Rent Grand Theft Auto IV for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Grand Theft Auto IV

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $19.99

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
8.4

29317 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game! But not much more.

posted by Hagakurefl (SARASOTA, FL) May 7, 2008

Member since Dec 2004

The same great GTA formula for gameplay with a cosmetic facelift, add a few new things from games already released of the same genre and you have the latest GTA. It holds its weight as the newest GTA but delivers nothing over the top besides the graphics. Controls are still as jumpy as the previous games on foot as in the cars.Fun game but didnt do enough to take my breath away, anyone can talk like a sailor not that it isnt fun to see a computer do it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the trailers speak the truth!!!

posted by master1135 (HENRIETTA, TX) May 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

this is the best GTA. it has a good storyline,,voice acting,graphics,weapons and vehicles.IF you like the GTA series KEEP IT and if you dont give it a try and you will love it. but the cops are a little unfair though but realistic and the melee combat is hard but real but if you play fighting games a lot [ like me ] its like blowing a feather. anyway the shooting is like crackdown but with resident evil 4. but like i said up top the trailers DO speak the truth. 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

gta lv

posted by mcguire538 (BRADLEY, SC) May 7, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

this is an awesome game. it is the best one yet. very realistic and lots of fun to play -- a must have

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hail to the Pimps

posted by DFURY90 (BRACKENRIDGE, PA) May 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

Every one and their mom is reviewing this game with massive props, so why should i even bother writing my own? Because i want to add a little more fuel to the GTA4 fire baby!

This game is amazing in every way, shape and form simply put. It takes every great aspect of previous gta's and nearly perfects them with a huge NEXT GEN feel and play. Say bye bye to those flat cardboard cutout graphics folks,this time gta is given to us in a true next gen breath taking fashion that rivals the best of graphics in terms of detail and size.

The stakes are higher and the hopes couldnt be bigger, so how can Rockstar possibly live up to and even surpass the hype? Most of all with the CITY,Libery City is the most lively detailed & gorgeous city i have ever had my pleasure to see in a video game. The civilians are all unique and humerous,the buildings are massive and beautiful and the game makes for the closest NYC replica to date.

While some cry fowl over the light rpg elements taken away from san andreas most like me are glad to see them out the door. The extras were a neat idea but turned out to be nothing more than tedious add ons that didnt fit into a gta title. But GTA4 has its goodys for certain. We are given loads of mini games such as bowling,pool,darts and even getting smashed drunk and trying to drive home. All extras are extremly fun and fit perfectly into the scope of the game.

I realy cant cover even half of what makes GTA4 a blast but i will try to sum up the best parts of the game.

+Improved,realistic driving.

+Amazing music selection

+Beautiful,detailed graphics

+Handy new cover system

+Extremly improved gun controls and aiming system

+Deep plot full of twists and turns

+Amazingly fun multi player games

As said before the game is nearly perfect but if i had to nack a few things i would say the cover system needs some tweaking and the lack of a save anytime feature is still needed. But overall the greatest game i have played in years, GO BUY IT NOW

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SOMEONE PLS RETURN THERE GAME I WANNA PLAY

posted by MikeM16 (ELIZABETH, NJ) May 6, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

someone please return i wanna play :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

same old same old

posted by nuffsaid (PAHOA, HI) May 6, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

It's sad to see rockstar play it safe in GTA4. They had a chance to elevate games for adults but instead tarded what made San Andreas so revolutionary. First they went away from hot coffee where they had a chance to prove that AO games can be made, sold and are wanted. Second the formula hasn't changed at all. You are still doing the same missions that you did in the previous game so the missions feel stail maybe it is that the missions aren't as creative as San Andreas or maybe it's from the lack of vehicles and other activities like mountain biking. And last the playground just isn't as appealing or inspired to me. Maybe I'm a west coaster but I enjoyed the open spaces with forests, mountains and small towns between the three citys that was San Andreas. Don't get me wrong, I think GTA4 is an amazing game but I was hoping that skating surfing and snowboarding and all the other stadium sports would have made it in the game with radio reports and weather updates but instead we go backwards because it is the east coast so all you get is same old same old. I hope Prototype can change the sandbox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GTA 4 IS THE BOMB

posted by Zombie123 (ARLINGTON, TX) May 6, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

GTA 4 is a perfect 10 and a must have in my eyes. The fact you can do whatever you want with your friends and other players is really sweet. Very nice to have some gta on next gen console.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GTA IV

posted by toetagger (SEBASTIAN, FL) May 5, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

My only beef is with this game is the camera. I'm always fighting to get the best viewing angle while doing....well everything. And yes I know the back button changes the camera distance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GTA4: Tough legacy to live up to

posted by dystopian (DALLAS, TX) May 5, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Grand Theft Auto IV is by no means a bad game. In fact, when first sitting down to play I was blown away by the level of sophistication over the previous 3 GTA games. That said, it doesn't quite live up to the hype or expectations placed on it.

Anyone who's played GTA3, Vice City, and San Andreas is well aware of the advances that came with each new title: motorbikes and boats in VC - planes, physique building, and (FINALLY) the ability to swim in SA. Because of these added features in later games I always found it difficult to go back and enjoy playing Grand Theft Auto 3, as it felt obsolete.

Grand Theft Auto 4 has spent a great deal of time, attention, and no doubt money on very crucial areas: story, graphics, sound & music, and adding a sense of realism. Unfortunately the planes, gym workouts, fighting styles, and insane weaponry you'd find in previous installments of the series are painfully absent. No flamethrowers, no timed detonation charges, no planes (with or without parachutes). There are no katanas, no pimp canes, no tanks in which to plow through the city firing into crowds. The weaponry and vehicle selection feel limited, much like in Grand Theft Auto 3 - the least advanced of the 3D GTA games.

Rockstar's even added multiplayer capability, which is a great idea. Unfortunately it suffers from all of the points I mentioned above. There are only a handful of unique multiplayer modes, each with minor derivatives (usually team versions) that are likely to grow stale before long. The Free Mode is a fair amount of fun, but it also becomes repetitive quickly.

If Rockstar plans to follow the same formula as with the previous trilogy - to use the first game to set a base standard for upcoming GTA titles - then they've done a spectacular job. Hopefully that's the case.

Unfortunately, as good as GTA4 is on its own merits it doesn't come close to overshadowing San Andreas or Vice City in terms of replay value and depth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Perfect Game

posted by JadeChaos (PALMYRA, VA) May 5, 2008

Member since Feb 2005

I did not think they could improve this much over San Andreas but they've done it. The graphics are amazing, player control is much improved, and lots of new additions that are welcomed. The game is even more of a blockbuster film than the last. I could on and on but I'll just say, Rockstar games... I LOVE YOU GUYS!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not Perfect, But close.

posted by DavidW (PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL) May 5, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Any review that has a 10 to it needs to be discounted, simply put there is no such thing as a perfect game. While this Game was hyped up to in be that perfect game, it falls short.

Without a doubt it is a great game, well thought out for the most part and designed. However the AI is very quirky, while funny. Driving is not the greatest thing in the world, but with practice you get the hang of it. There are a lot of minor minor issues but nothing game breaking.

The game is downright funny and enjoyable, I actually bought my copy day 1, Knew it was a keeper so didn't bother renting it. There is so much great things in this game and many ways to play it. Although there is an achievement for finishing the game in 30 hours, it is not worth it. Take your time, don't rush it and it will be more enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Early On in the Game - But WOW!!

posted by RocketRiot (SOUTH WINDSOR, CT) May 5, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

So I've played about 25% of the game so far and been on xBox live for about 6 or 7 hours, and it's outstanding game play. The story is interesting, the graphics are amazing, the dj's are funny. I would say that the only slight disappointment is that the music isn't what I expected. I'll update this review once I finish, but so far, so great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

bad for kids, great for adults

posted by turtle70 (STOCKTON, CA) May 5, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

firstly.....lately i have been seeing a lot of outraged mothers getting mad at; sells people, game rental stores and just about everyone who had something to do with letting their kids play this game and the violence that it entails. Honestly, its not their fault, it is yours, for not making a child's game profile on the x-box and for not passwording the parental controls, for not looking at the things you buy or rent (check ratings)or for just not paying attention to what your kids are doing with these games in the first place. this game is made for mature audiences only... so don't let them play it.

now... i have played the playstation grand theft autos and i owned many of them. this one has the best graphics. sure the controls are way different, the camera doesn't cooperate like you would want it to. but it has a good story line. very nice picture. nice cars. Really i have had GTA for about 2 days. and I think i will buy it. this one you get to play/interact with the bars, games, people. He can even swim!!

if you are a former gta lover.. this one is a must rent/buy!!

check it out for yourself

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

better but still not great

posted by JP3877 (HUNTSVILLE, AL) May 4, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

As usual the guys at rock star have succeeded in offering a fun gangland style environment, with a lil extra plot line and some fun new twists. However they are still just good at doing a lot different things and creating a lot of different game styles and modes in one, however after so many years and so many advancements in game control, I'm still disappointed the have not improved much on game mechanics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucks

posted by thegamas (KELLER, TX) May 4, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

Should have never been made!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Utterly Amazing!

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) May 4, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

Grand Theft Auto IV is the new addition to the addicting series of Grand Theft Autos. This Grand Theft Auto has the new very popular Multiplayer with 15 amazing game modes. This game has other new stuff too like you can get on the internet and look up funny things. New cars, weapons, Missions, and many other things that will make you play this game for days. This game is the biggest and best game of 2008 so you cant miss out on this awesome game. Buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by rere135 (Overland Park, KS) May 4, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

this game is awful. Nothing but violence. it is very stupid

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

SPEED

posted by ANDRE42583 (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 4, 2008

Member since May 2008

THE GAME GRAPHICS ARE GOOD AND REALLY LIKE THE GAME THE ONLY THING I DONT LIKE IS THE FACT THAT IT IS REALLY SLOW. LIKE WEN YOU WALK EVEN IF YOU SPRINT ITS LIKE SLOW ALSO THE WAY THE CAR DRIVES ITS LIKE YOU HAVE NO CONTROLL OF THE CAR. MAYBE THEY MADE IT MORE REALISTIC....BUT OVERALL I LIKE THE GAME I HAVE NOT HAD A CHAMCE TO PLAY IT ONLINE BUT I HEARD REALLY GOOD THINGS ABOUT THAT.......I WILL TRY TONIGHT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

New paint, same old game

posted by Khyros (Haddam, CT) May 4, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

Look past the shiny enhanced graphics and you have played this game before... it's a small evolutionary bump over previous titles in the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Grand Theft Time

posted by ravensnake (WEST HARTFORD, CT) May 3, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

hey loyal gamers who played gta4. now i want to say this now this game lives up to the hype 100%. Now you look at my score and say "where's the ten?" well i cant give it a ten because theres lots of bugs i found through my play through the game freezes time to time and i encountered that one time i was in a cutscene that was ugly like the room wasnt rendered everything looked like a n64 game and no sound. then the game freezes up and i have to restart the game. another bug is when i left online mode i was stuck in a loading screen for a long time i had yet again restart the game. News has been coming in that this game has been locking both ps3 and 360 versions. now the good the game has great cinematic feel and the characters seem more real and less annoying and repetitive. the graphics are amazing the physics are simply hands down the best its more realistic then in previous gtas before it. controls r good not bad at all. bottom line what the heck r u doing renting this gem go buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kind of a disapointment

posted by jone1020 (CHICAGO, IL) May 3, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

The game has great graphics, and it is fun to play, but i am disapointed about the fact, I couldnt buy properities,do anything to the car for example the hydrolics. I think this game was over hyped, and for being delayed so many times I think we should at least be able to buy properties. I dont understand how in almost all the other gta's we could do that, and here comes this one it is supposed to be the best one, and they take opitions away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty Good

posted by khujo78 (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 3, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

i'm not a hardcore GTA fan, but I've played most of them (GTA 1-3, San Andreas). Obviously, the graphics are a lot better. The controls are a lot more sensitive, which may be a good or bad thing depending on who you are. For me, I always sucked at driving so I crash a lot on here. The plot, as always, is great and you gotta love the ability to use ur cell phone to call whomever you want whenever you want. There are always missions available and the controls are pretty much the same, so if you've played before you'll be good. Thats just more time to explore the new features...like deciding if a target lives or dies...which I really like, because they may come back to help you later. I read a review that said there's no loading time...well thats BS, but its the same time as the last games (maybe shorter). All in all, this is a great game and, like at GTAs, worth renting or buying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GTA VI EVER!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Shadow1234 (FRANKLIN PARK, IL) May 3, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

This game is amazing we were skeptical at first but after playing it, it deserves all the hype that comes with GTA series. The story is interesting and the online is too fun there are some many different modes you'll be playing online more than the story. but the story is interesting and deserves the play time to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GTA 4 Best game ever!!!!

posted by bigkendog (CHITTENANGO, NY) May 3, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

first of all this game is so awesome on single and multi-player on single player there is over 300 hours of play!!! and multi-player it is clearly the best game ever!! you can run around all the city on free rome with up to 16 other player now i dont know what u think but i think that is frikken amazing and there is also like 20 different other modes too!! SO i clearly give this a 10/10 and game of the year !!

HAVE FUN

xbox live SN: bigkendog989

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect Game ....

posted by Lalith (DAYTONA BEACH, FL) May 2, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

Finally GTA IV hits the store shelf, as everyone has been waiting for this game for so long time. this game is a perfect game for GTA fans. the city of liberty looks so real , and each n every car has its own weight and difference in control and power. story is superb. hangout spots in city is awesome.. there is a lot more things in the game .. go ahead and rent it .. its the game everyone must play. my score would be 20/10 supeb.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse