Rent Gran Turismo for PSP Games
view large frontback

Gran Turismo

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $9.99

GF Rating
6.3

616 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

good game

posted by cromostone (UNIONTOWN, OH) Jun 24, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i thought this was a pretty good game but i didn't like how there were only 4 dealerships a day and how there wasn't a campaign to play through. If it had a campaign, it might have been a perfect game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I GO FASTER IN

posted by Ziantman (JAMAICA, NY) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I GO FASTER IN MY OWN CAR DRIVING MS.DAISY!
Graphics - good.
Car selection - not many
Tracks - plenty
The main issue is the speed, its not a racing game its a driving game. You'd be better of racing in GTA (Grand Theft Auto) or something.

BASICALLY...

NO FUN=NO RENT= DEFINITELY NO BUY, THANK GOD FOR GAMEFLY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

just not the amazing game I expected

posted by ChaseHamme (FRANKLIN, TN) Sep 30, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Ok dont get me wrong, the game is good its just not what i was expecting coming from the GT team. The game STRONGLY resembles GT2 on the PS1. There is only 1 view is is above the hood (i could be wrong but i cant figure out how to change it). There is no "Story", it simply shows you the options to change car, track and race mode. The dealers is very strange system. It only shows 4 dealers at start and you only get to choose from those(i have not gotten far in the game so may change at sometime im sure). As far as actual gameplay, like i says it plays A LOT like Gran Turismo 2. When racing it is very smooth to control however seems like you are always drifting into the curves regardless of speed/brake...more like a fishtail i would say. All in all so far in the game it is a decent racer and ill give the devs a break since this is their first portable game. Perhaps a download update in the future is possible...lol nah. Anyways give it a try, this is not a F&F racing game by any means so if you are looking for that try something else, if you like sims and real physics this is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Gran Turismo: “Boring Edition”

posted by Beema1 (SANTEE, CA) Feb 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Very disappointed in the game since I am a huge fan of the series. The graphics are amazing, the controls are just fine, and the cars drive well…..but it is just straight up boring. There really seems to be no reward or reason to play, like turning on an older game that you have already beat just to tie up the remaining loose ends. Or worse like a demo where the real meat of the game isn't playable.

Everything is unlocked; there is no progression of “levels” no modifying the cars. Nothing “happens” when you beat a license groups, or when you win a races. The game boils down to just continuing to win more races for more money and more cars, which got boring fast. Lots of cars with nothing to do with them!!! I knew these things before I rented the game but figured it would still be a blast because "its Gran Turismo." It HAS to be good......Very glad I didn’t buy first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best racing simulation for PSP by far.

posted by PiNaKoLaDa (SYRACUSE, NY) Oct 4, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Pros:

a) Very interesting gameplay.
b) Very good graphics and sound.
c) A lot of accurately modeled cars to choose from.
d) Many varieties of tracks.

Cons:

a) No internet gaming.
b) Sometimes white lines do appear on screen, but not a big issue.
c) The analog stick can be a little too sensitive and the D-pad can be a little too irresponsive (I could be wrong).

Overall, an amazing experience. A must "keep it" for 30 bucks. Thank You GameFly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

To change the view

posted by SomeGuy377 (FREDERICK, MD) Oct 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

To change the view press select. There is no Story but a bunch of cars to unlock by playing single player. No tuning or customization. You can change color of car and type of tires. Thats it. Game frame rate, Graphics, and simulation physics are very impressive!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not so Great

posted by Alfinator (VERMILION, OH) Jan 5, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I rented this game because the GT title. The Graphics are okay but the load times can get a bit annoying at times. The ability to play your own mp3's from your memory card is a great plus however. If you like racing games and own a PSP i don't recommend this title, it was a big letdown. Looking forward to the release onto the major console platforms early 2010.

Gameplay 6/10
Replay 3/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A rental, nothing more

posted by Aeroskunk (POTTSTOWN, PA) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Pros:

1. The graphics and physics engine (car handling) for a psp game is really good. The drifting effect on dirt/snow courses is pretty cool. You can draft on long straight aways and cars will accelerate more slowly when going up hill.
2. The amount of cars and tracks available are immense.

Cons:

1. No career mode. After you run a handful of time trials and solo races the game gets old real fast.
2. No online multiplayer. The idea that a game made in 2009 requires an "ad hoc" mode for multiplayer is rediculous. There is no reason my friends need to congregate in my living room to play a video game. It completely defeats the purpose of online gaming.
3. You can't buy any car when you can afford it. The game is set up so that certain dealerships are open on certain virtual days base on game play. Forcing you to horde up your credits until the dealership is "open" or buy a car you didnt really want just so you can win a race.

4. The last problem (which I hope isn't my psp dying) is the white pin dots that appear sporatically during the actual races. I dropped in a few other games I own and they didn't show the white dots. The dots move on the screen during GT, so I know they aren't burned pixels. Once again, if this problem resides in the game, shame on Sony. A major title release with that kind of glaring visual problem is sad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

NOT THE GAME I ESPECTED EITHER!!!

posted by marlon07 (FRANKLIN, VA) Oct 3, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

NO CAREER MODE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHAT WERE THEY THINKING!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good gameplay, lack presentation

posted by pandora (DAVENPORT, FL) Feb 3, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

As this is my first time to play a realistic driving game, I must say that this game truly makes me addicted to it. And for anyone who hasn't played any realistic driving game and intend to play this one, I will suggest one thing to you, turn the transmission to manual, this will makes the game more fun.

The control and graphic of this game is far superior and better than I expect. As for the car selection, you can have more than 800 cars!!! Which is a mystery for me as how they put that much of information in such a small disc. The game also runs on 60fps and has 35 tracks. I must say that the game deserves 9/10 from the gameplay perspective.

But why I only gives 7/10? Because first: no story mode. This makes me feel like I am playing this game without a specific goal. The customization on the car is poorly weak, you can't add or change specific or paint on specific part. Finally, one important thing is: online, which requires you to have PS3 in order the use ad-hoc party and play online. So... what if I am a poor guy and can't afford $299+tax for a PS3? If I am really rich, I wouldn't even bother to go to this site and rent game.

Overall: They makes the game looks like a expensive mini-game rather the hard-core, for its lack of standard feature.

But nevertheless, this game deserves a praise, because of its time to take the developers make. As for a first-time realistic driving player, I will say this game will satisfy all of the beginner like me. But for those who played other similar games before, this game may not be the one you want.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

BAD

posted by EXTORTION (BOCA RATON, FL) Dec 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

IT SUX

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GRAN TURISMO RACING FOR PSP THIS GAME IS GARBAGE!!

posted by XXXXXX (Madison, WI) Nov 18, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

not another blasted psp game missing the only important mode. story mode is there really that little storage available or are game developers JUST GETTING LAZY! YOU CANT USE ANY SAVE YOU HAVE TO USE YOUR OWN SO IF YOU DELETE THAT MEANS STARTING ALL OVER AGAIN! NO OTHER SAVES WORK EXCEPT YOUR OWN. CAR SELECTION IS MORE WORSE NOW THAN IT EVER WAS BEFORE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GT-PSP good, but not for everyone

posted by someguy235 (ASHEVILLE, NC) Oct 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Gran Turismo PSP is an interesting approach to the franchise, one which stands to divide their fan base. As others have said there is no Story Mode. When you want to race, you choose a race type (Time Trial, Drift, or the standard Player vs. 7 CPU cars), a car from your garage, and a track. The first time you race each track you run at D-class, or easy. Each time you win you're able to race the same track at a harder class, up to S-Class I imagine but I never took it that far. And that's the problem: In previous GT games with the event system you had an incentive to buy better cars, because otherwise you couldn't hope to compete in the harder events. In GT-PSP you're always matched against cars similar to yours, so you can literally do every race with your starting Mini Cooper if you want. The only reason to buy new cars is to see how they drive, and to add to your collection. I quickly realized that I just don't care about owning all the cars unless there is some in-game benefit, you may feel differently.

That said, this is GT on the PSP which is pretty incredible. The game plays great, and looks amazing. There are a ton of cars to choose from (you can buy from 4 dealers at a time, and they change daily), and a ton of tracks to race, all available right from the start.

TLDR: Think about what you really want from Gran Turismo. If you play GT mostly for the driving, you'll be very pleased. If you like the driving, but play it mostly for the sense of achievement you get from progressing through Story Mode, still check it out but be prepared to only play it for a day or two before getting bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not the greatest gran turismo

posted by disater (TAMARAC, FL) Dec 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I rented This Game I was Expecting to see one of the best games for psp but It was actullaly not the greatest game the graphics are not the game surprised me. Anyway on a scale from 1-10 This game is 3. I like the fact that it comes with Different brands of cars but thats not enough in a game P.S The cars are SLOW not a good attribute.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

disappointment

posted by Dtormala (GWINN, MI) Nov 8, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has potential... but what was wrong with the game.. You get tired of the game after you complete the driving challeneges.. why.. cause there is no challnege left to the game.. Thanks for not adding the career mode.. It ruined the GT name on this game.. Great grapichs.. and also for those that haven't figured out to change view is to use the select button. There is a cockpit mode aswell.. nice.. Anyways I not happy with the game.. Just got this game yesterday through here.. and I was so looking for forward in playing the game.. but after seeing what the game really is.. It's sad.. so.. Rent the game.. but don't buy it.. it's not worth the $40 you have to dish out for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not what I Expected

posted by duoboy66 (BRONX, NY) Oct 24, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This Review Will be short and not so sweet

PROS
1. graphics is good for PSP platform

2. can't think of anything

3. can't think of anything

4. can't think of anything

CONS
1. can't get the car you want when you want it

2. can't customize cars the way you like too

3. limit on cars you can have in garage

4. Game play is hard if you have large hands

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rent only

posted by caneno (GORDONVILLE, PA) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a joke, if you liked any thing about these games it was the buying of cars and fixing up to race them, this game gives you a few company at the start and changes some times, the races take forever to load, 2x the slowest raceing game I ever played at least. theres a 1 min loading screan to conferm you slection then another 2 to get the game going, rent it if you want to try it, but theres so many nicer racing games for the psp out there,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

stinks

posted by zik4321 (WINTER PARK, FL) Oct 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

this game is very bad. i would not recomend it for anyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Gran Turismo review from Barysik101

posted by Barysik101 (RENTON, WA) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I dont like this game because it is confusing. It is confusing because in the main menu I didnt know how to do a race or something like that. It might seem like I dont know what I am talking about but I do. Its just confusing, you will see once you play it. But this is just my opinion. I also didn't like the graphics in the game. Even the Gran Turismo on PS1 was better. I was a fan of that game, but seeing how not so great it is on PSP is just disapointing to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GT PSP, A keeper for hardcore racer types.

posted by HolmWrecke (OREGON CITY, OR) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

One of my hobbies is radio controlled racing, meaning; I live, eat, sleep and play racing. This game is a perfect hardcore racing game... More of a sim actually. The graphics are truly amazing. Frame rates are smooth as silk. Controls are spot on and the physics are really cool. The over all fit and finish is great.
With 800 freaking cars and 35 tracks this game will serve me well for a long time to come. My entire life has been all about racing and cars, so I was quite excited to see just about every make, model and race class of car in the game, going back to the late 1950's.
They've even included some really obscure factory and race cars. All the cars drive like you expect a racing sim to drive.
Some may not like this game, but if you seriously race, this is the one you'll want to play between heats at the local track.
Racing starts out fairly easy, but later races will require the right car with the right setup or you'll lose every time. The amount of tuning options is excellent and very accurate.
If you know how to set up a real race car, all the settings you put in the game car work just like real life race cars and lap times can dramatically shorten with the right tuning.
I haven't tried the multi-player game mode but that could be some good times with a couple of my racer buds.
Tracks include dirt, snow and differing types of pavement, all of them accurate as far as slip and acceleration and braking go.
Definitely a keeper game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fair Game...

posted by XFlamingFoxX (BOULDER CITY, NV) Nov 9, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Just one problem. You cant change the camera to 3rd person, or 1st person. Besides that, fairly good graphics, excellent steering response, and awesome vehicles to buy. There should be more tracks (like the Las Vegas Motor Speedway) though. Still, game is totally worth getting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by steeler45pack (LONG BEACH, CA) Jul 4, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I got this game for Christmas and the game looked very fun. I started playing but I noticed that there was no career mode or levels. I was very sad that you cant upgrade or customize your car. Overall, the Gran Turismo is a great game for people who love to race on different tracks and race with a variety of cars. The cars had a nice engine sound and the graphics are the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I got this one for free!

posted by FAILRUNNER (WHITE PLAINS, NY) Sep 30, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

If you paid for it expect disappointment but if it was free with the purchase of God of war chains of Olympus you should be happy! Not my favorite game but my only PSP simulator. Arcade racers are more my thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Quit crying about not having a career mode!!

posted by Corey1983 (BRADENTON, FL) Sep 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

No career mode..big deal. This is still GT! A GT i can play on the go which is why we all bought a psp. Graphics are easy on the eyes, Great audio, engines reving into the red, tires screaming to maintain traction, custom sound tracks..great psp title! Step your game up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Gran Turismo

posted by Yehuda1967 (WAYNE, NJ) Jun 24, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Excellent game 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse