Rent Gran Turismo 5: Prologue for PS3
view large frontback

Gran Turismo 5: Prologue

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.2

5171 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

The Quarter Mile...

posted by aenderw (GREENSBORO, NC) Apr 17, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

74 out of 82 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

That's about how far this gets you into the actual game. If you didn't already assume from the title, this is indeed a 'Prologue' to the actual Gran Turismo 5 that is tentatively scheduled for sometime in 2009. So, what gives? Is this even worth your time?

In all honesty, it's worth a rent. I most certainly plan on buying GT5 when it's released because I've loved the previous efforts. As mentioned in another review, the price tag for a PROLOGUE is a bit steep to merit a purchase at this point. Thank God we all have GameFly!

Regardless, here are a few things I've liked about the game:

Graphically, the game is far superior to any other racing game out there. The GT series always sets a new benchmark for realism when it's released. This one is no different. I usually don't like racing games, but I've always enjoyed Turismo for some reason... especially at 60 fps in 1080p.

The gameplay is very smooth and fast. Each of the 72 different vehicles presents a new challenge due to the fact that they handle similarly to their real life counterparts. The downside here is the lack of customization that has made previous Turismo efforts triple-A titles. Not too mention there are only 10 tracks (20 counting reversals) in which to race the stock vehicles on.

They plan on releasing more content over the PSN, but why pay more for what will most likely be included in the full game next year?

Audio wise, the game sounds about as realistic as it can. The soundtrack features a few bands you probably have heard of (Weezer, Mars Volta, Thin Lizzy) and a slew of international titles as well.

GT5:P is a decent title, but it's not worth $40. As a rental (which I'll assume the reader is now considering), I'd say it's a 7. As a purchase, closer to a 1 or 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It may be a Prologue but it still rocks.

posted by theJman27 (DAHLONEGA, GA) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

22 out of 24 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Gran Turismo 5 Prologue is one of the best racers I've ever played. There is so much attention to detail here; it's absolutely amazing.
Graphics: The graphics in GT5P are stunning. Everything from the cars, to the tracks, to the scenery look almost real, especially on an HDTV. All the shadowing and lighting look incredibly life like. The games also runs at 60 frames per second and I have yet to see a frame dip.
Game play: Every car in this game feels and drives differently. I don't know how they did it, but every car seems to have its own weight and driving mechanics, just like in real life. Also, the new in-car view is spectacular. It makes you feel like you're really driving these cars.
Multiplayer: GT5P has offline and online multiplayer. Both could be better than what they are. The two player is fun, but you can't play in the in-car view mode and it's just you and the other player. There are no other cars on the track. It would have been better if there was an option for AI racers in the split-screen mode. The online has up to 16 player races. There are differing skill level severs and specific car limitation to each one. The races online are fun but a little crazy. If someone in front of you messes up and you crash into them, you'll end up getting passed by like five other cars, which can be quite frustrating.
Lasting Appeal: There are 4 event types, C,B,A, and S. They each have 10 events to them, that get progressively harder. Another let done, is that the game only has 6 tracks. Once you finish every event, all that's left to do is the online.

While the game is somewhat short, it's still awesome. If you've never played any GT games, you should rent this now. If you're a racing enthusiast, I suggest you buy this game today. I have never played a racing game this realistic. There's nothing more fun than driving around in a Viper and actually feeling like your driving one for real.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Still missing something!

posted by Hovster (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

17 out of 21 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Overall the game is not so bad. However, it is still missing some details. The graphics are amazing but the sound is not. You don't hear the tires screeching the way it is in real life, there are no smoke from the tires, there is no body damage when you crash, the music is the same old boring stuff, oh and one thing I really hate is that you can not customize the cars at all. Overall the game mechanics are good, the controls are much improved, the cars feel more realistic but for an ALL WHEEL DRIVE CAR to spin out like it was a rear wheel drive is just wrong. Hopefully the full game will be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not really game, more of suped up demo...

posted by KokaKola (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

It is hard to give this title an accurate score that actually represents the experience I had. This isn't actually a full game, hence the word "prologue" in the title. It simply is a taste of what is to come. A tease on the part of the developer, a well executed one at that. In less kind words, this is a demo. Nothing more, nothing less. It may have more content but still I suspect that only a fraction of the game is represented. I don't like to give a demo a score but since Sony is releasing this as a game then I have to. That being said, one might find more use in the full review than just the score I give it. Five may seem relatively low compared to other reviews but I have my reasons for giving such a low score.
GAMEPLAY
If you have ever played a GT game before than you know what to expect, a top notch racing simulator. All of the cars look, sound, and drive like the real thing. The performance variation between each car is more than noticeable and is one the outstanding aspects of the GT series. If you are, however, more prone to arcade racers (Need for Speed, Ridge Racer, etc) than this game may be either boring or too frustrating. Your attitude toward the gameplay depends on what you want out of a acing game. Some do play for the realism and simulation of driving a car, however that in itself is not the sole reason to play this game.
The GT grind is back. What I mean is that often one must have to play the same race over and over again in order to buy a car that qualifies you for the next race. This is extremely annoying and can becomes a problem later in the game. If this is a taste of things to come than this leaves a rather bitter aftertaste. Considering that there are not many tracks to play on and that the AI is about as intuitive as a rock, than the GT grind is not a favorable aspect.
Graphics
There is not much more to say than it is really nice looking. Probably the best looking racing game so far. It's also way too short. Sorry limited space left.ack

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A DEMO AND THEN SOME!

posted by Glockoma (BUFFALO GROVE, IL) Apr 18, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

the fact is this game is a demo. but it come with more then a regular demo would offer to. but missing a lot to be considered a full GT game. there isnt as much vechiles as the previous GT games. There is a any aftermarket shopping. u get to buy a car, and drive it stock. online experience isnt up to par. when online, u notice that opponents cars tend to be jerky.
on the plus side, the game looks amazing. the best new feature, i think is the cockpit view. it makes driving even more realistic. u see the hands moving, which helps u adjust ur steering. also, u would notice the drivers hand drop to the shifter indicating that it is time to shift.

the biggest question that i have is when the real game comes out. would u be able to convert ur saved data from prologue to the new career on GT5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Next-Gen Racing game on any system.

posted by BlueSteel (LYNNWOOD, WA) Apr 17, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Gran Tourismo 5 Prologue is a great game. I am not going to get into the specifics on why it's great other than to say the visuals our phenominal, the game play is spot on just like past GT titles and the audio is top notch. To anyone who says this game is a "demo" because it's called GT5 Prologue you are an idiot! Let me say it slower so you can understand me...you...are....an....i- diot!!!! Show me a demo on any system that offers free online play (something the 360 will never do), over 70 cars, 6 different tracks with multiple routes, the ability to customize your cars performance once you complete enough events (there are 40 events in all), and offline 2 player split screen racing. If this all sounds like a demo to you, you have to tell me where you get your demo's from because i would love to hear about it. $40 for this game is a great deal....if you like gorgeous, first class racing games. If you don't like that kind of game, then go rent something else. If you write this game off without giving it a try, you are doing yourself a disservice. Keep up the great work Polyphony Digital!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Right Perspective

posted by TyrantRDFL (GLENDALE, NY) Apr 19, 2008

Member since Sep 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Just hoping to shed some light on your choice on this game. Everyone knows by now what this game offers, and one thing that it offers and its the most important apsect of any game to be created, is gameplay. The game plays solid. No it isnt a complete game , but I figured they looked out by giving us a nice taste of whats to come in 2009. The PS3 isnt easy to program for so its taking them time to give us the complete game, but this is a sweet alternative for now. Yea I can agree that 40 is 10 dollars to much. I would have sold it for $29.99, but hey its your choice, and if You feel u want to play a solid racing game with strong gameplay and great visuals then get the game. Whether its rental or purchase. Honestly the game is Fun. Hope I helped. Take care Brothers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Forget the test drive

posted by ebook32 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 18, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

8 out of 18 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Just buy the game? demo? what ever you want to call it. It's worth every penny, the game plays really well and after a few hours of game play it doesn't even feel like a demo. I own a standard TV 480p and the graphics are so sharp and detailed it feels like I'm playing in HD. This is a must play for any racing fan. Forget about what other people are saying "save your money it's just a demo" Gran Turismo 5 won't feel like demo after a few hours, trust me your going to want to buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

It lures you in with pretty graphics....

posted by shoulda (WHITE HOUSE, TN) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

And really does deliver on that, but after playing for 3 hours you realize that everything is so scripted and linear it's no fun.

When you first get into the game you have limited money to get a lower end car much like other racing games, and you can't sup up the car at all just purchase or sell it. The big problem is that the menus seem way to boring and the cards while they LOOK GREAT really don't have a different feel. Unfortunately you have to start with the C class and work your way up to the fastest cars without access to an "arcade mode" or sorts where the higher end cars are available.

Within the "C" class and others certain races can only be won with certain cars, meaning that to get enough money to buy them you have to do the SAME RAC OVER AND OVER to get enough money for the next race to get the car you need.

If you like having to do the same 10 minute race over and over 'upwards of 10times' to get enough money to buy the specific car you need for the next race then maybe this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Extreme Let Down

posted by Duomenox (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 19, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

7 out of 19 gamers (37%) found this review helpful

As the title says, this game is an extreme let down. I've been a GT fan since the first one and this game is missing EVERYTHING that makes GT, GT.

There is not any aftermarket shopping/modding. You buy a car, race it, by another car, race it, etc... until you are extremely bored.

Other than there being a complete lack of cars, and absolutely no ability to modify your vehicle, there graphics are very well done. Even my wife commented on how awesome the introduction movie looked. The visuals are above and beyond, and are a great reason to rent this game, not buy it.

Because this game is not any better than your typical arcade racing game I have to give this a really weak rating.

Sony is trying to sell a demo. This "game" should be no more than $10. Save your money and send Sony the message, "We will not pay money for a tech demo. We will not pay money for a part of a game that every other company gives away as a demo."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this sucks

posted by Glock9 (MONTICELLO, WI) Feb 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I didn't like the game, cause it was nothing like the old Grand Turiso games. To complex, not enough car options and you can't even modify the cars in the begining of the game. Which was its opeal to begin with. I only race one race and gave up on it. Don't play it not worth your time...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Standard Gran Turismo game

posted by beavis2000 (BIXBY, OK) Apr 17, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

6 out of 17 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

So far after one day with this game, this plays exactly how you would expect. The graphics are great but there is no car customization so far. The online play is ok, but not overly impressive. Good value for the price of $40.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WHAT?

posted by knighted (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Apr 17, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

12 out of 42 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

$40.00 FOR A DEMO?!?!? That's the dumbest thing i've ever heard. If you buy this, your a complete fool.. and your only contributing to Sony's ego. Hear me out here.. Demo's should be FREE. And not only that, its kind of like eating dessert before dinner.. it's only gonna spoil your appetite for the main course. Why are they selling this 40 dollar demo..? Because Sony knows that theres people out there with more money than brain cells.. and instead of focusing on THEIR JOB.. which would be.. hmm, i dont know.. ahhh COMPLETING THE #!?# GAME! They decide to waste resources and time getting this worthless 40 dollar demo ready. And in the middle of a recession no less... Now, their maybe some folks out there that disagree with me, and thats totally cool.. after all this is America. But, come on.. 40 bucks.. am I the only one here who thinks this is ignorant? This better be the longest, most enthralling demo ever created. Thanks for reading my review, and save your money.. cause if the demo costs 40 bucks.. then that means the game will probably retail for around $300.00.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It may be just a demo...

posted by LoneOne29 (HOPEWELL, VA) Apr 18, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

but, to me, it's worth $40. Heck, as nice as this looks and how good the gameplay is, I'd pay $60 for it. Visually, this game is amazing. The opening movie was awe-inspiring. This game has definitely taken the Gran Turismo series to the next level in photorealism. I'm not sure how it looks on a standard def. television, but on my 26" LCD, it was stunning. And this game is capable of 1080p, so I can only imagine what it looks at full resolution.

As far as gameplay is concerned, it's solid. The controls are completely customizable so no worries about being locked down with a certain control scheme, like so many other titles. The menus are fluid and easy to navigate. And, every car is unique in how it handles and feels on the track. It'll take a little time to find the best car for how you drive on each track. Each race awards you with points to purchase new vehicles. The points are higher on the online races and dealership events, but you have to fight for those extra points.

The online gameplay is fluid. You select the kind of race you wish to run, pick your car if you're not driving the right class, and wait while the game matches you to other players and connections. The number of players depends on how good your internet connection is. This is the first time a Gran Turismo game had online capabilities and I have to say that they nailed it on the first go. I have yet to have any lag issues and the competition is fierce.

My only gripe with the game is the lack of customization with the cars like in previous titles. But, this is a small complaint because Gran Turismo 5 is due next year, which I'm sure will have that capability. But overall, this game may not have as much to offer as other racing games, but what you do get is a great racing game with fluid gameplay and a polished look. We're starting to see what the PS3 can do. I won't say this is a must rent. This is a MUST BUY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Gran Turismo fanboys BEWARE!

posted by fightfan31 (JOLIET, IL) Sep 26, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Geesus! YOU CAN't DO ANYTHING COOL ON HERE!!!
Sorry, let me preface this by saying I am a huge fan of the GT series all the way back to PSone. That being said I think I would have had way more fun slamming my balls in a car door than trying to play this thing.
It looks great, sounds awesome and the cars handle pretty well. That's about all the praise I can muster for "prologue".
I got this game yesterday(a little late after it was released, but i'm kinda still addicted to COD4) and it was back in the shipping container at about 11:30 this morning. My brother and I spent about 2 hours breezing through the C class races and I blazed through 90% of the B class this morning. All of a sudden I got to a race that had me beaten:the Honda Integra-only race where you get 1 lap to pass 15 other cars. This race kicked my azz for over an hour before i finally got so p1ssed off that i put the da mn game back in it's sleeve and dropped it in the mail.....god i hope this was just some scheme by polyPHONY digital to fleece their pockets and not an indication of what's to come for the real game. I think anybody who paid money for this piece of cr ap should be able to download the full game for free when it comes out!That is of course assuming that it will be less of a tur d than "prologue" ha! fat chance!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

same old thing

posted by sawfather06 (ANZA, CA) Mar 16, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

they need to upgrade this game and the menu music will put u to sleep even my wife said turn that .... off

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible!!!

posted by Warrior138 (DAVIE, FL) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

This game sucks royally. No car customization, no "street" cars, only super and exotic cars. I like racing games where you can take a car you can buy off from any car lot and customize them. Disliked it soo much that I got it today and am sending it back tomorrow, gonna try the regular Gran Turismo 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Racing Game Ever

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) May 20, 2012

Member since Dec 2005

What part of the word, race, do these game designers not understand? I don't want ridiculous challenges, such as pass all cars in one lap. That is so not a race. I want to race... that's it -- Race! I want more than three babyish laps.
I also hate having to have a specific make and model for a race. I don't mind if I must have a rear-wheel drive or front-wheel drive, etc. But to have to have a specific make and model is stupid. I hate Japanese and French cars so much. I do not want to even use them on video games. I like my American cars, Italian cars, British cars (Aston Martin, especially).
All I want to do is race at least 25 or more laps, maybe one pit stop, and have a choice of what car I want.
I don't want to have to pass all cars in one lap or have ten minutes to beat a target lap time. That is not racing at all. That's a driving test. I do not want driving tests.
I want to Race! Got that, game makers? I want to race! And I want my own car choice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

gt 5

posted by 34motorsports (NEODESHA, KS) Apr 8, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

game did not work wouldnt load

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

its alright i like the graphics and the cars

posted by rjm15 (MOBILE, AL) Mar 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

its just too boring like you cant drive super fast i like customize my cars like midnight club los angeles

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKED

posted by 1joshp (GREEN BAY, WI) Jan 8, 2011

Member since Sep 2009

LET me putt in one word the game sucked there are not meany cars and you cant even buy parts . the races were just ok .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its ok

posted by f0rakk3n (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) Dec 17, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

not the game i thought it was going to be.what i mean is that you cannot customize your car. i think this game is like a preview for the full grand turismo 5. other than that issue, graphics are good and i really liked the handling in most cars. good start.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Matt61554 (MARQUETTE HEIGHTS, IL) Nov 1, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

This game has awesome cars for a prologue. On gran turismo 4 for beginner races you win about six hundred credits per race . On gran turismo 5 prologue for beginner races you win eighteen-thousand credits. I bought a ford gt in 7 races. On A class races you win 35 thousand credits per race! It is an awesome game cant wait for the full game. Hope you find this helpful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not what I was expecting..

posted by Boots2291 (BAYVILLE, NY) Oct 30, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

To set the bar of what I was expecting take into consideration Forza 3. While GT wasn't bad it certainly did not have the realism that Forza has.

The audio was great, the graphics were great, the driving was fun. That's about all it had though. I had all the driving assists off and it was still easy to drive the tracks. No body damage when you crash does not make sense to me. For a game that is hyped up as a racing sim I feel that they are very far behind Turn 10 in producing a game that can replicate the way cars actually handle.

All in all, not a bad game, but not a great game. It's a step higher than Need For Speed in realism, but definitely a step or two below Forza 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

prologe 5 bites

posted by johnny4pip (MARATHON, FL) Oct 10, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Ive purchased all the other gran turismos in past, and beat the living you know what out of them. but this is one is horrible, ecspecially for the the guy who wants to upgrade their cars. ive played it for a couple of hours and would rather throw it against the wall. no upgrades or fine tuning the car no nitrous. way to go guys for ruining the best race game out there. i hope they get their stuff together on the new issue coming out soon or i want a divorce. its no wonder it couldnt hold its price. total junk. its coming back to gf the day after i got it. if you like it you dont know beans about tweaking a race car. what a dissapointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse