Rent Grand Theft Auto IV for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Grand Theft Auto IV

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $19.99

Used: $12.99

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.4

29243 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

gta4

posted by bslechta (STRUM, WI) May 2, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

game was so so, couldve been better with all the hype that came with it. graphics werent up to 2008 standards. good sgtotry line and great multi player, some things are a pain in the ... like how u might be on a mission and all the sudden 4 cars constantly swerve in front of you for no reason but to make u crash so u have to do the mission 100 times... but not bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great, but not much better than San Andreas

posted by blasphemy (PHILADELPHIA, PA) May 1, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I only believe this game wasn't much better than San Andreas was because considering the game took about 4+ years and to put it on next gen consoles it didn't take a huge leep in the graphics department. The setting feels more like Montreal with its dark and cold texture. They eliminated one my favorite elements of San Andreas which was working out at the gym and developing your fighting/shooting skills. I thought Booker was emulating Brooklyn but every citizen sound more like Russia. I know if I from Brooklyn I would be disappointed. The story was pretty good, some of the missions however were pretty idiotic. I mean cleaning the streets of drug dealers by killing them randomly and then having a guy video tape the bodies isn't realistic to me (Mission: "Manny"). But overall this game is still the sh!&. I mean it has countless details, the internet alone shocked me. Insted of Myspace they have Myroom its not usable but explorable which is still insane. You can email, set dates and even buy plane tickets. But the unique feature of the game is the Cell Phone! Enough said, and I only achieved 40% of the game so far. Need more playing. see ya

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's all true...absolutely incredible

posted by HippyVock (FITCHBURG, WI) May 1, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2006

Everything everyone says about this game is probably true - each individual system and TV are going to display it differently, but no matter what version you are looking at, you are looking at awesome.

The controls, visuals, voice acting, story, new driving mechanics are all next gen and whether you like the differences or not you'll have to admit what they are works excellently. The combination of free aim and lock-on targeting is a welcome addition and I can't get over how clean and crisp everything looks considering the new scale (people, vehicles and streets are now proportioned more realistically).

I could go on, but if you're reading this less then a year after it came out, I'd rather be playing it. Enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING GAME... Almost Perfect

posted by timissmexy (FREMONT, CA) May 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

First off, let me start by saying this is by far the best game of 2008 so far, and possibly the best 360 game period. It is extremely fun classic GTA mayhem that you can play for hours on end and still not be bored. Instead of going on and on about the awesomeness of this, I'll explain why this isn't a perfect 10 for me. The first reason is ladders. Although simple instructions would tell you to press Y to climb a ladder, you'll spend a long time trying to get centered JUST right to get on it, it can get frustrating. Another thing is the online play, although amazing gameplay wise, is still a little flawed when it comes to pregame and finding a game. It tends to favor booting people over splitting up parties, which can be VERY annoying. Also, if you want to go back to the pregame room and stop playing online with your party, you all have to exit out and start a new game, which is slightly annoying. Besides those little issues, this game is amazing. I just gave it a 9 because to get a 10 to me, a game has to be PERFECT. All the problems are fixable though, so I'm hoping for a patch to make this game perfect soon. Oh, another thing, I've played for 10 hours and have yet too see a bicycle? Did they take them out of this game? That's a shame...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game, a real step up

posted by cd2206 (GOLDSBORO, NC) May 1, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

Everything about this game is great graphics, AI, driving...

I only dislike some of the controls. Most are fine, but, for example, I would much rather have jump be A, not X, and running be (L) pushed down.

Overall, a great game to buy/rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good, but not great.

posted by Validus (MCKEESPORT, PA) May 1, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

First off yes the game delivers the fun that only GTA can so it is worth playing. The reason I say "good not great" is that it lacks in a few key areas. The graphics are not that spectacular and the city has a "fuzzy" look to it and there are lots of pop ups which are really anoying if your driving a fast car. Speaking of cars, the handling of them feels like you are driving a boat or are on ice. Lots of people are raving about how alive the city is and I will say that it is but lets face it you spend more time driving and running around that listening to the city. There are improvements that were needed and there but to sum it up yes the game is alot of fun and for the most part solid but I think that Rockstar in there quest to one up themselves lost focus on a few key areas that prevent this game from being a solid 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GTA all the way....

posted by Slimm504 (KENNER, LA) May 1, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I love the GTA series and this one certainly didn't let me down . Took me a few mins to remember all the controls but with the help of the on screen tutorials i was back in action in no time. The newly added cellphone and gps while riding in your whip is pretty tite. Highly Recommend !! Overall Rating: 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Everything you expected, and more!

posted by msamjr (OVIEDO, FL) May 1, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

GTA IV explodes onto the Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 with the kind of entrance only Rockstar could create. This game is one of the most polished and artistically crafted of our time, and probably for years to come.

By now you know you'll be playing as Niko Bellic, a man on a mission looking to find 'that certain special someone' while working his way up the food chain of Liberty City. On your way there, you'll encounter a plethora of characters who will work alongside or against you on your quest to find out details of your past.

It's hard to review such an enormously complex game, but I'll start with the driving since it's often noted as the most different. The cars react a little differently in GTAIV; you won't be able to speed and stop on a dime like similar titles; even fast cars will screech and lock tires as you try and avoid traffic. Making turns using the RB/ LT (Xbox 360) takes getting used to, but it proves to be an exciting challenge.

The way the wanted levels work is undoubtedly the most different and more exciting facet of the game; you'll still have the stars that represent more impending doom for each level earned, but outrunning the police is all about escaping the new radius created on your map. Once you are wanted, you'll have a small radius that covers a portion of the city that you'll have to escape if you want the stars to disappear. The higher # of stars, the larger the radius and the more heat you'll have on your character.

The new run-n-cover mechanics work flawlessly. Diving for cover is realistic, smooth, and there's plenty of chances in every mission to utilize areas for duck and cover shooting.

The detail, lushness, and fluidity of this game are beyond description. The radio stations will keep you laughing for hours, the comments from pedestrians, and the story itself is breathtaking to watch. You'll even have choices of who lives or dies, and those choices have an impact on the story. This is a must-have game no one should be without

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

questions

posted by bigboy (DAYTON, ME) May 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

is thier much swearing in the game, and whats the worst thing about it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One Word WOW

posted by Chris75189 (ROCKWALL, TX) May 1, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

This game rocks, not only does the graphics amaze you but the driving is awesome, they really took the detail to a higher level this time and its about time if you ask me. the story is also very good I've only been in this game 15mins and alot more to go for its worth the rent or buy I give it 2 thumbs up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing

posted by joejc515 (UXBRIDGE, MA) May 1, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

the game is just plain amazing. A great storyline and is a perfect 10!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ME and my son

posted by Mikeyjoe (AMBLER, PA) May 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

Me and my 8 year old Raja loved this game. We loved the lap dances and random violence. I let him skip school for this game and we went to the midnight premiere. We loved how we took drugs too. Dear parents let all your children play a great game such as GTA 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i love this game

posted by manny18 (Manchester, CT) May 1, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

this game is one the best i ever played the only thing that sucks is the driving/drive by shoot out
is a lil complicated but easy to learn but that doesnt stop there i also like the ability to play multiplayer when on game play u can pick up ur phone
and go to multiplayer graphics are awesome
i would buy at least ten copies off thi game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I have no idea...

posted by Seraseph00 (VANCOUVER, WA) May 1, 2008

Member since May 2006

What the heck all the other people who give this game a 4 or a 2 are talking about. This game is purly amazing. Not once did I have any freezing, blurred graphics..etc. And overall this game isnt all about graphics (though it is a big plus) its about the story and gameply, and those score a perfect 10 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesomeness

posted by ibbbaddboy (BRADENTON, FL) May 1, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I was so close not getting this game but decided to get it. Wow what a great decision that was. This game has been on since i got it at midnight. The multiplayer is wonderful. The single player is just as good. This is definitely a must buy. Grab this games get online and rule the city with your friends. Our take on other people. .twizlo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Da Best

posted by BossStatus (ORANGE PARK, FL) May 1, 2008

Member since May 2007

Dis game is da best. Story mode is crazy and so life like its not even funny. And online mode is fun. U and 15 other ppl and rome da city killing others or each other. Its madd cool. If u have it or wutever hit me up on xbox live gamer card is: Boss Status954

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

As expected

posted by RFitzmor (RIVERSIDE, RI) May 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

This game is fantastic. It looks like a high res GTA game. Not the best graphics piece by piece, but when you consider all that is going on its pretty amazing.

The missions are interesting and varied, but goofing off is so much fun its hard to power through the single player story.

Buy this game now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by Fredric (TEMPE, AZ) May 1, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

This is one of the best games ever. I recomened it. People have been saying that it is freezing up on them, that only happens on the ps3 version,that is what i have seen and heard, there is a way to prevent that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The King of games

posted by Morris (MORENO VALLEY, CA) May 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

Gta is one of the best games ever made by ROCKSTAR perfect for everybody.
THE KING OF VIDEO GAMES!!!!!!!!!!!!.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEAST BEAST GAME

posted by HOMICIDE (SPRING LAKE, NC) Apr 30, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This is one of the best games I have played this year. It might not top the sells of GEARS OF WAR but It will sure come close. This game is a must have for any 360 owner. It has great online gameplay and a nice story mode. Plus alot of cool weapons and cars. It has a cover system which no other GTA game has had. I would even pay the price of ROCK BAND (full set) that is how great this game is. I dont give many games a 10 but this is one of those games that just needs it. THIS GAME IS WORTH THE PRICE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GTA iv

posted by mustangpop (NORMAN, OK) Apr 30, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

cars a is good and see new york in game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

OMG!!!!! GTA 4=$$$$

posted by sonyh8er22 (BINGHAMTON, NY) Apr 30, 2008

Member since Jan 2004

This game is not perfect, far from, but is one of the greatest games ive ever played.
GRAPHICS: amazing, best ive ever seen
GAMEPLAY: same idea, a little tweaks with the driving that makes it more difficult to move, but the ability to hotwire, and nearly anything u want, makes up for it.
ALL I CAN SAY: its exellent, not perfect, but excellent. I cant stop playing this effing game. IT ROCKZZ!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

if you like GTA or not this game is for you

posted by haloboy136 (SWANSEA, MA) Apr 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

rockstar has delayed this game so much but it okay because once this game came out it was one of the best things to happen to games the driving is so much diffrent from the old driving but the driving is better it feels way more realistic and the graphics are sweet not as good as other games but the graphics are awesome. The aiming is way nicer its not like san andreas or any other GTA game its actually has great shooting controls. The storylines great and funand their is no downside

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fun

posted by mrcheeks (ERIE, PA) Apr 30, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

fun game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by IfNoTmEwHo (HOPEWELL JUNCTION, NY) Apr 30, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

This is game is pretty Great. I think the driving controls could be better but its still a great game. If you have an Xbox 360 I recommend you rent/buy this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse