Rent Grand Theft Auto III for PS2
view large frontback

Grand Theft Auto III

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox
GF Rating
8.1

1535 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GTA Classic

posted by cellAMM (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 17, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

17 out of 21 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

For any idiots that complain about this game's graphics you seriously need to remember that the game was released in 2001. No games had 2006 graphics. GTA3 has the same, great gameplay as the other GTA's(except for Librity City Stories). The story is great,the content is great also. GTA3 is the first 3D GTA game wich makes it a classic. So don't think any bad stuff about this great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent

posted by ArmyRyan (SWANSEA, IL) Jul 25, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This is the GTA that really made Grand Theft Auto such a huge name. This is a great game considering how long ago it was made. I recommend playing this before u play GTA Liberty City Stories, because this really introduces u 2 it all, and you'll find sum of the characters n GTA Vice City, GTA San Andreas, and GTA Liberty City Stories. This game is a must. my rating=9.1 GET IT
-ArmyRyan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent Gaming

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Jun 15, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This started the BEST of the `Grand Theft Auto` series. The graphics are pretty good (could be better) and the gameplay is fabulous. The storyline is like a great movie that I would watch again and again. True the later GTA games have improved, but this one started the greatness of the games. The voice-acting is superb and the sound effects are wonderful. Have fun!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Ever

posted by llllllll (BILLERICA, MA) Aug 6, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

DMA has done it again ( now known as Rockstar) Grand Theft Auto is still the best game ever, if you are a true fan of Grand Theft Auto you will love this game, anyone who says different about this game most likely don't even remember the original Grand Theft Auto this is a must buy. it may have some glitches but looking past that it is the best game ever made, and I give a 5 star review.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A True Classic GTA

posted by gamemeniac (EVANS, CO) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love this game.This is the classic Gta game that everybody should play first.The controls are easy and story line is very interesting.The best that this game can offer is the slow-motion mode and the jumping car cheat code.The graphics are classic and the cars are amazing and my complain about the car is that it destroys to fast when you crassh it enough.I highly recommend this game to classic players,who live in New York,and who like the Gta series.A True Classic!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Like to mess people up? This one is for you

posted by TatsuJin (SAN MARCOS, CA) Mar 26, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The first GTA game I've played was GTA II and then when I heard there's going to be a GTA game for the PS2, I was kinda excited about it. The controls didn't change as much as the first one. Of course that is a 3D version so camera controls are available and for you to control it freely. Sometimes when I don't feel like messing around or continuing the storyline, I would just cruise around Liberty City with a sports car and listen to some techno music. The weapons are pretty kool, there's a lot of them to use.

PROS: The first 3D Grand Theft Auto game. You can go anywhere in Liberty City! Nice weapons. Cruising around Liberty City with a stolen sports car is nice. All in all, great game to play.

CONS: Graphics are not that great. Could have done better. You can't swim. You can't go into buildings. Police officers get you if you do something crime related. I don't like Police officers especially when they chase me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Heck Yes

posted by shockthajo (BATON ROUGE, LA) Apr 16, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I haven't written reviews on the other GTAs, but in my book, this one is the best. Now considering the advancements in the new games, this one is the best because of the bar it set. No one had ever realized a video game could be like this until GTA3. Great Job, RECOMENDED

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's alright

posted by batboy (REDLANDS, CA) Apr 5, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's alright because yeah it's fun but wouldn't you like to roam around the city with a friend. Because my friend love's GTA but It's only 1 player

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very good game

posted by devinS (GRESHAM, OR) Apr 18, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2003

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It has now been about 5 years since gta 3 was released, at the time it was a great game. Right now, its a good game. Because i notice there really isnt much to do in the game, not much variety. The game still does attract me. I really like the game. I dont really have much to say about the game, because there isnt much you can do, but kill people in the game, and steal cars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Grand Theft Auto 3

posted by 2011gamer (ROCK SPRING, GA) Jul 24, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is one of the greatest in the gta series. I hated the fact that the player character was a mute. Other than that it had good music, graphics and story. I guess that kind of made up for the mute protagonist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

First installment of a GTA game on the PS2 rocks!

posted by Bratallica (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Grand Theft Auto 3 is a terrific game. It is rare to see a game continuing its sequel and make a transition to a different console be so good. Rockstar did it however! Great, great game. It will last you for days because of its replay value. Must own!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GTA Rules

posted by darthl1378 (SAINT HELENS, OR) Oct 28, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The GTA series is always fun. personally I find this to be my 2nd favorite game in the series.

The radio stations are funny especially the talk shows.

Overall: Pure Fun

10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Revolutionary

posted by XgNfMj (GUILDERLAND, NY) Jul 1, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game not only started a thriving ps2 franchise but in my opinion revolutionized the gaming world. It was one of the first games I played when I bought my ps2, and turned me into a hardcore gamer. The only downside to this game in my opinion is the at times choppy graphics, also the occasional glitch, but it is to be expected with such a large free roaming world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Everything was horrible

posted by awallace (LA VERGNE, TN) May 27, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 32 gamers (3%) found this review helpful

This game was horrible from the graphics to the game play itself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Super Good..Not Super Bad

posted by SodaPopBoy12 (BEAVERTON, OR) Jun 29, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Being a GTA fan, I gotta say I was pretty dissapointed with this one. Mainly cause of how small the map is. I mean, really, it's so small. But it's not entirley bad. The story was pretty good and it's an enjoyable game I guess.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect in every way!

posted by EQOAnostalgia (NEW YORK MILLS, NY) May 2, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

8.1? I am seriously starting to question you people and your intelligence! This game is the very game that started sandbox gameplay! This is the first 3D GTA title and in it's time it had no equal!

Even by todays standards this game holds up very well! I won't go into detail about why GTA rocks, i assume you haven't been living under a ROCK for the past decade...

The game is a perfect 10 and anyone who says other wise, go ahead and give me a single example of a game that does what GTA did better at that time! You can't do it! In fact give me one that does better in our time now! What? GTA VI? LOL perfect 10, nuff said!

Game on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

that swag game

posted by DONTAE18 Feb 28, 2013

i like grand theft anuo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Like to kill withount concequences? Try this!

posted by darthsonic (FORT SMITH, AR) Sep 15, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

Yes, you will die..ish. you will get K.Oed...and respawn. You will get busted...and respawn. Those are the "concequences". Not much else happens. Tip: Watch the pedestrians. The guys in the black suits WILL shoot back. The guys in blue jackets with bats WILL fight back.<--(Watch for back up!!) Police officers WILL chase and shoot you.(Hiting or shooting cops will put 1 star on you.)Everyone else is able to shoot and kill.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

m

posted by lovebug32 (MACHESNEY PARK, IL) Aug 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

m

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very cool game, but a bit hard to complete

posted by Dukesfan (CYPRESS, TX) May 12, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

The Triads shoot at you and kill you, making it difficult to win the game, but it's still lots of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

game is good 5 stars

posted by lunyj2008 (AMESBURY, MA) Sep 17, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

the game has been mailed out 2 days ago

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hard, Terrible Graphics, and Not Very Big World.

posted by annarborjack (ANN ARBOR, MI) Jul 31, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game is very hard, I can't beat it. The game has bad graphics. I know it came out in 2001 but the first Halo game came out in 2001 also and the graphics are like an XBOX 360 game compared to this game. I don't see why everyone loves it. Machimna Top Game says this is the best sandbox game OF ALL TIME. Seriously? They think THIS game is better then games like GTA San Andreas, GTA IV and Red Dead Redemption, the three best Sandbox games?! All three of of those games have better gun aiming, this game has terrible gun aiming, better graphics, a bigger world, and more features. And they think THIS game, which has terrible graphics, a small world, and barley any things to do, is BETTER?! Are they stupid?! Anyway, stay away from this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best GTA game

posted by Pig_Po93 (SCHILLER PARK, IL) Jul 24, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This GTA is my favorite because it was the 1st one i played. Game FM has sum raw freestyles by some dope rappers. The story was really good. It was a dope game 4 its time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Game that started it ALL

posted by nitemuffin (NORTH AURORA, IL) May 1, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

GTA 3 is my favorite game. It was a game that started it all because it was one of those most important games of the decade(2000s) just like what pac man and Mario bros did in the 80s and DOOM and Mortal Kombat did in the 90s. I just like the city. It has many movie references like Taxi Driver, Dirty harry, Goodfellas and well The Sopranos. It was the first game that started the whole "Open World" genre

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

gta3

posted by juggalo666 (DELAWARE, OH) Apr 8, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

ive played this game before i had a gamefly. the GTA games are most of the time amazing in always this game jus didnt have that edge like vice city or san andreas.. graphics are bad the game play is bad i do not recomend this game to anybody AT ALL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse