Rent Gran Turismo 3: A-Spec for PS2
view large frontback

Gran Turismo 3: A-Spec

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

514 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

You will always play this game in the future.

posted by SnwBrdr (EAGLE, ID) Oct 7, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is very good. This is another game that I can remember playing when I first had my PS2 got rid of the old version bought a new one and played it again. I like this game because of how realistic it is to how driving really is. You can't take a corner at 120 MPH and slide around the thing without a little play or correction on your part.

I especially love the racing on hard mode because it adds a little challenge if you've been playing for a while and aren't challenged anymore. This game is a definite buy and check the bargain bin now because there are newer verions of this game.

Overall this will be a game that I play for a long time even with the newer ones out. Go buy it right after you read this reveiw.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's as real as it can get

posted by TatsuJin (SAN MARCOS, CA) Mar 26, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lots of cars to choose from and favorite company car brands to look into. Like Mitsubishi, Honda, Ford, BMW, Volkswagen, and other car companies. When I first played this game, I thought it would be just another arcade racing game but when I start accelerating my car and then turn, I panicked! Why? Because this isn't just any arcade game. It's a real driving simulator game and it's awesome. I like how the cars looked so much detailed and it's nice how you can upgrade the car's parts and choose what kind of color you want for the car, depending what color it has for you to choose. If you like realistic driving, try this game out. Gran Turismo 3 is a really good car racing game because it has the sense of realism into it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by rachelewake (TAMPA, FL) May 4, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I had this game before I sold my ps2. I liked the endurance races, I would sit in front of my tv and play for hours. I recommend this game to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

i did like this game

posted by superflykid89 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Aug 4, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

it was fun and cool i love use all the car and i didn't like that you couldn't win any new car when you win the race thst is so not cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Smooth Game.

posted by Ryujisama17 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Perfect. the soothing music,cars and tracks are all there....and Unbelievable,get comfortable playing it in HD if you have the component cords. also reccomend this if you have surround sound or surround settings to maximize the dolby digital experience. as for the cars start off with a trueno under toyota it will give you a head start. my best pick for a car is a nsx or a skyline after you accomplished some races. after that it gets tricky like all day endurances, any of those other races and licenses (if you have experience) just don't do it if its too hard just keep it as a 2 player game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beautifully Crafted

posted by PSForLife (ONTARIO, NY) Feb 16, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I absolutely love this game, I got a ps3 a couple of months ago and I've been playing my ps2 more to play this game. It will never get old this is by far the best Gran Turismo so far, but I really think that GT 5 will have it beat. For some reason the Gran Turismo series only has good games on odd numbers. GT 1 was the best ps1 game ever made, but GT 2 absolutely tanked, then there's GT 3 which is beautifully amazing, GT 4 also tanked, and now GT 5 is the most anticipated game in the series. But anyway, back to GT 3. This game is actually very fun for those who like the realistic aspect of a simulator. The suggested gear indicator helps you to take corners, but doesn't help you too much like the new simulators with the cheat line. This game also has the best graphics of the ps2 even though it was an earlier release. No one really tried to top it. I would suggest trying the rally racing, it is very fun and you don't have to drive absolutely perfect to win, you will be sliding all over the place. And if you get into the rally racing early in the game then it helps you tremendously with the track racing. Rally races give you alot of money and really good cars as rewards that are usually worth around 75,000. I would also suggest using the Lancer Evo VII for the rally racing, once it is fully tuned it is impossible to top, I have used it all the way through the rally league. It is a little bit tougher to handle than the real rally cars but the speed makes up for it, it is FAST. Just do not hold the gas down around the first gear corners or you WILL spin. Once you finish the rally league you get a ridiculously fast rally car, but who says it has to stay on the dirt? It is also a very, very good track car. I would not rent this game because it is too long to rent, it would take one of your rentals for a very long time. And I got mine form Gamestop for $2.99 and there are alot of them out there, so go look for it used, it is cheaper. I hope this helped you, have a nice day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Gran Turismo 3: A-Spec

posted by racemy442 (DUBLIN, GA) May 5, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Graphically, it's a marvel. Super-smooth, incredibly detailed and stunningly lifelike. Other than that, the game is a BIG let down. I use to drag race a 1970 Olds 442 so I believe I have better than the average knowledge about cars. For what's it worth, I've even watch the Pony Express 100 in Nevada. One could argue it's only a game. OK, I'll gone along with that. But then why put so much effort in everything else about this game EXCEPT realist performance for quite a few of the cars? When I was in England in the late 1960's, a racing Mini Cooper had a top speed of 140mph then. In the game, with "all" of the after market parts that I could stick on an AC Cobra 289, the game still would not allow me to get the car over 140mph. In real life, a 289 AC Cobra would do that stock. And I'm only talking about just one car... The game was a real let down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Going Backwards?

posted by frank24cre (WARREN, OR) Dec 16, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

A better game than this is Gran Turismo 2, And a better game than that is The first one! I'm hoping the next one on PS3 will have real drag races, car appearance options, and all of the stuff they have cut out to bring us every car in the history of the world. I miss the weird cars too. The jay leno car was a tease. How about a greyhound bus? Early Chevy, Ford, and VW vans?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Uhhh

posted by Blockos (NEWPORT COAST, CA) Jul 14, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

This game isn't as good as everyone else says it is. I usually like car games, but not this one. Oh no. Not this one at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

this game sucks

posted by pizzaboy (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jun 17, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

I hate this game.! It reminds me of a horrible arcade game that you play and regret you payed 25 cents for it. This game has horrible graphics and the racing isn't realistic. When you crash into somebody no damage is shown on you or them. There are a lot of cars, but horrible music! Don't bother to rent or buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »