Rent Gran Turismo 5 for PS3
view large frontback

Gran Turismo 5

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

7693 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Must Have!

posted by ShaggyCW1 (DAYTON, OH) Mar 9, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is so smooth. From the opening scene and music this game just grabs you and pulls you in. It keeps you very active as you move through the races and the cars are still just unbelievable! But this is always a gimmie with this game. What we really want to see is if they can keep with the way the game handles. They can! Every car delivers different power and control. Then as you upgrade and adjust your cars they react differently per your changes. It just feels like a real experience. Great game overall. What I love about the game is the search and find for particular vehicles to participate in certain races. Just a great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is a DRIVING SIMULATION

posted by L0STSA1NT (BRENHAM, TX) Nov 29, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

69 out of 84 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

If reviews pop up with people comparing this game to DIRT 2 they clearly have never played a Gran Turismo game before. If you enjoyed previous Gran Turismo games then you will enjoy this game. It is a clone of previous versions with little changed other than graphics.

For the people writing reviews saying that the vehicles are nearly impossible to control. YOU HAVE TO LEARN TO DRIVE IN THIS GAME. I remember LEARNING how to drive in the first GT game and feeling very rewarded for the effort I put into that process. If this is your first GT game you need to do the license tests and actually read them. You are supposed to break prior to the turn and stay off the gas until you reach the apex of the turn to accelerate out.

This is the meat of GT5, you have to be able to control your vehicle from it's highest speeds to its lowest while keeping the vehicle tuned to get the most out of it. The more you play the game the easier it is to FEEL the car under you. If you are getting a bit of slip from the tires, you can switch them out for more grip. If you getting toasted in the long straights, you can adjust your gear ratios to get more top end speed. The amount of tweaking that you can do to each car is amazing.

The depth of custimization is the only thing that keeps me coming back. Even with that depth I would prefer to focus on 1 car, but the game is designed to make you constantly purchase new vehicles for the different events. I hate changing vehicles and there are not enough open races where you can enjoy YOUR car in a variety of settings.

As I work my way through the different events, challenges, and licenses; I cannot help but feel like I am playing to finish things rather than enjoying the journey through my career. It is starting to feel stale like I have done it all before. The GT series needs something new to make it feel more like a game than a job.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellence in Simulation

posted by SweaterCat (RIEGELWOOD, NC) Apr 21, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Although I'm not a huge racing genre junkie, I have to admit GT5 is the most complete game in that genre. I consider it the BlackOps for racing games being that it is so versatile. You can either dip your toes in the kiddie pool with the difficulty lvl turned down or dive in the deep end and play online Multiplayer with some of the best online drivers in the world. Hard to come up with a real weakness for this game. If you're a diehard GT fan don't even waste your time renting it. Buy it with confidence because I GUARANTEE massive hours of gameplay.

SweaterCat

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great, but tough to get used to.

posted by burntice61 (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Nov 24, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

51 out of 70 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I've played GT since the PS1 days, alot has changed, Graphics, amount of cars, tracks etc. This one is the best yet, well worth the wait, but here's some things that might hurt your experience:

1.If you have a small tv it will suck! (i have a 55" lcd in my living room and a small 24" in my bedroom, tried both) You'll have to use the zoom feature on the menu if you want a good look at text, the races are good though. If you have a bigger tv you're fine.

2.Controls, they aren't bad but the defaults are wierd, the right stick throttle thing never really caught on for me, ive always used L2 R2. If you have a gaming wheel you're set, they have pretty much any PS3 compatible gaming wheel configuration.

3.The soundtrack and intro movie sucks, if you care for lots of techno some indie rock bands, or classical piano, then you will love the soundtrack...im a hard rock/metal guy so ill just keep to my HDD music. The intro is just a How its made video with piano and no narration...wierd.

All in all its a great game, i mean ive played Forza 3 and NFS Shift, while Forza is still my favorite, GT5 is well worth the 1000+ cars and great PS3 graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Depends on input method

posted by EFR450 (HENRICO, VA) Apr 5, 2011

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I had bought a wheel online when I rented this game, but didn't get the wheel until a couple days after the game. Without the wheel, I thought this game was lacking, but once I started playing with the wheel it became amazing.
Also it gets more fun when you start using premium cars. Once you turn off all the aids each car handles differently, sometimes to the extreme.
As for upgrades, You've got a fair amount of choices with performance upgrades and can tweak certain things like suspension and gearing heavily. For visual upgrades, You have about 20 or so rims to choose from, a body kit and spoiler that can be added on, and a paint shop that is limited. Not sure if certain cars have multiple body kits to choose from but from the few cars I've checked with they've each only had 1. Anyway, this is a great game with amazing attention to detail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

omg..... what a phenomenal game

posted by Sonic211 (CONROE, TX) Mar 7, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Remember when Kevin Butler said that GT5 had to be the best racing game in the world? Well, he was right! Pholphony Digital has done it again with stunning graphics(they're even better in 3D), over 1000 cars, and realism in every way possible. Giving this a 10 was a no brainer for me, and I highly recommend this for any PS3 owner.

GT5 is outstanding in online multiplayer, and pretty good in split-screen multiplayer too. Controls aren't very hard. Getting the Bugatti Veyron is not hard, but it's not easy either. You just have to win the Gran Turismo World Championship, which is 5 races long. That is the ONLY way to get the Veyron. THERE IS NO OTHER WAY! I'd have to say, the most fun I've had on GT5 is when you're drivin a Veyron at 260 mph. The most I've gotten up to is 264 MPH!!!

Once again, I give this game a 10 and I hope you will too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Finally!

posted by ItzGenX (GULFPORT, MS) Nov 24, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

37 out of 56 gamers (66%) found this review helpful

GT5 is just flat out amazing. Prologue was indeed only a preview! The full version has more detailed graphics and environments that blows every other racing sim out of the water. With the many different game modes, it's like buying 6 games for the price of one. Weather and even daylight time elapsing with the sun (watch the sun set or rise while racing) adds a nice cool "wow" factor to the whole experience. 3D mode is available in the game for those who have the supporting equipment. I use 3D and a G27 race wheel for that extra step towards realism. Sound is phenominal (tested at 7.1ch PCM Surround) with exhaust tones that sound very much like the real car. After exploring the game and it's features, you'll begin to understand why it took Polyphony Digital and Kazumori to get the game to final production. This game is a definitely a 10 and will be the benchmark to beat for future racing sims.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GT5

posted by VajayjayFACE (BROOKLYN, NY) May 2, 2011

Member since May 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Starts off slow in the beginning because you have a weak car. After you move through you career the game gets better as you go. Drifting is very realistic, takes a lot of practice. Graphics 10/10 Fun online drag racing, drifting from all over the world . Great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What were they doing for 5 years?

posted by Scientist (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

14 out of 25 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

It's a good game, but some graphical glitches will make you sick. Jagged shadows, flat scenery. No cockpit views for the majority of the cars. It's a good game, it just doesn't live up to what it could have been. I don't have 3d, so that's probably a bonus if you do. Not much of a step up from GT4 IMO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GT5 Review - The Fast and the Frustrating!

posted by DasNerdmeister (THOMASVILLE, PA) Jul 27, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Excellent graphics, top choices in vehicles and the sheer elegance of the game itself are why I give this game a rating of 9 out of 10. The one complaint I have about this game is perhaps the one thing most racing enthusiasts probably love most about this game...its realistic gameplay. It seems right at the start if you are not an expert in racing games you better become one real quickly in order to really reap the benefits of this game. The turning is so touchy that if you don't know what you're doing you will be smashing your vehicle over and over again and not even come close to winning. I think the point of this game is to give players the most realistic and accurate driving experience and they have certainly done that. In order to overcome the extremely difficult handicaps in this game you can go through the drivers licensing training programs which do help somewhat, but I found myself losing patience when I just wanted to go right out on the racetracks and experience the fun of driving vehicles I will probably never get to drive in my life. It is an amazing game with amazing vehicles, but you better grab a seat and stay for awhile because it is about as difficult as it gets.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Too big for it's own good.

posted by Silentrich (FORT MYERS, FL) Nov 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2007

19 out of 35 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

I would have preferred a smaller scale game that was more focused. This game is all over the place and gives you a huge amount of info and variety at the expense of overlooking the simple things that really matter. Here's some really obvious problems with this game that really is inexcusible. The shadows in the game are jagged, the standard cars which make up over 80% of GT 5 cars look like GT 4 on the PS 2, the collision system is a complete joke, when you hit something it sounds like someone beating on a drum, the menu's are a complete mess, the loading times are long, the install takes over 40 minutes, there's a ton of cars that are missing and the one's that are there are outdated (07 mustang is the current mustang), no Porche (instead you get RUF), some of the tracks backgrounds look like PS2 with pixilation and lag, and finally it just never feels exciting and they left the same old grind it out license system in place.
The good is that the physics engine is fantastic, the AI is better than being reported as it gets better the higher you get, sometimes the game looks incredible, go carts are awesome, it's in 3D, supports a great amount of steering wheels, and it has a huge amount of information on each car and track.
This might be a great game if it's patched enough to fix the problems, but as it stands now it's lucky to get a 7. The better choice for your money is either Forza 3, burnout paradise, or Need for speed: hot pursuit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ordinary Turismo 5

posted by zargot (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 21, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

12 out of 22 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Try as I might, and try I did, Gran Turismo 5 was back in the mail box three days after being opened and I'll tell you why.

Story Line, its a racing game so story is basically just that you are a up and coming driver, no big deal who really plays a racing game for that anyways. Game play was very basic just simply racing nothing less and nothing more. Controls were very annoying most of the time, always having to restart races because of a TINY miscorrection that sends your car flying into a wall making it next to impossible to ever recover, I'm getting annoyed just thinking about it. Graphics were pretty good but sometimes during the races it looked like I was playing a PS2 game.

The game had a lot going for it, tons of races to do and I mean tons. Massive amount of cars to buy and own not to mention that the garage system for tuning and painting and upgrading the cars was very cool in that there was SO MUCH you could do.

Lets talk about what killed this game for me. First of all there was a hour install of around 6 gigs on my PS3 when I loaded the game. Not a big deal if it wasn't for the fact that there was a 10 second plus load screen between every menu change and every race. What was the install for if I was still installing every time I did ANYTHING? This really gets annoying when you have to cancel out of a couple menu's and between each menu there is a bunch of load time. Why is this? The race tracks are small and the graphics weren't anything awesome so why is there so much loading?

Well in conclusion if you are a die hard GT fan and don't mind the load times you might very well enjoy this game. I on the other hand couldn't handle the load times and the super precise controls. Between those two problems the game felt more like work. When I find myself cursing out the television its time to send the game back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Slamming Sweet, Detailed, True Driving Experiance

posted by Toreup (Bettendorf, IA) Jan 31, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

A Must rent, You will probably just want to keep this game though!
No major downfalls, some acpects are Very hard and thats not much to complain about.

Great Grafics, the B-spec mode give you the ability to play w/o actually doing much work so you can enjoy without it completely enveloping your time. Ex. I'm even playing B-Spec in the 'RUF BTR '86' right now in a race while checking e-mailes and reviewing this sweet game.

The Car selection is huge there is a good amount of customization for each vehicle as well.

A BIg NOTe TOo!, You can use the regular controller and have a good time too! though a Wheel is recomended.

This is likely to be a keeper, the series doesn't drown the marketplace with a new game every 6-18 months like EVERY other Game Title so there will likely not be a new one entirely for many years.

ENJOY! Solid 8-9 game,
~ full trophy completion is well over 600 hours so do not tie up money and games renting this if you plan on playing it even 1/2 that! ~

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

what the heck

posted by TampaDogg (TAMPA, FL) Dec 2, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

18 out of 34 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

There is nothing groundbreaking or even that new to the series. With that said my only two real complaints about the game is.

1 The leveling system is so lame. Why do you have to be a certain level to buy a car or advance. I am at level 20 and am now having to grind experience points to get to the next race by redoing races i've already beaten. This is not an RPG it's a racing game.

2 Everything you do takes forever. They didn't spend and extra hour or two in five years to make short cuts two the different menus. So you spend half your time loading up five screens to do one thing. Not to mention when you win a car you have to go to the delivery truck say you want the car, wait for them to show it to you, and then decide if you want to drive it. ugg enough!!!

All said this is the same game as GT4 but way more annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Less than what was expected

posted by Agrabou2 (MELBOURNE, FL) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

When I rented this game, I came in thinking I was going to buy this after I made sure the disk worked. I put in the game, waited for the loading the disk in, and started up the game. I came in knowing this was a simulation, and the graphics on the cars were amazing. Some big problems I noticed were that, when I tried to see the "realistic damage", there was none at all on the beginner cars. Apparently, only the premium cars could have exstensive damage, which I believe is stupid. Maybe if they focused more on damage than the number of cars, they may have gotten most down. In fact, the AI were completely resistant to being pushed out of the way. The track creator was cool, being able to make segments wider or shorter, I just wish you had the ability to make the curves yourself, but still, very good. The physics were good for me on dirt and snow tracks, but the cars seemed overly gripped on the asphalt and concrete tracks. I'm a big NASCAR fan, and wasn't expecting as much from GT5 for that part, but, the damage was miniscule. All in all, the game was pretty good, but nowhere near as great as the hype and expectations let it seem to be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

3D Racing is A-freakin-mazing!

posted by BigPete (WEBSTER, TX) Nov 24, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

10 out of 19 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Wow I'm left speechless with this game when played in 3D mode with Logitech steering wheel. So realistic I can almost smell the leather in the car. Really I have pinch myself to remind me that I'm still at home.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

SIMPLY PUT...

posted by laidback (TUCSON, AZ) Dec 12, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

10 out of 20 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game gets old real quick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's alright

posted by lazzyie (BOISE, ID) Nov 27, 2010

Member since Nov 2004

16 out of 33 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

I have waited since the ps3 launch for this game, played prologue, and the PSN time trial then waited more. Then I got the game and waited an hour for the data to install. Then waited 10 minutes for an update to install. Then finally got to play the game. Alright license tests, classic GT! Go buy a car first. Ok I'll buy the Evo 3, you can't buy that car yet. Ok junky toyota something or other. Finally license tests! It feels like GT4 with slightly better textures. It is still fun to play but the controls are hard to get used to and be prepared to wait the loading times could have been better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Gran Loading 5

posted by SnowOkami (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Dec 31, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I just wanted to touch on the loading of this game.

I was at first very impressed how while the game was installing some 8.49GB ~ if I recall correctly, started playing a video of how cars are made in the factory, then cut to some racing clips. It was very nice and clever of them to do this so people had something to do while they waited for it to install. It then allowed you to play the game while it was still installing. I left it and let it go install completely.

I came back to play. It was ridiculous. 30-45 second load times every time you want to race , 15 seconds load time to switch between menus, 10 second load times to see different car models. It is insane. I played the game for about 4 hours when I got it and I'd say 1/4 of that time was spent watching loading screens. I didn't even want to play the game anymore after this because I was so sick of the loading and haven't picked it up since. Unbelievable, what a great game thats been in production for how many years and they couldn't solve the massive amounts of loading the game is requiring!? This sole issue ruined this game for me.

Another thing that really made me mad was the fact that in the 100+ or so track-list of songs to listen and choose from, it NEVER tells you what song is playing! There were some great tracks I wanted to re-hear that I had no idea what it was named and had to try and play google the lyrics to find what song it was. But guess what?! The songs were instrumentals! Forgive me if there is some option to enable this, but its ridiculous to not be enabled by default.

If I can play Final Fantasy XIII without having to install the game and play the game all the way through complete with 1080P gameplay and cut-scenes with little loading between levels which is a given, this in this day in age is completely unacceptable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not worth the wait

posted by Blaise (NOVATO, CA) Jan 20, 2011

Member since Nov 2006

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

While the game has the benefit of nostalgia, being able to race the old school GT tracks, it did not impress as expected. After waiting so long that a Prologue was released, one would expect great things from the full game. Unfortunately, there are many shortcomings in this title.
Only "some" of their massive car count are "Premium" so you can't see the dash when using in-car view on most vehicles.
The graphics are really not impressive. Perhaps the only graphics worth noting are the environments in the distance. The way the hills on the horizon move accordingly with changes of direction, etc. It looked nice, but honestly, the cars and track detail are on par with Forza 2 (not 3).
Yes, it is a solid driving game, the physics are solid, and the cars 'feel' genuine.
However, the vague "upgrades" available are pretty lame. There's no way you're putting a $1000 Engine Mgmt system on a 1950's Subaru, it's just not happening. At least in Forza the options for upgrade at least seem to be directly defined by the car you are upgrading.
Also, considering the 1 hour install time (install game to HD, patches dload and install, etc) before you can even play the game in it's "optimal" state, which still doesn't seem to really improve the horrendous load times for seemingly EVERYTHING you do.
In short, it's probably the best racing sim on PS3, but I'll be saving my money for Forza 4 on XBox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Real GT5 Review

posted by RawEther (NORMAN, OK) Jan 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First I would like to say I have been playing GT since the begining and if your a fan of REAL racing games then this one is for you; However , if you are an arcade racer(nsf,midnight-club,burnout and so on) you will not like or do good in this game. If you read other reviews people will tell you that this game is TOO hard, lacking in graphics, lacking in sound, you have to spend your money fixing the cars you wreck(which is false and i wounder if those people have even played the game or are just writing bad reviews).... and so on and so on.
So here it is...............
The Premium cars are superb with real life detail and sound, the standand cars however are regurgitated from GT4 and are lacking that 3rd gen system polish but overall do not hinder the gameplay at all. A-spec mode is a little short but overall keeps you wanting to improve your racing skills and using a wider veriety of cars to win. B-spec is practically the same as the previous titles but is more involved. Coaching a driver to the prime of his career and earning you money to buy more cars and upgrades for them.

Online gameplay is good but requires you to have an open NAT or you will experience connection issues(a fast internet connection is a must). You CAN lvl up your A-spec online and soon your B-spec with update in a few weeks. Lets put it this way if you can think it, you can race it online.

SO yeah im tired of talking now so overall......If you dont mind a little load time for THE MOST REALISTIC RACING EXPERIENCE( next to getting in your own car at your local track ), with AMAZING visuals, and an awsome racing community then this is the game you want to buy and play for days on end.

For all those ARCADE people( you know who you are) you will get mad and write a horrible review because you SUCKED at this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Gran Turismo 5: Firing on all cylinders

posted by CEverett75 (MICHIGAN CITY, IN) Nov 29, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

9 out of 20 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

What do you like in your racing games? Realistic damage? Check. Great looking cars? Check. Nascar? Check. This game has a little bit of everything for everyone.
Gran Turismo 5 is a game racing fans have been waiting six years for, was it worth the wait? Some will tell you yes, others will say no. To me, Gran Turismo 5 feels like a two year, 9/10 game. Not a six year 10,10 game. When I say that, that does NOT mean this game is bad, quite the opposite actually. The gameplay is fantastic, albeit the default controls are somewhat wonky but that can be fixed with some tweaking in the options menu. The racing is fast paced and extremely realistic, just what you would expect from a Gran Turismo game.
The graphics can be the most photorealistic graphics you have ever seen in a racing game, but they can also be some of the worst as well. The game has 1000 cars, yes, but in actuality it only has 200 that are worth driving. When I say they are worth driving they REALLY are. The premium cars (200 of them) look so realistic at points it's hard to determine if it's real or just a game. The standard cars however, range from good looking all the way to down right hideous, some even with textured door handles.
Now, you will hear alot of people say there is no damage in the game. THIS IS NOT THE CASE, the game has some of the most realistic damage in a racing game ever, HOWEVER, you must advance very far in the game to reach simulation damage. Most other reviewers have not advanced far enough in the game to reach this level of damage, so they assume that the game doesn't have any damage at all. The damage on the cars increases as you progress through the game, getting worse and worse until ultimately becoming as realistic as possible.
Gran Turismo 5 is a fantastic racing simulation, but it is not without it's faults. It is not perfect, but it is a fantastic game that will please the majority of fans of the racing genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

look out for this game

posted by deus1134 (NORWICH, CT) Oct 7, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is great on Arcade Mode and is a blast to have 2 player battles. Once you start playing the GT career it is dull. unlike the last 4 this game has you sit n watch as a driver you create races for all B-spec races. After you get enough credits saved up you can buy an A-spec car after doing the licensing and finally be able to drive in a race yourself. fun yet annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

hmmmmm

posted by venom96 (LEANDER, TX) Oct 7, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have had this game for a day or two and i am now sending it back. for the short time i played it i can not say if there are pros or cons. however during my game play there was one extremly obvious con... the turning. the game did not have a disirable turning system, and the cars were unable to drift. although there is one thing about this game that has made me like it and give it a decent rating. its the fact that there is a 1999 camero SS. i have been waiting for a game to come out with this vehicle, and finally its here, however, unfortunitly the game is such a let down that its hard to enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

great graphics... but....

posted by octagonofdestry (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Aug 21, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is very good great controlls and graphics but it take forever to load and each button you click it loads so you sped more time waiting then playing..........so i wont be doing that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse