Rent Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.8

10097 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A gift that just keeps on giving

posted by StarWars94 (BAYONNE, NJ) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

87 out of 101 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

After playing GTA IV, I was still craving more action. Then Rockstar announced an expasion for the game. I was unable to get it because of a lack of online connection but when they announced the second expansion, they solved my problems. They put both games on a disk and allowed people like me who don't have online to play them. These games are just simply epic and add on to the awesomeness of GTA IV. I simply can't put this game down no matter how hard I try. The tank makes it's return in TBOGT as well as the return of the parachute (no more falling to your death). New and more powerful weapons are added to the games to make the experience a lot more fresher. The stories are solid and intertwine with each other. This game is worth the rent or better yet, buy it! It's worth it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Purely Awsome

posted by MrMarine (DEVILLE, LA) Sep 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

From the moment I ever started playing a Grand Thief Auto I was hooked on the series and to this day the title still interests me. Through the stunning artwork and compelling design Liberty City comes to life as you join a biker gang in The Lost and Damned and learn how to run night clubs while keeping your boss and friend Tony Prince alive and out of harms way. In the Lost and Damned you play as a character named Johnny Kebitz as you play deeper into the game you will learn more of his life and the struggles that he has and will face. In The Ballad of --- Tony you play as Louis Lopez a Dominican Republic who is now a Partner to the biggest night club owner in Liberty City (Tony Prince). In this story you will learn more about the night life of Liberty City and as you get deeper and deeper into this life it may just consume you. I recommend this game to any GTA fan and to all others too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

DLC on a Disk

posted by RaxorX (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

60 out of 75 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City is amazing choice for people who do not own Grand Theft Auto IV or do not have enough hard drive space to fit either DLCs.
Episodes from Liberty City contains two story lines that intersect with the diamond storyline from GTA IV. The first one offered as DLC was The Lost and Damned, in which you play, Johnny Klebbitz, Vice-President for the biker gang, The Lost MC. The other episode is The Ballad of G.y Tony, where you play as Tony's bodyguard/club manager/friend Luis Lopez. Each episode contains multiplayer specific to each episode. TLAD has a few new race variants involving knocking people off bikes with a bat and TBOGT contains specific areas for Team deathmatch and new free mode options
On a whole GTA Episodes from Liberty City is an amzing rent or buy that has two amazing stories although I recommend starting with The Lost and Damned and then going to The Ballad of G.y Tony. If you have not played GTA IV it is a must to get the full experience from the two story lines. (The periods are placed because the review process does not let you have the whole word.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!

posted by Ultimate21 (CHULA VISTA, CA) Aug 19, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have to say this two extra episodes from GTA 4 were perfect.
just went i got bored of playing it after more than a year this 2 came out , if you beat GTA 4 already you are not over yet until you complete the Liberty City stories , the way they cross with Niko Bellic story line was genius.

and actually help you to understand better the story of Niko, personally i liked more the Ballad of tony missions and story line , but the achievements were off , i mean objectives on the missions with % on each misssion? The Lost episodes were much easier and fun to get.

anyway if you are a fan of Rockstars product GTA series is a no miss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Refreshing

posted by GIFTSx (GENEVA, OH) Sep 10, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

this game was refreshing. i rented the disc and the other stories were repetitive and boring to an extent. but the replay value on BOGT are fantastic. the LITTLE BIRD AND THE NOOSE tank with an ak47 and parachute on your side is just plain fun. for $21.99 buy it now i did!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!

posted by RayParker (DEERFIELD BEACH, FL) Oct 29, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

20 out of 35 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game is absolutely a must get. I've played all other gta's and this is by far #1. You now have parachutes, new vehicles, nitrous and way more powerful weapons. I love this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

As a fan

posted by 77KnockOut (WHITTIER, CA) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Jan 2005

16 out of 28 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

If your a fan of the series, you'll love this game. Period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsomes gta sereis there is rent it fast!!!!!!!!!

posted by monster6 (KNOXVILLE, IA) Oct 19, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

rent it its the bomb you can parachute and there is a lot more but just get of your but and rent it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great

posted by cflagg (CONGERS, NY) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

11 out of 20 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

only thing i wish was better is the car's handling thats about it...what an amazing game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GTA ats its best almost!

posted by mjc529 (RICHMOND HILL, GA) Sep 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

gta episodes is very fun like all gtas youre characters have free roaming ablility story mode is fun but to short then again u dont have to do missions hoped u liked my review

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More of the same

posted by stock76 (HALF MOON BAY, CA) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

14 out of 30 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

I suppose it's just that this format is getting tired. I've been playing GTA since GTA first came out (2D birds eye view). GTA III was an amazing step forward, Vice City offered an interesting twist, and San Andreas provided a world so large it was almost too much. GTA IV was a step back in terms of size, but a major step forward in quality of content. The problem, though, is that since GTAIII the gameplay has followed the same formula. Episodes from Liberty City is just more of the same. If you're into the story, then play it. If the stories don't hold your attention, then skip it. Nothing new here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

better than grand theft auto 4

posted by meep8980 (CLEBURNE, TX) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is the BEST game i ever rented from gamefly!!! the B.O.G.T. is my favorite of the two it has new guns,better activitys and your friends are so much better than brucie,roman,packie,so on.

the L.A.D. has (sadly) the same guns except for the saw shotgun, more new bikes,and has diferent activites.

Both have good graphics,awesome story lines and is way much better than GTA 4!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Gamefly's review-bot is over-sensitive

posted by concretebo (CHAMPAIGN, IL) Aug 4, 2010

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

NOTE: Apperently, one can't write G-A-Y in a review!? or use asterics! #gameflyfail

If you're a GTA fan, chances are you aren't reading this review, you'll up anything in the GTA brand. Even if you were just a casual fan of the series I'd recommend this add-on.

The Ballad of Tony, or TBOGT, as the game's loading screen calls it is a nice, but short set of story missions in the life of Tony's (hetero) business partner/bodyguard. There are some nice tie-in's with the GTA4 story missions of Nico Bellic. The diamond heist storyline, which plays out in the GTA4 and Lost and Dammed stories is nicely revisited.

It's also worth mentioning that there are some impressive new weapons and a nice rocket and mini-gun welding helecopter and (finally!) a parashute.

However, even when purchased as a DLC, theses new items can't be used in the original GTA4 Nico Bellic storyline.

TBoGT will be over before you know it and you'll relize after the 25th or so "Drug wars" mission that they're all pretty much variations on the same three missions. The base jumping diversion is similarly interesting, but the novelty wears of quickly.

Nevertheless, it's defanately worth one of your Gamefly rentals.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Add-on for the GTA4 but.....

posted by DTheLone (Afton, WY) May 20, 2010

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ya its a nice DLC for the game, best for those who don't have the room on there hard drive. If you like GTA games then this is a great one to add on to the rest of your GTA games. It just adds on more to GTA4 play style with new chars. But to me its just GTA4 with some new people. If your a love GTA and have 4, but don't have the room for the DLC, then get this game. buy it if you want to add to your GTA games. or just rent if you just want to see whats its all about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing DLC's

posted by Ny17JETS (HUDSON, FL) Oct 29, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

12 out of 27 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

both of them are amazing, great add-ons to an already revolutionary game definetly worth your time.The Ballad of ... Tony has me drooling...which sounds kinda awkward

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun.. But lacked alot of things

posted by TophopN (CLERMONT, FL) Mar 6, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed the storyline of this game and the clubs were fun to play around in, but I didnt like that i couldnt go buy a different house to live in or manage my own clubs and stuff that all the other GTA's allowed me to do, when i seen this came out i thought... well hoped that it would mash up everything you could do in all the other ones, but i was wrong/:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game, foul language.

posted by Lokimar (HEMET, CA) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

The game was great, far better gameplay and more challenging missions than GTA4 in my opinion, but the amount of foul language went beyond what I would consider appropriate even in terms of Grand Theft Auto. I love my M rated games, but The Lost and Damned went beyond excess in this case. Johnny drops more F bombs every time you pull the trigger than Niko or Tony do throughout their entire respective games. In short, the game is worth a play-through, but make sure your kids/parents/inlaws/whatever aren't around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Episodes from liberty city

posted by 11tigers11 (CARROLL, IA) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

its seems like ive played this game before. Pretty much. this game is just like grand theft auto 4 the only thing is the new people pretty much. And their is still a couple of the same missions but from a different guys point of view. Over all the storyline so far is pretty good. Im doin johnny the guy that belongs to the biker gang called the lost. It definetly is worth rentin. I do love the idea that you belong to a gang. Rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DLC finally made it as a full fledged game

posted by sockit2me (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) Oct 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

8 out of 18 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

the dlc from the lost and damned is here while a new story called the ballad of tony is here. the controls are still similar from gta 4. graphics has been slightly enhanced of both stories. both multiplayers are great but really make this game tick is the drama story. as the lost come back together their are soon being breaking apart of the rivalries of other gaame. tony assistant to one of the best club owners of liberty city,but not is all what it seem when tony learn about the boss little secret. overall, this is a great spinoff from gta 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun game to play

posted by vinz187 (WEST MIFFLIN, PA) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

same thing as grand theft auto 4 different story line they just add 2 new game plays lost and demand and g a y tony

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kinda Cool

posted by korn24 (DES MOINES, IA) Nov 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I give this game a 50 out of 10. this game is just so freckin awesome!

The ballad of g a y Tony is my all favorite. they brought in stuff from san andreas into gta 4. one cool thing about all tree of them, they all connect together. in regular gta4 u and johnny form lost and the dammed, do a mission together and louis from g a y tony is one of the hostages in the bank robbery mission. it's just coll.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

dlc's on disks

posted by Marlow007 (CHARLESTON, WV) Nov 7, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

its about time they put these downloads on disk. at first you had to get them from gamestop etc. for 30$ (and you only got to play the expantion 1 time!!!! before it basically deletes itself.) but now i am able to enjoy the downloads and not waste my money on a one time use (which sucked btw)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad, for a rental.

posted by captchaos (OWEGO, NY) Mar 7, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I am so glad I decided to rent this title. It's a nice addition to GTA IV but not really worth buying. I have to agree with the other reviewers, TBOGT is way better than TLAD. No offense, but being in a biker gang is kinda a pain when you have to go from Broker to Alderney. Plus, how many races can you lose because you run over a curb or a rival hits your back tire and spins you out. I mean, come on man!

On a side note, there are plenty of activities to complete once you have finished both story lines. The base jumping can be a bit of a pain-in-the-butt, most times I had to do them multiple times just to get the glide path right. The parachute controls could be a bit easier but then what fun would that be.

Rent it, play it, return it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Always love the add-ons better

posted by n3omoto (SAVANNAH, TN) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Always makes you wonder why things like this never make the original game. There are tons of reviews and they don't lie. These Add-ons are solid and if you love GTA, then you need to play this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME IS WORTH IT!!!!!

posted by cm2007kr (BRIGHTON, MA) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is worth renting, and buying it is two different storylines, which I think is very unique and cool at the same time. The gunplay is awesome!!!!!! and if you have HDTV then its even better. I love this game and believe it will keep you entertained for hours. 2 thumbs up for this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse