Rent Gran Turismo 5 for PS3
view large frontback

Gran Turismo 5

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

7693 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad disk

posted by donramsfan (TUCSON, AZ) Mar 28, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

this is not a review of the game but the condition of the disk i got. it was chipped and scratched. the parts i could play was cool but mostly froze up. its hard to rate a game that you cant play sent it back the same day i got it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by zlariviere20 (WOONSOCKET, RI) Nov 18, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

everything about this game is great i have only two complaints one is not being able to use the triggers as gas and brakes instead you are forced to use x and o which makes it alot harder to control throttle and brake and second major major problem is when playign in b-spec the computer is so dam stupid but ofcourse not the ones you race against just the one thats supposed to race for you for example i have given my driver a car that is twice as powerful as the cars its racing and when i did the same exact race with the same exact car in a-spec i take turns at 200mph+ and compleetely blow everyone away while hitting walls repeatedly along the way while the a.i. b-spec driver takes those same turns At 150mph- , doesnt pass other drives when i do the overtake command instead just keeps ramming the back of other cars instead of simply going around sometimes driver will fly ahead into first place then randomly for no reason slow down and let like 6 drivers pass after being in first place for a 30 min race lets every pass for no reason shortly before the end of the race when like i said the car being used is twice as fast and manuverable than the cars its racing against making b-spec extremely hard to complete i feel ashamed to say it but id rather play forza except my pos 360 died after a month i only prefer gt becuase its more realistic drving but those two flaws bug the bleep outa me if you dnt feel liek those two things are a problem for you then this game is 100% perfect for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Must Have!

posted by ShaggyCW1 (DAYTON, OH) Mar 9, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is so smooth. From the opening scene and music this game just grabs you and pulls you in. It keeps you very active as you move through the races and the cars are still just unbelievable! But this is always a gimmie with this game. What we really want to see is if they can keep with the way the game handles. They can! Every car delivers different power and control. Then as you upgrade and adjust your cars they react differently per your changes. It just feels like a real experience. Great game overall. What I love about the game is the search and find for particular vehicles to participate in certain races. Just a great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

GT5

posted by MCagle2013 (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

The game would be so much better if it didn't take 24 hours to download the updates

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Couldn't even play

posted by AutoEuphoria (MIDLAND, MI) Feb 9, 2013

Member since May 2011

OK, first off...I owned this game when it first came out and was so disappointed I traded it in after 2 days. I decided to try it again to see if any of the issues I had were solved with patches/updates, so I added it to my Q.

That said, I couldn't even play the game. I sat and watched as TWENTY updates downloaded and installed...over an hour total. Then, the game loaded and asked if I wanted to install the commonly used data to the PS3 to make load times faster and such. Selected yes to the EIGHT GB install, and left for dinner. Came back 3 hours later and it was approximately 10% done. HDD light was inactive, and the circle button (for "cancel") did nothing. I quit the game (so the PS3 and controller were working fine, just not the game), uninstalled the data and tried again. 3 hours later, same thing...hour to download and install the patches/updates, then 2 hours of "install" time, where the bar never got beyond 10%.

SO, I have no clue if the game got any better in the last couple of years...I'm saying it's terrible now, considering I wasted 6 hours trying to get to the main menu.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

cool

posted by brovo (CONYERS, GA) Jan 28, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

this game is sucks because you do not add more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Grrrrrrrrr.

posted by instigator9 (KINGMAN, AZ) Jan 10, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

first off the game play seriously sucks imo then a short time into this game it locked up! not my console as it is playing everything else just fine, I believe something to do with the downloadable content. OH WELL its back in Game Flys hands now, good luck if you rent this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Last Gran Turismo game I will play

posted by grissoly (LYNCHBURG, VA) Jan 3, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Will not finish updates. Game will not load properly and sometimes stops in the middle of game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wouldnt download

posted by rundog82 (PORTALES, NM) Dec 29, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

For whatever reason wouldn't download to my playstation
no matter what i did. Couldn't find anything on forums so pretty upset to receive this game and not have it work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by jeff_blake (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Dec 21, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

im more of a forza guy on xbox, i was told to give this a shot. and i dont regret it. great game for any race fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST RACER GOT EVEN BETTER!!

posted by HungarianFury (STUDIO CITY, CA) Dec 11, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

There is no comparison, this game is simply the best racer / simulation ever, because they focus so much on realism. Yes it is just a sim and not every single tiny detail matches up, but when I get to drive some of the cars in the real world and then back on the game, the feel / sense and characteristics are clearly identifiable! Not exactly a kids game, more for real car enthusiasts and not so much twisted metal / death race stuff (even though that has its own charm).

My only gripe is that A.I... it would be nice to have slightly more driving style and personas, temperaments, etc. not a whole lot of action by the bots. It would be nice to have some drive defensively, while others go wild, others keep cool, others in the middle, some aggressive, some just focused on the best lines, etc. etc. BUT, that's where the online races with humans come into place. I have had some of my best races online, win or lose - best feature!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GT 5

posted by dmlemont (SOUTH PORTLAND, ME) Nov 9, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Best racing game EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

still the best name in racing

posted by luckeastwood (FORT STOCKTON, TX) Nov 6, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

love this game it is a great racing sim. the 3d capablity is great. a must play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfection

posted by knine86 (HAMILTON, OH) Oct 22, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This is by far one of if not the best and most fun racing games ive ever. the controls aer very adaptable and even better very customizable. A trait that you dont see in games now a days especially racing games. The "Story" or known as GT mode is very in depth and makes the game almost have a racing and RPG feel to it. It is not up in your face either, the game is very taylorable to your needs, offering but not requiring special challenges unique car events that only allow certain cars, yet leaves it open enough to weather you want to be the driver or guide a computer AI using your car which is surprisingly very responcive. Cars are cot customizable in the same aspect of Need For Speed where it is vizual but does offer some visual changes like some rim options paint color spoilers and more. The focus is on the customization of the engine and mechanics. All in all this is the perfect racing game for the most relaxed and enjoyful player all the way to the most hardcore car enthuesiast and even the hardcore gamer who is bent on getting all the trophies. Its fun and challenging. A must have for all PS3 owners

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

gran turismo 5-gran turismo 5 xl

posted by ahmad9 (SUWANEE, GA) Aug 31, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

game is so bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST GAME EVER.

posted by Ritat (MOORESVILLE, NC) Jun 28, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Well first of all, it took like an hour to update something, and then it wouldn't even let me play. I tried to let it down load from 11pm-2am and still nothing! IT DOESN'T LET YOU PLAY, DO NOT ORDER THIS TERRIBLE GAME!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Same old GT! With better graphics...

posted by FPSVET85 (DAYTON, OH) May 14, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I've been playing GT since the haydays of PS1. GT5 is without a doubt the best game Graphically of the franchise. With the Steering Wheel the realism of driving gameplay is 2nd to none. The online is better and more engaging. The addition of car damage is a nice touch. This game isn't for amatuers thats for sure, You must slow down before turns & accelerate through appexs, Unlike most NFS titles that lil' kids love to play. Driving NASCARS is pretty darn sweet in this game! It gives you more respect for those guys, that 3500lb 950hp car is helll on wheels. Overall no car game touches GT5. However, with over 1000 cars the system is over-run with gltches that nearly ruin the game. I've bought 20 cars & 10 of them have corrupted & can't be selected. Hours of hardwork & gameplay down the drain...In furthermore GT5 is just more of the same stuff,An epic storymode would be refreshing twist to the series. I haven't picked up this game in 2 months because of those reasons. Maybe a patch? Rent before you buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Worst Racing Game I Ever Played

posted by IXInvincibleIX (TULARE, CA) May 12, 2012

Member since May 2012

The Whole Set Up Is Terrible. It's Challenging To Get Cars To Do Certain Events.The Cars In The Game Are Amazing.I Hate The Controls It's Very Hard To Turn It's Very Easy To Screw Up And Crash.Overall I Rated This Game A 1 Because It Sucks Compared To Any Need For Speed Game.Next Time I Get Another Racing I'm Not Getting Gran Turismo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Game was good

posted by 3stooges (BOCA RATON, FL) Apr 23, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Gran Turismo 5 is a good game, nothing new to take away from the series. I like the courses to get your licenses. I wish there were more courses available to play before you get all your licenses. The cars looked great, excellent graphics. If you like racing games and/or are a car enthusiast then this is a good game to get.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ok game

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Apr 22, 2012

Member since Mar 2004

This is an ok Game but not being able to race alot of the races because you not only don't have the right Vehicles but not being able to buy them either is a HUGE drawback, example of this is The Pickup Races I have been through Every dealership and the Used car Dealerships and there arent any Pickups anywhere to buy, and that is the same with many of the races you cant Find or cant afford a vehicle that you can race in these races. This is a very poorly thought out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not for me...

posted by Roo24 (BURTONSVILLE, MD) Apr 17, 2012

Member since May 2011

I prefer Forza 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Seriously

posted by cameronshuff (DICKINSON, ND) Apr 1, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

You would think by round 5 they would make it feel like your actually driving a car.. this is the most unrealistic driver iv'e played.. graphics are ok but could use alot more detail especially in the cars inside and out... Dirt 3 is the best so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Gran Turismo 5

posted by CHEVYBOWTIE69 (PIGEON, MI) Mar 28, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

This game was great so realistic kind of hard transitioning from such a realistic game like gt5 to something like need for speed i recommend this to anyone and everyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A true Driving sim still the best

posted by michaeljpitts (GAINESVILLE, FL) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

Ok outside of being mostaccurate to the car and to the track more then any game out their lets just add this Rally, Ice Rally, Dirt, NASCAR, Karting! A lot of people forget that.

Wiriten reviews will be high posted ones will be low,, you all know why their. We dont have to mention the black plague of gaming by name. But this game is every car lovers dream machine. Its not the best circuit racing game, Or smash up derby. But for true car lovers this thing is dead on the spot. Ive owned a lot of the cars in the game, and the handle just about the exact same. Each individual car is down to a T as far as how it reacts in real life. And running a High End BMW vs A Mercedes is to much fun.

ALL!!!! the cars look stunning! And the premium cars look pretty much photo real! Interiors are sick! And the premiums have reply's from the driver from all angles inside. It looks so sickening real its almost odd!

I mentioned racing dirt and snow and Karts and Nascar, for some fun side stuff. Theirs also the fantastic photo mode, and amazing replays that can be saved. Even some vary long races! To cool to save your most epic 40 lap battle on replay.

In basic the real car enthusiast, and people who have raced before will love this game. The kid with the real slow Honda Civic "that's louder then a F1 car" down the street may not! But then again Hes driving a 17 sec car that sounds and looks like it supposed to run a 11. So go figure where his brain is at.

Like I said real racers (Yes I raced Kart) and real enthusiasts will love this thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Would be great to play....

posted by flawless114 (PEARLAND, TX) Feb 11, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

If it didn't take 2 hours to update!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse