Rent GoldenEye Reloaded for Xbox 360
view large frontback

GoldenEye Reloaded

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
5.9

2685 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun being Bond.. but not super fun.

posted by soco (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 5, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

21 out of 26 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

It was fun to be James Bond again, but that's all i can say. The graphics are good, not great. The gameplay is all about shooting people that hide behind crates or cars. It's extremely linear, meaning you literally run down the one and only path thats available, and shoot groups of people that pop out when you reach checkpoints. Bodies disappear after they hit the ground, which I guess follows the N64 version, but kinda takes away from the immersion. On the good side, it does feel like a movie, which I liked a lot. But I wish considering that the "movie feel" is the strongest point of the game, they would include more aspects of 007 movies that aren't just about shooting people, because it does get repetitive. The story is also pretty short and seems very abridged. If you don't remember the Goldeneye story, then some parts will be confusing. The multiplayer is basically Call of Duty, but not as good as CoD and very laggy, so after a couple matches I just decided to play black ops. In summary, it's worth a rent just to be Bond again, but that's about it. It shows promise, and I don't regret playing it, but it could have been taken to a much higher level with a few more creative ideas on making the player feel like they are in a movie...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A decent rental

posted by Normhimself (STARKE, FL) Nov 27, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is a pretty good weekend rental. If you are a fan of the original you will recognize a little bit from the N64 classic, but truthfully not a whole lot. Also if you are achievement hunting, steer clear. Its not an easy 1000 GS by any means.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Little too far from the Original

posted by ThatFreakyThing (LIBERTYVILLE, IL) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

10 out of 16 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Gameplay feels really stiff and animations are very poor-looking. Although the game does have slightly the same feel as the original, it still doesnt hold too close to it. Overall, this game is not so much worth the play. Would be much more worth it if they took the same route as Halo did with an identical copy of an old game, using the same engine, only remastered with beautiful HD.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A touch of nostalgia

posted by BeTreyed (OMAHA, NE) Jan 3, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

As a fan of the original Goldeneye for N64, I have to say that certain parts of this game bring back happy feelings from my childhood. Mindless hours spent completing the original and hours upon hours spent up late at night with friends playing multiplayer. Overall, its a great remake of the original. Highly recommend to FPS fans and fans of the original.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I think QoS Multiplayer was alot better

posted by JonM7o3 (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Nov 4, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

First off if you had this game for the wii then its nothing new. It has a pretty fun story. One of the things i wished it had like QoS did was a cover system thats what made QoS so fun for me. The Multiplayer feels kind of slow and laggy. I'm not saying its a bad game back feels like a standard shooter.

Pros
Good Story
Lots of Multiplayer modes
Split Screen

Cons
No 3rd Person Cover System
Multiplayer is really laggy so far wait until a patch(and trust me its not my internet)

The story to this bond game was 100x better than QoS but the QoS multiplayer was really fun Overall i would say rent it and wait for the price to go down to around 30-40 if you would like to buy it its a great game but more other better games are coming this month

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

ok game but not great

posted by upperechelon1 (MESA, AZ) Jan 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

its one of those games that has a ok but not great story mode. the online is really disappointing, for two reasons, first its really hard to find a match (probably due to the fact that nobody plays it ) and it feels unfinished. the plays move very slow and just about everyone uses shotguns which are 1 hit kills. its an ok rental but not worth buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disappointing

posted by jeaton82586 (STEGER, IL) Dec 19, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

When I heard about this game i was excited. who didnt like the n64 game. this game however is nothing close. they tried updating it to make it more modern day but lost what really made the n64 version a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Reload This.

posted by infamouselguapo (LAFAYETTE, CA) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

What's that, you say? A souped-up version of the N64 Goldeneye? Aw, sign me up.

Oh. You did? Great.

....

Oh. Oh. You lied. Not so great.

If you're expecting the Temple, the Facility, and friends getting seriously upset at you for picking Oddjob AGAIN, you will be sorely disappointed. Also, where the f--k is Pierce Brosnan? Oh, what? He's real busy? Couldn't nab Sean Bean as 006 either?

It's often confusing, often jerky, and often shattering the fond memories you had of the game that changed games forever. A severe let-down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not even worth renting

posted by mcrugin88 (ROCKFORD, IL) Nov 26, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Got this to satisfy my nostalgia for the love of the old N64 title. Graphics are about the only redeeming quality of this game. I thought the gameplay was just awful. Reasons as follows:
Playing in the higher difficulties, you are presented with additional objectives to complete for each mission. Problem is, it is not readily obvious how to fulfill them. When you get within a certain distance of an objective, an icon appears on the HUD. You end up playing hot-and-cold trying to figure out where the relevant item is.
For some objectives, you must use your smartphone. When equipped, your movement speed and look sensitivity are drastically reduced (maybe this is adjustable, I didn't check). When within range a phone icon appears, and the phone can be equipped to search for the object (which is difficult with the reduced sensitivity). The object is enclosed in a pulsing square that is oftentimes difficult to see.
Stealth kills are fun, but not always an option. In some situations it seems you are required to barrel through the offense without taking the time to kill every enemy.
It's not always obvious when you successfully score a hit on your target, especially when using automatic weapons. Sometimes a target will stagger when hit, from there they may either fall to the ground or recover and return fire, you just can't always tell which it will be. They don't seem to take damage while staggering either.
The entire campaign is only 7-8 hours long. I returned the game before playing online, so I can't say anything about multiplayer.
Ultimately a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Absolute Trash!! SKIP!!

posted by XcmGT (NEWTON, NJ) Jul 11, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is absolutely the worst game I have played in awhile. First off the difficulty is spotty, when playing on 007 difficulty you will be thrown into small corridors with enemies that spawn on top of you. The weapons suck. You can barely see anything through the attachments. I cannot count how many times I have been killed because the enemy shot through a wall. The last mission is stupidly impossible at the end. This game is a trash call of duty remake with a James Bond painting on it. In addition, if you are looking for quick achievements forget this game it will take forever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ok... but not the best.

posted by THROWDOWN2 (TOLEDO, OH) Nov 27, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is worth the rent. I would not suggest buying it. It brings back memories of playing on the N64. But its not quite the same. I had much more fun on the N64 then the 360. The game has a good story. But the multiplayer is bad. The final mission is outragous, (dont wanna give anything away if you havent played it) 006 last forever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

disapointing, multiplayer sucks

posted by soupordragon (PLAYA DEL REY, CA) Nov 5, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game was a major disappointing. The single player is the best part and the AI is terrible. The levels are pretty well done and it is nice to get nods to the original but compared to modern games it creaks. Multi player was broken when I played it and connections were very hard. The graphics, weapons and animations look more like PS1 than anything else. I was really excited about this game and now really disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same, Same, Same

posted by jcharveyiii (DOTHAN, AL) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game was good but It was too repetitive. Same thing just different change of scenery each level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

trolls review

posted by tro160 (MIAMI, FL) Nov 6, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

5 out of 10 for what could of should of been an awesome return fails due to network connection issues the 1 player story mode is not up to par with 007 quantum i recommend renting that one instead not an acheivement friendly game so if ur hopin for some quick ones u will be sad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Waste of time

posted by RuningWolf (YUCAIPA, CA) Nov 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2003

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game sucks.Since when did James Bond go around and kill every thing moving?This is nothing but a poor example of a run and gun game.
The graphics are marginal.
the gameplay is straight forward shoot every thing, very boring.Shoot, load, shoot...
It's a wasted rental as far as I'm concerned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ANOTHER WINNER FOR THE "BOND, JAMES BOND"

posted by SHAMAN (SOUTH MIAMI, FL) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Oct 2004

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have enjoyed playing the last several issues of this series and this is not disappointing!!
the game play is fluid, the story line is engaging, the gun play is fun!!!
over all a great experience!!!
This game has everything that an "action/adventure" game should have. did not give it a "10" only because of I think that there is always room for improvement in the graphics, but otherwise...the game ROCKS!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Atrocious Game.

posted by P_McSnobberson (GRAND MARAIS, MN) May 5, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Do yourself a favor and don't waste your time with this horrendously awful piece of garbage. The game has nearly nothing to do with the movie, or the original game. In fact, the original is 10 times better than this awful game. Gameplay is atrocious, voice acting is worse, the enemy voices sound mechanical (last time I checked there weren't any robots in Goldeneye), the AI is stupid, and I am genuinely sorry I took the time to rent this piece of $%!t. I hope to never come across a game made by these people again. They have perverted the movie, raped the original game, and insulted my intelligence and violated the franchise by forcing this abomination upon the unsuspecting masses. If I were a dictator, I would have the developers tortured for years, by forcing them to play this unbearable thing for years on end. I can only hope I have stopped at least one person from ruining at least 10 minutes of their lives from playing this...thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointing

posted by marsupial311 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 15, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The re imagining of Goldeneye, the classic first person shooter, leaves a lot to be desired. The story has been changed from the original with Daniel Craig as Bond. Picking this game up, I expected a classic Goldeneye experience with updated graphics and maybe a few extra levels but was greatly disappointed.

If you're looking for a Goldeneye remake, this is not the game for you. I expected the classic story and had trouble getting into the "re imagined" plot. The MI6 missions did not add much to the game either. A big disappointment for original 007 fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

It could have been a lot better.

posted by PadreGamer (KIRKLAND, WA) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Graphics are not bad, not great, just ok.
Weapons are fairly good.
Gameplay is linear. Follow the expected path, no open world.
Neurotic, infantile sequences of hitting RT and LT furiously.
Some situations programmed to be repeated many times.
No incentive system (scavenging, leveling up).
It could have been a lot better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game, but not great

posted by dirtyblackhoe (THOMASVILLE, GA) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game, but I felt like the story was extremely hard to follow...I don't remember how the story went on the N64 version (was too busy playing multiplayer and killing my buddies) but I felt lost in the meaning of what I was doing in the game. Other than the story lacking, I thought it was a very fun game and it was just long enough to not be TOO long. Can't wait for the next Bond game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Yawn

posted by Jerry (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Nov 17, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I'm only half way through the first level, and I have already killed 40 guys. This isn't spy stuff, it's just another FPS. booriing. Hitman series games were way more like what I would expect this to be like. Were's the spy stuff. So glad I did'nt have to buy this piece of garbage!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dumb

posted by cpike (CARBONDALE, IL) Dec 3, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

worst 007 iv played.. nothing like the original Golden eye minus it being 007.. dif maps and a slightly dif story line... i was really looking forward to playing this because of how much fun and memories i had for the old one witch i still have lol... do not waist your time with this gett quatum or blood stone both r way better with better game play and storys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

goldeneye

posted by xpart123 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Nov 4, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 15 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

this game is perfect Eurocom should make all the james bond games from now on perfect job Eurocom.definitely takes me back to the good old n64 days but just on a newer gaming system.i have been waiting for a new or remake of goldeneye forever thank you Eurocom.i hope Eurocom makes more 007 games. i hope on dlc and xmb downloads Eurocom could put all the james bonds to play on single player multiplayer online.and start with Pierce Brosnan all and the way down the list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Total $#!+

posted by missd420 (BALTIMORE, MD) Jun 18, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

I loved the old Goldeneye game for N64. Probably my favorite old FPS game. This? This was total cr@p. First of all, why is Daniel Craig in it? Pierce Brosnan was Goldeneye 007, and he still should be. Second, the game itself was cr@p. Gameplay was ridiculous, the difficulty curve was out the window, and overall, it is just a bad game. I would not recommend it to anyone, except your worst enemy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Why ruin a once great title?

posted by CHRISP33KR33M (CHESAPEAKE, VA) May 19, 2014

Member since May 2014

I played this game hoping it would be at least somewhat as good as the classic N64 title but like most remakes nowadays it didn't hold up. The campaign is slow & boring, the MI6 challenges are basically all the same in terms of objective (stealth being the only exception) & the multiplayer is un-populated, which is a shame because it was the one redeeming factor. If anyone is looking for a better 007 game Id recommend 007 Legends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse