Rent Golden Sun for GBA
view large frontback

Golden Sun

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
9.1

530 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

The pinnacle of RPGs!!!

posted by JoeyC123 (MOUNTAIN HOME, AR) May 1, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

18 out of 18 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is by far one of the greatest RPGs I have ever played. the story will keep you locked in, and the game play is unmatched! graphics are good for a GBA game. this is a rare classic that every one needs to try. If you rent or buy this game, you wont be sorry!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Almost 7 Years and Still the Best GBA game.

posted by Milenko601 (GLOSTER, MS) Feb 19, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game when it came out and it is still my favorite gba game. This is one of the best games you will ever play for the gba. If you haven't played this game. I suggest you rent or buy this game right now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellence In A Cartridge I

posted by Chaplain11 (MILBRIDGE, ME) Aug 2, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was the reason why I bought a GBA. The storyline is absolutely amazing and original, the graphics breathtaking, and the musical score absolutely delightful. It was and continues to be the best hand held RPG to date, and provided hours of fun. One of the best features is that the game doesn't get old, either. For example, brainlessly killing monsters to gain experience before the final battle was never as fun in any other game than it was in Golden Sun!

One of the best RPGs ever made, and a must-play for GBA and RPG fans alike.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST GBA GAME EVER!!!!!!!

posted by Videoboy (MODESTO, CA) Apr 11, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is pure beauty. Its stoy is epic, the music, incredible, and the characteres, deep. Youu start out as a young boy named issac, who is forced to go on a journey , where you meet people, and help solve every towns problems. the djinn system is complex, and awesome.

story
10/10

music
10/10

gameplay
10/10

graphics
10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Greatest RPG on the GBA

posted by Nintenfox (NORTH OLMSTED, OH) Feb 1, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the most amazing game ever. The plot is terrific, the characters are well designed and written.

This game is AMAZING!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An amazing spectacle! The best RPG on the GBA!!!!!

posted by RPGamer (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jan 19, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Why reinvent the wheel? It's always great to see interesting and unique elements in a game, but it's okay to stick to the tried and true formula as long as it is done right. Camelot stuck to this formula, and they certainly did it right.

STORY:
The story is amazing! It never gets in the way of gameplay, and yet it delivers truly powerful moments making it unforgettable. Also, it should be noted that the graphics push the GBA to its limits and the soundtrack is one of the best I've ever heard in any game, period!

GAMEPLAY:
This game is perfect for any RPG fan. If you lived through the SNES era, it will be a wonderful reminder of the glory days. Anyone too young for that era, will be able to experience what they missed out on with one of the most finely crafted 2D RPGs ever!! The game follows the traditional RPG formula with an overworld, dungeons, random encounters, and billions of quests. The dungeons contain what may be the very best puzzles ever crafted in an RPG. It also contains its own touches, such as Djinn, creatures found throughout the game which can be used in battle (performing various things such as attacking the opponent, defending or healing your party, and many other things) that add a whole new layer of strategy to the game. Also, though it may seem annoying at first, if you had multiple characters set to attack one creature and one of the characters kills that creature before the others attack, they enter defense mode rather than attacking that creature. This implements a new layer of strategy to battles, because it makes you think about which creatures you should attack instead of just hitting the attack button without thinking every turn. This small change makes random battles much, much more exciting.

LASTING APPEAL:
The game contains a lengthy thirty hour main quest and billions of side quests. This game has enough depth to keep you occupied for a long time.

This is one of, if not the, best RPGs ever!! A must own!

Overall:10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome

posted by Adimus (BAYTOWN, TX) Jun 13, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This is a very good game.....You will lose yourself in the story and find yourself using tons of strategy in battle....how to set you djinn.....should you use cure....what psynergy and life will you use if you put the djinn on standby........do yourself a favor try this game out...and if you a thorough player you could get a good 25 hours out of it....at the end of my game I beleive I had 22 hours...and this was in 2 days......this game will suck you in and leave you wanting more...and trust me....you will rush out to get the next one once this one ends

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Classic RPG on a Modern System

posted by Annuniel (CENTREVILLE, VA) Sep 18, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

If you're a lover of classic RPGs, Golden Sun will find a special place in your heart.

Story 8
The story in Golden Sun is a very simple tale of four heroes forced to go on a daring quest to stop the antagonists from fulfilling their diabolic plot and rescue the friends they abducted. But even though you've played this story before, Golden Sun does a wonderful job of captivating your interest all the same. I knocked off some points as the story didn't wrap up with the end of the game. There is a sequel but, as the story wasn't truly complete, I didn't feel it deserved a full 10.

Character 7
The characters in Golden Sun do little to stand out, but for the tale they are trying to tell, it works well. The main character may not undergo harsh trials that press him to the limit and push him to mature and grow, but the game wasn't trying to force these developments either. They might be archetypes, but you will soon find yourself cheering for them to complete their mission and rescue their friends.

Game Play 10
The game play was engaging and fun. As you journeyed across the world, you would come across Djinn, summon creatures. You could set them to your characters to increase their stats and magic skills. You could also summon them into battle, though you would lose the benefits of its stat's increases for a time. Mixing different elemental Djinn on one character would result in different types of magic spells to cast, making your characters much more customizable. You also had access to certain spells outside the battle screen and use them to solve puzzles to find secret items or Djinn, some of which could prove to be challenging.

Sound 7
The limitations of the GBA prevented voices from being added to the game, which I find was probably a blessing. The background music was appealing, although nothing particularly stood out about it either.

Graphics 9
The sprites looked nice and the color scheme was bright. The world map was a bit dull but overall was very well done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best GBA RPG, A+

posted by Vegito (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

The best RPG I've played to this day, including all generation systems. I can't wait for Golden Sun DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic WIN!

posted by Scatman (LOS OSOS, CA) Apr 27, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

This is by FAR the best RPG on the GBA that I've ever even heard of! The chracters are engaging, the plot is interesting and has just enough twists to surprise you but not totally lose you, and the graphics and sounds are unparalleled to any other GBA game at the time. I first got it about 2 months after it came out, and yet I still find myself playing it again for the umpteenth time! If you haven't played this game yet, you are missing a really good game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

loved it

posted by weirdo (GOODYEAR, AZ) Jun 6, 2008

Member since May 2007

it was one of the best GBA games ive ever played along with fire emblem and fire emblem: the sacred stones.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

INCREDIBLE-A MUST BUY

posted by crazygoaly (BEREA, KY) Jan 7, 2007

Member since Feb 2004

People you really need to but this game. The story is really good and it will always let you take a different direction and realize that you are going the wrong way. There is enough skill to be involved so you don't have to just attack attack attack. The puzzles will keep you locked in for hours and when you finally get out you will be like wow.

Pros-
-Everything
-Puzzles
-The attacking system is good
-Not to easy but not to hard
-Very entertaining
-You will find yourself playing the game over and over just to find everything

Cons-
-Nothing

Summary-
-All in all the best game in the world. I would recommend buying it and also buying Golden Sun: The Lost Age.
They are both probably the best games i have ever played and will keep you entertained for hours upon hours of playing time.
I would also recommend buying the strategy guide because otherwise it will take you a VERY long time to beat the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »