Rent Goosebumps HorrorLand for Wii
view large frontback

Goosebumps HorrorLand

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS2
GF Rating
5.3

236 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

"Horrorland" is fit for rent

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 16, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Based on the R.L. Stein series, Goosebumps: Horrorland is a mini game compilation that has you wandering though an amusement park named Horrorland as either a boy or a girl (the game's exactly the same either way) in a quest to get out of Horrorland.
At the beginning, you can play six mini games in one area and get "Scares" (points) by doing well in those games. Get enough scares and you open up a second area and six more mini games.
Then, you get more scares by doing well in those games, and unlock another area. The process repeats until you've unlocked all five areas and thirty mini games.
Along the way, you meet a girl who helps your task by telling you a way to get home: Find the pieces of your ticket that was torn up at the gate when you entered Horrorland.
Enough story - the question is how are the games. Well, some of them are actually good; I liked the bumper cars, shooting targets, rowing the boat and trying to hit the bell in the test of strength.
But there are some bad games due to lousy controls, namely rolling the ball into the proper slots, guiding a ring through a maze, shining the light on vampires and getting through the roller coaster.
Getting from one mini game to another takes some time, namely time to get used to the layout of Horrorland, but that's not much of a problem, and there are a few funny lines said by the monsters running the place.
Multi player doesn't add much except the joy of playing these games with friends. But you do have to unlock them in single player mode before you can play them multi player.
Goosebumps: Horrorland doesn't quite separate itself from the large pile of other Wii mini game compilations, but it's worth a rental, especially if you're a fan of the book/TV series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a keeper

posted by metz30 (NEWARK, OH) Nov 12, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The kids really love this game, they have played it for the past 9 days str8 This is one they want to keep, even the 11 yr old really likes the games and plot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

goosebumps

posted by goosebumps (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Nov 22, 2008

Member since May 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is an excellent game. My 3 kids have been playing it for couple of days now. They love the object of the game, this is one my kids want to keep.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is so awesome i wish i could buy it i play it every day for like 200 mints.

posted by crazywax (QUEEN ANNE, MD) Feb 6, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this game is so awesome i wish i could buy it i play it every day for like 200 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

disappointing

posted by britallica (MOUNTAIN VIEW, CA) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The PC game that came out in '96 was way better than the Wii version. I was expecting it to be more involved, but it was just a bunch of mini games. Cool mini games but that's all it was: no variety, no GAME, just little games. Too predictable, bad camera views, boring controls, boring characters... it was too safe, they needed to take more risks. It's okay for younger kids though, its not offensive or very scary, mild graphics, and all the games are pretty easy. They need to make an adult version of this though, it would be SO cool!! After all, the first crop of kids that were all into Goosebumps books when they first came out are all grown up now, like me I'm 20 now. I still like Goosebumps and the concept of Horrorland has SO much potential for adult audiences and game players! Not cheesy lame teen slasher junk, but well-thought-out psychological twisted stuff. I'd buy it (if it was good)! I would not buy this game for myself though, maybe a 9-year-old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Best Wii Game

posted by irishsully (FAIR HAVEN, NJ) Oct 3, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

It's still shipping, but ive played it before and in my opinion it's the best wii game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i didnt realy like it

posted by lildmc (EFFINGHAM, NH) Aug 7, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

if you like carnival games that you cant realy finish this is your game i didnt like it i thougt it was very boring i i rated it a 1 horrible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Goosbumps Horrorland

posted by zacandaz (BROOKFIELD, WI) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This game sucks because I did not order it and some how it got in my game Q I don't know how it happend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dont rent

posted by shoeytenni (TOLEDO, OH) Dec 23, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

Games are awful and the control walking around are just bad. there using the goosebumps name to make people buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »