou probably already knew that by now too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

THE Worst GTA ever.

posted by batsup288 (BIRCH RUN, MI) May 19, 2008

Member since May 2008

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

I was so hyped to play this game, I finally got to play it and I was extremely let down. ALL of the cars drive like junk. I died when from my car exploding when I wasn't even standing near it. The cars that you can get early on have NO acceleration whatsoever, they give you no options for alternately completing missions. You can't leave a nice car nearby and use it to complete certain missions, they force you to use a pos car to chase people down. The handbrake is WAY too sensitive. They completely destroyed the driving aspect of the series which ruined the game for me. I will not be buying this game like I was going to. Thank God for the ability to rent games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Big disappointment for me

posted by alienalias (YAKIMA, WA) May 19, 2008

Member since May 2008

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

GTA San Andreas is possibly my favorite XBox game of all time... I was addicted and could not stop playing. On the other hand, maybe 8 game-hours after renting GTA IV, I'm returning it.
Yes, the graphics are much better... BUT, 2 things pi$$ed me off beyond repair. Driving and running around at night. Too many things were too indistinguishable at night. I turned up the brightness on my new 52" plasma, and still too freaking dark to distinguish things. It's great that they went for the realism in this game, but when you knock out your headlight (EASY 2 do), attempting to drive in the dark is freaking asinine and ridiculous. Did anyone else drive across the bridge to complete a mission at night for Little John? Maybe run into a median because you can't see it, then go flying out of your car, get injured almost to the point of death, & have to freaking turn around & go to the burger joint to repair health. So stupidly time-consuming, & took a LOT of enjoyment from the game.
2nd- Yes, much of the physics is great, in how realistically they created reactions to your actions... i.e. shooting someone in the leg, hitting them in the car & how they roll off your hood. But the driving is a complete POS. This is the worst driving system I've ever played, & it's to the point I can't even play any more. It has basically ruined the game for me. In the name of making everything realistic, they sacrificed game play. The oversteering problem prevents you from running around like a crazy madman, running into stuff at 100 MPH, taking corners like the Dukes of Hazzard on speed... instead, gingerly taking corners, braking well in advance, and afraid to go too fast on your way to a mission, fearful that you'll hit something, fly out of your car, and have to take 5 minutes driving back to repair health. Everyone is on the jock of the idea and history of this game, with the new depth and graphics... I can't see how most don't agree that they dropped the ball on the game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good game for 20 minutes, then loses focus.

posted by Windstar (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 6, 2008

Member since May 2008

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

I thought GTA4 was awesome for the first 20 minutes, but after that it became very unfocused and started feeling like second life. I am biased as I am not a kid and actually have a life, so I do not go online to live a second one. I prefer immediate action and dramatic story from the get go and a very focused experience throghout. Call of duty 4 and 2 are exactly what i consider the benchmark for a great game. Anyhow, the online was also unfocused and terrible. All in all, Rockstar needs to learn to make the main story more focused and the action more available.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointed much

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) May 5, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 14 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Blurry graphics. Annoying control of character both on foot and in cars. Can't create your own character, but must follow through scripted story. These are the things I don't like about GTA4.

I'm glad I didn't buy this one. I am very frustrated with it after about 2 hours and am thinking of returning it soon. I own Saints Row and am much more pleased with the controls and character creation possibilities on that game. There was a lot of potential with this game, but I just think in a few important areas, they blew it.

I'm looking forward to Saint's Row 2 later this year to compare to this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Less than I Expected

posted by Newmeat (DENTON, TX) May 3, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 14 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I was so excited about this game. I spent so much time playing Vice City and San Andreas. I played each one thru several times. I dont think I will replay this one. I like the graphics. I understand there is a give and take with games. But why did they have to change the driving physics. I get so frustrated with the handbraking are the tires made of ice or what. Why not put stars to reduce wanted levels in there as well? Why not make absurd vehicles as well? I think this games takes itself too seriously. It can be funny at times but it seems to serious. Why does every mission have me killing someone. I love the new aiming. Finally something workable, but i had no problems with gta SA. I think the weapons are realistic and sound great. The city is awesome. I like this game ,but much to the dismay of my wife, I will trade this in for a different game. Am I the only person that doesn't care about multiplayer. Why does every game have multiplayer. That's not the end-all for games. bioshock had no multiplayer and it was a great game. So long from disappointed in Texas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

boring and repetitive

posted by aerophex (CENTENNIAL, CO) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

walk to point A
pick up car
drive (using horrible driving physics) to point B
pick up / pick off objective C
return to point A

rinse... repeat
driving was 1000x better in Burnout
the character walking sideways around corners was annoying.
fighting / shooting was more painful to watch than actually getting shot.

boring, glad I didn't waste anything but a rental. returned the next day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I really really wanted to like this game

posted by raywhit (GREEN LANE, PA) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

I really really wanted to like this game. I mean it got such good review and high ratings I figured this had to be a good one. In fact I first thought Dead Rising took a bit to get rolling but I stuck with it and it turned out to be mt favorite game ever.

That said I played this for maybe 10 hours and I just don't get it. You drive forever (not a fun chase just boring driving around) to get to the start of a mission where you then get, you guessed it drive around some more, to what, take a girl bowling (though you don't really bowl much) or maybe you get get into a little scrap with some bad guys, then guess what you get to drive around some more to complete the mission.

Maybe I'll give this one another try sometime but there are too many good games out there right now I'm dieing to try, Fable II and Gears of War 2 to name just a couple.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Looking past the hype, and into a game gone bad!!!

posted by Patrick52 (HENDERSON, NV) Apr 30, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

11 out of 45 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

I'm sorry but so far I'm totaly disappointed with GTA 4, I've been looking forward to this stupid game for 2 years now listening to all the updates and counting the minutes, and what do I get a poor excuse for what I was expecting to be the best game I had ever (or would ever) play. Garbage controls that feel like your driving a dune buggy on a solid sheet of ice, graphics that Rockstar said would be supreme and in fact took out the whole gain-loose weight aspect, to help because they didn't want it affecting the games graphics at all.... I still see arms disappearing into they torso!!! No planes!!! No responding to NPC's!!! And the freaking best part of all the multiplayer won't work for the life of me, I've heard all of the PS3 problems but no one is addressing the fact that the Xbox won't load up games either, or at least not for me!
It severely pains me to have to say this but I believe that this was a waste of my money and I wish that I would have rented it instead of trusting Rockstar and buying it last night at midnight!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Same dang game and then they crapped on it

posted by crazyone (CANTON, OH) May 7, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

5 out of 21 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

only thing different is the story, driving physics, and graphics and the only thing that's not a POS is the graphics. That isn't even up to par with the games released last year. The driving physics of the previous games are what made the high speed chases with the cops fun. Now when the cops are after me I'd rather shoot it out and even those physics got screwed the only good part is grabbing cover. The story is just boring day to day life of a cool fiegener with a loser cousin that he has to clean up after. The friends are the worst. You do a series of missions for a character and then u gotta hang out with them constantly or they start to "miss" you...not strait. I paid for GTA not a man on man dating sim. I WANT MY MONEY BACK!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not the best GTA

posted by mrgrim (WARMINSTER, PA) May 1, 2008

Member since Dec 2003

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Its got the basics of a GTA game but they made changes they should not have.The hand to hand is poor and favors the AI.The cam while in a car is too low so you cant see where you are going and it is slow to follow a direction change.The cars do not handle like they once did in GTA games of the past.They tried to make it more real and failed at it.If they could fix the cars It would be a large step in a better direction.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

gta 4

posted by 1234f56 (BOLIVIA, NC) May 30, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game is good for a person who has ptients and dosent get bored of games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Giant Step Back

posted by Nebcron (DEARBORN HEIGHTS, MI) Dec 30, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game would have been a serviceable addition to the series if not for all of its shortcomings.

Overall the graphics on this game are gorgeous, especially if you're playing it on an HD screen. The controls are vintage GTA and it was easy to pick up on what did what as long as you've played the old games. The story itself was fine in and of itself, it's GTA, you get what you get.

Where the game fails for me is with the extras. First, I hate the whole friend system, not the idea of it, but how it is presented. Nothing is more annoying than having someone calling and texting you every five minutes to hang out, and if you don't you lose points with them. It's a nuisance the way eating in San Andreas was. Shooting the birds is fairly tedious as well. Maybe I just miss the days of Vice City and III when they threw you a bone every ten packages.

Gone as well is the cleverness of the old games. The radio schtick was forced and pedestrian dialog that was once amusing to the point where you would try to hit someone to hear what they would say has degraded itself to the point where all people do is swear at you. I don't have an issue with vulgarity, but the overuse here just reeks of laziness.

I expected better from the game, but I guess that's why there are five thousand used copies sitting on retailers shelves these days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

gta4

posted by notoriusmm (WHITWELL, TN) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

only thing good about the game was the graphics. the controls sucked. gameplay was ripped off from saints row.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse