Rent Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City for PS3
view large frontback

Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $27.99

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.4

5003 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than the original GTA IV

posted by Lalo619 (OAK LAWN, IL) May 14, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

43 out of 46 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Honestly this was more fun than the regular GTA IV for three reasons

1. Better weapons especially in the ballad of tony you got a silenced P90, golden Uzi if you complete certain missions, cool night vision sniper that can shoot explosive rounds (cheat code) explosive punches and sticky grenades you can drive next to someone's car and throw one and you control when it explodes
2. Better cars and motorcycles. AND a PARACHUTE so you can finally jump out a helicoper and land safely.
3. Music is way better with new songs and it seems that with the selection of songs that they added that they actually took their time to select the songs.

Overall it was a great game that would have gotten a 10 from me if the stories werent so short about 3-4 hours of gameplay per story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty awesome

posted by tednmu1 (HENDERSON, NV) Jun 26, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

It is so cool how Rockstar can utilize the massive Liberty City open world to plug in different storylines to create a brand new game. I loved every minute of this game. I mean games! Two gta games in one box, wow, thank you rockstar. I completed both lost and damed and ballad of tony before returning this game. New cars new characters, new cut scenes, new story lines, new missions, new weapons !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Any one who complains about this title is not a true gta fan. As far as im concerned Rockstar can keep plugging more new stories into Liberty City and I will keep renting them and completing them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

what single player DLC should be

posted by yourdog23 (DENVER, CO) Jul 7, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

To properly evaluate this disc, you really need to know what it is. It's not a full game, but it does stand on it's own, and does not require any other GTA games, but it is very much an expansion to GTA IV. With that said, let me start out by saying that this game is excellent.

If you've played GTA IV, this disc will provide 2 different views of some of the major plot points in GTA IV. If you haven't played GTA IV, don't worry, you just won't see the viewpoint of Niko.

Where GTA IV throws so much into the equation, it does too much as story based content, and not as side missions. This disc fixes that issue, with very little extraneous play being part of the mission story line. There's still plenty to do in side missions on this disc, but what I cared about was the story. The difficulty is ratcheted up from GTA IV in The Lost and the Damned, and then set to more difficult again in The Ballad of G ay Tony. On top of that, TBoGT throws in a scoring mechanism, rating how well you did on certain factors, but you don't see the list until the end. That scoring mechanic was the biggest negative for me (it should have been hidden from view until a second playthrough) in the whole disc, since I needed to use re-tries for a few of the missions, but a re-try invalidates your score.....

If you ignore that nit, the game play is spot on, assuming you like GTA. The story telling from 2 additional sides will make the original story all the more real, and you might even find yourself cheering on some of the NPCs before you're done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tony, Luis and Yusef GTA 5 PLEASE!!

posted by Elray187 (NEW YORK, NY) Sep 9, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

WOW I just completed the game and I have to say The Ballad of G ay Tony totally OWNS Mafia 2. I just wanted to put that out there.

I demand you play The lost and damned first since it's not that enjoyable. You can see that Rockstar made it quickly just to get it out there for purchase. When you play BOGT you can clearly see they put in a lot more effort and creativity.

BOGT (Ballad of G ay Tony) was the closest thing to GTA 4's main game. Fun Fun Fun the characters, story and side activities all GREAT!!!

I think the main character in BOGT and his partners in crime could of held their own in a GTA main title they were great.

Lost and Damned

Pros

a biker gang I guess..

Cons

No real interaction with other side characters
Real downer story line
felt short maybe because there wasnt much to do off the main story

BOGT

Pros

-characters
-story line
-PLENTY of activities to take part in off the main story line (and its just an addon..... WOW)
-the weapons FUN FUN FUN
-You can replay any mission as many times as you like after you complete the game
-OH and watch the end credits for funny moments.
-The goodies you get once youre back in Liberty City after completing are

Cons

I wish it had been a complete game instead of an addon. I wanted more of this great game.

BOGT - 9
TLAD - 7

You must play this game if you're a GTA fan just BOGT portion is worth it alone. The lost and damned I say again play it first and when you get to G ay Tony you'll be extra pleased.

and the spaces for the word g ay were done because GF finds the word offensive........ 0.o

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If you Liked GTA4,you'll love this!

posted by Northerner (GULFPORT, MS) May 12, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

To clear this up....you don't need GTA4 to play this game.I'll start with the awesome parts of the game and how the two add-ons differ.First The Lost and bleep.The lost and the bleep makes you conserve ammo and scrap for cash unlike GTA4 which adds another layer of challenge plus it is more of a team game.If you did not like how in GTA4 Niko Bellic goes on a massive mission you'll be pleased bacause the lost tells of a corrupt biker gang no helicopter chases and massive explosens included.Although I don't like that their are barely any cars on the street when you have teamates plus I wonder if their mentaly challenged by the amout of time they spend crashing into walls.The Ballad of bleep Tony is exactly the oppisite because it focuses on upbeat clubs race cars attack choppers yachts aand much much more.The only problem I find in Tony is the lag caused by attack choppers shooting missles.Overall, I think this is a great buy!By the way,the bleeps are bacause gamefly censors parts of the names of the add-ons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rockstars where its at

posted by GIJut413 (CHICOPEE, MA) May 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

people just hate on this game because the realistic controls feel clunky to most casual gamers... THATS WHY THEY GOT COD, for all you point and shoot, run and gun gamers, so please just go back to those same old FPS's, Obviously its all your good at. So quit hatin!!! Rockstar games dominate, end of story!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome!

posted by giovanni (DECATUR, AR) Oct 21, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome you can play as two different characters in two different story modes and you can get almost any weapon and drive anything in either story mode.. i love free roam games and this one is awesome..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome (TLAD)

posted by rlane4 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Oct 14, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This has to be the best DLC I've ever played. It was like playing a newer GTA but shorter and with better songs. The Lost... was a lot better in my mind then The Ballad of...

-Pros-
graphics=were awesome (seemed better than GTA IV)
songs=better then the ones in GTA IV (especially on Liberty Rock Radio)
TLAD=was more than i expected, great story, back-up feature & motorcycles
TBoGT=cars were awesome & the nightclubs

-Cons-
TBoGT=percentage on missions: i didn't think it was necessary to be given a percentage on missions, HOW are you not supposed to get you car damaged when you are playing GTA?

Overall: A

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It is what it is

posted by FensterBos (WAYLAND, MA) May 7, 2010

Member since Nov 2003

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is a definite time-killer for me. I've always loved the GTA series and even though the last installment wasn't perfect I still enjoyed it and I am enjoying playing this one.
If you love the GTA series you will not be disappointed with this one; just don't get your hopes too high for anything revolutionary.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome! But not worth $40

posted by Animator22 (SAN JOSE, CA) Jun 22, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I had a lot of fun with the new episodes. The LATD didn't impress me too much. A few new weapons and mini games but nothing else really added. I did like that there were at least 3 missions that tied into Niko's missions.

This is worth getting for TBoGT. A lot more weapons, some very nice cars, a new helicopter and the return of the Tank/APC which can all be used in MP. Most of the missions are pretty short but I think thats because they were trying something new. After each mission you get graded on a %. The % is also baised on tasks to do during the mission like for example, beat it in under 5min, 10% player damage, 100% headshots etc. Most of these are pretty tough to complete but I think they are set just a little too high. The one thing I really hated was that you don't have a lot of time to look over your stats and see what you needed to improve to complete a task. Most of the time it would pop up and after I read the first two the same message about replaying missions after the game was complete kept popping up after every mission. I couldn't remember what the tasks were until I beat the mission again. But the good thing is that you can complete them one at a time. They don't all need to be completed at once.

Plus another first that I've seen which I wish was on previous GTA titles is a mission replay mode. You can play any main story mission again mostly to get a better % on the mission. It's also the first time I listen to the radio with the new tracks they added.

But since you play in the same city as GTA IV and nothing new was added to the city except for a few new buildings to enter. I don't think it's worth $40 (Disc) or even $20 for each episode (PSN Download) Your almost paying for a new game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

i had more fun

posted by 123354687 (NEW BRITAIN, CT) Feb 27, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this was better then gta iv its just more fun the lost and dammned was so fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent

posted by Aristo (AURORA, CO) Jun 5, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was cool. It wasn't nothing to elaborate on, but if you've played the previous ones, you might as well keep going with this one. It brought back a few scenes from the last one and showed a connection. I thought that was pretty cool. I didn't play the second episode as "Sensitive Tony." After going through the scene as a ruff ryder I had gotten the concept.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

played BOGT all the way through

posted by williemcge (PORTLAND, OR) Apr 23, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

and it was okay. i don't really care about the story, but some of the missions were cool. Glad they finally got some skydiving/parachutes back into the game, as i have been jonesing for that since GTASA. spent quite a bit of time on rampages and jumping out of helicopters. not very long story, haven't played much of the Lost. it is just an expansion, so i wasn't expecting too much, but it really wasn't too bad. i mean, what do you expect from something created for xbox's exclusive content?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

not bad

posted by WSPungelbc (LONG BEACH, CA) Apr 15, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

13 out of 27 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

funny stories wish lost and the damed was longer but other than taht it was a nice fix hopefully the next gta will be coming out soon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad news

posted by tannerrocks (LONGVIEW, TX) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this had to be one of the worst copies that have every got it would not even let you play the game you would get to the title and it would freeze while its loading so i would not perfer this game on gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Thank you Rockstar

posted by gombajoe (MIDDLETOWN, NY) May 30, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Being From NYC, GTA was like playing in my own backyard. As a HUGE fan of all GTA games over the years this was what we all been waiting for
and Must Play Must have

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sickest expansions ever

posted by Shane_Lesnog (NEW MILFORD, CT) May 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Two words describe this expansion: DAAANNNGG HOMIE. Rockstar really one upped the competition this time around. Not only are the guns amazing (i.e. P90, AA-12, Striker, Gold Uzi, Sawed Off, Parachute and a DTR1 Sniper) their are new and interesting activities, my favorite is cagefighting. Both are superb and I enjoyed them both vurry, vurry much

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Gta Episodes from Liberty City

posted by vanstryadd420 (GREENSBURG, PA) Feb 28, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

fun game. tons of things to do. go on a killing rampage or ride around. best one yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

tbogt

posted by gameman247 (EL CAMPO, TX) Feb 4, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was very..........good think about keepin it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Realistic

posted by Dscience (MARKHAM, IL) Dec 21, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game looks very real. Ive beatin Vice city, Liberty city stories, and Sanandreas. None of them have graphics like these. The multiplayer is very fun. Ive only beatin "The Ballot Of GAAY Tony" and im impressed. I rate this 12/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Grand Theft Auto: Episodes From Liberty Cities

posted by Raziel111 (LINDSAY, CA) Dec 17, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is an expansion pack that contains two add-ons to Grand Theft Auto 4. The First is The Lost and Damned, while the second is the Ballad of (censored) Tony.

TLaD focuses on Johny, the vice president and temporary leader of the biker gang known as the Lost M.C. TBoGT focuses on Tony's bodyguard Luis, a latino womanizer who does anything for Tony. Both of these characters were involved more than I thought. Not just with each other, but also with Niko Bellic's story in Grand Theft Auto 4. They have a lot more improvements since 4, some individual, some they share. Like checkpoints in a mission. The extra missions that require talking to a person are actually marked on the map.

TLaD has it's own stuff. Johny has the abillity to ride with his gang, either in the lead or alongside with them. Leading's easy, but riding along requires you to keep a position to keep the gang in formation. He does it all on his one of a kind bike. He needs it to roll with the Lost, so it constantly respawns at a mission or on the street. He also has an automatic pistol. The shotgun is useful when taking down enemies on your motorbike. He has extra missions, such as races and gang wars. He can also call for back up on missions. He also does extra stuff at the club house.

In TBoGT, Luis gets a powerful arsenal of weapons. You get mission results that can be uploaded, and is able to request sports cars at a certain point with a phone call. He can participate in street fights, drug wars, triathalons, and base jumps, which consists of the commonly used and fun parachute. There's also the night club activities, as well as the booty call. Plus, Tony's an enjoyable character.

They both have the same flaws though. For one, compared to GTA4, these games are very short. Plus, the helicopter controls still suck, especially for combat.

Overall, I would recomend this game to a GTA4 fan, and one with no internet for downloading them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Grand Theft Auto: Episodes From Liberty City

posted by Damian4eva (VANCOUVER, WA) May 28, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome! on The Ballad, there's new cars,guns & more stuff to do. even a tank's in the game! also, when you finish a mission in the ballad you get a score for doing certain things.also, you can reapeat missions after beating the game. on the lost and the damned, you get new bikes and some new guns. also you can call up two of your friends to back you up in missions or anything else. well, that's all i have so play or buy this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Grand Theft Auto Liberty City Stories

posted by kickass23 (NILES, IL) May 3, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The stories were good but I need a new GTA 5. Still the stories were great especilly TBoGT. The Lost and Damned was alait . In GTA 4 I did not like Johnny. But now I know his story I still do not like him. In TBoGT Tony whined a LOT!!! If I were Luis I'd say ''Bye-Bye Tony have a good life and don't die bro.'' Overal pritty good I'd give it 9-10 or an A-.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The Expansion packs....

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Apr 18, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

17 out of 39 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

GTAIV: The Ballad of --- Tony was... not very interesting. They placed all the old weak elements of San Andreas back into GTA IV. Weak elements consisted of, being able to dance. Making The Ballad of --- Tony... boring, maybe that is why Rockstar titled it the way they did.

GTAIV: The Lost and the ------ was far more interesting, but nothing to greatly amazing. You can call up buddies to help cover you. Each of the bikers has a attribute when playing that allows that biker to progress in stregnth, as long as they do not die while aiding you.

TLaD also had numerous of glitches, mainly the catch-up glitch that allows the other bikers to stay up with you no matter what. The AI was not renovated any. Biking with Bikers who cant ride wasn't anything interesting...

No, you can not mod the bike anyway at all... Another good game element that made San Andreas cool was the Modification of vehicles.

Bottom line is Rockstar should have made these expansions free. Or not even make them at all.

If Rockstar wanted to renovate the game for the crowds, they should have made the map extra large and gave the main Character more missions and side missions.

I usually expect something amazing from Rockstar... WHAT HAPPEN!!?
This expansion made me think the only target audience here is Rockstar's wallet and to anger players of any kind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

stop hating!!!!!!

posted by BonezJRB (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Apr 16, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

12 out of 28 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

alright i havent even played it yet but all the reviews are pissin me off. 1. when has there been AMAZING graphics in a GTA game i mean if thats the only reason your playin it your not a true fan of the games. i mean i dont get them saying "graphics looks like a ps2 game but GTA-SA was better" MAKES NO SENSE. 2. GTA games has always kept the same concept only a few things change (not a bad thing) i mean its only DLC they dont wanna add all new stuff there waiting for the next ones to add new things. 3. the games called GRAND THEFT AUTO take it for what it is. i think if your a true fan of the games you'll enjoy them i for one cant wait for it to be in the mailbox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse