Rent Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars for DS
view large frontback

Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games
GF Rating
7.5

1802 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best portable game this year!

posted by ObehaveWan (BREA, CA) May 28, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

15 out of 15 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So Grand Theft Auto has gone back to its roots, and those genuises have produced a top-down perspective game for Nintendo's handheld. I first thought this to be a strange idea, but it works perfectly on the DS. The camera is perfectly intuitive while driving, and there are compensatory mechanics to make up for not being able to see very far ahead.

As for gameplay, it's your standard GTA run and gun antics, with plenty of wacky weapons like a chainsaw and flamethrower. There's also a taser (called the teaser) that doesn't hurt the enemies very much, but it is pretty funny! For the driving, you can get rid of your wanted levels by making the cops crash, which I found to be much more entertaining than just hiding.

There's also a new drug dealing aspect to the game, which I found thoroughly satisfying. Not that I'm into drugs, but I can't help being proud when the game tells me that I just made a huge profit on a sale!

There are also several minigames and controls that make use of the touch screen. This is where Rockstar has taken it to the next level. Most games on the DS only put in a few cursory touch screen elements, but in GTA Chinatown the integration is seamless and a lot of fun. There are several minigames for jacking cars, drawing tattoos, and my favorite was assembling a sniper rifle before using it.

Unfortunately, the game is not without mistakes. The shooting relies on auto-aim, and it doesn't always work perfectly. This is made up for by the enemies being as dumb as bricks. Most of the missions were easy enough that I didn't have to try them more than once. Also, you will often get a wanted star after jacking a car because there was a cop offscreen that you didn't see.

The dialogue is campy, but it was meant to be, as a joke.

This game was close to perfect, and even with its flaws, it is a must try for all (adult) DS owners.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Great DS Game

posted by Colbrain (KANSAS CITY, MO) Mar 28, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

By far the best game on the DS. As with ant DS game the graphics are not outstanding but they work with the system. The game play is where this game excels. I love using the touch screen as it make the game a whole new experience. If you like the Grand Theft Auto series and have a DS then try this game because you will be surprised and pleased. Nothing is watered down in this version it is just as filled with bad stuff as all the console games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sets the standard in DS capability!

posted by boopuft (WOODINVILLE, WA) Mar 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2004

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

While this is not my typical genre, I was absolutely stunned by the graphical and play depth of this game. The fully realized 3d world, destructable environment and objects, touch screen integration...are beyond any game I've seen on DS before (and I've played a LOT of them). This really sets the standard for what can be achieved on this platform and should be a reference for other game makers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Simply amazing!

posted by catlovr (SEEKONK, MA) Jun 6, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the first time that I've played a GTA game. My son has played
them all and has raved about them. This particular game for the DS,
is very well done! I was skeptical at first, but I can't put it down!
Love it! Rent it and see for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BLAST TO THE PAST

posted by jdino18 (FRANKLIN, MA) Jul 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

gta chinatown wars was amazing. the game is about a man named huang who lives in china but when he hears the news about his father being dead he heads to liberty city when he gets there his fathers important sword which huang was careing gets stolen and threw out the game ur trying to avenge ur fathers death and retrive the sword .the game is very similar to the older gta games in a birds eye view at a slight angle .the game is extriemly fun tho because the missions that u do for cheracters are mixed up and are never dull or boring but sometimes missons can get annoying if u cant complete them but for the most part they are easy .in the game u will me lots of interesting charecters and get to do missions for them most of the all of these charecters are in always fighting against eachother so in the game u are basically a double ageant . the controls in the game are very easy to pick up and are fun to use . as far as the wepons and cars the wepons are great with a wide veriety of selections and cars are easy to drive and fun to use .as for use of the touch screen they did a good job the game tries to use it as much as it can like in miny games and stufff i.after u play the game u can remain in liberty city and just chill or continue to deal drugs and do missions for random pplz or just reak havioc over all the games great and if u r a gta fan its a must have

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best thing to happen to GTA since Vice City

posted by Cavalier41 (CORONA, CA) Apr 16, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Call me old school, but the GTA series peaked for me, at Vice City. San Andreas was too cluttered with things to do. GTA 4 was an impressive bit of game making, but I found myself growing tired of the formula. This is where Chinatown Wars triumphs. Sure, it is GTA, which means plenty of driving, killing, and police chases, but the game itself is simple. Which is what makes it work for the DS. The camera view is overhead, like classic GTA, and the controls are tight. The bottom line: This game is fun.

The weakest part of the game is the story. It is told through comic book style panels, which itself is good, but the dialogue can be lacking or downright cheesy.

The games controls are very tight and responsive. Most of it is done via the face & shoulder buttons. The stylus is used sparingly; mostly for mini games, browsing your PDA, or throwing grenades and molotov cocktails. One more difference that should be noted is the wanted system. In other games you had to find payoffs, in GTA 4 it was escape the search radius, Chinatown wars moves away from this. Now you must destroy cop cars to shake the cops. I think this works in the games favor with minimal view for the mini map, and extremely detailed and populated city, but hey, I like destruction.

All in all this game is an amazing technical accomplishment on the DS, and extremely fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awsome!

posted by Drowzee7 (COLUMBUS, OH) Mar 22, 2009

Member since Aug 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I Really love this game!

I bought it 2 days after it was released and was shocked about how great of a game this is!!!

If you like Shooting,and Driving... This is your game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

First Great Game on DS

posted by Kakashi13 (SLIDELL, LA) Mar 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well, probably not the first great game on DS but definitely a great game for the DS library. Very different from the console games but works well on the DS. Very fine game play and runs very smoothly. Plenty of touch mini games which don't ruin the gameplay and gives you a little more satfication knowing that you did something like you would in real life like hot wire a car or assemble a sniper rifle(not that you should attempt half the things in a GTA game) One thing I am very happy about is that they didn't try to make it kid friendly because it's on DS. There's still plently of cursing and violence that we all know from a typical GTA game. There was one point where I got a chainsaw and sawed a guy in half, which seemed more violent that GTA IV. All in all it's an awesome game and a must have for any DS owner or GTA fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent. like gta4 in a gta2 viewpoint

posted by Destroy (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Mar 31, 2009

Member since Oct 2004

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The writing and gameplay are fantastic. The controls are excellent. The sounds are hysterical. The music is tight.

The viewpoint is cool. I have been with the series from the beginning, so I'm used to gta2's top down view, but I still think the players who've only seen gta3 and up will enjoy this one.

The graphics are neat. It has a consistent feel and look to it. They lowered detail just enough to make everything smooth. No slow down.

I like the new dealing mechanic. Nice additional way to make bucks. And it integrates into the story nicely.

(don't forget R is the handbrake and L for moving the camera behind yourself when on foot and you'll be set)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not like the others

posted by StratMan (MIAMI, FL) Jun 2, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Love the fact this was made only for the DS and not pushed elsewhere. Great easy interface, tons of options, free play and story mode make this a great game to keep.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Patr1ot (MOORPARK, CA) May 2, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun

posted by GmaeHead13 (HUMMELSTOWN, PA) May 26, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is actually really good. This is the most I have played my ds since i got it. I was a bit worried about the controls at first but the are actually really simple. This is a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Grand Theft Auto ChinaTown Wars

posted by GTAfanboy1 (PEACHTREE CITY, GA) May 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it was a really good game for travle! The mini games were awsome how to jacked cars! over all it was not to real and not to cheesey it was a really good cartoony game and i really enjoyed it BUY IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pretty good game

posted by ieatgnomes (SUN VALLEY, NV) Apr 23, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

ummm well if your a fan of gta your going to love it if your not you'll like it the missions get kinda boring but the game play and free worldness is awesome <yes i know worldness is not a word dam> it really expands the border of the ds i don't think you can get it really any better for the ds altho maybe a little but better storyline but a for sure rent i wouldn't suggest buying but if your a huge gta fan maybe you will but RENT THE GAME BEFORE YOU BUY IT ok so a good rent overall 7 out of 10 really good game if it wasn't for storyline it would be 9 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

good, but has a bad glitch

posted by Snake14088 (FAIRBORN, OH) May 1, 2009

Member since Dec 2004

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I like Grand Theft Auto games and Saints row games, i liked this game until i got to the part in the story with wade heston (A Detective) there is a glitch with him where you give him the drug he needs, but you can't do the mission, it will even say "Drug needed 0" but he will still not let you, start the mission, it might be rare but for me it was game breaking, so much so i had to send it back.

So if you rent this becareful of this mission, and if you can start it try to finish it in one go or it might do the same to you. ("Mission name: Bagging the tail" or something like that. )

i only gave this game a rating of two mainly because of the glitch if it wasn't for that it wouldn't be so bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

a review

posted by Raptor1133 (PORT ORANGE, FL) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

i think this game is an embarrasiment to the grand theft auto series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I haven't played yet but looks awesome

posted by Tjg113 (SIMI VALLEY, CA) Mar 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

I haven't even played this game yet and it looks totally awesome. It's like the first 2D and 3D game put together I've ever seen. Well if I ever play this game I'll Put a better review if I can.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Very Very Hard Game!!

posted by ILUVMARIO (CLEVELAND, NY) May 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

I was extremly disappointed in this game. I have played Grand Theft Auto on the XBox 360....and expected something like that for the DS....this is not the case. Completing the tasks was hard, trying to navigate around to the different places and finding them on the map with much of the icons looking to be the same was horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game SUCKS!

posted by TheSnake (CREWE, VA) Apr 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 31 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

gta china town wars is so stupid. the 2 gtas 4 PSP are so much better. do not rent it. hears a list of the things i hate about this game. (1) horrible graphics. (2) stupid noise. (3) the whole game just sucks. personally i would much much rather have gta vice city stories for the PSP. i would rather play any PSP game. rock star needs 2 make more PSP games and needs 2 just stay away from the stupid, worthless, hopeless nintendo ds!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucks

posted by killer2507 (MAXIE, VA) Jul 1, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

its the worst it sucks the worst game ever I cant stand playing this game its so stupid

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Game is not all that great to play

posted by Goldensoulman (LYNCHBURG, VA) Dec 31, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Just playing it seemed lacking visually and just to easy to beat. Need a little more to the game to make it worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

waste of even putting in rental Que

posted by Roddog70 (HENRICO, VA) Jul 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

i got the game on the 23rd of June by the 30th i had it beat not much of a dialogue or game play useless you consider flinging C and other drugs entertaining and controlling the cars and other vehicles was a pain especially the hot wire and disabling alarms with the stylus or touching the screen spend more time in restarting chapters then enjoying the game at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

annoying and fun plus awsome

posted by setherrs (HOLLAND, MI) Apr 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

first for the annoying part when you get arrested you lose all weapons and drugs the fun part is when you get a tank at the air port teehee i get the fricken military after me in 5 minutes with my trusty tank for the awsome part i got a gatling gun and its fricken cheesly awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Grand Theft Portable

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Mar 28, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

This is not the watered down, anemic version of GTA that many people will probably write it off as. The Graphics are typical DS and instead of voice actors we get text. Its not as cinematic as GTA 4 but what can you really expect from the DS? Little details like listening to licensed music on the radio are also left out of the game. If a sequel is released on 3DS I can see this being updated but right now the presentation is the only problem I have with the game, and its a small problem that's perfectly reasonable given the game system Rockstar had to work with.

The gameplay is exactly the same as the other games in the GTA games, the violence is not toned down and nearly as deep as the console games despite the DS having fewer buttons. Sometimes it feels like your characters floating or their attacks don't feel like they have much impact, but that's my only complaint. Driving is fast and easy but the physics aren't as good as in the main games. In this game you can cause a car to explode by punching it long enough.

Decent game with some minor problems. Probably one of the best non-Nintendo DS games to own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Grand Theft Auto ChinaTown Wars

posted by Birds (CHINO, CA) Oct 13, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

want to buy why not for sale

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse