Rent GoldenEye 007 for Wii
view large frontback

GoldenEye 007

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
6.6

2810 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun

posted by Bl4ck3n3d (ARMAGH, PA) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

26 out of 27 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

Everyone remembers the blast the original Goldeneye was, at least the should. When this game came out I was leery of a cash in only but, I was wrong. This is a fun game, especially if you have friends. The thing about it, it is Goldeneye but, it's trying to be Goldeneye for 2010 and I think it succeeds.

It has split screen local multi-player, online 8 man multi-player, some different set ups you can use for you character, and you can use a classic controller, GameCube controller, the zapper, or the standard wii controls. The controls have sensitivity settings and are customizable to a degree, making the game fairly suitable to any who plays it and looks for those options.

The game types are fun and reminiscent of the original Goldeneye. My favorite is still just the DM mode but, playing slappers only or golden gun never gets tiring for me either.

The single player is pretty well done. You can either run and gun your way through it, play more like a spy and make your way through the game, or do a combo of both. I haven't finished it yet because I went straight to the multi-player (who wouldn't, it's Goldeneye!) but, what I have played I have enjoyed.

All in all, I'd say if you are a fan of the original then this is a great buy. If you have no idea what I'm referring to then rent it, check it out and see the awesomeness.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Goldeneye 007 Review

posted by EmanReview (TOLLESON, AZ) Feb 7, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

if you're a fan of FPS's, James Bond and the Goldeneye franchise, you''ll enjoy this game. It has many classic Bond moments and Call of Duty inspired controlls. But the overall experience can be kind of a disappointment.

PROS-
Fantastic multiplayer
Optional control inputs
Good Wii graphics
Distuctable and interactive environments

CONS-
Framerate can fail on you a little
Story is a bit confusing for newbies of the franchise
levels can get boring or tedious
there are many load times
I didn't find myself playing the difficulty I selected past the first level

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EPIC

posted by Awesomeness2day (DECATUR, GA) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME ROCKED!!!!! THE CAMPAIN, THE MULTIPLAYER THE ONLINE AWESOME! NO COMPLIENTS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

killing time

posted by fonzy101 (FREDERICK, MD) Jul 16, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The story line is great and takes about a couple of days. But once you beat it you are done, if you have online you can play that for a little while but after that send it back. Splitscreen is ok but is not very promising. It is a good game to rent but not to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

James Bond will Die Another Day in the games world

posted by TheWiiReviewer (WASHINGTON, MO) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First Impressions:

When I rented this, I was rather worried this would be Callofdutyeye : 007 due to the fact that almost everyone was saying that. Boy, was I wrong.

First off, the graphics.

The graphics look great for the Wii - The models are improved, and peoples heads actually look ROUND (Not that I had any problems with the original N64 square heads) and the worlds and SFX are amazing. It feels like it's HD.

Overall, graphics get a 9.

Next is sound

This game sounds MUCH, MUCH, different from the N64 gem. Occasionally you will hear the classic sound of pistol bullets going "ping!" flying by you. Anytime I heard this I smiled and thought of the original Goldeneye 007.

Sound gets a 8.

Gameplay is next

This game is able to modernize some things, while still keeping that classic Bond charm. The "PROTECT NATALYA" missions return, and she is annoying as ever. When you aren't in a tank, releasing a homing missile onto a helicopter and so on, you are SHOOTING EVERYONE with a wide assortment of guns, such as powerful assault rifles, machine guns, sniper rifles and of course the P99. It's all great fun.

Gameplay gets a 9

Overall, this game gets a GREAT 9.

This has been a review of Goldeneye. Please check out my other soon to come reviews of other Bond games and Call of Duty games. Hope you enjoyed the review. Bye.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

007 is awesome!!!!

posted by flames297 (HIGHLANDS RANCH, CO) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is really awesome the guns are cool but the graphics are lame but i love this game i would buy it greatest wii game ever!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Multiplayer

posted by supermann (ELLENWOOD, GA) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If it was not for multiplayer I would not play. Saying that I like the story mode but it's really long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by sow (FORT COLLINS, CO) May 8, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was pretty good. Way better than golden eye rougue agent graphic wise. But this game has the same:Theres a big shoot out the whole level. I had some friends over and i thought they all loved the multiplayer mode a lot. The story mode was fine but if they make another goldeneye i think that they should focus more on other things other then just shooting all day long. Maybe making it more spy ish then a army type game.The online was one of the big problems. I saw what they were doing making the online but if they really wanted it to be a online based game then they should have let the people talk to each other instead of:Pick battle,loading,and it pulls up a random battle for all i know could have a host all the way across the world. And maybe there should have been a hall like monster hunter3 where people online meet. So I recommend this game but i would just get it if ur havings some friends over thats it.But this was a very good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game

posted by mrhappy (KEENE, NH) Apr 24, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a very good game. It has very good graphics for Wii,and the story is really fun.Parts are very like the cod games like the parts in slo-mo,but it is still a very good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome

posted by Shtoop (JACKSON, MI) Apr 23, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Im pleased with this version. I have hundreds of hrs logged into the original Goldeneye so I figured I would be spending all my time comparing the two. Didnt happen. I was so focused on the new game during play that I totally forgot about the original until I finally shut it off.

Lots to do in this version. Controls are very nice and easy to master..especially if you have any experience in any of the 1st person paintball games or COD. Difficulties are just as differing as the original game (007 title is brutal). Graphics are nothing in comparison to the 1st person games of the PS3 but it suffices.

All in all, my family liked it so much that we decided to keep it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

2nd best shooter on wii

posted by popokata (PACIFIC PALISADES, CA) Apr 16, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The shooters on wii are good, like conduit and metroid prime. But then one day i saw something cold goldeneye for the wii. I saw the movie and liked it so i tried it out from gamefly and its actually really good. the graphics are nice for wii and has very acurate controls. The gameplay reminds me of COD but what evs. This is a great game that people should try if there sick of all the mario stuff on wii. love this game :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GoldenEye 007

posted by ConGamer (OGDEN, UT) Apr 10, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I would recommend this game for people 10-16. I love the online. It is prtey hard. One recommend for every one who made the game, NOT as many BAD GUYS at once, in one room.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Aww yeah

posted by Jtskr2003 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Apr 4, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a very good game, but some of the things I don't like about it is how the characters and their reputations are slighty alternated. One example is that Valentine Zukofsky is a young, skinny, and short guy, when in the movie and old game he is a fat, gritty, and tougher guy which made him seem more like a russian mafiya boss. The history between Bond and Valentine in the game is that Bond gave him a scar on his cheek when in the movie he had a limp on his right leg. SPOILER ALERT! Valentine is killed by Xenia Onnatop when Valentine is killed by Electra in The World is not Enough. So if they were to remake the world is not enough , how would they do it? If you read this review and it makes you mad, don't listen to what I said, just play the game, its alot of fun but still doesn't top the original. The original brought a lot of inspiration to the shooters we now have today, so enjoy the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just forget about the original

posted by DanNaruto1 (CHANNAHON, IL) Feb 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

GoldeneEye 007 is just fun. It isn’t going to compete graphically with the other consoles’ FPSs, but it works with what it has. The gameplay is interesting on the Wii, and once you get the hang of it, fun and original. It probably won’t win over the non-Wii fans, but it might bring a few new people into the Nintendo fold.

Despite some painfully dumb enemy AI, the campaign is worth your time, especially since it won’t take long, and the multiplayer split-screen is a blast — both in the actual gamepley and the nostalgic feelings it will illicit.

Overall, GoldenEye 007 does the name proud. It doesn’t have the innovation to elevate it to the level that the original did, but it doesn’t do it a disservice, either. If you can round up three others for a split-screen battle, you could easily lose several hours to the game. A good reboot of a classic game, and a must have for the FPS starved fans on the Wii

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GOOD GAME

posted by Chanda (CHICAGO, IL) Feb 11, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

NOT ENOUGH PEOPLE PLAY ONLINE BUT THE GAME IS FUN! JUST LIKE ON N64!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by MrsJazi (BELLEVILLE, IL) Feb 8, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I liked this game a lot. I originally got it so my husband and I could battle each other, but when he wasn't around, I began to play it on rookie mode. I liked it a lot. I kept it much longer than I planned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by angelo0005 (SYRACUSE, NY) Jan 12, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have to say I really am enjoying Goldeneye 007. It is one of the few games I would say to actually buy to support more games like it being made in the future. I just completed the Jungle level and I was having a blast, but it got even better with the boss fight at the end. I ended the level with a smile on my face at how awesome it was. It's not perfect but it's close and a must own for Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME!

posted by daivernon (WILLIAMSBURG, VA) Jan 11, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Just returned this and I will be buying it very soon! A lot of people here seem to focus on the multi-player, which was what the original Goldeneye on N64 was known for. I loved it, and really enjoyed the multi-player on the Wii version as well. Moreover, I was mainly interested in the actual game play and story mode and I was not disappointed.

This game is great from the perspective that you can decide whether you want to be a guns blazing agent or the stealth, in the shadows kind of player. You can win the levels either way, but the game play is different based on your choices. Some levels were a breeze, and some had me SCREAMING at the TV! It is a great mix of challenging game play and easy levels that keep your skills sharp. The ability to change controller configurations and aiming ability based on experience was great. For the record I beat the game using a Nyko Sure Shot gun with the Wiimote and found it incredibly accurate and made the game play more realistic and fun.

The weapons and their abilities are awesome and I really think they captured the essence of the original game with a complete and modern face lift. This is one of those games you just have to play if you are a Nintendo fan and have been playing their systems for a while. Great game all around and you will not be disappointed.

If you are like me and enjoy a good mix of puzzle/problem solving mixed with action then this is the game for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Premier Wii Shooter

posted by super1up (CHESTERLAND, OH) Jan 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

CAMPAIGN
The campaign in this game is fantastic. The dialogue is superb for a Wii shooter, as is the movement. Although the framerate does become choppy when the action heats up. It also has an excellent storyline, which many fans of the Bond series will be able to understand (you have to see the movie and one with Craig as Bond. THIS IS NOT A REMAKE. IT IS A RETELLING)

MULTIPLAYER
This is where Goldeneye Truely shines. In the normal split screen multiplayer, you can play with up to 4 players, which is a good amount considering the size of the maps. You have a lot of diversety when considering characters as all of them have different loadouts.

ONLINE MULTIPLAYER
This adds a while new dimention to the Goldeneye Franchise. You can play with up to 7 other people on a variety of modes and maps. There are pre-made loadouts if you're just starting out, but you can customise up to 5 other loadouts with the guns that you have earned while leveling up, along with several gadgets and attachmens.

VERDICT
Goldeneye for the Wii is the premier shooter, offering a good campaign and great multiplayer and online multiplayer. If you don't like this game, then you're just plain lying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

goldeneye 007

posted by sc345524 (LEWISVILLE, TX) Jan 6, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

its a great game in any way and i love it and i recamend it to any one in the world plus i want to see another one these of old 007 games remade. thankes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Man with the GoldenEye Returns

posted by vg2007 (SUGAR LAND, TX) Jan 5, 2011

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'll be out front. I never played GoldenEye 007 when it first came out on the N64. And also, I have never been a huge fan of the FPS games. But that doesn't mean I won't give it them a try.

GoldenEye 007 returns on the Nintendo Wii this time and with a major renovation in gameplay and story. This HOMAGE to the original GoldenEye 007 seems faithful based on what my friends told me. And I can see why! GoldenEye 007 is a very unique FPS that doesn't feel like an FPS. Rather than going through the level gun-hoe, you have to implement stealth and careful aim.

I was surprised how there were different ways to go about each mission. You could take out one guard in order to stealth takedown another guard, or quickly take out both guards silently with precision. Sometimes, you have to look for ducts and vents to sneak through an area rather than use the front door. A lot of trial and error is involved, and I can tell that could be a problem for those who are used to today's standard FPS games, such as Call of Duty.

Developed by Eurocom (the same people behind Dead Space Extraction), it's no surprise that the facial animations are top-notch.

The online multiplayer is...average. I have not tried out the local multiplayer, but the connectivity for online is smooth and not much lag in between matches, so I was really pleased.

There are a lot of modes to try (with Team Conflict my personal favorite), and full customization of your weapons, so that's a plus! However, it was only fun for a few matches until I found myself doing the same thing in other FPS games that I've played. Just run and gun. Nothing too special or different.

GoldenEye 007 certainly has a unique flavor in the FPS genre that's hard to describe, but I can see why people just absolutely loved the original. Unfortunately, to me, it's like another average FPS.

If you loved the original GoldenEye 007, then I would say buy it now! But if you're like me, give it a rental first and see what happens.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not the N64 version, but that's OK

posted by wggamer (TAMPA, FL) Dec 31, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I grew up memorizing the N64 version of Goldeneye and have been upset for years that I couldn't download it on the Virtual Console. I was shocked when I heard that the remake was coming out. Now that I've played it, I'm glad to say that it's not the same, but it's even better.

For me, the best way to play is with the Gamecube controller. Most hardcore gamers will be much more pleased with this setup. I enjoyed the single player offering, but the multiplayer options are where most people will spend their time. With so many multiplayer options (Golden Gun, Goldeneye, Classic), there is something for everyone.

It's not Call of Duty...get over it. It IS, however, a well-done FPS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great and fun for shooter fans

posted by EpicGames5 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Dec 30, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After the release of Golden Eye for the N64, we've got to have an updated version right? Well, I don't know about you, but after playing this for the first time, I think that if you just want to have a fun way to use that Wii Zapper, spend some time, or want to be James Bond, I can assure you, that this is a great shooter (well, to me it is.) You have single player campaign that puts you into the shoes (and should I mention, eyes) of James Bond. I haven't gotten too far into the campaign, because if you're not quick, you can die. It's great that you respawn, but you can only get so far with that slight of hand. It's great that there's no live count, but the fact that you have to be really good at being quick makes it a little tedious to finally finish the mission. I'm not saying this game is bad, only that there's really no way to avoid dying. You just have to rely on your wits to help you. The Wii zapper, by the way, makes it easy to shoot without making your arms tired, that is, if you have a sensor bar that's pretty high. The multiplayer is both off and online. The online multiplayer will give you a handful of options, weapons, and modes. I haven't tried out the local multiplayer because I don't have anyone yet who's playing it with me. Overall, although it is a Wii game, this has pretty good graphics and a really nice weather effects simulator. The enemy AI bots are smart and top notch and know when they hear or sense something. No spoilers, that would ruin the surprise! Have fun with this game, because if you're a Bond fan, a shooter fan, or a Spy fan, you should definitely have fun with this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Man with the Golden Game

posted by Demente (NATICK, MA) Nov 14, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

When most of us heard there was to be a new Golden Eye game, a remake even, people did two things. Some jaws dropped while others scoffed stating it couldn't possibly be as good as the old. Well, Golden Eye Wii has come and after rave reviews from many game sites I can only say this; best FPS shooter on Wii.

Now I know what you are thinking, the "on Wii" part may be a deterrent for some. I think it was IGN who talked about the plague of the "for a Wii game" formula that has been added to games. Well, I can honestly say that not only is it one of the best Wii games, but it has become one of my favorite FPS. How can this be? It is simple. Golden Eye does many things right. It is not perfect, but what is? What it does right is this:

Tugs at my heart strings. Yes, the game has an amazing nostalgia factor to it and not only hearkens back to the N64 version, but classic FPS in general. There has been something lacking in the genre lately and after the countless CODs, and the last Halo, I know what it is. Simplicity. Golden Eye doesn't try to out do any other game. It knows what it is, a great, simple FPS that satisfies all around. Also the level design is great and sometimes you forget that you are playing a redone old level. The Siberia level is a perfect example.

Controls: The fully customizable controls are fantastic. I love Wii FPS and personally think that the Wii has the best controls for them (besides PC). You can tweak them and ultimately come out with your perfect personal setting.

Fun Factor: The game is a just a blast. Whether you want to sneak in and systematically take out the enemy like Metal Gear or Splinter Cell, or dive in Halo style and shoot up the place, you won't be let down.

Story: The game expands on it in every way!

Negative? Change seems to be a very hard thing for some to accept. No, Peirce? It is a FPS shooter guys! How often did you see him anyway? No dual wielding? I liked it. Don't miss it.

Anything else? Decide for yourself!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GoldenEye is a Golden Game

posted by shuadavis (AZUSA, CA) Nov 2, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game is phenomenal from the single player to the multiplayer this game is great. It is not the same game as its predecessor but rightfully so. If it was it would suck. That game engine is old and outdated. Activision put a lot of effort into making this a great title. I love the new modes as well as the old, the characters, and of course bond.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse