Rent Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars for PSP Games
view large frontback

Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
5.8

576 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

the game was ok a solid 7

posted by kenth56 (SURPRISE, AZ) Feb 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game started out ok the intro had pretty bad graphics but once you see them talking and the animations pop up while they talk you see graphics are ok
gameplay is awesome it is very fun and the play style keeps you coming back overall you have to look past the whole graphics thing to really see how good this game is. you can tell they sacraficed graphics for gameplay and thats ok overall the game is fun and keeps you playing so rent it and you'll have a fun time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nostalgia or a step back?

posted by TarheelM (RALEIGH, NC) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

For the uninitiated, Chinatown Wars was originally released on the DS, where like many M-rated franchises that have recently tried to tap that Nintendo well, sold much lower than expectations. I'm not sure if porting the game to the PSP was a result of poor DS sales or part of the plan all along, but if you're new to the PSP or the world of GTA, you really shouldn't start here.

The PSP version is essentially the same top-down game (reminiscent of GTA I and II) with improved graphics and sound, plus a few changes to mini-games that previously required the DS touch screen. Much of what put GTA on the map is here: the story, the characters, the wide-open world with lots of stuff to explore outside of the main missions. Still, after playing the "Stories" games on PSP (still two of the system's best games), this really feels like a big step back for the franchise. It's not just the generic radio and lack of voice acting, either. Shooting and driving is clunky and with the top-down view there were many times where my view was blocked by trees or train tracks.

Don't get me wrong. It's a good game and 7 is probably too low. If we could use decimals I'd give it 7.5 or so. I might actually give it another rental later on to give it a second chance, but only because it's Grand Theft Auto. If it was just called "Chinatown Wars" by someone other than Rockstar, I'm not sure I would have even put it in my queue the first time around. It may not be fair to compare it to other games in the GTA series, but you if want to sell this as a full-priced, $40 game that's what I'm going to do. And unfortunately it pales in comparison to its PSP predecessors.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

its surprisnly beast!!

posted by theDon72 (NORTH AUGUSTA, SC) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

like its not the same as a regular gta game because its the view like the first 2 but it strangly feels like a regular gta game its fun u get to have an all out war with the cops...everything u would expect from a gta game and then some extra with the fun minigames included...defantly a rent when it comes down in price then a buy and im just saying that because i only buy psp games when there 20 dollars

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Other GTA's were better

posted by Ganzig (PETALUMA, CA) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

If you're a hardcore fan of this series then I would say definitely rent this one. But if not then pass this one by.

The previous GTA's on PSP were fantastic. Incredibl graphics, music, controls. This one is just a lazy port over from the DS. Lame graphics, poor controls, no lyrics in the music?!?!?! WTH?!?!
And the whole game is an above view like the first GTA's ever made on the PC. Man oh man this is a big step backwards. I really hope this doesnt catch on and rockstar goes back to the way they used to do it for the PSP...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rockstar Cheaps Out

posted by IronDiva (WAYNE, NJ) Oct 30, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

There's some interesting things in this game that I'd like to see in future GTA releases, but overall, I'm fairly disappointed in Chinatown Wars. Instead of "moving" cutscenes with voices, we get stills and captions. Instead of great radio stations with cool music, we get about 5 or 6 Euro trash disco stations that all basically sound the same.

Gameplay-wise...what is this, a rehashed version of the very first GTA? The only thing that's missing is the gurgly voices on the payphones.

Listen, I know there's a recession and everything, but cutting corners by saving money on music licensing and not having to pay actors for voice-overs is inexcusable, and not what I've come to expect with the GTA franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

GTA VCS & GTA LCS WERE BETTER

posted by Mike3083 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Aug 31, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I hated this one cause it remind me of the old GTA with that dumb old helicopper view, Next GTA on PSP needs to go back to vice city stories way better gameplay =(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but Hard

posted by OkanBS1987 (NEWARK, DE) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Now I love the GTA series, but I have to say that this latest edition is not that great only in the fact that it is really hard. Most of the missions can be done in one try, but others are just brutal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Great

posted by Flogger (SOMERVILLE, MA) Sep 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Meh sums this game up pretty well. If you dont expect too much going in its a decent game, but it has a lot of problems. Driving/Shooting is very inexact, the cops are all over you constantly, and you reach a point where you have to stop everything and grind to get to $5000, which at the time I only had 200 bucks. Disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game is the worst GTA i have played

posted by kujo1990 (MIAMI, FL) Feb 19, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this was my first psp GTA experience. i have played it on ps2 and ps3. i was ready for lower quality graphics and i knew the audio on this game is subtitles but the worst part of this game is the player handling and visual. it looks like a stone age game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NO CHEATS WHAT HOW COULD THEY

posted by CBP1234 (RIPLEY, TN) Dec 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

THE GAME IS VERY GOOD BUT IT WOULD BE BETTER IF THE HAD CHEATS. EVERY GRAND THEFT AUTO I HAVE EVER RENTED HAS HAD CHEATS. BUT THE BEST ONE DOESNT HAVE ANY CHEATS. YALL REALLY NEED TO MAKE SOME. GUNS, CARS, HOUSES, MONEY ALL THE STUFF WE NEED

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Yuck

posted by mrasad211 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Apr 1, 2010

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game should have stayed on the DS. Wow the only decent part is the driving.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad

posted by tamara (LEVELLAND, TX) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

this game in my oppinon sucks compared to the other ones the graphix is hosable no takling just sube titles i was very disapointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worst GTA game I ever played

posted by Dukesfan (CYPRESS, TX) Feb 5, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

The game is a little good, but I believe it's cheap.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game Hated camera view

posted by spark12 (JAMESTOWN, SC) Dec 5, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

This was a very good game but i hated the camera view anybody else agree with me!?!?! Anyways i was pretty impressed that you could do things you cant do in other grand theft auto's like pump gas hot wire cars etc anyways i give it a 8.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Exciting-NOT

posted by waynetango (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 15, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

This game did not give me any type of excitement at all. I've played other GTA games on the PSP and it was such a joyful experience. This is not a game i would purchase. Rent and play for a day then mail it but don't keep it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad. DS version is better

posted by noodle37 (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Very bad I prefer DS version

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars review

posted by Raziel111 (LINDSAY, CA) Nov 15, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2010

Grand Theft Auto China Town Wars is very different from the original series. Instead of cutscenes, you get pictures with characters faces on them with no voice overs. Just subtitles. The game is basically an overhead view of the whole field.

First off, the game has interactive cutscenes. Gun combat is availabel as well as the abillity to commit drive bys. Plus, the GPS is handy and very easy to use.

The flaws, driving is difficult especially with an overhead view. The gun action is not very fun. Plus, cutscenes are very boring. People prefer not to read, but hear.

But, my biggest flaw. Too much driving, not enough action. I don't like driving and I love action. Basically, this thing disapointed me like Grand Theft Auto IV in the same way.

Anybody looking for a first game, don't play this one.
Anybody who likes Grand Theft Auto, don't play this game.
Overall it really stinks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ROCKSTAR GAMES COULD HAVE DONE BETTER

posted by keylockkid (SAN PEDRO, CA) Jan 7, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

this game wasnt wut i thought it was...... this game is like the 1st grand theft auto game they ever made its a sky view of the game which i dont like...... some of the chartoon graphics r ok only when u r talking to some one or seelling drugs or buying drugs the grapgics look good...... this game is kinda cool when u steal cars u stick a screw driving into it nhave to do some different things with it n stuff its fun but ges really boring after a while....... would i buy this game no would i rent it again or recomend it no.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

disappointed!

posted by drp2502 (TRINITY, TX) Nov 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

Surprised that Rockstar would bomb this badly. I was really happy with the liberty city version. But this was bad. To start is looking down on the game is tough to see, and to get used to. I also was dissappointed by the having to read so much instead of being able to listen like in liberty city. Just glad I didn't have to buy this game. Guess when you expeirence a game like Gran Turismo or GTA liberty city, you are spoiled.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Enjoyed more than DS Version

posted by StratMan (MIAMI, FL) Nov 5, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2008

I didn't like the mini games as they were harder to use than with the DS but I also hated using the pen and then both hands to move and fight with as I would lose my DSi pen on occasions. The game is a bit slow in the menu system. At times it was hard to see or predict traffic when moving fast but the larger screen on the PSP made it a bit easier to play. A solid game with good replay value but at $40 store price, it's not worth but the $29 Gamefly price makes it a worth while value. I still however enjoy MHFU more than any other game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »