Rent Gran Turismo 6 for PS3
view large frontback

Gran Turismo 6

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $24.99

GF Rating
7.4

584 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Basically the same game as GT5...

posted by snifs (NORTH FORT MYERS, FL) Dec 21, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

The game is very similar to GT5, with a few minor differences. They brought back the need for licenses, making them more worthwhile now. Races now have "PP" limits, so you can't just take a super car into any race and blow through it, without reducing the power output.

Graphics are pretty much the same as GT5. To the naked eye its pretty much impossible to tell a difference.

They have the usual high number of cars to choose from, but at least hundreds of the same model, with just different versions of that model.

If you enjoyed GT5 and haven't played it in awhile, check this out it might be fun.

Don't waste your time with it if you own the old PS3 "fat" machine as it crashes your machine randomly. It is a known problem that only affects the old "fat" PS3's.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

the game stinks.

posted by johnny45b (HOLMDEL, NJ) Feb 21, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the previous version was better in every way possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wonderful Arcade Racer

posted by JomelS (CARSON, CA) Feb 2, 2014

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I used to love Gran Turismo back when I was young; in fact I still do, but calling this game a race sim is totally absurd. All the genuine race sims I've played have full damage modelling, very realistic physics, and full cockpit view. This game do not possess any of those attributes to be considered a race sim. The TOCA series was way better than this garbage.
GOOd:
- Graphics
- Changing weather
BAD:
- No mechanical damage.
- Cosmetic damage only
- Not all the cars have the cockpit view
- Unrealistic physics
- No tire simulation modelling
- Dumb A.I.
- No in-depth tuning
- Terrible car sounds
- Inconsistent graphics on most of the cars
- Too many car variations for some particular cars to pad up the total amount of cars available.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the greatest

posted by SOUR_11B (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 9, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

this is the greatest driving game ever created in the history of the world!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Ruined experience

posted by technojock (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Nov 17, 2014

Member since Dec 2012

I am so dissapointed I was looking forward to playing this game I put in my PS3 and it supposedly had to do an update. It took about 10 minutes then gave me the error message (installation failed) after about 6 attempts and getting the same result, I just put it back in its sleeve and it is currently enroute back to gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

boring

posted by gweiser2011 (SEAFORD, DE) Sep 20, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Was ok, but I like a more realistic playing experience. Car damage is non-existant, game play is more arcade than driving style. Just my opinion, others may like this game,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Ever

posted by erico (MARLBOROUGH, MA) Sep 18, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

Now don't get me wrong there is a lot wrong with this game.
1. These is still not a decent GT6 hosted server although they do have a quit race witch maid the game 10x better.
2. Customization of cars is not endless, but with new updates it got 10x better.
3. Ai is still not aggressive drivers, to nice for a racing game I would say.
4. as a simulator I cant say much for I never raced on a track before, but at times I really doubt the lack of grip is same cars. But like I said i'm not a pro.
But on the plus side I do feel like I am in a race car and not an arcade and driving is just fun and you do get the feel of what a track day could feel like.
But best of all the shire fact that I can take my common every day car a tune it up and race full speed down a famous track with friends in seconds is priceless.
I would recomend this game to every one that likes cars, at any level its just fun. :) 10 out of 10 for me!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

great but horrible

posted by death12 (ATLANTA, GA) Sep 2, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

when i first tried to play it told me to update i skipped got to play a little the next time i updated it the after that the game had to install something it took forever whenever it got close to being done it ether went back up or failed i usualy like the gran turismo franchise but i never got to play into it more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ps3 fat

posted by brian9013 (SEATTLE, WA) Jul 13, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

ps3 fat's shut down when playing this game, numerous people have this problem, and Sony doesn't care.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Never gets old

posted by ndnoutlaw (Oktaha, OK) Jun 24, 2014

Member since Jun 2007

Every year this game gets a little bit better and better. Since this is suppose to be a "real" sim, then I would like to see the damage more realistic. That would make you think twice before bulling someone out of your way. I like how you can play this game for months, hate games that you can complete in 2 days. GT is always a must buy game if your into racing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Ironwulfenn420 (CHARLESTON, WV) May 8, 2014

Member since May 2014

Awesome, by far the best racing there has ever been!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Gran Turismo 5.5

posted by grayfox28 (RAEFORD, NC) May 8, 2014

Member since May 2014

Like the title suggests, this is gran turismo 5 with a big dlc......thats it. No need to go in-depth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Driving game

posted by Innertunez (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Apr 22, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

This the best game I have played, It's more Real then the rest that I have played. It's actual a real car with real parts and real prices. The best racing Game I have played ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dont bother

posted by Jhillman (HIGHLANDS RANCH, CO) Apr 15, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Good graphics, but same as 4 and 5. Only new thing is the new models of cars. Same tracks, gets boring awfully fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointment

posted by football21 (WILLISTON, ND) Mar 30, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

I am very disappointed with this game. I made it through the race to feel the controls and bought the first car and I was done. They make you buy a POS honda fit. You cannot sell it to get a real car because you spend half your money on the POS and you cannot afford another car.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bad TO THE BONE Racing Game

posted by TheJBlock26 (JOLIET, IL) Mar 26, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

All around racing up and down every type of track is where its at but it does get a little repetitive thats why i am giving it a 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

gran turismo 6

posted by jaybird8289 (OLIVE HILL, KY) Mar 24, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

this game is awsome if you like racing games this is the best yet. this game is $ 40.00 but if you like this game like i do then get it. this game is nothing like gt5 way different from comparison just wish they had the carerra gt

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nice graphics.....Thats about it

posted by Dookiesan (BUFFALO, NY) Mar 24, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

If you are like me a like some good old fashioned American muscle DONT RENT THIS GAME. Exhaust sound is horrible. Why does a 700 HP Camaro sound like a Civic??? Stunning graphics but they need to make the American cars more playable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by nrajput (FORT WORTH, TX) Mar 3, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

I like the game its great better made really like it
but the price is too high I really in joy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good

posted by The_Good_Gamer (POLLOCK PINES, CA) Feb 24, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I have played most of the Gran Turismo games. Each one that I have played has been excellent. Gran Turismo 6 suffers from some minor downsides, but overall, it is a very good game. Some people say that Gran Turismo 6 is too similar to Gran Turismo 5, but I disagree. When I played Gran Turismo 6, it felt familiar and similar to each of the other Gran Turismos. I don't think that is a bad thing. In fact, I think it's great that each new installment in the Gran Turismo manages to keep the same nostalgic feel that has been with the series since the first game on the first PlayStation console. There have been some changes made with Gran Turismo 6, however. First, there is now a mandatory tutorial at the beginning of the game. I find this to be a downside, because the tutorial does not allow you to choose your first car. Instead of being given a certain amount of money at the beginning of the game and choosing a car within your budget, like every other Gran Turismo game before, the tutorial makes you buy a particular car to start the game out with. This disappointed me, because I liked being able to choose my first car in the game to begin the career mode with. Other than that, the game is very good. I like that the career mode feels familiar and fun. I like the massive selection of cars and car manufacturers in the game. I like the new main menu as well; the main menu of the game launches you right into the game itself, allowing you to more quickly and more easily switch from career mode, to multiplayer mode, to online mode, to the car dealerships. The menu is very organized and easy to use. I also like the fact that the need for licenses is back. In Gran Turismo 5, there wasn't a need to earn in game licenses to compete in different events, unlike the Gran Turismo games before it. In Gran Turismo 6, they brought back the need for licenses, which is great. Without licenses, the game would be too easy. Overall, Gran Tursimo 6 is great. I would recommend giving it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Gran Turismo 6

posted by quintfl (BLUE RIDGE, GA) Feb 12, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

When I first got this game I originally thought it was like GT5 with better graphics, more cars, more tracks, less loading times, nice. And then after playing it for 2 days I saw I had completed 50% of the game. What! I've had GT5 for about 2 years and I'm still not at 50%. The physics are worse than GT5 as well. It's way too hard to keep a car on the track, so much so that I gave up in frustration several times. It feels like your hovering above the road, it's hard to explain. And the audio sucks. One other game I can think of that has worse audio is Pole Position. Remember that one? So the moral of the story is this game is a good rent. Play it for a couple weeks, get bored with it, send it back and wait for GT7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Still got it!!!!!

posted by BKLYNSON (MARIETTA, GA) Feb 3, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Great game. Much improved from GT5. New car handling physics are much improved. Still the best driving game around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not to shabby

posted by NoSauce (LAYTON, UT) Jan 20, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

If you love sim racing games this is a good game. There's not much more to the game it's a pritty game but I actually like the look of gt5 better it just had more style and the look of this one just ads to its run of the mill sim racerness.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Favorite racing game of all time.

posted by BenStanklin (OCALA, FL) Jan 1, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

Absolutely one of my favorite racing games of all times. Once I got this game it stayed in my console for a few weeks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Like GT5 but better in every single way

posted by bscluber (MADISON, WI) Dec 30, 2013

Member since Sep 2009

This game is great. It is the perfection of the gt series & what we all wanted from gt5. The graphics are better in almost every scenario accept the ground textures on the large tracks (I suspect due to ps3 ram limitations). The car list is a growing list of great cars with even more concepts to come (still some missing from gt2 days but it seems older models have got a rework) I wish there was a lot more US models as its fun to race friends virtually with cars you own or at least cars that are close something forza cant deliver most of the time and I do love the way forza handles but this game has a great feel to the handling with a ds3 at least haven't pulled out the wheel yet but will soon.

Bottom line: if you like racing games or gt series at all this is a MUST BUY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »