Rent GoldenEye Reloaded for PS3
view large frontback

GoldenEye Reloaded

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.2

1523 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice COD alternative

posted by shooterjunkie56 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Dec 18, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I started playing Goldeneye reloaded I wasn't really expecting much and boy was I wrong. This game had me hooked from start to finish with its fluid gameplay and great story. If you're lookinng to move on from Call of Duty I think this is worth a look.
You play as James Bond and that's all I'm going to tell because the story I found very interesting. THe campiagn has a fair amount of stealth. Now usually I don't like stealth but in this game I love it. There's also a unique thing you can do which is take pictures of intel with your cellphone or hack doors which is cool. The gameplay in Reloaded is very addictive and the campaign never seems to get boring. there's even a tank mission which is epic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

SilverEye Reloaded

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Dec 8, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is so close to being marvelous, it's flaws become even more evident.

The graphics are good and the voice acting is great. Being rebuilt/reimagined hasn't hurt the game at all, it's actually pretty cool as they've maintained the feel of the original. Almost to a fault. It felt great to hold familiar weapons and hear the familiar sounds, but I can see how other may see that as a bad thing, especially when compared to the sounds of BF3.
This is definitely more of the "action" bond than the "stealth" bond, but it is enjoyable.
It's just hard to compare with the controls and feel of COD, which would have suited this game like a glove.

I almost have to recommend that you play this game with the Move, simply to keep your mind from comparing it games like COD.

It's so close to greatness, it's almost heartbreaking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bond at his finest.

posted by Xieneus (SARATOGA SPRINGS, NY) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Its an exact duplicate of the Wii version of Goldeneye which is aimed at the original movie "Goldeneye" not the game. Not too much nostalgia but a good campaign that will keep you hooked to the end. Multiplayer is a blast and MI6 modes will keep you entertained. I mean who doesn't like Moonraker Big Head Paintball Mode? Its classic fun on splitscreen. Don't listen to Call of Duty fanboys. The graphics don't make the game but they're quite nice. Gameplay is solid and its FUN. Its not a Call of Duty clone. If you like it, buy it. If you're interested. Rent it. FULL REVIEW COMING SOON --- 9.5/10 XienTEC Reward (Spectacular)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Goldeneye Reloaded - A Gamers Review

posted by cheeko2222 (MIFFLINTOWN, PA) May 14, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Goldeneye Reloaded is a fun remade game that I can truly say is better than the original. It was updated to the Wii last year and now it's on the Play Station 3 with HD graphics and it looks just about as good as it gets.

Presentation - The story is fun to just try to go in, shoot a couple guys, perform hand to hand kills, and then shoot some more baddies, but is that it? The story isn't the greatest and is kind of predictably cliche'd. You are agent 007 working against a Russian plot and are joined with agent 006.

Gameplay - The gameplay is solid. Like I said earlier, it's fun to just go in a room and kill a bunch of enemies but seriously; is that it?! The online is pretty fun with the occasional great kills.

The Verdict - Goldeneye Reloaded is a fun remake that could possibly last a while for gameplay but really that's all that makes this game. I give this an 8.0/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game

posted by jimmydewolf (DAVENPORT, FL) Dec 1, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

ive never wrote a review for anything in my life but this game was so good i had to tell you. anyone who is a fan of the movie and the original game for nintendo-64 would love it too. the game followed the original storie but everybody looked difrent, (valentine was a skinny dude with tatoos and a scar on his cheek, not a limp and was killed by xenia in the game.) the grafics, gameplay and selection of wepons make it an amazing game. the problem i had was that it was too short but has online multiplayer and ops misions to add to the reson to own it. it is also one of thows games that give you a cutsceen that you think you can walk away from for a minut and then they prompt you to press butons which got me killed a few times which frusterated me because it was a level that i was struggling with. in a nutshell its an awsome game that i would recomend the game to anybody who like shooters and bond.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great campaign, so so multiplayer...

posted by Lucread (CLEARFIELD, UT) Feb 29, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The campaign was a magnificent reimagining of the classic Goldeneye film storyline for the Craig era. Things are different to ensure sense could be made in the modern day (i.e. all Cold War references are gone), and the alterations all around just felt great. Its as close to a remake of a classic Bond film as we'll ever get for the new rebooted Bondverse, and on top of that, it holds up to the legend of the classic N64 title we all know and love.

The multiplayer, on the other hand, falls short. With the over saturation of big multiplayer FPS titles, this becomes one you should probably pass on. Compared to the handling of mainstays Call of Duty and Battlefield, this game's multiplayer feels clunky and slow, and since its envisioned aorund the concepts of Call of Duty (being an Activision title, itself), you may find yourself confused at times with how it plays.

That said, however, its still a fun worth while game just from its campaign, and FPS and/or Bond fan owes it to themselves to enjoy the wonderful campaign. You may be better off ignoring the multiplayer altogether, but the campaign alone makes this one still worth renting.

Give it a go, you'll at least enjoy the story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Campain, Ok Online

posted by spidasteve (FORESTVILLE, CA) Nov 11, 2011

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The campain mode is similar to the N64 campain mode, but with extremly more detailed graphics, different objectives, and some old objectives. I like the campain mode, but online mode was just ok. Call of Duty has a much better online setup. If your a fan of the N64 version, like me, this game is worth a rent for campain and split screen modes. However nothing will ever compare to the N64 Goldeneye, its classic!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME

posted by D4RK_M4TTR (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

THIS IS A GREAT GAME DON'T LET THE OPINION OF SOMEONE WHO PLAYED ONLY 5 MINUTES AND SENT IT BACK FOOL YOU.I'VE PLAYED THE WHOLE GAME AND ITS GREAT!!!!!I GIVE THIS GAME A SOLID 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Bond Game!!!

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 9, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Overview
===================
This is probably my favorite Bond game of this console generation. However, it does have it's flaws. It is a decent rent. I wouldn't buy it until it hits the bargain bin.

The campaign is a lot of fun (strays from the movie...but oh well). The MI6 modes can extend the gameplay (think horde type mode). The online is extremely laggy at this point...unplayable (think Brink).

Pros
===============
1) you play as Bond
2) decent package of campaign & other modes
3) split-screen for online & MI6 modes

Cons
===============
1) the graphics are last gen (or very early PS3)
2) the online is HORRIBLY laggy
3) the AI are dumb

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Attempt

posted by mauneykj (DENVER, CO) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The recreation of this game was a fantastic idea. But to change around so much of it, WRONG! No Boris! Little of the maps resembled.. No good cheats.. Left out Aztec and Egypt.. Wow!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ok game but lacked replay value

posted by Dashinthis83 (DAVISBORO, GA) Jun 16, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It had more things than I expected but failed to keep me wanting to keep playing after awhile. I felt like the game had little replay value since some of the so called cheats were lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game(its from Activision,No foolin'!!!)

posted by airbender14 (DUBOIS, WY) Jan 16, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is very well done.The singleplayer Campain is great, and the costoumizeable mi6 ops missions are tons of fun and can post on the ps network.Bink Video did the Graphics and i have to say,they did a breathtaking job with everything they did.They put alot of great effort into every little deatil.The gun selections are insane!Shotguns,Pistols,Submachine and fully machine guns,and snipers,rocket launchers and sclienced weapons,you name it they put in there!Im not usually a fan of activision but this one was good in alot of ways. Overall this game is one to get if you like fighting and shooting games. sincerely, Airbender14 :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

STOP MAKING REBOOTS!

posted by Indi (JOHNSON CITY, TN) Feb 14, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Take everything you loved about Goldeneye 64, make it newer, shinier, nothing like you remember it, then drop a deuce on it.

This game has no feel at all. There is little to no rumble in the controller for ANYTHING that happens. The guns are practically the same as original Goldeneye. Meaning there was no licensing hunted down for anything other than Bond's signature gun. So all the guns are the same as they would be in games like MW3 or BF3 but with made up names and slight changes so they don't fall into copyright laws.

The guns have no feel to them at all. No recoil. No sway. It's like playing the original but now days this is not acceptable or awesome.

They updated the story line of the movie/original game. It makes no sense at all now and all the characters you loved have been replaced by jokes of a updated modern verison so Daniel Craig looks better than ever next to these steamers.

The difficulty levels are joke. I played through on 007 mode my first time without a problem. The only part that sucks is that there is no damage indicators. Your screen gets slightly bloody if you're about to die. That's about it. You have no sense for the danger your in or the cover your behind. Since cover is a joke. As well as the cover/fire system. YOU CAN NOT CROUCH AND AIM at the same time. AT ALL. you "pop" up out of cover to fire then return to being crouched. Which throws the cover completely out of whack since the guards have dead on, hacker style aiming. Since there is no feel for taking damage or being fired at you will never know when you are about to die. Many times you simply get one shotted by a rocket or sniper hiding as a spec in the distance and never know they were there.

The last straw for me was the famous tank chase was replaced with a cookie cutter city. Which apparently all of russia is still under construction for some reason because the entire country's budget was spent on helicopters and RPG soliders to chase one man.

DO NOT RENT THIS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

No online pass good shooter

posted by bblack300 (LAFAYETTE, IN) Nov 5, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

i thought this 1st person shooter almost held its ground to the great titles that are out right now, and for once u can play all the online modes which are pretty good for free. NO ONLINE PASS , nice to see there are still companies doing their online duties for no extra charge

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this game ist really that awesome its lame.......

posted by vadic06 (HIGHLANDS RANCH, CO) Feb 17, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game ist that awesome because for one i figured it would be more spy feeling type of game instead its exactly like mw3 like for one this games like a rip off its the same guns from mw3 and call of duty black ops! like jeez if your going to make a game thats fun and more spyish if u know what i mean. a waste of time to make like the wii version was better. but serously dont get this game its a waste of time and money unless if your a giant call of duty fan. which im really not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

umm... not impressed

posted by zmiller98 (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Feb 7, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

well i figured it would be more spy'y because it was 007 no it was more like call of duty all you ever do is shoot it is very repetitive and annoying i do not recomment this game to anyone who thinks its going to be a spy game because it is simply not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

horrible job

posted by coolfool21 (PHENIX CITY, AL) Nov 5, 2011

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 14 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

the graphics suck the game play is terrible who ever made this I speak for hardcore players everywhere please stop trying to try to make games your terrible at it activsion you need to fire who did this travesty the wii version is way better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Great Multiplayer, Dated Singleplayer

posted by 6stringstexas (MCALLEN, TX) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 13 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

I know it's odd to call a remake "Dated" but it's not the story or the gameplay that i'm refering to here... it's the graphics and AI. The AI on the single player are terrible and will run right up and come at you one at a time like a bad kung fu fight scene. I don't remember the AI doing that in the original but still you should repeat a game's mistakes in a remake rather than fix them. The graphics are the other thing that really peaved me when I started the single player. Although the animation is good (movement), the textures and models are... well... dated for a next gen console that's been out for years. If this game would have came out when the PS3 came out the graphics would be acceptable but not now... not when you have games like Crisis 2, Skyrim, Uncharted 3 and God of War 3 to compete with. On the brighter side this game does what makes a good game great... it's fun (the multi-player esspecially.) Fans of the original N64 version won't be disappointed with the multi-player and might even find the single player missions addicting (once you look past the stupid of course.) A good buy if only for the multi-player still. Who knows... maybe we'll see another remake of this game in two years... let's hope they fix the small things though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible game

posted by mrmojorisin (TRUXTON, NY) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 13 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

The graphics, controls, gameplay made this game unplayable. This should not even be on the wii let alone the ps3. Waiste of time and money. DONT EVEN RENT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Why James Bond?

posted by slayer127 (HEMET, CA) Nov 3, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 30 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

This game was back in the mail 5 minutes into gameplay. The single player was just plain awful. It cannot be described in words. Maybe pictures but not words. This game better be lucky that I'm giving it a 3 because multiplayer and M16 Ops was amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

PLAY THE ORGINAL

posted by turhfh (MINNEOLA, FL) Jul 9, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

this is nothing compared to the best game ever that came from the 64

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

golden eye

posted by prettydre (COLUMBUS, OH) May 24, 2013

Member since May 2013

sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not too bad

posted by NickBauer (FLORENCE, OR) Apr 30, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

Not as good as the original but worth a rent regardless. If you're wanting to play online though, don't rent this because NO ONE PLAYS ONLINE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

why oh why

posted by gamerjohn123 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Mar 2, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

whell lets start with the fact i love the original goldeneye this one however is goodish is the best way i can describe this game the level design makes me nostalgic, they get the point across where you are compared to the original but also bring new flavor... but the rest of the game is nothing like the original and almost srays from the movie at points. but all that aside its still fun for a little while

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A worthy reboot, minus the multiplayer.

posted by wiseacre686 (PUYALLUP, WA) Jan 24, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

As a fan of the original N64 Goldeneye, I couldn't resist checking this one out.

The campaign mode was a blast. All the levels I loved are there, but updated and improved to match today's standard. AI and weapons are also more modern and realistic. What you end up with is more of a dark, gritty tribute to the original game, rather than a remake.

That being said, the multiplayer just didn't do it for me. Local multiplayer is moot, because the levels are much more expansive. So without the ability to add bots, you end up circling each other for an uncomfortably long while, and only landing a few kills.

For online multiplayer, fans of the shooter genre should probably just stick to larger franchises that have already mastered online play.

Great (albeit short) campaign though. Definitely a good one to rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse